Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grime and Glory
I guess this album was considered some sort of comeback for Neil Young in the seventies, although, let's face it , he'd been there for years. I first heard "Hey Hey My My" on the soundtrack of Dennis Hopper's great, depressing movie "Out of the Blue" (for real!) playing over shots of seagulls swarming over a garbage dump - somehow that image is very...
Published on June 25 2004 by Mark

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rust never sleeps; a great album
Neil Young and Crazy Horse put together a fantastic album with Rust Never Sleeps, from the sensitive Thrasher (my fave on the album) to heavy guitar like Powderfinger, that just make you sing along. The only song not to peticular to me was Welfare Mothers...but who cares about one little song right? Being able to see Neil perform most of these songs along with Crazy...
Published on Oct. 1 2001 by thrashramy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Back to Basics, April 6 2001
By 
This review is from: Rust Never Sleeps (Audio CD)
I've amassed quite a collection of music over the years, and as an old guy pushing 50, I try keep up with what is going on in the recording world. I'm not the biggest Neil Young fan in the world, but when I'm looking though my collection looking for something interesting to play, I'm sometimes a bit suprised to find I've got almost everything Neil Young has released. It's been a couple of years since "Rust Never Sleeps" hit my CD player. Yeah, the acoustic versus electric stuff is cool...and people can read a lot into the social commentary of the words...but I'd rather sit back after a couple of beers, let the music roll over me, and think to myself that this guy is truly a piece of work. It might be hard to pin a label on the style, but I don't care, I'm still blown away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stop! Buy Live Rust Instead., Aug. 6 2002
By 
Douglas J. Bank (Chicago, Illinois USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rust Never Sleeps (Audio CD)
I've been a huge Neil Young fan for over 30 years in all of his configurations -- Buffalo Springfield, CSNY, Crazy Horse, Solo etc. -- and have always been confused over the dichotomy of this album and the superior Live Rust. Released only months apart and with the identical band, the two albums seem to mirror one another. However, Live Rust is much more comprehensive and captures Neil Young at the absolute height of his powers. With the brilliant acoustic set (including Comes a Time and After the Gold Rush)and the incendiary electric set (including the definitive Like a Hurricane), Live Rust is simply a better and more complete album then Rust Never Sleeps Live. If you want Neil Young and Crazy Horse live and at their pinnacle singing Neil's greatest songs - get Live Rust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better to burn out cause rust never sleeps, July 3 2002
By 
This review is from: Rust Never Sleeps (Audio CD)
Rendered on consummate trusses. And Young embraces the canon that the range surpasses the grasp. For adverse to ornate growth was melancholy and the conceptual. Hence bled the serene and the fervent. For the record the foremost purpose was the cartel of the decorous demeanour and the evanescent. And Rust Never Sleeps furthermore muses on the nature of welfare opulence furore and absolute repartee the tumour culture endorses. Moreover the countenance of cataclysm was mused upon throughout. Cerebral Palsy was thoroughly germane. For the record becomes as rancorous as sombre and chastely tender through the repose of the crescendos the tongue nonchalance. Thus Rust Never Sleeps was rendered to bare the soul and grace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Young at his zenith, Dec 15 2003
By 
Brother Gump (Eugene, OR, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rust Never Sleeps (Audio CD)
This is Young at his best - if you like Neil Young, you'll love this album. 'Nuff said.
A note about "Powderfinger" - The story of "Powderfinger" is set in modern times, and is about a family of cocaine (i.e., "powder") smugglers who use a boat to bootleg their product into the country. "Red means run, son" refers to the bold red stripe on the bow of any US Coast Guard ship.
I suppose "Powderfinger" is Neil Young's poignant way of portraying the futility of the War on Drugs, as well as just telling the story of a young drug runner who had no choice in the matter when he became involved in this "war."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Now let us praise great works, Feb. 15 2000
This review is from: Rust Never Sleeps (Audio CD)
Neil Young is one of the very few artists who can be equally convincing as a balladeer with folk leanings, and as a heavy metallist.
If this is rock and roll, then "Rock and Roll Can never die", as long as Neil Young lives.
As an "elder" of popular music genres, Neil Young seems to care little for what's in fashion this season, and as a result, his music tends to stand up well as time passes. This CD sounds as powerful as anything being recorded today, manages to present excellent music from two genres: the laid back California sound of the Eagles, and the hard-edged British punk sounds of bands like The Clash.
This one's a MUST
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums of the seventies., Nov. 17 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Rust Never Sleeps (Audio CD)
Is is possible for one artist to write and sing great acoustic and electric music on the same album? Neil Young does just that on this masterpeice and it is recorded live! The first half of the album is Neil, his guitar and harmonica. The acoustic performances are spellbinding and riveting. My favorite is Pocahantos followed closely by The Thrasher. The second half is equally mesmerizing but for a different reason. It is a electric guitar slam dance. As quiet as the first half is, the second half is just as loud. You will be riveted to your stereo until the fire crackers stop at the end. I will never stop listening to this classic among classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A thought-provoking blues-influenced album, Jan. 6 1999
By 
D2185@aol.com (Winston-Salem, North Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rust Never Sleeps (Audio CD)
Plenty of harmonica that Young is famous for. This is a very good lyric album, that has the first half of the album in the feeling of an intimate coffee-house setting. "Ride my llama" is in the style that Young really shines: you can picture him performing this almost sitting on a bar stool. The first half of this album is probably about the most laid-back of any of the Neil Young albums that you'll find since "Tonight's the Night." This is the album that coined the phrase "It is better to burn out, than fade away" - How true it is. I have 28 Neil Young recordings. and this is one of my favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Acoustic Music is Better than the Rock Music On This CD, May 19 2001
This review is from: Rust Never Sleeps (Audio CD)
The first acoustic songs have a lot of beguiling melodies and lyrics that range from foreboding to witty to peaceful. Powderfinger is the best rocker. Near the end of the album, I realized that Neal wasn't going to keep up the perfection of the previous songs. The rockers Welfare Mothers and Sedan Delivery are the weakest songs because they lack subtlety and are too primitive, but they are energetic and absurdly fun. The blaring heavy metal version of Hey Hey rocks a little clumsily and is not as good as the acoustic version. More is less in this case. But all in all, this is a good performance by the ever quirky Neil Young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As Good as it Gets, Oct. 27 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Rust Never Sleeps (Audio CD)
From the moment the first note is played to the end of the album, be prepared for a wonderful trip courtesy of Neil Young. The first half is acoustic and beautiful. By the time Neil belts out, "Look out mama..." to start Powderfinger, the listener is in a zone of tranquility courtesy Neil's perfect strumming and breathtaking vocals on the first half. Powderfinger not only rips you out of this trance, but send you into a rock and roll frenzy as only Neil Young can do. This is certainly one of his best albums, and that says something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums of the 1970's, Feb. 8 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Rust Never Sleeps (Audio CD)
Simply put, Rust Never Sleeps is an outstanding album. But most of the other reviews convey that message quite well. I am writing in response to "Da Peace Dogg's" ill informed, submoronic review! Are you joking, or just an idiot? Rust Never Sleeps came out roughly 5 years before Pyromania, So noo...Neil Young DID NOT steal a thing from Def Leppard. Also, Johnny Rotten was part of the Sex Pistols, NOT The Ramones. Honestly Peace Doggie, perhaps you should spend more time actually listening to music rather than wretched attempts at reviewing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rust Never Sleeps
Rust Never Sleeps by Neil Young (Audio CD - 1987)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews