Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sergio Returns to his Roots
Sergio Mendes started out in Brazil as a young and highly regarded arranger. In 1965 he put together an international band and had a number of huge pop hits that combined traditional Brazilian rhythms and songs with American pop, and for a few years he was one of the most popular acts in the world. But the American and European infatuation with watered down Brazilian...
Published on Aug. 6 2003 by Michael J. Edelman

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Salvador or Hollywood?
This may be better than his 70's and 80's pop drivel that the other reviewers are mentioning, but the ultra-glossy production values and an overabundance of synthesizers make it very difficult for me to listen to all but a few tracks on this record.
I tried to sell the record back to the used cd store I bought it from (for $6) and they wouldn't take it - they said...
Published on April 29 2000 by Jake Pegg


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sergio Returns to his Roots, Aug. 6 2003
By 
Michael J. Edelman (Huntington Woods, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brasileiro (Audio CD)
Sergio Mendes started out in Brazil as a young and highly regarded arranger. In 1965 he put together an international band and had a number of huge pop hits that combined traditional Brazilian rhythms and songs with American pop, and for a few years he was one of the most popular acts in the world. But the American and European infatuation with watered down Brazilian music faded as the British invasion began in earnest, and Mendes and his various bands fade from public view.
With this album, though, Mendes has returned to a very basic and completely authentic Brazilian sound- far more authentic than the original Brasil '65 band. And it's an absolute treat. The sound of Carnival just echos through this album, and if you close your eyes you can imagine yourself in the middle of it all on the streets and beaches of Rio. Highly recommended for fans of Brazilian music, fans of Mendes, and people who just like to dance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where's my passport?, June 14 2003
By 
N. Alexandre "Nia" (Houston TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brasileiro (Audio CD)
If you don't find yourself picking up a passport and contacting a travel agent after listening to this CD, if only to dream of being in the same place where these musicians sang and played, then you're not listening to the same CD!
I first heard "Magalenha" in the movie "Dance With Me", and the scene in which this plays will have you off your seat! The Afro-Brazillian roots are not at all missed in the selections. The voices are subtle and strong at the same time, the rhythms have you rooted (as they take hold) and moving every part of your body.
It's hard to believe this was released in 1992; it sounds fresher every time I hear it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, July 6 2002
By 
deena (New York, N.Y.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brasileiro (Audio CD)
Buy this CD if you want a taste of raw, sensuous Brazilian music at its best!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, performances and liner notes, June 17 2002
This review is from: Brasileiro (Audio CD)
This CD is one of my favourites. The musicians Mendes has assembled are superb and the songs are infectious. If the music doesn't lift your spirits, check your pulse!
The CD comes with terrific notes about how the album was created and outlining the styles and dances each song employs. It begins and ends with 100 Brasilian percussionists thundering out their unique rhythms in a parking lot, capturing what you would hear on the streets of Rio during Carnaval.
I love the Brasilian take on rap in "What Is This?" Beats the heck out of any other rap I've heard.
Other outstanding tracks include
Magalenha, featuring solo singer, 9 voice chorus and 15 piece percussion group
Indiado, integrating Brasilian, reggae and African rhythms, and supplementing the Brasilian musicians with L.A. guitar/bass/drums and Sergio playing synthesized funky horns on his keyboard.
Lua Soberana, written by the Brasilian songwriting team Lins and Martins, has a wonderful female vocal
But, every track is terrific!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way, way beyond Brasil '66, April 27 2002
This review is from: Brasileiro (Audio CD)
This is NOT the Sergio Mendes of Brasil '66, great as that group was. And yet it IS the same Sergio. What I always liked about Brasil '66 was that if you listen carefully to even their soft-pop songs (as well as their more ambitious ventures), you can hear Sergio's exquisite attention to detail, to arrangements that were complex and inventive even when they fit a rather limited pop bossa nova formula. That attention and inventiveness are in full force here, but in "Brasileiro" Sergio abandons any formula except that of capturing authentic Brasilian sound in all its variety and energy. To accomplish that he has brought together an incredible ensemble of Brazilian musicians and songwriters (with help in the studio by a small band of Americans). The result is an album that throbs and pulses with Rio carnival intensity, soothes with beauty, and soars with joy. It is also the kind of album that can make you want to immerse yourself further in Brasilian music by discovering other artists from that country.
I especially enjoy the percussion-based songs of the writer-singer-drummer Carlinhos Brown (try the first three tracks). Although I am no fan of hip-hop, Carmen Alice's Brasilian adaptation of the form on "What is This?" (Track 4) is a charming winner. The subsequent songs by Brasilian writers Lins, Martin, Gulinga, Pascoal and Bosco are more lyrical and at moments can even remind one (barely) of Sergio's earlier sounds, but he has left his bossa nova days in the dust with this amazing, knockout performance. Buy it! And if you don't like it check your pulse to make sure you still have one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it...., April 8 2002
By 
This review is from: Brasileiro (Audio CD)
I heard this was Sergio's revenge after several questionable records that leaned toward the, shall we say, pop-ier side of Brazilian music.
Aside from track 4 being probably the worst rap song ever (yet with a GREAT groove!) this CD has NO dead wood.
I make all my students buy this who really want to learn about serious brazilian drumming.
IF you can't love this CD, you can't love brazilian music. It's the real deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shake your brasileiro, Dec 13 2001
By 
ddrummer (Dallas, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brasileiro (Audio CD)
Another toe-tappin' delight! My love for this music goes back to the vinyl version many years ago. In CD form, those drummers literally march out of the speakers. Happy music and vocals - the singers use the beautiful Portuguese language - that needs no translation to make you feel good. While there are numerous South American musicians, the core group come from LA's elite session musicians. Kudos to Mr. Mendes for melding these artists together to create a unique sound.
The fourth track - What is This? - is a rap song gone great! Just one among a group of happy, energetic songs. Enjoy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happiness in a Jewel Case, March 21 2001
By 
John Mitchell (Sunnyvale, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brasileiro (Audio CD)
This album is as good today as when it was released. The music is fresh as ever and a real mood lifter. Captures the playfulness and sophistication that is the hallmark of Brazilian music. One of the best albums I own, and I own many. Great job, Sergio!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Search for lyrics, June 16 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Brasileiro (Audio CD)
I have been listening to this CD for many years - some of the lyrics escape me - my Portuguese is either rusty or old-fashioned - need to connect with anybody who might have the lyrics to the songs in Brasileiro. It's not too easy to sing along with many of the words missing. Anyone there have them? Does Sergio Mendes have an e-site either here or in Brasil? Thanks for answers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome brazilian musiquality, April 10 2001
This review is from: Brasileiro (Audio CD)
Sergio has always been one of my favourites and this work enhances that even more, if you love good music, do yourself a favor and purchase this one, It's awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbfab3144)

This product

Brasileiro
Brasileiro by Sergio Mendes (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews