Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album deserves respect
Thoughts about this 4th studio effort by Ozzy from 1986 have varied over time. This came out when i was 17 and was highly thought of at the time. I don't remember anyone thinking this album was glam or anything short of another strong edition to Ozzy's already solid library. This album had a theme built around the nuclear scare that people felt back in the Ronald Reagan...
Published on June 18 2004 by Trent B. Mcdaniel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A generally unmemorable collection of ok songs
Which is much better than previous Jake E. Lee collaboration, "Bark at the Moon." That album was just dead. Now, for whatever reason, 1986 brings us a slightly better (if much harder to find) album. Not as good as 3 stars, not as bad as 2.
The rock and roll here, though still not comparable to the Randy Rhoads releases, has some feel - "Bark at the Moon" was just...
Published on Oct. 6 2003 by D. Rausch


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album deserves respect, June 18 2004
By 
Trent B. Mcdaniel (Montgomery, AL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Sin (Audio CD)
Thoughts about this 4th studio effort by Ozzy from 1986 have varied over time. This came out when i was 17 and was highly thought of at the time. I don't remember anyone thinking this album was glam or anything short of another strong edition to Ozzy's already solid library. This album had a theme built around the nuclear scare that people felt back in the Ronald Reagan era. Accept also had an album around that time called Russion Roulette which had the same message. In retrospect, it is wild to look back now and see that you had musicians from different countries (Accept being from Germany) who had the same concerns and sang about it. "The Ultimate Sin," according to Ozzy was pushing the button to start nuclear war. The songs Killer of Giants, Thank God for the Bomb, and the title track are just a few that address this. I think this album is relatively heavy, the music is energetic, and it has substance. It makes you think and may leave you with a feeling of impending doom. It is not your basic Ratt and Motley Crue (though i love that too) stuff from that era that only talks about women and partying. Jake E. Lee is excellent on guitar and Randy Castillo makes his debut w/ Oz on drums. Maybe over the course of time and due to the rebirth that Ozzy had with No More Tears, this album has fallen in the Ozzy ratings but not on my list. This would be in my top ten 80's hard rock/metal albums. Don't miss this one. Also, wasn't this the coolest cover artwork?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ozzys best cd, May 10 2004
By 
mike g "mrperfect231" (indianapolis, indiana United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ultimate Sin (Audio CD)
ive always liked ultimate sin the best u get beyond the dude randy rhodes hype and ultimate sin is ozzys most solid cd nearly everysong is good the lyrics are meaningful they came out at a very tense and unsure time involving the us and soviet union and jake e lee has his trademark killer guitar writing and blazing marshall jcm800s goin on personal fav are the song ultimate sin and killer of giants this is the cd that at 10 year old made me want to become a guitarist to this day its my fav sounding guitar tone aswell kinda like a dokken sound but with harmonics and heavier and actually decent lyrics if u havent heard this cd lately or at all your missing out on ozzys best and his first truly sucessful albulm years before zak wylde was around if jake e lee wouldnt have quit to go to rehab for 2years then decide to change paths hed still probly be ozzys guitarist i like zak wylde and all but songs like bark at the moon and shot in the dark were co written by jake and the guitar by jake this cd cannot be overlooked buy from a seller i had to buy it again myself cause i scratched mine its that good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimately amazing, May 6 2004
By 
Diogo Schneider (Porto Alegre, RS Brazil) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ultimate Sin (Audio CD)
This is surely one of the greatest Ozzy albums, if not the best of them all. The greatest songs are Never Know Why, Lightning Strikes, Fool Like You and Shot In The Dark, but you won't find a single regular song at all among the others. This album is the last one with one of Ozzy's greatest guitarists, Jake E. Lee and the first one with the fabulous Randy Castillo. Definitely a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It'll be a sin not to buy this album., April 24 2004
By 
Darrell B (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ultimate Sin (Audio CD)
Ozzy Osbourne is a legend not just in the metal world, but also in the entire music industry. Very few artists have managed to have the staying power which he has had. All the work he has ever done should be evidence of this as they are all great material. But, as with everybody, he has had an album which will be regarded as the best of his career and an album which will be regarded as his worst. Despite that I think all his albums kick ass I can understand why the Ultimate Sin is generally regrded as his least liked album. For two main reasons:
1. He decided to do the glam rock look and I believe he did it better than all the other glam rock bands, such as Motley Crue, Poison and Kiss.
2. Of all the albums he has ever done the Ultimate Sin has a number of tracks which sound the same as each other. Even Ozzy himself has admitted this and claims it is the reason why he won't re-release it.
A great album that is very underated. The Ultimate Sin is the best album featuring Jake E. Lee as the guitarist before Zakk Wilde took over. Not Ozzy's best, but neither is it his worst. I don't think Ozzy even has a worst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "The lightning strikes before you hear the thunder roar", March 29 2004
By 
mwreview "mwreview" (Northern California, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ultimate Sin (Audio CD)
I have a soft spot for The Ultimate Sin because it was the first Ozzy tape I bought right when it came out. I saw the cool music video for "Shot in the Dark" on MTV's Headbanger's Ball with the heavy metal groupie who becomes the leather-clad, big-haired album cover girl on a billboard when she becomes possessed during an Ozzy concert and knew I had to get the album. I know Ozzy does not care for "Shot in the Dark" (he states inside the cover of the Just Say Ozzy EP that he was "happier" with the live version of that track on that little live album than he was with the original here) but I think it is an excellent track and convinced me to buy the album back in 1986/7. I also think guitarist Jack E. Lee was unfairly criticized because he was replacing a legend in Randy Rhoads. The guitar work here is amazing. Listen to the acoustic opening of "Killer of Giants." It is beautiful!
No weak songs here, although a few deserve special mention. The title track is an excellent opening. It really rocks. The more interesting songs are the obviously "Cold War" inspired tracks like "Killer of Giants" (again, if you have not heard the acoustic opening of this track, get this album right away!) and "Thank God for the Bomb." The latter track on the subject of deterrence through the arms race takes a different stand than one would expect from the music world: "War is just another game tailor made for the insane, but make a threat of their annihilation, and nobody wants to play. If that's the only thing that keeps the peace then thank God for the bomb." Sound's like Reagan's military policy. One track here that I find to be amazing but have not see on compilations is "Secret Loser." It is one of my favorite Ozzy songs. It just rocks! And the guitar work is amazing, especially during the bridge. I've played this song over and over many times! It is addicting but I doubt it ever wound up on Ozzy's live set list in recent years. I like Ultimate Sin better than any Ozzy album to follow (including No More Tears). I recommend it to any Ozzy fan or '80s "metal" fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of his best without Randy Rhoads, Feb. 26 2004
By 
John Alapick (Harveys Lake, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Sin (Audio CD)
The Ultimate Sin has become the forgotten album in Ozzy Osbourne's extensive solo output. He hasn't performed any songs off the album live in many years and not one track is represented on The Essential Ozzy Osbourne album. However, this is easily his most underrated album and along with No More Tears is his best studio work since the death of Randy Rhoads.
Several of the tracks here are very strong with the best being "Killer Of Giants", "Secret Loser", and the should have been hit single "Shot In The Dark." This album was recorded at the height of the Cold War between the United States and Soviet Union and his lyrics on the political tracks "Killer Of Giants" and "Thank God For The Bomb" are among the best of his solo albums. Jake E. Lee's guitar work continues to impress and his killer riffs highlight the tracks "Lightning Strikes" and "Never." Other strong tracks here include "Never Know Why" and the title track. Randy Castillo's playing is also outstanding here and his drums are way up in the mix, similar to Kiss' Creatures Of The Night album but not as heavy. Unlike some of his other post-Rhoads albums like Bark At The Moon, No Rest For The Wicked, and Ozzmosis, there is absolutely no filler here and "Shot In The Dark" and especially "Killer Of Giants" are among his best solo work. Fans who discovered Ozzy after his hit "Mama, I'm Coming Home" or much later with his reality show The Osbournes should check this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it's so underrated it's sad, Feb. 17 2004
By 
This review is from: The Ultimate Sin (Audio CD)
yep you heard me correctly. this is definitely one of the most underrated albums ever. i mean, c'mon whats not to like about this album? ozzy delivers some killer vocals, that are bone-crunching and melodic at the same time, which is hard to do. jake e. lee is an awesome guitarist and pulls off some wild solos. he comes so close to surpassing the great randy rhoads (R.I.P.). then of course the booming baselines of phil soussan and the frantic drumming of randy castillo(R.I.P.) tops it all off perfectly. so what makes this album so perfect you ask? well ozzy managed to combine hard rock with some 80s touches so well (keyboards and such). ITS NOT POP as some reviewers have stupidly put it. its melodic hard rock that borders on glam, but never quite crosses that border.yeah the pictures of the band back then may disgust people nowadays in 2004, but remember this was 1986.look at who was popular then (Bon Jovi,Poison, etc.) hairspray and makeup were "in." the pictures are good for laughs now(you aint seen nothing until youve seen ozzy with black eyeliner wearing a coat made of pearls or whatever it is) but you're buying this album for music and you're getting some damn good music here. now read on for the songs:
1.The Ultimate Sin-nice drum intro.sort of like a march.then comes such a catchy riff itll be stuck in your head for days. ozzy sings the chorus with a melodic tone to his voice.
2.Secret Loser-a faster track.if you think this album is glam, you need to listen to this one more. glam metal just doesn't sound like this. very 80s sounding guitar but a good sound nonetheless. jake's solo is AMAZING. when you hear it, you'll just stare at your stereo at wonder "how the f*ck did he do that?"why wasn't this song more popular?
3.Never Know Why-begins with some eerie distorted guitar sounds, but then BOOM the song just bursts from out of nowhere. lyrically, its basically ozzy giving a big middle finger to everyone who misunderstands him (which is a LOT of people, even to this day)
4.Thank God For the Bomb-another hard rock song.ozzy giving off some of his highest-pitched vocals. the chorus is so-so, but its cool when ozzy goes "nuke ya nuke ya." another memorable solo from jake. phil's bass roars on this one.
5.Never-oh man, another song that deserved more popularity.starts off very fast. some of ozzy's most melodic vocals ever, especially the pre-chorus. and yet another killer solo from jake(why didn't this guy get more well-known?and where does ozzy find these killer guitarists?) some of randy's best drumming.
6.Lightning Strikes-one of ozzy's most underrated songs(are you even surprised anymore?)phil makes his bass HEARD on this one. nice keyboard parts during the chorus and good drum performance by randy there.very 80s but very cool.
7.Killer of Giants-nice slow beginning.its very slow and soft with ozzy giving some of his best vocals yet. then after about two minutes, the song just lets loose and ozzy just belts out that chorus with such authority.
8.Fool Like You-you wanna know what melodic rock is?just listen to this song. very cool guitar sounds in the intro. ozzy gives off more melodic singing and phil's bass going wild.my description doesnt make it sound like rock and roll but it is.
9.Shot in the Dark-sadly, the only popular song, but its a good one. at first i thought it was weird that the only popular song was last on the album, but after listening through the album, its a great way to end such a great CD. that being said, this is another song with a melodic intro(very beautiful guitar chords). this is a slow song and the most commercial-sounding, but it rocks. everything here is perfect-ozzy's singing,jake's guitar(especially the solo),phil's bass, and randy's drumming.
well there you have it. one of the most under appreciated rock albums of all time. ozzy himself would probably hate me for liking this album, since he doesnt like it, especailly shot in the dark. for some reason he can't stand this album (probably because of his glam look at the time)but because of this, this album did not get a 2002 remaster. and the 1995 remasters are long out of print, which includes this album(hey at least it won't get re-recorded.)i was lucky enough to find a german import after MONTHS of patient searching. it was a tad on the pricey side (sixteen dollars) but i think it was VERY worth it and if you're an ozzy fan with an open mind, you'll agree.
so what are you waiting for? go get this album now before its gone forever and the only place it shows up is on eBay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sensationalistic front cover but quite good musically, Nov. 28 2003
By 
Chris Jordan "seejordan" (Surrey, B.C. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Sin (Audio CD)
This was an album that no one really seemed to take much notice of when it was released. The reason being, it really does not have too many catchy commercial singles like Bark at the Moon had. The only one that comes to mind is "Shot in the Dark". All the songs are pretty good rockers, though. If I could, I would give this cd a three and a half star rating. The songs could have had some better melody lines and the guitar playing could have used some intense, fast solos. The highlight is that even though the songs omit the fast solo work, Jake E. Lee's heavy power chords are distinctive and this album solidified the Jake E. Lee "sound". Without Jake Lee playing on this cd, though, it would be very average. After all, a rock song should have a memorable chorus line. That's what makes it exciting and interesting. I don't understand these individuals who say heavy rock should not have this, or that it is too "80's" or "commercial". That's what good music should be like. Def Leppard did it well in the mid 80's before going overly sappy in the 90's. The opposite extreme of "counter-sappiness" has been the grunge movement. Most 90's grunge music is just utter garbage. In conclusion, Jake makes this cd, as does the tune "Shot in the Dark", which the new Ozzy guitarist Zakk Wylde is not able to emulate. "Fool Like You" is another well written song. Overall, this is a fairly strong cd, but it possesses very little in the way of big hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The 2nd best ozzy album, Nov. 18 2003
By 
This review is from: The Ultimate Sin (Audio CD)
Well let me start out by saying that this IS the second best album(No More Tears being the first), and it is extremely underrated. Casual fans of Blizzard of Oz, might hate this album, but true fans will love it.
Jake E. Lee is back on guitar, Phil Soussan on bass, and Randy Castillo makes is drumming with ozzy debut. Randy Castillo always will be the best drummer, Michael Inez is a better bassist than Soussan though.
As for guitarists, I can't compare them. Ozzy's guitarists are all great, so none is better than the other, they all have unique things about them.
The songs are all great here, no filler songs.
Here's how I rate them:
The Ultimate Sin-The ultimate opener. Great, strong riff, exceptional vocals. A masterpiece. 10/10
Secret Loser-Self-parody track, note the chorus(awesome). 9/10
Never Know Why-"Never know why-we rock!" A big f**k you to anyone who thinks that ozzy's music is bad or evil or sucks!!!!!! 10/10
Thank God for the Bomb-Some people think this is the album's weak point. I personally think this song is great. (ONE PROBLEM- Note the riff at the beginning is similar to Van Halen's "ain't talkin' 'bout love") 9.5/10
Never-The riff at the beginning is great, it really shows of Jake's talent. 9/10
Lightning Strikes-Rips off the crazy train riff a bit... But it's better that Ozzy or his guitarist rip off a riff from one of his songs than some other band like Twisted Sister(no offense "guys," you're still one of my favorite bands). 10/10
Killer of Giants-Wow! A powerful ballad that just makes you think about war, and is as musically deep as it can be. 10/10
Fool Like You-Song about foolish people and foolish lives. The guitar playing is what keeps this song a gem. 9/10
Shot in the Dark-The best song on the album. By the way, ozzy hates this song now, but I still love it. Great guitars, and vocals. 10/10
So, there's my opinion. I hope this review was somewhat helpful, or something like that.
The Ultimate Sin is well... ultimate.
Rock on,
MasterOfMetal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Best, Oct. 27 2003
By 
Susan Odegard (Kent, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ultimate Sin (Audio CD)
First off, as a Hard Rock/Heavy Metal Veteran, I must say that Jake E. Lee is definitely Ozzy's best guitarist. Don't get me wrong, Randy Rhoads and Zakk Wylde are two kick ass guitarists, but they are very overrated. Jake E. Lee was way more talented and musically diverse. It really is a shame that he never received the credit he deserved all these years. But, anonymous musicans are ALWAYS more successful and talented in the long run. As for "The Ultimate Sin", I personally can't understand everyone's problem with this album, being that is definitely Ozzy's best. I've been listening to Ozzy for many years now and he never topped The Ultimate Sin, even the stuff before with Randy. Believe me, every song on this album is heavy and true. On a lot of Ozzy's later albums without Jake, there are only about 3 or 4 good songs that you'll actually skip just to listen to. The Ultimate Sin is an album that you can play for hours and listen all the way through without skipping to the next track. You won't find one weak, soft, out-of-place, or a filler song located in this whole record. Once you get this album, you won't want to take it out of your cd player for weeks, it's that damn good and absolutely addicting. Hell, I'm listening to it right now as I'm typing all this, lol. I must compliment on the guitar work as being absolutely brilliant, flawless, and phenomenal. Just plain brutal and lots of energy! I must also compliment on the cover art too, definitely Ozzy's best cover. You will also find that the musicians on this album (Ozzy, Jake E. Lee, Phil Soussan, Randy Castillo) are without a doubt the strongest line up in Ozzy's history. I can't believe that one guy earlier posted that Ozzy sounds tired on this record, B.S.! If anything, Ozzy sounds the most energetic and down right pissed off than in anything else he has ever done, period. I didn't claim The Ultimate Sin as possessing the strongest line up for nothing, it does, believe me. I just don't get the people who bash The Ultimate Sin,...I guess not many people know what good Heavy Metal is anymore, or they never did in the first place, amateurs lol. The only downfall is that this album is out of print everywhere so definitely purchase it ASAP. I think it's a damn good thing that they didn't re-remaster The Ultimate Sin like the others that were recently...they left it alone in it's 1995 22 bit remastered true and pure form. But if they did re-remaster it, it would be crucified like the rest, with the new bass and drums recorded over the originals,(Argggg!) In conclusion, make every effort you can to buy this album, it is hard to find and is only for the true and dedicated. No one will ever replace Jake E. Lee on guitars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate Sin
The Ultimate Sin by Ozzy Osbourne (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews