Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Soundtrack!, Nov. 20 2011
This review is from: 1492: Conquest of Paradise (Audio CD)
This is a beautifully produced CD. It was recommended to me by a friend 15 years ago or so, and I have been listening to it ever since. There are some truly soaring passages, some more moody, some inspiring, some tense, but all very well recorded with a splash of background vocals from time to time. I listen to this while marking homework or doing hobbies. I have two copies, just in case the first ever 'wears out' or becomes out of print. It is that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1492: Conquest of Paradise - Original Motion Picture Soundtr, July 13 2004
By 
B. Viberg "Alex Rodriguez" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1492: Conquest of Paradise (Audio CD)
1492: Conquest of Paradise - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack [SOUNDTRACK]~ Vangelis is a good lesson to composers how a good soundtrack should sound like. He plays with the sounds and is an auteur when it comes to the musical scene. I loved it. 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite CD, period, Nov. 22 2003
By 
tobe (Urbana, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1492: Conquest of Paradise (Audio CD)
Although the most famoust track of the CD is number 2, I believe that the last one, "Pinta, Nina: Into Eternity", is absolutely wonderful, specially minute 8.
I do recommend it to you
Tobe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A highlight from the works of Vangelis, Sept. 14 2003
By 
Bram Janssen (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1492: Conquest of Paradise (Audio CD)
1492 is one of the Vangelis soundtracks that will live on longer than his own name. Conquest Of Paradise is undoubtedly his most recognised piece of music, leaving behind even the End Titles from Blade Runner (also a Ridley Scott - Vangelis co-venture) or any of his numerous non-film-music compositions.
Preparing and producing his tale of the famous medieval explorer, Ridley Scott knew he wanted the music to connect the modern viewer with the 15th-century setting. Vangelis was from that point of view the only right choice for composer.
Speaking from a film-score perspective, Vangelis' approach is unique. There is no other composer who combines synthesizer, acoustic orchestra and choir as fluently and powerful as Mr Papthanassiou does. It is a unique and overwhelming sound - tranquil and exhilarating at once. Despite the music largely being dreamy - without obvious narrative structures or changes in pace - it creates a perfect, almost nostalgic, thoughtful mood for each scene.
The famed Main Titles aside, highlights on the album are: the regal choirs of Hispanola, the guitar of Moxica And The Horse and the gentleness of Twenty Eighth Parallel.
There can nothing structurally be said against the quality of this music. The only reason for not liking this soundtrack would be not liking Vangelis' style broadly. If that is so, this album will not convince you of the contrary.
For the other-opinionated of the world: along with Blade Runner, this is a Vangelis album worth your money and time.
From me, this one gets four stars.
Bram Janssen,
The Netherlands
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1492, May 30 2003
By 
P. G. (Sheboygan, WI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1492: Conquest of Paradise (Audio CD)
If you like Vangelis, you'll like this CD. The music compliments Ridley Scott's motion picture "1492: The Conquest of Paradise". The cut "Moxica and the Horse" sounds enchanting, with the first part sounding like a voice in the wind. A few other tracks give the feeling of sending someone off on a long journey, not seeing them for a long time. Overall, the CD has a Spanish flavor blending in well with the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vangelis's Greatest, April 22 2003
By 
S. Cairns (Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1492: Conquest of Paradise (Audio CD)
What a CD! The word "magnificent" is often overused as a hyperbole, but this truly loves up to its name. Such power in the music. Vangelis has used a range of instruments and the human voice to create a stunning CD for the motion picture. The tracks are breathtakingly good. I cannot praise the track "Light and Shadow" enough. It has that instant "wow" factor. The whole CD is a joy to listen to from beginning to end. Often intense, it grabs your attention, and must have been the perfect soundtrack.
This is Vangelis at his most mature. He is at his peak here, and the brilliance has simply flowed out of him to create an unforgettable CD. I give it my highest recommendation.
Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Modern insturments with Spanish influences, Pure heaven!, Feb. 24 2003
This review is from: 1492: Conquest of Paradise (Audio CD)
This alblum is as good as Vangelis other works. He truly is one of a kind. You have the insurmental and modern synthesized aspects of the score, coupled with a subtley Spanish overtone, and I think a little Latin I think, gives the aura that are really listening to the music in the New World jungle paradise, or inside the great Cathedrals of Spain. What a CD! It is unfortunate that the movie did not fare so well in America, probably because it was to intellectual and there were no Motor Bikes, Apache Helicopters and exploding tractor trailers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You Mean There Was Also a Movie?, Nov. 27 2002
By 
Lonnie E. Holder "The Review's the Thing" (Columbus, Indiana, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1492: Conquest of Paradise (Audio CD)
My first exposure to Vangelis was the soundtrack to "Blade Runner". "Blade Runner" was an incredible movie. Coupled with the soundtrack, "Blade Runner" became a science fiction fan's dream of how well done a science fiction movie can be.
In the tradition of "Blade Runner", Vangelis has created another stunning soundtrack that doesn't need the movie to support its musical theme. Put another way, if you did not know this CD was a soundtrack from a movie, there is nothing from the music that would tell you.
The music is classified as "New Age", which is a bit of a stretch. I understand it can be difficult to classify someone like Vangelis, who uses synthesizers in combination with cameos by several other instruments and vocal performances when required to create a work that sounds more like a full orchestra versus a guy with a bunch of keyboards and a mixing board. There are many places Vangelis could fit, but instead of trying to classify Vangelis, and this CD, just listen to it.
The keyboards give you a feel of renaissance, and yet the very nature of synthesizers makes the CD feel modern. Listening to "Conquest of Paradise", as an example, I felt a trace of Ennio Morricone's compositions for the spaghetti westerns of the 60s, with more than a flavor of Russian folk music, and enough soaring synthesizer and vocals to make a incredible song, best played loudly on a mellow day. Later, "City of Isabel" has a late middle age flavor, something that would have fit into a castle setting.
"Light and Shadow" is ominous, with religious and gothic overtones. As the music progresses, the overtones recede to the background as flutes provide the upbeat hope of light being shined into the shadows. Later, the ominous overtones mix with the flute to give you the sense that while there is dark, there is hope.
The beginning of "West Across the Sea" reminds me of Walter Carlos' moog synthesizer compositions. Then the tone changes, shifting into a more classical work. A perfect example of how this music refuses to stay in one place long enough to be definitively classified.
Vangelis' music is something that can be an acquired taste. Furthermore, while there is a certain similarity between his albums, over time there has been sufficient variation that you can't judge one by all the others. I think this music is ideal for someone who likes classical music and progressive rock. If you enjoy traditional classical music such as Dvorak and Stravinsky, and you also like groups like Yes, The Moody Blues, and King Crimson, then this album will likely appeal to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vangelis makes his conquest of paradise, Oct. 9 2002
By 
Brandon Cutro (Tyler, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1492: Conquest of Paradise (Audio CD)
I picked up this soundtrack at a used CD shop recently and I was a little skeptical before putting the disc in the player due to the fact that I am not at all familiar with Vangelis and his music. (Except "Chariots of Fire") The first time I listened to it, I didn't really like it because it's not really my type of music, but the second time, I took a whole new perspective on it. It's a great soundtrack. The main theme "Conquest of Paradise" is truly a great theme and resembles "Chariots of Fire". It's complete with synthesizers played by Vangelis himself and an English Chamber Choir. The bad thing is the theme is unheard until the 11th track "Twenty Eighth Parallel", which is almost at the end of the soundtrack. I wish it would have been featured more because it's that good. I am not a huge fan of electronic music, but the music on this soundtrack sounds great. It's relaxing and takes you in. The remaining score contains new age type music with some spanish guitar and voices, a mandolin, a violin, flutes, the choir, and of course, Vangelis. I hope to see more of Vangelis composing for film, since he doesn't do much of that anymore. If you like new age music, you will absolutely love this. I didn't give it 5 stars because the awesome theme was underused. Had the theme been used more often, 5 stars would have been my rating. If questioning about getting this soundtrack, get it and you'll be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, June 10 2002
By 
This review is from: 1492: Conquest of Paradise (Audio CD)
I'm starting to think you can have the very best of Vangelis by simply owning Themes and this CD. Given the shear volume of music he's created, I can't think of a higher compliment for this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1492: Conquest of Paradise
1492: Conquest of Paradise by Vangelis (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews