Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for the Rock Connosseur
It's funny to read some of the complaints about this box set. "Song Remains the Same and BBC aren't included!" Well, correct. It's called Complete STUDIO Recordings, not Complete Live Recordings. "Cover art is too small!" Well, it's a CD, not an LP. I'm of the belief that you can't go wrong buying the Zeppelin LPs in mint condition, as much like Kiss, Zeppelin...
Published on Oct. 12 2010 by LeBrain

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars In advance - I'm only reviewing the packaging
Yes, this is a great way to get all of the studio albums in one shot (if you can find this box for a decent price). No, I'm not going to comment on the sound quality of these remasters with terms like 'drop-out' and a bunch of other B.S. that many posers like to throw around.

But I AM going to state that the quality of the packaging in this box is absolute...
Published 15 months ago by Killer Muhari


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for the Rock Connosseur, Oct. 12 2010
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Complete Studio Recordings (10CD) (Audio CD)
It's funny to read some of the complaints about this box set. "Song Remains the Same and BBC aren't included!" Well, correct. It's called Complete STUDIO Recordings, not Complete Live Recordings. "Cover art is too small!" Well, it's a CD, not an LP. I'm of the belief that you can't go wrong buying the Zeppelin LPs in mint condition, as much like Kiss, Zeppelin always gave you extra bang for your buck, more on that later. "Presence and Coda suck!" Well, they might not be to your personal taste, but this is the COMPLETE Studio Recordings, not the Personal Favourite Studio Recordings.

Anyway, I listened to the entire box set last weekend once again, and it's always nice to revisit Zeppelin's back catalogue in that way. After all, each album is a portrait of where they were at that time, and are truly best when played as complete albums, not songs on a compilation. Zeppelin I and II are an embrionic, pseudo-heavy metal band with hippy tendencies, but you are immediately blown away by how GOOD this band was. All four members were simply stunning, a raging and ripping Plant included. By Zeppelin III they really started to explore the "light and shade" that Pagey speaks of in the included Cameron Crowe essay. It is a beautiful album. Zeppelin IV of course combines the sounds of the first three together into one multi-platinum work of art.

After Zeppelin IV, their albums become harder to characterize, but diversity is still key. Much like the Beatles before and Queen after, Zeppelin were not content to be a simple bass/guitar/drums combo. Strings, synth, and numerous other instruments are brought in to add to the Zeppelin mosiac. Houses of the Holy contains one of my favourite moments in "No Quarter" which is anchored by John Paul Jones' keyboard and synth work, a hauntingly beautiful piece. Physical Grafitti contains perhaps their highest achievement in "Kashmir", but certainly songs like "The Rover" continue the metallic goodness that spawned the band. Presence is an album misunderstood by many, a back-to-basics tour-de-force of power. The very Rush-like "Achiles Last Stand" combine progressive rock tendencies with Plant's lyrical mysticism. Finally In Through the Out Door represents Pagey taking a step back and Jones filling the gap with synth arrangements. "All My Love" is a ballad that came ten years too soon, a Plant/Jones penned masterpiece of beauty. "In The Evening" haunts with Plant's vocals buried in the mix under cascades of Jonesy's synth and Page's whammy bar. "Hot Dog" is a pure country ho-down, and Zeppelin ended their career with the diversity that they started it with. But it doesn't end there, as an expanded version of Coda is included, an odds-and-sods collection of outtakes. Certainly these are not the greatest of Zeppelin moments, but "Bonzo's Montreaux" represents the kind of experimentation that Zeppelin were founded on. A sequel of sorts to "Moby Dick", it is a drum orchestra and worthy of the albums before. The expanded edition includes one of my favourite tracks, Zeppelin's version of "Traveling Riverside Blues". Page's slide guitar is simply excellent.

A booklet with ample photos is included, as well as the afformentioned Cameron Crowe essay. Reading it, you can see where much of Almost Famous came from. Each CD is packaged with a reproduction of each LP's original artwork. That means, for In Through the Out Door, you get all six covers, plus an image of the paper bag, plus the inner sleeve. Zeppelin III gives you a miniature version of "the wheel", and Physical Grafitti, the "windows". If only you cuold manipulate them like the originals, but alas.

Remastering job is OK. I detected what I thought were a couple problems, I thought I heard some tape drop-out. I hate to say it, but maybe the Zeppelin catalogue could use a fresh remastering. 17 years have passed since this was released.

You can either go out and buy each album separately, or you can buy this set. Personally I think this set is the way to go, especially if you care about packaging.

Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent box set and cheap way to buy all of Zep's discs, June 22 2004
By 
Terrence J Reardon "Classic rock guru" (Lake Worth, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Studio Recordings (10CD) (Audio CD)
Led Zeppelin's The Complete Studio Recordings which was released in September of 1993, is a great box set featuring all of the band's studio albums in one place instead of spending an extra $30 or so buying them individually. The real treat is Coda has four bonus tracks which were four of the five bonus tracks on the two separate Led Zeppelin box sets released in 1990 and 1993. The sound of the albums as a whole never sounded better, especially Presence and Led Zep III(two of my favorite albums of theirs). Also, the albums come with the original vinyl artwork and excellent liner notes courtesy of Cameron Crowe. The bonuses on Coda are Baby Come on Home(OK), Travelling Riverside Blues(excellent and was a rock radio hit in 1990 and MTV promoted the Zep box set when MTV was good), White Summer/Black Mountain Side and the long-lost B Side Hey Hey What Can I Do. This set is well worth the $100 price tag(10 CDs for over a $100, a bargain). Hugely recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars In advance - I'm only reviewing the packaging, Jan. 19 2013
This review is from: The Complete Studio Recordings (10CD) (Audio CD)
Yes, this is a great way to get all of the studio albums in one shot (if you can find this box for a decent price). No, I'm not going to comment on the sound quality of these remasters with terms like 'drop-out' and a bunch of other B.S. that many posers like to throw around.

But I AM going to state that the quality of the packaging in this box is absolute crap. The CD sleeves within the CD covers are stapled in place very poorly, while the actual CDs fit very snugly in their sleeves. The result is that, if you remove the CD without taking excessive care, you pull the sleeve away from the cover. And because of the horrible design, this cannot be fixed once it's become detached. Brutal.

In closing, if you're buying this box as only a collector's item, and don't plan to remove the discs from their sleeves; go for it. If you're buying this box only to fulfill your Zeppelin listening needs and don't care about the package; go for it. If you're hoping to acquire all of Zeppelin's studio albums AND have a nice package for years to come; you're out of luck with this option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Rock's Peaks, April 25 2002
This review is from: The Complete Studio Recordings (10CD) (Audio CD)
Coming back to this music after a long listening hiatus, two things in particular impress: the amazing, almost entirely successful eclecticism of the songs; and the production values of Jimmy Page, who is certainly one of the great masters of studio overdubbing.
John Paul Jones, bassist and keyboardist, once made the observation about so-called heavy metal bands that came in Zep's wake that they would all tend to imitate one facet of the group while overlooking all the rest. In other words, Zeppelin-influenced bands tend to mimic the riff-centered "mega-decibelity" of the group, while ignoring the side that employed mandolins, acoustic guitars, recorders, country blues, jazz chords, folk music -- and all the other diverse instrumental and music styles which combined to produce the unique synthesis that was Led Zeppelin. And unlike those other bands, who never seem to be able to figure out when in the middle of song to change tempos or switch gears to something new, Jimmy Page always understood that even the greatest riff becomes tiresome if is repeated too many times without variation, or if there's nothing else musically interesting going on in the song.
In song after song Page as a producer proves himself to have been blessed with the right instincts about how to best put each one over. To give one example among many: in "When the Levee Breaks" he has the band lay down the basic track by playing together live in the studio without separation -- as the Beatles did in "Yer Blues" -- which gives the music the rough bluesy edge that it needs. Or, to give another example, check out the subtle use of electric piano on "Stairway to Heaven." The point is, no matter where you turn, there's always something to learn. If other bands would take the time to learn what Jimmy teaches in these classic albums, instead of just trying to be rock star-idiots, there wouldn't be so much [stuff] on the airwaves.
Which I suppose is just a roundabout way of saying that you can't go wrong by investing in this box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cover Art Too Small, June 27 2004
By 
This review is from: The Complete Studio Recordings (10CD) (Audio CD)
How can I write a review that encompasses all of Led Zeppelin's studio material and not give 5 stars? This stuff is legendary. Nevertheless, I have something negative to say about this particular box set. Firstly, I think this box set has beautiful packaging, excellent photos etc. Also, this is a great way to buy all the studio albums and save some $$$. HOWEVER, the cover artwork was really designed to be presented on the 12" x 12" cover for a vinyl record. Many people would argue that the 5" x 5" jewel case booklet that comes with standard CDs is too small to really appreciate the covers of many of these albums. Here, the cover artwork gets even smaller, so there's a black area of unused CD case around the artwork. Other than this drawback, I highly recommend buying this box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't get any better than this!, April 9 2003
By 
John (Cleveland, OH) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Studio Recordings (10CD) (Audio CD)
Led Zeppelin's complete studio recordings gathered together in one great box set, with all original artwork, plus a book about the band. Could you possibly ask for more?
Ok, so for Zeppelin fans that have all or most of the albums already this set is pretty much worthless. But, for someone with only two albums or someone who has lost all or most of their Zeppelin albums (me) this set is a godsend. It's almost worthless to review, because the content is well known and speaks for itself.
So then why should you buy this instead of individual albums? If you have just begun to get into the band, have liked a couple albums and want more, this set will save you money, because let's face it, you will end up with all or nearly all of these CD's anyway. The set costs significantly less than buying the albums seperately. With this set you get an interesting booklet about the band, as well as all the albums packaged nicely in a great looking, relatively small box.
The one minor, VERY minor downside to this set is that it doesn't include Zeppelins live album, The Song Remains the Same. Some people may expect this even though the title of the box is Complete STUDIO Recordings, since it was released back around the time of Physical Graffiti. It's a small incovenience that honestly I feel stupid complaining about.
In short, anyone thinking of buying this should. It will be a great investment that you will not ever regret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's That? Oh, It's Flying Led Zeppelin!, Sept. 7 2006
This review is from: The Complete Studio Recordings (10CD) (Audio CD)
Do you want to know what I did? I wanted to get into the great Led Zeppelin. I was going to purchase an old CD-copy of IV/Zoso. But then I found out that there were also vinyl replicas, collections and other choices. I ended up wit Early Days&Latter Days -combo, which absolutely adore and recommend to anyone wanting a sampler of LedZep. Then I started thinking, which album would I get first. But first I bought the great DVD and also The Song Remains The Same -DVD. Later I got Unledded -DVD.

I pondered and pondered on my album purchases. I knew I would need them all. And then I decided to collect and spend the money and get me this wonderful boxset.

If you are considering getting the two other boxes because of the money, I advise against it. With this set you'll get the actual albums, original order of songs and stunning artwork in one handy box.

If you are thinking buying the albums separetly, I'd still recommend this box, money-save or not-so-much. For me at least it was just wonderful to get everything at once with bonussongs, which you don't get if you buy the individual albums. You would also miss great essay by Cameron Crove and a nice storage aka box itself.

Two gripes are: no lyrics booklet, although there are lyrics found in the Internet, and the disc-storage which means odd papersleeves. I'll take my CD's and put them in jewel cases, you could do the same. I was aware of this problem when I bought this, and it didn't stop me.

As I can't imagine, why would someone want to own just a few Led Zeppelin -albums, I warmly recommend investing in this marvellous box. I bet you won't regret it!

All of the LedZep -music is great, listen to the whole albums and see/hear for yourself. Five stars all the way!

But I'm sure you too love these guys already... ;o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one and only way to truly experince their music..., Feb. 22 2004
This review is from: The Complete Studio Recordings (10CD) (Audio CD)
Led Zeppelin. These guys have become known as gods of rock over the years, and with good reason. Their music puts that of this or any other decade to shame. Robert Plant, John Paul Jones, Jimmy Page, and John Bonham were musical geniuses, and it was about time they put all of their albums together in one handy set. The Led Zeppelin Complete Studio recordings brings it all together at long last. Read on for my review of this set.
PROS:
-Every last one of Led Zeppelin's studio albums is in this set. Led Zeppelin, Led Zeppelin II, Led Zeppelin III, Led Zeppelin IV, Houses Of The Holy, Presence, Physical Graffiti, In Through The Out Door, and the outtake collection album Coda are all here for your listening pleasure.
-The version of the Coda compilation included with this set features four hard-to-find bonus tracks.
-Unlike the other Led Zeppelin box set, this one isn't a scattershot mixture of tracks - it's got EVERY studio album.
-A handy booklet is included with the set. The booklet contains useful information (release dates for albums/singles, etc.), as well as a new essay by legendary rock journalist Cameron Crowe.
-You save money by purchasing this set. If you were to buy every Led Zeppelin album separately, you would end up spending more than you would for this box set. The price looks steep at first glance, but in actuality, it's a great deal.
CONS:
-I'm not too crazy about the way the individual CDs were packaged in the set. Two CDs each are in five slipcases, each of which contains the art to the two albums, as well as the basic liner note informaton. It's hard to get the CDs out of these slipcases, because you must grab the edge of them. It also gets confusing looking at the liner notes (you actually have to own or see the set to see what I mean.) I was hoping they'd all be individually packaged.
-Although it's called COMPLETE Studio Recordings, you don't get the band's early BBC sessions recordings.
-Just a little word of caution - this is common knowledge to most people, but the following material is NOT in this box set: Robert Plant solo material, David Coverdale/Jimmy Page material, and Led Zeppelin's live albums.
OVERALL:
One of the greatest rock and roll bands of all time has put together all of their master works, and at long last, you can get all of these works together in one convenient set. Sure, the set isn't quite perfect, but it doesn't have to be - the quality of Zeppelin's music more than makes up for it. If you're a rock and roll fan, and this set isn't in your collection, what the hell are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Worth The Money, May 24 2004
By 
David Brown (East Meadow, New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Studio Recordings (10CD) (Audio CD)
I honestly believe that this set is not worth the money. "Coda" and "Presence" stink, "In Through The Out Door" is ok, and NO "Song Remains The Same", or BBC Sessions. Obviously, if you love Zeppelin, you will have most of the songs (If not all all), from their CDs (In particular, Zep 1 - "Physical Grafitti"). If you are new to Zeppelin, this collection is the WORST way to go, stuff like "Coda", is not needed (Unless later on, you want to fill in the collection), cause why pay a lot unless you really love them? In my opinion, Led Zeppelin is the greatest band in history, and it is true, that the best way to listen to them, is in hearing the ENTIRE album, but I guarantee you that ANYONE will be reaching for "Physical Grafitti" before "Presence", so why pay for "Presence", if you will be rarely listening to it? I also happen to like the "Early and Latter Days" CD (I have a review of it), because you can crank out Zeppelin, in the car, or at the gym WITHOUT skipping songs. I give this CD 4 stars just because it is Zeppelin, but this CD is not worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible collection, worth every penny, June 28 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Studio Recordings (10CD) (Audio CD)
I had been interested in Led Zeppelin before this set, but my knowledge was scattered and I was missing tons of their very best songs. When I got this collection I became hooked and now Zep is my favorite band. It introduced me to a whole lotta great songs. I've had several friends borrow it and they have all loved it as well. The bonus tracks are nice, and the packaging and cover art is excellent. A must for all fans, and its a great initiation for those who aren't old enough to have seen Led Zeppelin at their height (like me).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbd19cd38)

This product

The Complete Studio Recordings (10CD)
The Complete Studio Recordings (10CD) by Led Zeppelin (Audio CD - 1993)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews