Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album I've ever heard.
It's a shame that Big Wreck is no longer. Though Ian's new band "Thornley" is still good it's just not the same.
"In Loving Memory Of" is in my mind a masterpeice. I've had this CD since the fisrt week or so it came out. I remember I was browsing in a music store and the lady that worked there was playing this CD. After only hearing "Look...
Published on May 13 2005 by Antonio Giusto

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reaching For the Sugar
After hearing "The Oaf", I had high hopes for this CD. Unfortunately, the rest of the tunes don't live up to the opening cut. The second track "That Song" could have been a winner but ended up droning off in endled repetition. While the members of Big Wreck have the ability to perform, they seem to lack the capability of writing top notch songs...
Published on June 4 2001 by Tis JustMe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album I've ever heard., May 13 2005
By 
Antonio Giusto (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Loving Memory of (Audio CD)
It's a shame that Big Wreck is no longer. Though Ian's new band "Thornley" is still good it's just not the same.
"In Loving Memory Of" is in my mind a masterpeice. I've had this CD since the fisrt week or so it came out. I remember I was browsing in a music store and the lady that worked there was playing this CD. After only hearing "Look What I Found" and "That Song" I grabbed this CD off the shelf immedietly and purchased it. To this day I still sing along to each song. My love for this album has only grown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROCK AND ROLL FROM THE SOUL, Feb. 17 2001
This review is from: In Loving Memory of (Audio CD)
Now here's a band from way up North who didn't give a damn about what the pop charts say. These guys have created a sound of their own no matter how much it brings you back the days of rock and roll before hip-hop was ever in some record company executives vocabulary. Their music is pure soul expressed through electrified instruments. The music has a tempo to it that gets your attention in the right way. It's a natural rhythm that just makes sense. It's real guys playing real instruments telling a story in a very musical way. This album is as much a pleasure to listen to as anything ever put out by Led Zepplin two decades ago. Buy it, listen to it every once in a while and keep it forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musically perfect, Oct. 23 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: In Loving Memory of (Audio CD)
It has been a long time since I have heard something worthy of my ears. This album is musically perfect, but everyone still talks about "The Oaf", or "That Song", they are great yes, but the best of the best comes from the last song, "Overemphasizing". That song and that song alone makes this the best cd of the 90's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally....something original AND worthy of your ear., Sept. 16 2000
By 
This review is from: In Loving Memory of (Audio CD)
These guys obviously put a great deal of effort into this work. There are smackings of several different musical styles here, and Big Wreck have pulled off the impressive trick of cooking it all up into a flavorful gumbo of sound that you're not likely to mistake for anyone else. At the same time, they have enough rock-bottom elements in their music to be accessible to most anyone who stumbles across them. Watch out for their next album---Big Wreck could very well become a force to reckoned with in modern rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Aug. 17 2000
This review is from: In Loving Memory of (Audio CD)
I absolutely love this album. I only wish I'd found it sooner! Anyone who even remotely likes "Blown Wide Open", "That Song", "The Oaf", or "Under The Lighthouse" will probably like the rest of the CD. I just can't get enough of Ian's beautiful voice and the amazing music behind it. A truly worthwhile investment. The next album is eagerly awaited!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 3 Years Later., Aug. 2 2000
This review is from: In Loving Memory of (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album, and reamains so even almost 3 years after its release. There is no shortage of great tunes on this disc, the ultimate being That Song and The Oaf. These guys put on great live shows, and one can only hope their upcoming album (due for release in the fall of 2000) will be as good as In Loving Memory Of... and worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long time coming, June 1 2000
This review is from: In Loving Memory of (Audio CD)
I bought this album on a whim after hearing "The Oaf" on the radio and finding it amusing. After hearing "Oaf" I figured the album would be equal parts Weezer and The Who and something catchy for the player. After buying the album, I don't know how I ever got along without it. It's so refreshing to hear heavy guitars layered over strong melodies. Thornley plays and sings his cheeks off and his songwriting would seem to indicate the beginning of something special. I find myself checking amazon at least twice a week wondering when their second album is due to be released. When it is, I will be at the record store at Midnight, mingling with the teenies, hoping Big Wreck isn't too close to the Backstreet Boys section. Do yourself a huge favor; skip the massage and work out the kinks to the blissful sounds of Big Wreck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Highs and Lows, Oct. 13 1998
This review is from: In Loving Memory of (Audio CD)
The first half or so of this CD, up until about the 9th track is, IMHO, amazing. In a phrase, it jams. The last few tracks, however, demonstrate the room this band has to grow. It's not as strong as the first few songs, and doesn't roll off the speakers with quite the enthusiasm. However, if this album is any indication, these highly talented young men have a great musical future ahead of them.
The lead vocals have moments of Bono (U2), Chris Cornell (Soundgarden), Mike Farris (Screaming Cheetah Wheelies), and Kevin McKinney (Soulhat), with the guitar, drums, and bass work combining elements of all those bands.
If you enjoy gritty Austin blues rock, then this album is worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album!, Nov. 26 2011
This review is from: In Loving Memory of (Audio CD)
I've been listening to this album for 14 years now!!!
Give this album a chance and it will grow on you and keep growing for a very long time!
A new single is out "Albatross" and a new album is coming out soon!!! Very exciting :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The CD you WISH Soundgarden had made after "SuperUnknown":, Dec 19 2002
This review is from: In Loving Memory of (Audio CD)
Well, well...where to begin? This is a monster debut, complete with a monster sound that is based around a monster drumbeat, monster vocals, a monster Joe Perry-esque slide guitar and the ultimate monster instrument, the 12-string bass guitar(!!!)
>
All of the songs are terrific, reminiscent of any of a number of bands that you might have heard before. The good news is that all of those bands are extremely good. Led Zeppelin is the obvious comparison, but Soundgarden is who they remind me the most of (although you can hear equal traces of the Cure in some of the more pop-oriented tunes on this CD, specifically "That Song").
>
I must say that this band probably isn't going to get the exposure they're due, a crime I blame mainly on the music industry's inability to actively market anything save the most blatantly saccharine pop crap; I first heard this CD when it was sent out as a promo to the music store where I worked back in '97, and I've not heard anything else about the band since. But this is one of those bands that you listen to and recommend to your friends (assuming you all appreciate great rock music) and they all say "These guys are great; why haven't we heard more about them?" Check it out; this is definitely a worthy addition to your music collection and another terrific Canadian import a la' The Tea Party's "Transmission" from the same year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x108e8984)

This product

In Loving Memory of
In Loving Memory of by Big Wreck (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews