Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Love This Album and The Sell Of It To Me
Album is awesome, arrived as described.

Album arrived in good time.

Very Happy.

An awesome addition to my vinyl record library.
Published 17 months ago by James Hobart

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So many others to buy before this one
The reviewers that talk about playing Relaxin or Kind of Blue hundreds of times
but this only a dozen really sum up this great album. Yes, great if you are in that
category of collector crossing over to aficionado. This is Miles all by his
lonesome adjoined by a strange orchestra that has no cohesion with this artist.
Very similar to that hokey...
Published on Dec 30 2003 by xx001a45


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Love This Album and The Sell Of It To Me, Feb. 11 2013
By 
James Hobart - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Album is awesome, arrived as described.

Album arrived in good time.

Very Happy.

An awesome addition to my vinyl record library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz Tone Poems, Jan. 26 2004
By 
Christopher Forbes "weirdears" (Brooklyn,, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sketches Of Spain (Audio CD)
Miles Davis - Sketches of Spain
Among instrumentalists, the collaborations of Miles Davis and Gil Evans are often controversial. Though people universally acknowledge that Evans was a genius as an arranger, it's not easy for those who want a full out hard-bop blowing session to adjust to the cool colors and laid back aesthetic of these works. For many; the most difficult of the Davis/Evans collaborations is this third one in the series. While Miles Ahead and Porgy and Bess both have obvious roots in big band writing, Sketches of Spain delves into material that was generally not in the mainstream at the time. That it does so with subtlety and style is something that can often be overlooked by those who wish that Miles would blow more.
Sketches of Spain has its genesis in the slow movement of the Rodrigo Concierto di Arguanez, one of the most beloved pieces of classical music out of Spain. Both Miles and Gil Evans were taken with the piece when they were introduced to it and it forms the centerpiece of the album, and the number that seems to register the greatest number of complaints. Purists in the classical world dislike it's fast and loose treatment of the original work, and in fact, Rodrigo was on record as detesting the final product. And jazz musicians felt the work to be pretentious, with not enough room for Miles to solo, and not enough out and out swing. There was also a feeling that the work was just blatantly copied from it's origins and that any brilliance in the work was due to Rodrigo, not to Evans.
A careful hearing, especially a side-by-side comparison with the original Concierto, can dispel much of the criticism of this work. Evans does not merely imitate the piece; he imaginatively rethinks it for wind ensemble. Instead of the spare English Horn and strings with which Rodrigo opens the work, Evans creates a shimmering bed of castanets and harp, over which he layers low flutes and French horns an muted brass, moving in a dense carpet of parallel fourths. While the main points of the original form are followed, with Miles taking mostly the guitar parts, there are many sections that illustrate the genius of Evans, the arranger. Particularly impressive is Evans rethinking of the guitar cadenzas. For the first cadenza Evans contrasts Miles in his dark low register, with beautifully balanced chords in the flutes and low brass, characterized by unusual voicings that include tense dissonances at the top of the chord. Also stunning is the original section that Evans uses to replace the second cadenza. The bass begins an understated vamp. Miles solos over it with his typical cool understatement and the orchestra builds to the climax of the work.
The other cuts on the album are even more understated, but also highly original. Two particularly stand out. Saeta is inspired by a traditional Holy Week procession in which an effigy is paraded through a town, interrupted by a long mournful solo by Davis. The orchestration in this part is stunning. Evans layers martial percussion, a faint bassoon solo and a brass band against Miles' beautiful trumpet. The effect is a jazz tone poem, in the best tradition of the Ellington Orchestra.
The other standout on the album is Solea. This work is a long, beautiful Miles solo over a constantly changing orchestral vamp. Evans shows considerable ingenuity in constantly varying the rather static two-chord vamp, and Miles is given just one scale to improvise on. Though this album came out after Kind of Blue, it was recorded several months earlier, and you can see the influence that Evans had on Miles' revolutionary small group album.
The re-mastering of this album is terrific. The clarity by which you can hear the delicate sounds such as the castanets and the harp is truly lovely. It compares favorably to the old LP version. My one gripe with this reissue, which I have with most of the Columbia reissue series, is that the filler material is basically not worthy to be released. On this one, the filler includes a Brazilian character piece, which belongs in the filler to the Quiet Nights album instead, and two alternative versions of parts of the Concierto. Though last pieces have some documentary value, they are both vastly inferior to the final product and are ultimately annoying to listen to. I would prefer to have the album as it was finally released and save this sort of material for boxed set compilations, even if that means I only get 40 minutes worth of music.
In conclusion, this is a classic album, worthy to join the other Evans/Davis collaborations. It even pushes the art of jazz arranging farther than the other records. And the influence of this work on the history of jazz arranging and composition can't be overestimated. Don Sebesky, Bill Holman and numerous other large group arrangers continually show their debt to the genius of Evans. But, for those who want to hear Miles blow; stick with the quintet and sextet albums from this period. Sketches of Spain does feature Miles, but the real star of the album is the arranging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So many others to buy before this one, Dec 30 2003
This review is from: Sketches Of Spain (Audio CD)
The reviewers that talk about playing Relaxin or Kind of Blue hundreds of times
but this only a dozen really sum up this great album. Yes, great if you are in that
category of collector crossing over to aficionado. This is Miles all by his
lonesome adjoined by a strange orchestra that has no cohesion with this artist.
Very similar to that hokey stuff Creed Taylor did with Wes Montgomery and that
Verve orchestra (which all his best offerings are on Riverside by the way). The
feel of this album is like some Columbia record exec. saying "hey Miles we're
going to put you in a room with an orchestra and it's going to be for your own
good because all the other jazz musicians who aren't half as talented as you are
doing this same thing.
But this is merely an opinion from a person who really has none other than if you
aren't a collector you will be much happier with well rounded classics like
Steamin, Talkin, Workin, and best of all Relaxin. Then on to the Columbia Sextet
but you can cut yourself on some of that insane wizardry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fan letter, Nov. 7 2003
By 
This review is from: Sketches Of Spain (Audio CD)
When I was in college struggling to build a CD collection that would convince visitors to my room that I was cool, I got two Miles Davis albums that I thought made the best impression: Kind of Blue and Sketches of Spain. Since then, I am thankfully much less concerned with what people think of me, I've listened to Kind of Blue hundreds of times, and Sketches of Spain...I'm not sure...maybe twenty times, and haven't had the urge to pick it off the shelf for the past two years. Why do I never feel like listening to it, even though the music was enjoyable?
I think I figured out the reason when I stumbled across the actual Rodrigo Concierto de Aranjuez on a CD of classical guitar pieces. It really is a beautiful piece. What surprised me was how similar it was to the version on Sketches of Spain. Miles's version was essentially the same piece arranged for jazz band: nothing particularly exciting was done to the music, and any changes in the harmony that took place with the transposition of instruments were, if anything, to the detriment of the music. There's a reason this piece was, after all, written for guitar.
The rest of the album-with the exception of Solea-gives me the same impression. It's a fan letter to Spain; it recreates their music without creating anything new or vital. I remember reading in the liner notes that the recording of this album was plagued with difficulties, because Miles kept showing up late to sessions without being adequately prepared. Now, I don't know how he acted during the sessions that created Kind of Blue, In a Silent Way, or Miles Smiles-but I have a feeling it wasn't like that. Those records bristle with enthusiasm and energy: everyone in them was fully committed to what was being done.
But I can sort of tell, when I listen to this, why Miles wasn't totally into Sketches of Spain. There's barely any room to breathe inside these arrangements-the improvisatory feel of the jazz that Miles was best at is gone. His freedom is basically limited to a few sections of primary melody, and that within an idiom of music that he isn't totally comfortable with. When you listen to this album, little phrases and melodies don't stick in your head the way they do with Kind of Blue; instead, what you come away with is a vaguely pleasant feeling.
What this is, then, is nice background music. And you can play great music for atmosphere, but if it's actually great, eventually it'll get your attention again and again and distract you from whatever it is you were doing. This one just plays until it's over and then goes back on the shelf, the same as those lame world music albums people get to "relax." Well, it's better than those. But still: only get this if you have the great Miles albums. I mentioned a few.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but a little over rated; plus this isn't jazz, July 16 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sketches Of Spain (Audio CD)
This album is very good, no doubt, but I only give it 4 stars when compared to many of his other albums.
Believe it or not, the 20 bit digital re-mastering stands out most for me. The sound quality is amazing. This cd sounds as if it was recorded yesterday.
However, as far as content goes, I think this cd is a bit over rated. First of all, this really isn't jazz (at least my definition of jazz anyway). Miles is brilliant, Gil Evans is brilliant, the band is brilliant, but this just isn't the type of jazz I like to listen to. Some people have classified this as "Jazzed-Up Spanish Classical," and I guess that works for me, because I really can't think of a better way to describe it.
I just prefer the quintent recordings between 1965-1968: 'Miles Smiles,' 'Sorcerer,' 'Nefertiti,' and 'ESP.' I also like 'Kind of Blue' (of course), 'Porgy & Bess' and many others way better than this. All of these albums are far more listenable, and contain the kind of jazz and the kind of Miles Davis music that I prefer.
Also, on this cd, there are 2 versions of 'Concierto De Aranjuez.' One track is the original cut. The other is an alternate take. Both are basically the same and play for about 16 minutes, but unfortunately, I really don't care that much for this track. So basically that amounts to 32 minutes worth of music that I could do without. Miles is great, but again, this just isn't the type of jazz or the Miles Davis kind-of-music that I like to listen to.
Bottome line:
Look somewhere else if you want to buy your first Miles Davis CD. Start with any of the cd's I mentioned above for a much better sample of his work.
However, with all that said, I still would consider this a "must have" CD for any true Miles Davis fan, and I do listen to this CD a lot even though my review is somewhat negative. Afterall, I did give this a 4 star rating, and that isn't that bad...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amongst 'Miles Davis's' finest releases....., Oct. 29 2003
This review is from: Sketches Of Spain (Audio CD)
Although unarguably one of the finest Jazz musicians of his generation, Having now gone back and listened to "Sketches of Spain" from a new perspective, it's now not hard to see why this is a massively influential album...as 'Miles Davis''' trumpet playing, is the shining light in an overall complex & stunningly intricate album. Whether it's the memorable 16 minute luxurious orchestral of "Concierto de Aranjuez", or the more English marching/ regimental-esque stomp of "Saeta", or the laid back reflective signature trumpeting blues of "Solea"...Miles is without a shadow of a doubt a Trumpeter of unquestionable greatness..but let's not take anything away from his backing band, and their subtle arrangements that not only enhance, but allow Miles' compositions to explore all available boundaries and push the envelope of a trumpeters capabilities and harmonic structures, to elevate this to a truly landmark album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Miles Davis - Sketches of Spain, Sept. 11 2003
This review is from: Sketches Of Spain (Audio CD)
I'm not a seasoned jazz, or Spanish music, veteran, but even I can appreciate the subtle Spanish mood Miles puts together with Gil Evans on this album. Miles' solos on the flugelhorn are fiery and precise, and the arrangements are simply wonderful. There's not much I can say about this album that wouldn't give me away as incompetent in the field of jazz, but "Sketches of Spain" is another album I love to relax to. Very intriguing stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Timeless Treasure., Aug. 8 2003
This review is from: Sketches Of Spain (Audio CD)
Will this LP ever sound dated? I seriously doubt it since Miles Davis didn't set out to create some trendy, disposable piece of product. The story goes that Miles heard the classical version of "SAETA" at a friend's house and was so enamored that he approached composer/conductor Gil Evans to write some similar pieces to complement it. Utilizing a full orchestra, drummer/percussionist Elvin Jones and bassist Paul Chambers and Davis himself on both trumpet and muted fluglegorn, what came out of those sessions was absolutely flawless and, dare I say it, magical. Davis' solos on this release are some of his most precise and intricate. While Evans' orchestrations are consistently tasteful and evocative but never overwhelming. Evans seems particularly inspired by Flamenco music and the slow build-up of pieces like "THE PAN PIPER" and "SOLEA" is a wonder to behold. His influence can be heard in the works of modern masters like Howard Shore. I would even go so far as to call "Sketches...." emotional. Simply listen and you will be utterly moved to your core by the beauty of this music. Miles Davis was a genius who altered every perception of music and musical thinking and his pairing with the Brilliant Gil Evans was a match made in heaven. A Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The quiet joys of brotherhood..., May 2 2003
By 
William E. Adams (Midland, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sketches Of Spain (Audio CD)
There are already more than 70 reviews posted for this famous production, so I'll be brief: it's the kind of album one has to listen to attentively and repeatedly to learn to love. This is not the Miles of "Kind of Blue." The joys here are indeed quiet, because melancholy and somber beauty dominates just about every track. The white arranger/conductor/composer Gil Evans, older than the black, gifted, moody Davis, had already collaborated with the trumpeter on two earlier records, but this was to be the most challenging of all. Up to 20 musicians joined in, yet Evans has restrained almost all of them to brilliant, fleeting moments in the limelight or to hushed but superbly rendered accents. Only one woman was on the project, the harpist, but the orchestra was a good mixture of black and white men. Evans and Davis created a memorable Spanish feel to all the moments. Yes, I think it is jazz, but as a listener, it feels like a long, sad symphony. I did not give it a fifth star simply because I personally missed having at least one uptempo tune to give the listener a short break from loneliness. I think the concept deserves six or seven stars, and the execution musically at least five. Certainly this is not the ideal item to start a Miles Davis collection, but it can't be left out of any collection of more than about 10 CD's of his. One has to be in the mood for it, and submerge one's ears in it, to get the genius of it. Definitely Miles dominates everything with his trumpet, which at times is a bit shrill for me (I'm a sax man, mainly) but he plays with such depth of emotion that even the non-fan will grant his talent. No wonder it is a landmark, albeit a controversial one. For sure, it is a jazz record that classical music fans might appreciate more than anyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I've Never Been to Spain...., April 29 2003
By 
D. Hawkins (Denver, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sketches Of Spain (Audio CD)
but I kinda like the music! Sorry, I couldn't resist. That pale attempt at humor aside, I just wanted to add my two cents to the discussion of this amazing work. To my ears, it doesn't matter if you consider this classical, jazz, or country-thrash- death-polka, the music is amazing. Any song that can move you to tears upon listen after listen like "Concierto De Aranjuez" has got to be special. Gil Evan's arrangements flow without saying; if there's a house band in heaven, he's the one arranging the tunes. I don't know if I have ever heard a flugelhorn sing with such passion as on this recording. This CD is much cheaper than a plane ticket to Madrid, so if you're unsure as to whether or not to buy it, the captain has turned off the seat belt sign, and you may now click your mouse to buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sketches Of Spain
Sketches Of Spain by Miles Davis (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews