Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indescribable
Just listen to it, and you'll hear why 5 stars are not enough. One of the eternal "10 desert island albums".
Published on June 4 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good.
The Dream of the Blue Turtles is a pretty enjoyable album. The album's musicianship, songwriting, and production are good. All of the tunes are quite adventurous. My favorite songs are "Fortress Around Your Heart," "Russians," and "Children's Crusade." The rest of the tracks are also listenable. Sting does a good job with the vocals...
Published on July 17 2000 by sauerkraut


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indescribable, June 4 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Dream of the Blue Turtles (Audio CD)
Just listen to it, and you'll hear why 5 stars are not enough. One of the eternal "10 desert island albums".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, But Not Forgotten, June 29 2004
By 
Stephen E. Cohen (Clifton, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When The Police disbanded, Sting came out with a shocker of an album. "If You Love Somebody Set Them Free" is an A+ single, albeit without Sting's deepest lyrics. Unfortunately, some of the other tracks are sometimes overlooked. The follow-up single and closing song on this album, "Fortress Around Your Heart" may be one of the best songs about the dissolution of a relationship ever written, essentially comparing it to a war. "Children's Crusade" is a comparison between the horrors that children faced at that time, and what they faced in 1984 (This album is 20 years old). "Russians" can also seem dated unless you respect the time frame in which this album was released. Many of the tracks dabble into a jazzy-type of feel (i.e. "Shadows in the Rain"--bless the late Kenny Kirkland's sparkling keyboard, "Moon Over Bourbon Street", and the title track. ...and it all works brilliantly! The only thing that was wrong concerning this album was the fact that it lost out for the "Album of the Year" Grammy award to the good, but not great "No Jacket Required" by Phil Collins. This album will always remain a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sting's solo debut, June 9 2004
By 
andy8047 (Nokomis,Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dream of the Blue Turtles (Audio CD)
After four albums with the Police,Gordon Sumner aka Sting retired from the force and went out on his own. He scored a handful of hits starting in the summer of 1985,when this album was released,with IF YOU LOVE SOMEBODY SET THEM FREE. LOVE IS THE SEVENTH WAVE is urban-flavored. RUSSIANS is an ode to the population of Russia. FORTRESS AROUND YOUR HEART is pretty cool. All the other songs are good. Jazz saxophonist Branford Marsalis participated in some songs on this album. After this album,Sting would reunite with his fellow Policemen to record DON'T STAND SO CLOSE TO ME '86,so much different than the 1980 original version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Sting post-Police there is!, April 23 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Dream of the Blue Turtles (Audio CD)
This one is the must get of all Sting solo albums. Sadly, I stopped buying Sting CD's in the early 90's because I thought they each gradually got worse and worse. I can semi-recommend the followup CD to this, the one with "Rock Steady" on it. But by far, this is an excellant abum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "fortress around your heart", March 12 2004
By 
sting (israel is the best) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dream of the Blue Turtles (Audio CD)
i'm a number one sting's fan.
this CD is the most powerfull for me and i tell you why.
the firist time i hear the song:"fortress around your heart"
i feal something special,a good fealing.......
i cant exeplain this! :)
well, in this CD you will anjoy from the songs:
"fortress around your heart" of curce.
"we work the black seam thoghetr"
"children's crusade"
"shodews in the rain"
and from all the songs.
the music so good, that you cant sit and not singing!!!you
jest have to!!!! i wnat to say to you: this album so great, that
if you dont buy this- you probley stopiud.
sting number one fan-S~T~I~N~G
MESSENGER MSN: STING_10@HOTMAIL.CO.IL
PS
i meet sting and he very special men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An auspicious beginning to a fine solo career., Feb. 16 2004
By 
M J Heilbron Jr. "Dr. Mo" (Long Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dream of the Blue Turtles (Audio CD)
First, I'm a big Sting fan. Bigger Police fan. From way back, as they say.
When this album arrived, you should take it as a huge compliment that I didn't hate him for breaking up my favorite band. I liked it. And as I have grown up, I have also grown to love it.
"If You Love Somebody, Set Them Free" was the album's first single, and as singles go, it's fine. The tune lets the listener know that Sting would be incorporating his beloved jazz into the modern pop form. He turned a greeting card slogan into a Top Ten single without embarrassing himself.
"Love Is The Seventh Wave" is a joyous singalong, with a lilting reggae beat. Of note, here he starts echoing old songs in his fadeouts, usually one per album. Listen for the lyrical snips from "Every Breath You Take" and smile.
Sting has always been vocal about his political positions, routinely getting lambasted by the press and public. With "Russians", his point is simple, and hardly arguable...being that he hopes the Russians love their children too. Yes it's overdone and hamfisted, but here's a guy saying exactly what he thinks in a very clear manner, getting the "message to the masses".
There are three mini-movies on the album. 'Children's Crusade" somehow blends images from WW1 with modern day drug abuse scenarios, and it works. This is also significant for being an early example of the intricate tempo changes Sting for which he has a penchant.
"We Work The Black Seam" empathizes with the plight of miners, and the percussive, xylophone-like motif mimics the repetitive mechanical motion of marching, hammering, bearing heavy loads of coal...it's vivid.
"Moon Over Bourbon Street", inspired, as Sting reveals in his liner notes, from "Interview With A Vampire" is a real treat. It's a tale well told, to perfect musical accompaniment. Sting becomes the vampire, albeit one who plays a stand-up bass.
"Consider Me Gone" is a slight jazzy meander, a piffle; "The Dream of The Blue Turtles" a brief comic instrumental.
With "Shadows In The Rain", he revamps a song off "Zenyatta Mondatta", to it's definite benefit. However, that doesn't say much, because it was a weak drone of a tune to begin with.
The album closes with a soaring pop song, "Fortress Around Your Heart", containing the trademark airy choruses, crisp guitar and dense instrumentation of a great "Synchronicity" outtake. Maybe he saved this one for himself.
There is much to like here. Overall, it's not THAT different from the last Police record, but it clearly points the way to Sting's further musical direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Police? Who Are They???, Jan. 12 2004
By 
Kevin Gamin (Medina, Ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dream of the Blue Turtles (Audio CD)
I actually missed Sting's debut album and didn't become aware of it until I had purchased the follow-up, Nothing Like the Sun, and viewed the documentary filmed in Paris, Bring On the Night. What I found was a style of music along the lines of fusion with elements of both jazz and rock. A large portion of the jazz element comes from the very capable hands of Branford Marsalis, saxaphone-playing brother of Wynton, and Omar Hakim, former drummer of Weather Report, who lent their talents to both of Sting's first two albums. The mix of creative and performance abilities is very strong, although listening to Nothing Like the Sun first tainted things for me as I could tell that this was Sting's first attempt at a solo career. Don't get me wrong, this is a very successful solo debut and the fact that the next album was so much better demonstrates the learning curve Sting had in his own abilities as well as this group of musicians' ability to work together and create music. Many, many great songs on this CD, one I find myself listening to over and over without growing tired of hearing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What happened?, Dec 30 2003
By 
J. GARRATT - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dream of the Blue Turtles (Audio CD)
Listening to Dream of the Blue Turtles and Sacred Love is a bewildering experience. It makes you ask: what happened? How come it is that other artists age exceptionaly well whereas Sting peaked early?
The most impressive thing about this CD is that it was done with no help from the Police. They were on the verge of breakup at this time, yet no one thought that Sting could pull off a solo album without his companions. In fact, most people pronounced it commercial suicide. But guess who had the last laugh?
This CD has reggae, rock, jazzy ballads, pop, and lots of other elements that you can't hate. Nearly every song can stand on its own, which you can't really say about the latest Sting releases. Work the Black Seam, Children's Crusade, Fortress Around Your Heart, and Moon Over Bourbon Street are just a few.
Nothing Like The Sun and the Soul Cages followed suit, and If I Ever Loose My Faith In You was the last great song that Sting gave us. If you like pop, you will love Dream of the Blue Turtles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dream of the Blue Turtles is Sting's best, Dec 22 2003
By 
This review is from: The Dream of the Blue Turtles (Audio CD)
Sting's first solo album is also Sting's best. This is definitely his most upbeat work. Every song is good and "We work the Black Seam" and "Fortress Around Your Heart" are masterpieces. If you enjoy the livelier side of Sting this album is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1985 - Best Album of the Year, Sept. 20 2003
By 
L.A. Scene (Indian Trail, NC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dream of the Blue Turtles (Audio CD)
When Sting would set out on his own after leaving the Police who were at the top of their game both musically and commercially, I'm sure their were doubters. Especially when they heard that Sting would be backed by a group of Jazz musicians. The end result would be an excellent fusion of Rock and Jazz, the deep thought provoking lyrics and metaphors we would come to expect from Sting, and probably in my opinion - the best album released in 1985.
On the first song, Sting provides a "sequel" or antedote to "Every Breath You Take". Sting has used EBYT as a foundation for much of his future work, but this song stands completely on its own. It's a great opening song to an album because the tone of the Rock and Jazz fusion is set immediately. It also captures some great lyrics and metaphors. This verse hits the mark when he says:
"If its a mirror you want, just look into my eyes
Or a Whipping Boy - not someone to despise
Or a Prisoner in the Dark
Tied up in Chains that you can't see".
The only thing this song is guilty of is overplaying on the radio, but its an absolute gem to listen to.
"Love is the Seventh Wave" also uses part of EBYT foundation at the end when Sting references of "Every Breath You Take". This is a much lighter song, but also filled with lots of stuff to look at lyrically. First Sting references things beautiful in the world such as Oceans and Trees, then later the tone gets a little more serious with references of bloodshed, weopons, armies, missiles, and greed. But he points out that Love is still the a power in itself by saying "Love is the 7th Wave". This song was released as a single but really never got the airplay it so richly deserved.
"Russians" is a pure political song - less of a Jazz theme here than the first 2. It was written at the end of the cold war. Frankie Goes to Hollywood had come out with a Video around this time that had Reagan and Cherenko in a death match, so this was not such a radical theme, but Sting does a marvelous job at asking the question "If the Russians Love Their Children too?"
The best song and most underrated song of the album is the song about World War I called "Children's Crusade". This song has more of a historical tone than a political tone. The Jazz-Rock fusion is in peak form on this song - there is an outstanding interlude about halfway through the song, then Sting in an emotionally charged 2 part harmony vocal sings "The Children of England will never be slaves..." that really does an excellent job. The song was a victim of the politics of Top 40 radio because it deserved airplay back in 1985.
It's rare that a remake of a song eclipses the original. It's also rare than an artist remakes his own song, but Sting takes the Police song "Shadows in the Rain" to a new level. Great Jazz implementation, quicker tempo, and just a fun song to listen to.
"We Work the Black Seam" has more political messages as undertones to such items like nuclear waste and the plight of the English Coal Miners. This is the longest track of the album (only 5:42), but well worth hearing. It has a lighter jazz feel to it as well. This is one of these songs that will grow on you the more you hear it.
"Consider Me Gone" is also a slow tempo song, but its the kind of song you might hear from a Jazz Singer in a Jazz club. It's the first of 3 of the most Jazz-like tracks on the album. It's not something you'd expect on a album from a Rock star like Sting, but the song holds it own and if you like the Jazz theme of the album, you'll love this one.
"The Dream of the Blue Turtles" title track is an instrumental - it is the shortest song - only 1:17 but its a nice jam of the band. This song has the most pure Jazz of any of the tracks on the album. It's a lot of fun to listen - and for some reason I do think of Blue Turtles marching along hearing it.
"Moon Over Bourbon Street" is probably the weakest of the 10 tracks, but on this album it still would blow away other songs on most other albums. It has the Jazz club theme to it. I almost believe that Sting was actually walking the streets of New Orleans writing and creating this song.
The final track, "Fortress Around Your Heart" has less of a Jazz feel than many of the other tracks, but this song is loaded with Sting metaphors. The title itself is a metaphor. Line after line has metaphors such as "Then let me build a bridge, for I cannot fill this chasm" "I had to stop in my tracks of fear of walking on the minds I laid". This song got a lot of airplay in the Fall of 1985, but I almost never got tired of it.
All in all, this album is a classic. I don't think Sting has put a complete album to this level again (although he has come close and has done some great work afterwords). Whether you are a Police fan, Sting fan, or just someone curious about this album, it's worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5b804f8)

This product

The Dream of the Blue Turtles
The Dream of the Blue Turtles by Sting (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews