biss boutiques-francophones Learn more vd2016beauty Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night s Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars35
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$10.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 28, 2015
I have 4 Blues Brothers CD's this one and the others are all really good, I love them !!!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2015
Amazing soundtrack
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2015
Good cd.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2015
If you have seen the movie, you know the songs ... you want the songs ... and here, you have the songs. Almost.

Almost.

Okay, leaving off "stand by your man" is probably an act of mercy, but ... not having the "mall chase music" is an inexcusable oversight. I'm in a generous mood, so I'll only knock off one star but still ...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2014
Love it thanks
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2014
Bought it as a Christmas present
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2014
the blues brothers cd is excellent. I have been playing the drums to the music ever since the cd arrived. in fact there are four other teachers that are going to play with me a couple of tracks off the cd in front of 6oo students and 32 teachers in early June/14. thank you very much for sending me a fantastic cd of the Blues Brothers.

BRUCE HOWE
0Comment0 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2004
Take two comedians with an interest in the blues, give them a backup band, a movie, and some creative license, and look at what comes out...
The songs go from the campy (Peter Gunn & Rawhide) to the dancable (Shake Your Tail Feathers) to the standard (Sweet Home Chicago & Minnie the Moocher). With a phenomenal backup band (The old Saturday Night Live orchestra) and some classic guest vocalists (Chaka Khan, James Brown and Ray Charles to name a few) it's a treat for the ears. Eleven songs pack both a variety and depth of fun music.
The only downside on the album is two missing songs. Some might expect Soul Man, which was perhaps Belushi & Akroyd's most famous tune. I personally missed John Lee Hooker's Boom Boom Boom Boom, my favorite song and artist from the movie.
That said, the CD is great for those looking for a smiling memory of the movie or a wide pop introduction to the blues. I'm generally not one to review too many CDs, but this one warrants a good plug!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2004
Blues Brothers was an excellent movie and one of the things that made it so awesome was the spectacular music. Fans that loved the music must pick this up.
What other soundtracks have artists like Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin, Cab Calloway, and James Brown on it. That alone should be a selling point to fans of oldies and blues music. You also get to hear Jon Belushi and Dan Akroyd singing as Jake and Elwood.
Almost all the songs from the movie are on the soundtrack. It's got the theme from "Rawhide" which was the only song they put on it that the band sang in the bar. I wish they would have put "Stand By Your Man" on it, but that's the only knock I have against this classic soundtrack. Pick this one up, you'll like it.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2003
Some reviewers here (the ersatz blues/jazz/R&B/gospel 'purists') are taking this album waaaay too seriously. The boys in blue -- and remember, they are/were comedians first and foremost -- are celebrating the great musical traditions found on this soundtrack with the utmost respect, not trying to compete with them. The fact that the theme from "Rawhide" should clue in the most pedantic blues critic that this is all in fun. Take it as such, and it's a great repeatable soundtrack.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse