Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Record Pressing Flaw
There seems to be a pressing flaw on side B. The song starts on the initial vinyl groove and skips into the song on the main groove. I just got a replacement from Amazon and side B has the same error on the replacement. I have tried the album on two different players. Is anybody else having this issue?
Published on April 26 2010 by Kevin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars heavy but not as entertaining
yes, they did out-heavy, or whatever you wanna call it, Vulgar display of power. but heavy doesnt necesarily mean good. the first 4 tracks are AWESOME even though "im broken" is the only one with a solo. tracks 1-3 have some weird ass sound effects that i dont even bother saying they are solos, as for the rest of the cd the songs are just fillers. i can't...
Published on May 31 2004 by Frank


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Record Pressing Flaw, April 26 2010
There seems to be a pressing flaw on side B. The song starts on the initial vinyl groove and skips into the song on the main groove. I just got a replacement from Amazon and side B has the same error on the replacement. I have tried the album on two different players. Is anybody else having this issue?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the Heaviest Albums Ever, Dec 22 2000
This review is from: Far Beyond Driven (Audio CD)
Far Beyond Driven is Pantera's third studio album coming after the masterpiece Vulgar Display of Power and the classic Cowboys from Hell. This album finds Pantera getting heavier than ever before, I didn't even think that was possible. This album is probably the heaviest album I've ever heard, also the musicianship on this album like every other Pantera album is amazing. Drummer Vinnie Paul is one of the finest in the biz, his brother guitarist Dimebag Darrell is one of the greatest metal guitarists to ever live, bassist Rex Brown is extremely solid and his style fits the band perfectly, and last but not least vocalist Phil Anselmo has an excellent set of pipes. Not only can he scream like he does on this album but he can also really sing, check out the earlier albums to hear for yourself. Far Beyond Driven is not a very diverse album, all the songs are brutally heavy with amazing guitar solo's and breathtaking double bass drumming. There really is no bad songs on the album but some songs aren't as good as others. The best songs are Strength Byeond Strength, Becoming, I'm Broken, 25 Years, and Throes of Rejection. Their cover of the Black Sabbath classic Planet Caravan also stays true to the original, and the music to Good Friends and a Bottle of Pills is amazing, it shows how good Rex really is as a bassist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Far Beyond The Times, Aug. 4 2011
By 
Sean Sigurgeirson (Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada) - See all my reviews
This album came out 17 years ago its hard to believe. The production value is excellent. In the time of grunge and alternative music this stood out far beyond everyone's expectations and if it came out today would still be a 5 out of 5! Yes a SLight PRESSING FLAW .........................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Far Beyond Driven- THE BEST ALBUM FROM PANTERA, July 20 2006
This review is from: Far Beyond Driven (Audio CD)
5 Minutes Alone, Planet Caravan and I'm Broken are the best songs off the album. Pantera's follow-up to the cd, Vulgar Display of Power, debuted at #1 on the album. It's a great album and the best album from Pantera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RIP Dimebag Darrell, Dec 12 2004
By 
Dan Chan (Mississauga, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Far Beyond Driven (Audio CD)
Dimebag was and will always be one of my two favorite guitarists, along with Kirk Hammett. No matter what kind of music you listen to, you can't help but be inspired by his frenzied riffs and blazing solos. He was and will continue to be an absolute inspiration to my own appreciation for lead guitar and music. His legacy will live on, in part due to this album, one of Pantera's crowning achievements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Follow Up To Vulgar Display Of Power, June 28 2004
By 
A. Caruso (Commack, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Far Beyond Driven (Audio CD)
Far Beyond Driven is the perfect follow up to Vulgar Display Of Power. This album was much more on the aggressive, and heavier side of Pantera while Vulgar Display Of Power was the album that had pantera perfect there sound and musicianship. Vulgar Display Of Power is known as pantera's finest hour and the best record that they made selling nearly 2 million records. Many fans of pantera were not sure if pantera could make another record that could match up to Vulgar's success, and intensity. Far Beyond Driven matched Vulgar Display Of Power's success, intensity, and more. With such ear shattering songs as "5 Minutes Alone", "I'm Broken", "Shedding Skin", "Slaughtered", and "Thornes Of Rejection" this album definately matches up to Vulgar Display Of Power. If you don't have this album in your cd collection. Get off your lazy butt, get some money and go out and get Pantera's Far Beyond Driven. You will not be dissappointed with this masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid effort from Pantera, June 25 2004
By 
randy (Cincinnati, OH) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Far Beyond Driven (Audio CD)
Pantera's third metal album (note that my rating is 4.5 stars not just 4)
With Far Beyond Driven Pantera managed to make thier music even heavier. The end result was some of thier best work. The main drawback to the album is the lack of this incredible work. The terrible tracks 25 Years and Good Friends drag this this album down while the mediocre tracks Shedding Skin and Throes of Rejection just add to the problem. The remainder of the songs are Pantera doing what they do best, it is only the aforementioned filler that holds down this album from being as monumental as it could have. Highlights Include; Becoming, 5 Minutes Alone and I'm Broken
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not the best, June 20 2004
This review is from: Far Beyond Driven (Audio CD)
Great Riffs and Animal Drumming. This is worth the money for the riffs alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How could Pantera top VDOP?, June 9 2004
This review is from: Far Beyond Driven (Audio CD)
I don't know how, but they did. If you know metal, then you're very familiar with this album. Pantera are the true KINGS OF HEAVY METAL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best album by the Kings of Metal., June 1 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Far Beyond Driven (Audio CD)
Simply put, this album is THE must have heavy metal album. Pantera truly have proven themselves as the "Kings of Metal" time and time again. With Far Beyond Driven, they took the next step in their careers, releasing the most brutal, balls to the wall album they had released to that point. While "The Great Southern Trendkill" may be a little more abbrasive and self loathing, Far Beyond Driven as an album is superior to it's follow up. Any self respecting metal fan SHOULD have this album in their collection, no question about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Far Beyond Driven
Far Beyond Driven by Pantera (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews