Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun way to popularize the blues
Take two comedians with an interest in the blues, give them a backup band, a movie, and some creative license, and look at what comes out...
The songs go from the campy (Peter Gunn & Rawhide) to the dancable (Shake Your Tail Feathers) to the standard (Sweet Home Chicago & Minnie the Moocher). With a phenomenal backup band (The old Saturday Night Live...
Published on Feb. 23 2004 by therosen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Rocky Blues
Loved the film, have the video, music is great but somehow this CD did not work for me. It is almost too cleaned up. I think it lost some of its impact - the sound seems thinner than I remember. You still get the great voices of Aretha Franklin, Cab Calloway and Ray Charles but they don't sparkle on this version. Still good but could have been better.
Published on June 27 1998


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun way to popularize the blues, Feb. 23 2004
By 
therosen "therosen" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Blues Brothers: Original Soundtrack Recording (Audio CD)
Take two comedians with an interest in the blues, give them a backup band, a movie, and some creative license, and look at what comes out...
The songs go from the campy (Peter Gunn & Rawhide) to the dancable (Shake Your Tail Feathers) to the standard (Sweet Home Chicago & Minnie the Moocher). With a phenomenal backup band (The old Saturday Night Live orchestra) and some classic guest vocalists (Chaka Khan, James Brown and Ray Charles to name a few) it's a treat for the ears. Eleven songs pack both a variety and depth of fun music.
The only downside on the album is two missing songs. Some might expect Soul Man, which was perhaps Belushi & Akroyd's most famous tune. I personally missed John Lee Hooker's Boom Boom Boom Boom, my favorite song and artist from the movie.
That said, the CD is great for those looking for a smiling memory of the movie or a wide pop introduction to the blues. I'm generally not one to review too many CDs, but this one warrants a good plug!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great soundtrack, Jan. 30 2004
By 
Matthew Edmundson (Winter Haven, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blues Brothers: Original Soundtrack Recording (Audio CD)
Blues Brothers was an excellent movie and one of the things that made it so awesome was the spectacular music. Fans that loved the music must pick this up.
What other soundtracks have artists like Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin, Cab Calloway, and James Brown on it. That alone should be a selling point to fans of oldies and blues music. You also get to hear Jon Belushi and Dan Akroyd singing as Jake and Elwood.
Almost all the songs from the movie are on the soundtrack. It's got the theme from "Rawhide" which was the only song they put on it that the band sang in the bar. I wish they would have put "Stand By Your Man" on it, but that's the only knock I have against this classic soundtrack. Pick this one up, you'll like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CD Soundtrack that supports a cult classic, Nov. 26 2002
By 
Keith Paynter "videoplusdvd" (Regina, Sask. CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blues Brothers: Original Soundtrack Recording (Audio CD)
Time has been kind to the original Blues Brothers film. Lambasted by critics, but embraced by SNL fans and R&B lovers. The musical comedy is one that I have never grown tired of, and I played out my original LP and CD to death. The remastered CD brought this music back to life.
It is a testament to the conviction of Jon Landis, and especially to Dan Ackroyd and John Belushi, that they were able to re-immortalize Blues, R&B and Soul legends Aretha Franklin, James Brown, Ray Charles, Cab Calloway and (on film only, unfortunately) John Lee Hooker, by introducing them to people who had no idea who they were, and reminding fans of the past how good these people were, and continued to be.
Aretha Franklin acknowledged she was grateful to them for re-vitalizing her career. It is a worthy testament. Every appearance by these greats is a show-stopping number, and for me a personal favorite of Jake & Elwood is Sweet Home Chicago, a nod to Blues legend Robert Johnson, who influenced so many with his short body of work.
Paul Schaeffer's musical direction is outstanding (He was unable to appear in the film due to his commmitment to Gilda Radner's stage show), and personally I believe he peaked here, becoming a parody of himself as bandleader for David Letterman.
Those who don't 'get' the album should really listen to the roots of what made the Blues Brothers happen - check out the Atlantic Rhythm & Blues CD set, and the Stax Records set to get an understanding of some of the more 'contemporary' influences that drove Ackroyd & Belushi to build the band and even use original Stax musicians Steve Cropper and Donald 'Duck' Dunn at the core of the band's rhythm section.
The Blues Brothers 2000 film may be a letdown to those who saw it, but the original (and its soundtrack) are tributes to hard driving soul and R&B, and one can't help but enjoy the musical journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost There., July 10 2001
By 
Tom (Palatine, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Blues Brothers: Original Soundtrack Recording (Audio CD)
Part of the reason, I think, that the movie is so effective is that it completely creates a mood and atmosphere. As silly as this movie is, the photography, color, sets, costumes all work so well together that it's easy for the viewer to suspend disbelief (and logic, and reason) and enjoy.
One of my favorite scenes in the movie, and one that sent me on a rewarding (and expensive) mission as a collector of blues music, is the Maxwell Street set-up shot outside of the Soul Food Cafe. It is here that we catch John Lee Hooker and a band of Chicago blues legends (Pine Top Perkins for one) playing Hooker's anthematic "Boom Boom."
So...I ask, why isn't "Boom Boom" on the soundtrack!?
The Blues Brothers Band is indisputably awesome, and this soundtrank is largely about them. While Aretha and James Brown show up, much of the important background music from the movie does not. Sam and Dave's "Sooth Me" plays an integral role in the film, and deserves to be here.
As an album of full-power brass heavy blues, this album rocks, but as the soundtrack to the greatest movie of all time, it falls a little short. That's no reason not to buy it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whatch the Movie, its really good!, June 24 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Blues Brothers: Original Soundtrack Recording (Audio CD)
Hey everyone, I just wanted to say that the Blues Brothers, ( the one, the only) has really good music! My dad has the cassette of it and its always on ! ( when he knows where it is! The movie was basically and epic for that genre,it has a wicked storyline, and fab actors in it . I 'd like to say R.I.P. to poor John Belushi, who died from heart faliure ( correct me if im wrong!) from alchol or some thing like that, a year or so before Blues Brothers 2000 was relased on video here in Australia! My favorite Songs are: Somebody to Love ( especially the movie version), Jailhouse Rock, Minnie the Moocher, Sweet Home Chicago, Shake your Tail Feather, Peter Gunn Theme, She CAught the Katy, Gimmie Some Lovin, Theme from Rawhide ( rolling,rolling,rolling.....), and Think. Have i missed any other than that other one which i cant remember the name of?? well this music rocks , and that saying some thing coming from a 16yr old!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun stuff all the way around - great production, June 27 2002
By 
Phil Rogers (Ann Arbor, Michigan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Blues Brothers: Original Soundtrack Recording (Audio CD)
The Blues Brothers have always been entertaining to watch and listen to. Sure they speed up Elvis' "Jailhouse Rock" to Daytona-500 velocities, in the process dispensing with one of the trademarks of its sound, that being HEAVY syncopation. But they make all their songs into something new - and warm, fun-loving tributes, madcap as they may be.

Other astute performances by some of the legendary artists playing themselves in the movie [Cab Calloway, James Brown, Aretha Franklin, Ray Charles], take this CD right over the top. Like the movie itself, this is just plain (at times riotous) fun. Real old-timer Calloway's "Minnie the Moocher" is to die for - slick, smooth, jazzy - and yes, riotous!.

Experienced in the context of the Blues Brothers movie itself, which was/is tremendously entertaining, all the music is a perfect fit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you loved about the movie musically, Nov. 27 2001
By 
David Traill (Stuart, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blues Brothers: Original Soundtrack Recording (Audio CD)
When the Blues Brothers movie came out (not the 2000 sequel better left unseen), audiences had known the characters from Saturday Night Live. The movie today remains immensely popular, in part to the music performed by the amazing cast, both featured and cameo roles. Aretha Franklin's Think, James Brown's performance as a reverend, Ray Charles' effort Shake Your Tail Feather, Cab Calloway's Minnie the Moocher- all of them are great to listen to with the volume up, and when the Blues Brothers of Dan Ackroyd and John Belushi get going, the rhythm lasts all the way through the CD.
As a soundtrack, this has to be one of the best ever, and one of the best-selling. This CD is one of my favorites, and holds its own against any effort put out today by any compilation effort. Buying this will make you very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some great blues stuff, June 20 2002
By 
Jeff Greenman (Holland, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Blues Brothers: Original Soundtrack Recording (Audio CD)
The movie is a classic and i still love watching it, One of the reasons the movie is such a sucess is because the music ties it all together and creates a plot and atmosphere. The songs on this CD are great to listen to and also dont get old. If you are a fan of RnB, Jazz, or any other genres simmilar this will become one of your favorites. and there is a little bit of every taste with some western ("theme from rawhide") and lots of brass and rhytm peices ("peter gunn theme" for example). The only thing that i dont like is the lack of the song "boom boom" by John Lee Hooker, wich played in full in the movie, and "sooth me" by Sam and Dave wich also was played a while in the movie. but nonetheless this is a great CD to get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What's wrong with you, Jerry McCulley?, Aug. 29 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Blues Brothers: Original Soundtrack Recording (Audio CD)
You know what, Jerry, you're right about the music - it was great. But, you seem to overlook the fact that none of your harem of talented artists (save Aretha FranklyICantStandHer) would have even been involved with the project if the two Blues Brothers, who you blatently go out of your way to point out are in fact white (I believe you're exact words were 'white-boy' - and your point is?), had not spearheaded the movie and project. Yes, the movie was silly, and unlikely. It was meant to be that way. Get over yourself. Four stars, would have been five except for AF.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the BEST CD ever! Excellent movie, excellent CD., July 14 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Blues Brothers: Original Soundtrack Recording (Audio CD)
If you're a fan of ANY of the following: Blues, R&B, Soul, Jazz, or Rock, than this CD is a must buy. This CD contains some of the best music ever written, likable even to people who generally hate this type of music. And if you've seen the movie (a true classic, see it if you haven't)it is all the more enjoyable. Songs like "Peter Gunn theme" and "Sweet Home Chicago" will never grow old. I would also like to highly recommend the Blues Brothers other 3 CD's. Music like this is simply too good to be ignored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Blues Brothers: Original Soundtrack Recording
The Blues Brothers: Original Soundtrack Recording by The Blues Brothers (Audio CD - 1997)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 4 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews