Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whew!
I saw Zeppelin back in 1970. By the mid 70's "Stairway to Heaven" was a staple of midnight rock, and already acquiring the sheen of am FM radio "classic." But by then I had already lost touch with their album output. Now, thirty years later I've got my hands on this remastered set. Given that I used to listen to their second album on an 8 track player in my car, this...
Published on April 5 2003 by Lucius

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not the best
All that you need to know is that this is not the best compilation of Zep's music to get. It is too expensive, the 3rd CD is useless and obviously has no replay value since it is only interviews which all start "Hi, I'm Jimmy Page and this is led Zepplin." The choice of music is good but definetly not the best. THEY DIDN"T CAPTURE the SPIRIT of Led...
Published on Aug. 24 2000 by nate---


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whew!, April 5 2003
By 
This review is from: Remasters - Box (Audio CD)
I saw Zeppelin back in 1970. By the mid 70's "Stairway to Heaven" was a staple of midnight rock, and already acquiring the sheen of am FM radio "classic." But by then I had already lost touch with their album output. Now, thirty years later I've got my hands on this remastered set. Given that I used to listen to their second album on an 8 track player in my car, this is a revelation. I had to wait a long time to hear Zep on a decent stereo system, but better late than never. That Zeppelin was a blues based band was always overshadowed by their popular acclaim as a heavy metal band. This set sets the record straight. They kicked ...as a rockin' blues band. Period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a Knockout, but still a TKO, May 1 2004
By 
L.A. Scene (Indian Trail, NC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Remasters - Box (Audio CD)
I am not a die-hard Led Zeppelin fan. But I have come to have enormous respect for the quartet of Robert Plant, Jimmy Page, John Paul Jones, and John Bonham. I have come to realize that the efforts of a great work ethic have produced some of the stuff that legends are made of - and Led Zep takes the cake. As a 30 something music fan, I decided this would be one of my first entry points into the Led Zeppelin music library. 'Remasters' seemed like the perfect entry point - most of Zeppelin's great songs remastered on 2 CDs - plus a third 'Interviews' CD to get insight into the band. This box set is very good. It doesn't deliver that knockout punch or homerun, but it is very good.
First the packaging - It seems that nowadays everything that is above 2 CDs that is considered a "Boxed Set". There really have become 2 categories of Boxed Sets. The first is a "Classic Boxed Set". This comes in a covered box about the size of an LP and contains CDs (sometimes in jewel cases, sometimes just on the bottom of the box) and a book about the same size. The second type is more like a 5.5" x 10" hardcover book which I term "Hardcover Box Set'. The CDs basically are stored in the hardcover binding and the book is in the middle. I much prefer what I call the Classic Boxed Set to the Hardcover format. The 'Led Zeppelin Remasters' set is a subset of Hardcover format. The disappointing thing - no book in the middle. Just two little booklets in the upper left corner. I know Led Zeppelin has more comprehensive boxed sets (The Complete Set and the 4 CD set), but I still would have liked to see a little more here.
The music is on 2 CDs and basically is divided into Early Zeppelin and Late Zeppelin. The first CD encompasses songs through the 'Led Zeppelin IV' album while the 2nd CD takes us to the end with songs from 'In Through the Out Door'. I think the Zeppelin fan will be satisfied here. I am more of a fan of the later stuff. I was very disappointed to find that 'Fool in the Rain' was not included on this set. However if you want to hear remastered versions of 'Stairway to Heaven', 'Kashmir', and 'Trampled Underfoot' - you won't be disappointed. On a side note, I think those are the three best Zep songs.
The third CD is divided into 3 sections over 43 tracks. The first section is a profile of the band which is 28 minutes long, but much of that is taken up by replaying songs such as Kashmir. I think it would have been nicer to go deeper with the band profile. The 2nd section is Station Liners and if you are a die-hard fan, this is perfect. I wish more boxed sets had preserved this type of stuff. The third section is individual Q&A with Jimmy Page, Robert Plant, and John Paul Jones. Much like the first section, it doesn't go as deep as I would have liked to hear. The potential is there, it just doesn't deliver the depth.
All and all, I'm still happy I got this and it left me for wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect starting point for begginners..., Jan. 7 2002
By 
alexliamw (New Haven, CT) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Remasters - Box (Audio CD)
All of Led Zep's albums (with the possible except of Led Zep IV and Physical Graffiti) have had some outstanding tracks, but some not so great ones. And here, in one handy package, are virtually all the outstanding ones. This is nearly as good quality as buying all 8 seperate albums, but much much cheaper (I got the British edition, which doesn't have the interview disc but has the two music discs, for [amt], which is about [amt]!) It has all the classics, from the opener 'Communication Breakdown' through 'Babe I'm Gonna Leave You', 'Whole Lotta Love', 'Since I've Been Loving You', 'Black Dog', 'Rock and Roll' and my favorite track of all time 'Stairway To Heaven', then onto the second disc which is concerned with Physical Graffiti (once described by British music magazine Q as the heavy alternative to Seargeant Pepper) and the other experimental albums, and contains more great numbers like 'The Rain Song', 'Houses of The Holy' (which, contary to logic, does not appear on the album of the same name but on Physical Graffiti), 'Kashmir' and closer 'In The Evening'. It is a great place to start for begginers to Led Zep, and despite some ommisions (where is When The Levee Breaks or What Is And What Should Never Be) it is a wonderful collection of music and a brilliant introduction to one of the most pioneering rock bands of the 20th century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ALMOST perfect, Jan. 8 2001
By 
Dominic (London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Remasters - Box (Audio CD)
Critics may have derided them as overblown cock-rock and Spinal Tap-esque (and if you read 'Hammer of the Gods', you'll be enclined to agree!) but Led Zeppelin remain one of the most influential rock bands ever, and the catalyst for hundreds of today's finest music. Robert Plant's lyrics, particularly on 'Kashmir' and the spellbinding 'The Rain Song', are a stunning evocation of the base elements of wind, fire, earth and rain, and this compilation contains some of the best psychedelic, oceanic rock ever...EXCEPT their are some weird choices for a greatest hits package here at the same time. It omits their best song - 'When The Levee Breaks' - a truly awesome piece of music which sums up the pure primeval energy of the best rock 'n' roll, replaced for some reason by the contrastingly inferior 'Misty Mountain Hop'. Also, we get the rather embarrasing cod-reggae of 'D'Yer Maker' (possibly their worst song ever apart from 'Boogie With Stu', thankfully not on here) and the average 'Heartbreaker' ('What Is And What Should Never Be' and 'Thank You' on the same album ['Zeppelin II'] are much better).
Those grudges aside, though, this is still faultless, truly transitory stuff, and possibly the best rock music you will ever hear. Anyone seriously interested in modern rock music will be lacking without this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A beginners delight, Aug. 16 2000
This review is from: Remasters - Box (Audio CD)
This was the first zeppelin CD I bought, i wanted a quick intro to this phenomenal band, but what occured to me about this release is that while the individual tracks are excellent in thier own right and the sequencing is both chronological and intelligent, the interviews on the third CD are also a nice touch, to get an idea of what made zeppelin truly great you have to treat their music in its individual entities, basically getting the original albums which show clearly that the last thing Zeppelin were was a singles band. Their albums as any seasoned listener would tell you have a power of their own and the way they move by themselves is what zeppelin is really about, their mystique and their brilliance in the studio.
Nevertheless, this is a solid and good collection of songs from their catalogue with many of the favourites here, making it very good for beginners. But beleive me, this selection will only get you so far, and to really appreciate this bands music to the full you have to buy the studio albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Power, Mystery and the Hammer of the Gods, June 28 2000
This review is from: Remasters - Box (Audio CD)
It's strange, the Zeppelin legacy. Nowadays, Zep. are largely regarded as the original heavy metal rock dinosaurs whose cartoon excess on tour and on stage cataysed Punk and killed off the 60's. Odd that, as listening to this collection of songs I can't find a SINGLE bloated heavy metal track among them. If Metal spawns from below the waist, Zep music comes from an altogether more sinister and mystic place. Sure, it has balls, and Zep could rock with no peers (Rock & Roll, Black Dog, Immigrant song etc) but there is a restraint and spiritual discomfiture in this music which has more in common with mediaeval troubadour folk than Deep Purple style lumpen metal. Zepplin music is of shadows and needful things, not of MTV.
Tracks like 'No Quarter' are EVERY BIT as chilling as Robert Johnson's timeless recordings : ' The dogs of doom are howlin' more' indeed. 'Gallows pole' is desperate, and 'the Battle of Evermore' is pure Canterbury tales: Gothic, existential, disquieting.
There is lyrical conceit for sure (unintentionally Parodied later by bands like Rush) but the sheer magnificence of tracks like 'Kashmir' justify the Homerian timbre of the lyric: ' O Father of the four winds fill my sails..'. Truly inspired by ethnic music at is purest and most spiritual long before Paul Simon made it trendy, Zeps best music draws from a huge variety of sources ALL of them base, ancient, spiritual.
Page's restrained guitar work is more effective than any cranked-up modern metaller can ever be, it's what he doesn't play which says the most.
'the Rain Song' is just plain beautiful, but again the retraint renders the song imploring, unfulfilled, fearful like almost no other modern music.
Plant's early shredding vocals (Whole Lotta Love, Communication breakdown) were effective enough, but gave way to an unsettling existential moan over time, (Kashmir, Achille's last stand, No Quarter). John Bonham's sex groove underpinned all their best work, and gave Hip Hop-pers an obvious drum sample along the way '(when the levee breaks, the Ocean)
Don't buy this album as a historical document, as you would , say, a Who album, for Like Gregorian Chant , Zep music is both of it's time and timeless.
Buy it, love it and be unsettled. We will never see their like again.
This album is essntial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars STOP If You've Heard This Before...., June 26 2000
This review is from: Remasters - Box (Audio CD)
"LED...ZEPPELIN...IS...BACK!" shouted the TV advertisements for this collection, distilled from 1990's four CD box set. Indeed, the 3CD "Remasters" (two music discs plus a third interview disc) provides near-perfect middle ground between the group's collected works box and 4CD box, and the inferior "Early Days" and "Latter Days" one-disc sets.
"Remasters" spends its first disc on Zeppelin's seismic first four albums, leaving out some essential "II" tracks ("What Is And What Should Never Be," "Living Loving Maid") but culminating where it should, with "Stairway To Heaven." The second disc concentrates on Zeppelin's most experimental work and could lead to greater appreciation of 1976's "Prescence." "Achilles Last Stand," with its understated (for him) Robert Plant vocal, and "Nobody's Fault But Mine" are represented; "Candy Store Rock" would've been a nice addition also.
The third disc features a 30-minute radio special (featuring a lo-fi, interwoven "Hey, Hey What Can I Do"), individual interviews with surviving band members, and some Jimmy Page's song intros ("Hello, this is Jimmy Page and this DJ is insane!" "Hello, I'm Jimmy Page. It's time to wake up and get the Led out!") This is all as essential music as any released since the Beatles' breakup, and should be owned (either here or on the original LPs) in some form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the magnum opus of music by the brilliant lEd zEp, Feb. 23 2000
This review is from: Remasters - Box (Audio CD)
Hi there, lEd zEp, what a grp, simply gr8, they dont need no words of praise, but lemme say a few words as its diff on my part to resist myself ;-) their spiritually oriented lyrics, robert's seductive vocals, jimmy's hypnotic music, bonham's immense drummin, john's such a distinguished beats u just cant stop urself from feel like being on the 9th cloud. wanna whole lotta luv;-what a orgasmic piece of music d'yer mak'er:- no matter how bleaked u r, after listenin to this magnum opus u find this world sooo beautiful kashmir, no quarter, all of my luv,immigrant song, the battle of ever more, stairway to heaven,the rain song, the song remain the same,trampled underfoot,achilles last stand, in the evening, houses of the holy ALL R SIMPLY GR8 u know what i think, pink floyd's any album is better than anyother's best of but there is one and only one exception, yUp its lEd zEp, and lEd zEp is my favourite grp.
I LUV U lEd zEp. ~~*kiss*~~
if u have ne cRibs or nething u can feel free to e-mail me at aashishpayal@hotmail.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simply gr8, Feb. 23 2000
This review is from: Remasters - Box (Audio CD)
Hi there, lEd zEp, what a grp, simply gr8, they dont need no words of praise, but lemme say a few words as its diff on my part to resist myself ;-) their spiritually oriented lyrics, robert's seductive vocals, jimmy's hypnotic music, bonham's immense drummin, john's such a distinguished beats u just cant stop urself from feel like being on the 9th cloud. wanna whole lotta luv;-what a orgasmic piece of music d'yer mak'er:- no matter how bleaked u r, after listenin to this magnum opus u find this world sooo beautiful kashmir, no quarter, all of my luv,immigrant song, the battle of ever more, stairway to heaven,the rain song, the song remain the same,trampled underfoot,achilles last stand, in the evening, houses of the holy ALL R SIMPLY GR8 u know what i think, pink floyd's any album is better than anyother's best of but there is one and only one exception, yUp its lEd zEp, and lEd zEp is my favourite grp.
I LUV U lEd zEp. ~~*kiss*~~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Closest To What I Have, Aug. 14 2000
This review is from: Remasters - Box (Audio CD)
In Japan this CD is dubbed as Led Zeppelin Remasters but without interview CD(2 CDs in total). Tracks are exactly the same as Japanese version.
My image of Led Zeppelin before I bought this was very fragmented. I only knew All Of Love, Kashmir, D'yer Mak'er, Stairway To Heaven and Whole Lotta Love. Now that I am holding this CD. I am so enchanted by all 26 tracks and want to listen to more of their works. Yes they didn't have big hits but without them there would be no TOTO, Foreigner, Survivor, Boston or Journey for sure. 70s great bands such as Deep Purple, Kiss, Black Sabbath and LZ did paved the way for 80s hard rock movement. I am glad that more and more younger generation of rock fans are lured by them as I do since the latest compilations were released. This remaster version of course serves as great invitation for one of the greatest rock band in history as these newer compilations do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Remasters (Audio Cassette)
Remasters (Audio Cassette) by Led Zeppelin (Audio Cassette - 1992)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews