Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, But Better:
Everyone raves about his album.
It certianly deserves it. The Blues Brothers and their allstar band were a musical miracle, and everyone of their songs is precious. Buying one of their albums is getting a unheard of greatest hits album of Soul, R&B, and a few others mixed in to keep it interesting.
But why settle for 20 songs when they released 35 or...
Published on Dec 12 2003

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Why have the imitation instead of the real thing?
The Blues Brothers were one of Saturday Night Live's more overrated moments, and this collection just serves as further proof why.
Not one of the Brothers cover versions of great R&B classics comes anywhere near to being in the same league with the originals, and in the process the duo did little more than turn a vital American art form into mindless frat boy...
Published on Oct. 17 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, But Better:, Dec 12 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Everyone raves about his album.
It certianly deserves it. The Blues Brothers and their allstar band were a musical miracle, and everyone of their songs is precious. Buying one of their albums is getting a unheard of greatest hits album of Soul, R&B, and a few others mixed in to keep it interesting.
But why settle for 20 songs when they released 35 or so?
Buy Blues Brothers Complete (it's about 80% more expensive [$18 or so]) but well worth it, as this album is missing the funky She Caught The Katy, very well done Perry Mason Theme, the memorable Shotgun Blues and Groove Me (both underatted) and others to round out the complete set.
Blues Brothers Complete can be found also on amazon.com
where, that's your job to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Blues Brothers, Nov. 19 2003
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
This album is the single greatest collection of Blues Brothers material available anywhere. The sound is great, the songs are perfect, and the energy is unbelievable! A wonderful compilation, not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Blues Album Ever, and I Meen EVER!, Aug. 26 2003
By 
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Possibly the Best Blues Band Album Ever.
Defenitly the Best Album the Blues Brothers have put out.
GREAT, GREAT, GREAT!
Blues Has Never Sounded SO GOOD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indeed THE Definitive Collection!, March 1 2002
By 
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
That rare thing, a collection of tracks from previously released albums which has actually managed to pick the quality tunes!
Thoroughly recommended, whether you already have a Blues Bros collection, or are ready to join the ever growing fan-base!!
This is a CD you will want to listen to ALL the way through - there are no "fillers" it is quality from start to finish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Blues Bros are cool man, June 16 2001
By 
John Dimare (My Space........) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
My dad played this for me when I was really young and I can remember wanting to hear rubber biscuit again and again untill everyone in the car coundnt stand to hear it again heheh. oh and the other songs are really good too......this makes me think and remember how much fun my childhood was :) So why not have an open mind and give it a try huh? how bout it huh? huh?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Blues Bros are cool man, June 16 2001
By 
John Dimare (My Space........) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
My dad played this for me when I was really young and I can remember wanting to hear rubber biscuit again and again untill everyone in the car coundnt stand to hear it again heheh. oh and the other songs are really good too......this makes me think and remember how much fun my childhood was :) So why not have an open mind and give it a try huh? how bout it huh? huh?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loving Tribute, July 13 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Not a single one of these songs were done better by the BBs than the original artists. However, these were done well enough and with enough love that it would want you to buy all the CDs you can by the original blues and soul artists. The backing band contains the best in the business and catches fire. Like they say, I suggest that you buy all the blues cds that you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Rest, Feb. 9 2000
By 
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Of all The Blues Brothers recordings, this is the best. It gives you their greatest songs all on one CD. If you want one BB CD get this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Blues Brothers music in 1 CD, Nov. 23 1999
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
This albun has a great Blues Brothers concert. It great and the band is the best of the best. Blues Brother For Evenr!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Why have the imitation instead of the real thing?, Oct. 17 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
The Blues Brothers were one of Saturday Night Live's more overrated moments, and this collection just serves as further proof why.
Not one of the Brothers cover versions of great R&B classics comes anywhere near to being in the same league with the originals, and in the process the duo did little more than turn a vital American art form into mindless frat boy hedonism. For that they should not be forgiven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad73f714)

This product

Definitive Collection
Definitive Collection by Blues Brothers (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews