Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another side of the Velvet Underground
That could've been the title of their third album. With John Cale and his viola gone, the Velvets trade their electric guitars for acoustic and commit a beautiful suite of songs to record.

It's too easy to say this is Lou Reed & his backing band. The duelling guitars on the majestic What Goes On and Moe Tucker's spooky drumming on The Murder Mystery shatter...
Published on April 13 2007 by Allan Tong

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars John Cale IS the Velvet Underground
This is the Velvets weakest album, IMHO. The driving rhythms, catchy hooks, killer guitar solos and feedback noises have all disappeared with John Cale. OK, OK, Pale Blue Eyes is good, and Murder Mystery is an interesting concept, but most of the songs are just boring, slow, and sappy. Not that all slow sappy songs are bad, Stephanie Says is wonderful and should have been...
Published on Dec 7 2001 by Logan Albright


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another side of the Velvet Underground, April 13 2007
By 
Allan Tong (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Velvet Underground (Audio CD)
That could've been the title of their third album. With John Cale and his viola gone, the Velvets trade their electric guitars for acoustic and commit a beautiful suite of songs to record.

It's too easy to say this is Lou Reed & his backing band. The duelling guitars on the majestic What Goes On and Moe Tucker's spooky drumming on The Murder Mystery shatter that myth. Also credit newcomer Doug Yule for his delicate reading of the opener, Candy Says, about one of Andy Warhol's tranvestites.

Simply put, these are beautifully written songs and their understated production only enhances each melody and lyric. Even "rockers" like I'm Beginning To See the Light are simple and restrained. The finger-picking of Jesus elevates the song to a hymn. I'm Set Free features the most gorgeous guitar solo I've ever heard. Moe Tucker's sweet vocal on the closer, After Hours, recalls Ringo's Good Night on The White Album (released just weeks before this record).

All in all, this is a hopeful record, never saccharine, but affirming and sincere. It's like the Velvets woke up after the speed-induced frenzy of their previous record, WHITE LIGHT/WHITE HEAT and, with clear heads, picked up acoustic guitars.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Velvety, Feb. 19 2005
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Velvet Underground (Audio CD)
After the unfortunate departure of John Cale, the Velvet Underground had a musical revamp -- their third album, "The Velvet Underground" is smoother and less gritty. Stripped of the shock value, the best of the Velvet Underground shines through -- great musical skills and beautiful songwriting.

That change is evident from the very start, "Candy Says," which is sort of the musical musings of transsexual Candy Darling. Rather than playing this for shock value, the way the Velvets did earlier -- see songs like "Heroin" and "Venus in Furs" -- it's soft, sweet and a bit poignant, ending with "Maybe when I'm older/What do you think I'd see/If I could walk away from me."

That mellower tone sets the stage for the rest of the album, which relies on poetic lyrics and strong music -- they no longer sing about S&M and drugs, but about self-examination and redemtpion. The Velvets' rock sound is less jagged and more laid-back, and they even take a foray into twangy country music in "Some Kinda Love."

A few songs hint at the earlier work that the Velvets did, with tambourines and blurred, high vocals from Lou Reed. But can you imagine the Velvet Underground, in their first album, ever singing a non-satirical song about Jesus Christ, as they do in one haunting ballad on here? I certainly can't, and it seems to be a part of the pensive, self-examining mood that permeates this album.

The one exception is "The Murder Mystery." It's literally impossible to understand the "right voice" and "left voice" speaking in this song. It's interesting, but completely unintelligible. However, this is amply made up for in the mature instrumentation and lyrics; while Doug Yule was not as great as John Cale, he does a good job with the organ. The fuzzy edge of Velvet Underground rock is retained, while they branched out into ethereal ballads and pretty acoustic songs.

Reed's lyrics betray a greater maturity, and maybe greater poignancy. "One minute born, one minute doomed,/One minute up, one minute down/What goes on in your mind?" he ponders at the start of the album. He sings some of the songs, sounding surprisingly melodic, since his voice was kind of creaky; on the other hand, Moe Tucker provides some fair vocals for songs like "After Hours."

The Velvet Underground hit another peak in their self-titled album. Softer, more thoughtful, this shows them off at their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars - severely underrated gem, June 27 2004
This review is from: Velvet Underground (Audio CD)
Velvet Underground (1969.) Velvet Underground's third album.
The Velvet Underground released their first album in the mid-late sixties, and disbanded in the early seventies. Their days as a band were extremely short, but in that limited time that they were together, they managed to be extremely influential and diverse. The band only released four original studio albums, but NO TWO OF THEM SOUND ALIKE. They went through more transitions in their short career than most artists do in long careers! Their second album, White Light/White Heat, was a complete hundred and eighty degree turn from what they did on their debut, Velvet Underground And Nico, and with the third release the band does another complete turn with their sound. Also, for this album, John Cale was replaced with Doug Yule. Read on for my review of the Velvet Underground's self-titled third album.
When I heard that the Velvets had decided to go on without John Cale, I was a bit shocked. He had been such an important part of the band. But, the band's chosen replacement for Cale, Doug Yule, was a worthy individual nonetheless. Sure, Cale's viola would be missed, but this was a new beginning for the band (actually, all of their albums were like new beginnings!) Because of Cale's absence from the band, Lou Reed became more involved in the songwriting process, and this ended up paying off. The songwriting is much more mature than on earlier albums. This album was released to a fairly large lack of interest, which is a real shame, because it's one of their finest efforts. From the beautiful ballad Candy Says, right up to the closer After Hours (sang by female drummer Mo Tucker), this album serves up some damn fine music. It's not quite as good as their debut (in my eyes), but it's definitely close to being the VU's finest recording.
Like with the previous album, White Light/White Heat, the only version of this album readily available in America is the remastered standard version. I was hoping these remasters would contain some bonus tracks, but oh well. We can't have it all, I guess. There IS a version of the album that contains bonus tracks, but it's only available in the band's box set. So, if you're just a casual or mid-level fan of the band, the standard version will do just fine.
The Velvet Underground is a damn fine classic pop-rock act, and they demonstrate it beautifully on their self-titled third album. If you're a fan of the band, I strongly recommend adding it to your collection. If you're new to the band, though, start with their debut, 1967's Velvet Underground And Nico. Lou Reed and his VU cohorts were all musical geniuses, and you can see why on these recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic., May 26 2004
By 
John Candy (Silver Spring, MD) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Velvet Underground (Audio CD)
This is a must own for classic rock fans. It is, in my opinion, one of the five greatest albums from the sixties. This is in no particular order, they are all five equally essential 1) Let It Bleed---The Rolling Stones 2) Bringing It All Back Home---Bob Dylan 3) Revolver---The Beatles 4) Highway 61 Revisited---Bob Dylan 5) The Velvet Underground---The Velvet Underground
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Album of the 60's, June 15 2004
By 
Machine Gun Etiquette (Torrance, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Velvet Underground (Audio CD)
Seroiously. Sit down in your room and listen. The Rolling Stones and the Beatles got NOTHING after the Velvets made this masterpiece of pop & rock & roll. It's lucky that the Velvets got to release this one album in the final year of the 1960's (it happened to be the greatest period in music history). An easy runner up is the first Stooges record. It's a surprise that the Velvets made their best music surprisingly soon after losing their core member John Cale (of course he was busy producing a record I just mentioned earlier). The first two Velvet albums are essentials as well, but this album just has so much powerful song writing and the very rare moment in music history can you hear pain and pleasure draped in black & white. Can anyone not tear up upon hearing Moe Tucker sing "Afterhours?".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm not one to bad mouth the Velvets, April 19 2004
By 
Nathan E. Delman (Evanston, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Velvet Underground (Audio CD)
This is album is stunning from top to bottom. They only had four official releases, so you might as well have all of them. It may be the best, it may be the fourth best, it doesn't matter. What makes them such an incredible force is that they have the capabilities to make a screeching noise album and follow it up with a lullaby album, and they both are better than anything you will find today. The control over the instruments should not be doubted, they are aware of their limits more than you are. Lyrically you couldn't wish for greater. Not Dylan or Young or Waits or Davies or Lennon or Springsteen or Billy Joel ever came up with a line better than, "Between thought and expression lies a lifetime" And for that reviewer who said "Murder Mystery" is the only flaw on the album, listen to it closer, it is a mystery and all of the elements are there, I've listened to that song hundreds of times and I still haven't heard half of it or figured it out. I'm not one for knocking a band as good as Velvet Underground, if you don't like music too noisy, this is the best one to get, if you do like noise, still get it, get this album, get this album, get it and listen to it and your world will be better for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Velvet Underground's second best, Nov. 24 2003
By 
Damon Navas-Howard (Santa Rosa, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Velvet Underground (Audio CD)
I almost always find myself saying after I listen to the Velvet Underground's self titled 3rd album, that it is their best. However, it is hard to beat "Velvet Underground and Nico." This album finds as any other review will tell you, The Velvet Underground returning to a softer side after "White Light/White Heat." It is melodic, pretty, simple but still manages to keep a little distortion and experimentation. The lyrics move from social and "avant-garde" to more personal and reflective. My favorite songs are: "What Goes On," "Pale Blue Eyes,"I'm Set Free," "The Murder Mystery," and "Afterhours." There is not one filler on this album. This album and "The Velvet Underground and Nico" were two of the best albums to come out of the 60s. The music is timless and is always playing on my stereo. Whenever I make a mix tape, a song from this album 90% of the time makes it on the tape. I am always winning over people by playing this record and would consider it one of my favorites of all-time. A must have in any music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Softer Side Of Velvet, Nov. 12 2003
By 
This review is from: Velvet Underground (Audio CD)
After being impressed by "The Velvet Underground and Nico" I decided its time for another VU album. Having "Sunday Morning" my favorite song off of VU&N I figured this album was the one for me. Needless to say I'm more then impressed with this album, its much more mature then their previous work and while most of the songs are slowed they are far from boring. They just don't rush anything, its simply interesting arrangements and beautifully thoughtful lyrics that make this album not only captivating but nearly addictive. If your a rock and roll fan, this CD belongs in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Velvets 3rd album, goes 'Back To Basics'........, Oct. 29 2003
This review is from: Velvet Underground (Audio CD)
Most peoples introduction to 'The Velvet Underground', is undoubtedly the infamous "The Velvet Underground & Nico" (the one with the banana on the front cover), which was a drug promoting, Nihilistic, Confrontational classic of an album. So it probably surprised many, when they released this, an intimate, reflective & gentle album in comparasion. Listen to the warmth of contemplative rock & roll on "Candy Says", or the decidedly ambiguous content of "Jesus", for a delicate side to the Velvets recordings not yet unveiled. The instrumentation is minimal in its approach with a much bigger emphasis on simple guitar arrangements, with many tracks dropping the speed of the tempo for something more intelligent and dare I say it??...Romantic!!???, yet the brave & uncompromising lyrical content, would ensure that this album was some of their most distinguished work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Pale Blue Eyes ..., Oct. 19 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Velvet Underground (Audio CD)
After the fierce White Light/White Heat, this third album saw the Velvet Underground in a calmer, more contemplative mood and exploring their softer side which first surfaced on songs like Sunday Morning and I'll Be Your Mirror on the first album.
The exceptions are What Goes On with its shimmering guitars and Beginning To See The Light with its urgent rock riff and almost Stones-like flavour. Some Kinda Love is softer although there is still that unique driving sense of nervouness in the rhythm.
The gem of the album is Pale Blue Eyes, where Reed surpasses himself as a poet in the intimate, evocative images. This song also has one of the Velvets' most gripping melodies and the delivery is perfect. A gentle ballad with a wistful feel, Pale Blue Eyes must be one of the most beautiful songs of all time.
There are plenty of beautiful ballads like Jesus, I'm Set Free and That's The Story Of My Life. The Murder Mystery consists of spoken and sung parts over a brooding backing that becomes dissonant toward the end. This classic album concludes with the playful acoustic number Afterhours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Velvet Underground
Velvet Underground by Velvet Underground (Audio CD - 1996)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews