Customer Reviews


172 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A valued cornerstone of my music collection
This is one of "THE" quintessential must have metal CD's. Purchased the new release 20 years ago, and purchased the deluxe edition for the video and unreleased track. From first to last track, it's brilliance! The rythm section is insanely tight, and Phil is a superstar front man. Terry Date's production on this CD is absolutely sick! I remember playing this for the first...
Published 21 months ago by Pedro_333

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Damaged Product
Love the record and it got to me very quickly. However, the corner of the album case was damaged upon arrival.
Published 19 months ago by Gerry D


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Damaged Product, Sept. 17 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love the record and it got to me very quickly. However, the corner of the album case was damaged upon arrival.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A valued cornerstone of my music collection, July 9 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of "THE" quintessential must have metal CD's. Purchased the new release 20 years ago, and purchased the deluxe edition for the video and unreleased track. From first to last track, it's brilliance! The rythm section is insanely tight, and Phil is a superstar front man. Terry Date's production on this CD is absolutely sick! I remember playing this for the first time on my home system and was floored by sound quality as well as separation of all instruments, and the clarity at which you can hear each musician do their thing. To me, this is like VH's Women and Children First, in that I can play it every day, and enjoy it like it's the first time I heard it. Every song great, and you say WOW when you finish the whole CD. Definitely one of my favourite's and will be for a long time. RIP Dime. Yet another tragic loss whose brilliance and talent was taken too soon from us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome., Aug. 18 2004
This review is from: Vulgar Display of Power (Audio CD)
I purchased this album years ago, and I listen to it every week at least. I enjoy every song on this album, more or less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, July 11 2004
This review is from: Vulgar Display of Power (Audio CD)
I have recently purchased this album, and i dont regret it. It one of the best metal albums of all time. I have also recently discovered this band, this cd got me into them. My favorite songs are mouth for war and walk. Go buy this album right away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VULGAR DISPLAY OF POWER, July 7 2004
By 
Offensive Donkey (Your Old Lady's Doorstep) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vulgar Display of Power (Audio CD)
HERE IS ANOTHER MUST-HAVE METAL RELEASE FROM THE SOUTHERN GUYS OF PANTERA. THIS IS PROBABLY THEIR MOST FAMOUS ALBUM, AND ONE OF THEIR BEST. AFTER THE MILD SUCCESS OF COWBOYS FROM HELL IN 1990, THEY TONED THEIR SOUND DOWN A LITTLE BIT AND SOUNDED LESS LIKE A POWER METAL BAND AND MORE OF A THRASH ONE. BUT THEY WERE NEVER REALLY THRASH, JUST USING INFUENCES, WHILE THEIR MAIN SOUND WAS MORE INFLUENCED BY BLACK SABBATH AND KISS. THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST ALBUMS I OWN. EVERY SONG BUSTS INTO PURE HEAVY POWER. STADOUT TRACKS ARE: 'WALK', 'THIS LOVE', AND 'MOUTH FOR WAR'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pantera in thier prime, June 25 2004
By 
randy (Cincinnati, OH) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vulgar Display of Power (Audio CD)
Pantera's second metal album
On Vulgar Display of Power we see Pantera evolve into the band we all know them now to be. Phil puts aside the high pitched screams for an angrier approach. An the music itself has a heavier feel thanks to Dime, Vinne and Rex. Vulgar Display of Power is Pantera's most recognized album. This is where you would start if you wanted to show someone the best metal of the nineties. Highlights Include; Mouth For War, Walk and Hollow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BUT NOT THAT GOOD, Dec 29 2003
By 
This review is from: Vulgar Display of Power (Audio CD)
This is not a good cd,it's actually pretty good songs like This
Love,New Level,By Demons Be Driven,Mouth For War just about every
tune is good except the repetitive Walk.And this cd can get old
really fast and at times can seem kind of weak.But it's overall
good but not a huge step up from their debut Cowboy's From Hell
(also pretty good).They stepped it up a notch on the later cd's
like Far Beyond Driven and Reinventing The Steel because those
cds are loud,fast,raw,and brutal everything Pantera should be.
This cd would be alot better for people who are into the nu-metal
scene with bands like Korn,Disturbed,Godsmack,e.t.c because this
album is not really loud and raw.But it's still good If you're
into heavier stuff like old Metallica,Slayer,Slipknot,Chimaira,
Killswitch Engage then stick with the later Pantera cds.Dimebag
get's some killer solo's on here though....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Pantera classic!, Aug. 26 2002
By 
Rob Cary (Canonsburg PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vulgar Display of Power (Audio CD)
This is one of my favorite Pantera releases. Musically, this one is probably the most intelligent. "Mouth For War" is such a great song. "A New Level", "Walk", and "F*cking Hostile" are all great songs as well. There are two things that have been constantly said on here that aren't true. First off, Metallica does not surpass this band by any means because Metallica sucks and they are not heavy (nor are they metal). They're a bunch of cocky metal wannabe's who think they're so good at what they do when James Hetfield is a horrible, HORRIBLE singer and Lars is not very good at drums. This band made metal become actually heavy. Pantera is so much better sounding and more talented. Dimebag makes much better riffs than Kirk ever will, there isn't much of anything that Phil CAN'T do with his voice, Vinnie's drumming is mindblowing, and Rex is a better bassist although I don't have a problem with Jason. Especially since he left the band. Good move. But back to the album, this is the perfect first album to get if you're just getting into them. All 11 songs are excellent. Don't pass it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, Aug. 7 2011
À tous les fans de Pantera...

Ce vinyl est tellement gros et lourd qu'il entre tout juste dans une sleeve de plastic! Déjà que cet album est une tonne de briques de par son son...C'est vraiment l'édition ultime Die-Hard, je ne vois pas d'autre manière d'en faire meilleure édition sauf bien sur s'ils mettaient un éclat de dent du gars sur la pochette de l'album qui se fait puncher...héhéhé
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dude! pantera on vinyl!, June 4 2010
By 
what more need be said? the way all music is meant to be heard! definitely get the three pack with cbh and far beyond! and pick up whatever else you can in vinyl! stay metal!!! cheers!

- nate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc772d9fc)

This product

Vulgar Display of Power
Vulgar Display of Power by Pantera (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews