Customer Reviews


190 Reviews
5 star:
 (144)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What is this that stands before me?
I have been a little slow picking up my Sabbath deluxe editions. Finally got this one for Christmas. What can I say? It was worth the wait. The most iconic metal album of all time has been given the deluxe edition treatment, and deservedly so.

First of all, before I talk about the music, this edition just looks beautiful in its digipack. The scariest most...
Published on Jan. 21 2011 by LeBrain

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good debut album
Some nice jamming on this album, great guitar playing. The songs are decent enough...i would say this is better than vol4 but not as good as sabbath bloody sabbath. There ya go. Thanks
Published on March 30 2001 by theslime


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Old Rock Better Sound, Dec 21 2011
By 
Joseph Dewolfe "J Dewolfe" (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Lp) (LP Record)
I love this album more than ever with it's new quiet sounding background & killer vocals. It still has that powerful dynamic Rock sound with just a bit of the early 70's compression at the beginning. One of the best rock remasters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black Sabbath, June 27 2004
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
Black Sabbath's debut album is given over to lengthy songs and suite-like pieces where individual songs blur together and riffs pound away one after another, frequently under extended jams. There isn't much variety in tempo, mood, or the band's simple, blues-derived musical vocabulary, but that's not the point; Sabbath's slowed-down, murky guitar rock bludgeons the listener in an almost hallucinatory fashion, reveling in its own dazed, druggy state of consciousness. Songs like the apocalyptic title track, "N.I.B.," and "The Wizard" make their obsessions with evil and black magic seem like more than just stereotypical heavy metal posturing because of the dim, suffocating musical atmosphere the band frames them in. This blueprint would be refined and occasionally elaborated upon over the band's next few albums, but there are plenty of metal classics already here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent First Album, June 13 2004
By 
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
Black Sabbath's first album is an excellent first effort. One of their best albums, each of the tracks offers up an excellent slice of each of the member's talents. Granted this isn't the pounding style of Paranoid, it is a very different flavored album. Not my favorite Sabbath album, but it definitely comes up there in my personal top five for the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Beginning of The Age of Sabbath, June 3 2004
By 
Raniel Almaria "ronny347" (Roselle, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
BALCK SABBATH, the album started the legacy of one of heavy metal's legendary bands, Black Sabbath. I remember listening to this album for the first time. The title track scared the living hell out of me. BLACK SABBATH is the complete antithesis of the free love & hippie movement that was going on in the late 60s-early 70s. No one has ever played this heavy at that time. Led Zeppelin laid the groundwork of heavy metal, but Sabbath put the EVIL touch of darkness that would be synonymous with heavy metal in the years to come.
Ozzy Osbourne was never a great vocalist, but his vocals were perfect for the music that Black Sabbath played. What he lacked in technical ability as a singer, he made up for it in attitude. Tony Iommi's guitar would send chills down your spine particularly in the song "A Bit of Finger". It's as if the gates of hell was opened & a scream from hell emananted from the very depths of hell itself. Geezer Butler's bass is superb & influential.
You wanna start out listening to Sabbath, this is the perfect album to start out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Metal-Starting Albums, May 20 2004
By 
HeadbangerDuh (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
While heavy metal bands such as Blue Cheer and Led Zeppelin released their debut albums before Black Sabbath, but they were not as heavy as this bone-crunching sludge album. The album starts with their theme song, which in six little minutes started the whole doom metal thing. Then comes The Wizard, which is a harmonica-laden, metallic song. Then the trio, Bassically, Behind The Wall Of Sleep, and N.I.B. Then the sludgy Wicked World with the great middle piece. Then the 15-minute-plus Warning/Sleeping Village. This is definitely one of the essential metal albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to Black Sabbath, May 13 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
I first heard Black Sabbath on a rock compilation when I was 14 and have been listening to them for 17 years, in which time this album has not worn thin. Even apart from the whole "they invented heavy metal" thing and the patent influence of this album and what came after on all rock music thereafter, this album stands on its own as a brilliant piece of music from the early 70s. It is the musical equivalent of a Hammer Horror film, but has aged much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Begining of Metal, May 8 2004
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
The very first Metal Album and to this day one of the best and most creative ever made this is timeles music that never wil get old, this is The Metal Bibel that any serius Hard rocker must have, if you dont got this your a joke. The most essential metal album ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i underestimated the creators of metal,i should slap myself, May 8 2004
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
when i first heard the black sabbath album sabbath bloddy sabbath i thought they werent that great so i guess i underestimated them in each album and so on,but then after i decided to buy their debut cause it did start heavy metal so i decided to give it a shot.once i bought this i was about to here the title track entitled black sabbath and that song rules big time!!!it starts with rain and church bells and then comes scary defining guitar work and ozzys greatest vocal performance and the lyrics scare the hell out of you i think thats the best song on the album.the wizard unfortunatly i think is terrible cause its guitats drums and bass with ozzy playing harmonica and they prove they made a terrible combination with that crap..but i dont think its THAT bad.next come a LOOOOOONG 4 songs in 10 min...N.I.B. is sooo good and that song is so full of good riffs i droped my jaw in amazment of tony iommis blistering guitar riffs.wicked world and all the rest of the songs are good too.so if you wanna know about how heavy metal began,pick this up and youll know everything about what black sabbath and heavy metal are all about!!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Beginning of It All, May 1 2004
By 
Janitor X (The Mountains) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
Some albums make you wonder if a band had something more than their own ideas behind writing great songs. I'm not talking about the ideas of other people or record companies, but a spiritual force. In Black Sabbaths' case, it may have been Satan or God.
There aren't that many great bands out there, so it's important to find the ones who are. Not only did Black Sabbath define heavy metal, they did it in a time when it was very unacceptable to speak of the things they did. The songs were not written for radio consumption because of the length.
Moreover, they didn't have the benefit of MTV and high dollar promotions that exist today. They had to reach fame with their creativity and live shows. These guys worked their butts off.
Also, it was a big risk to write songs about darkness and evil, with gloomy music to back it, in a time when the trend was being positive with the whole peace and love hippie movement. Black Sabbath blazed a path of nihilism that still exists today. They lived in reality more so than any of the hippies with their utopian dreams.
Ozzy Osbornes' voice was the best it has ever been on this debut recording. The vocals got higher from this point on. The higher his voice got, the less it matched the heavy riffs and dark lyrics. Tony Iommi's simple and slow riffs embody the power of the electric guitar. The music was so heavy and loud it could shake every bone in your body.
The opening track, "Black Sabbath," is a song that no Goth band has ever been able to top. The way the guitar hits in unison with the bell and then hums go right through the listener. In other words, it's simply powerful. "The Wizard" is a strange track because of the harmonic, but has an overall druggy feeling. The following song, written in four parts, locks you into the album and carries you away. "N.I.B." will leave you shaken. The following songs are not the best Black Sabbath has written, but still very easy to listen to that help the listener transition back into reality.
Lester Bangs may have been correct when he called Black Sabbath the first Catholic rock band. It scared people with the Satanic songs and then turned around with a Christian message. The switch in themes more than likely confused most people. Their spirituality mixed with drugs created something very unique, even if they didn't get any help from any higher powers. But, it's hard to imagine any mortal men having so much impact on music and society in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The First Metal Album Ever, April 23 2004
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
Some may say that bands like Led Zepplin started heavy metal, but I disagree...I feel Black Sabbath was the first true metal band and this was the first true metal record. Over 35 years later, this album is still astonishing; time period isn't even a factor at all. Whenever I tell people that this CD was recorded in 1969, their feeling is of disbelief; Black Sabbath doesn't reflect what was happening in the time period one bit. No matter what metal of today that you like, the influence of Black Sabbath's early years is always heard. Black Sabbath's debut truly captures a feeling that was unheard of at the time. Each song is just so powerful and raw. Though many many years later, Tony Iommi went on to form his own versions of Black Sabbath while Ozzy went solo; nothing these members do will ever compare to Sabbath in its classic lineup. Sure, the members went on to make great music, but its got nothing on the first few Sabbath albums. These guys truly started dark music. I got to see the mighty Sabbath in classic form back at Ozzfest a handful of years ago and you best believe that while on stage many of the bands took their time during their sets top pay homage to the mighty Sabbath. Though I feel the band's sound wasn't truly perfected until "Paranoid", this is quite possibly the greatest debut of all time. If you're a metal fan and don't have this in your collection, that's a crime. I plan on selling my copies of the Sabbath disks with Ozzy though so that I can buy the "Black Box" set of all of these disks which should be incredible! I suggest anyone interested go check that out. All I can say is that these are the pioneers baby!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Sabbath
Black Sabbath by Black Sabbath (Audio CD - 1988)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews