Customer Reviews


246 Reviews
5 star:
 (178)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sounds Amazing
I too have owned this album multiple times. As much as I love this album I always found the sound quality really poor unless being played through a really good sound system. I was waiting for them to reissue this for years but gave up after a while. I was excited to hear about the black box remasters but had no interest in all the recordings. Finally they released the...
Published on Dec 12 2011 by BoBo

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit overrated, but the songs are good.
One thing I love about the 1st Black Sabbath album was the fact that it sounds nothing like what they did later on in their career. If anything, it sounded like distorted blues with a few songs having dissonant riffs. Paranoid starts the 'classic' phase of Black Sabbath, and while every song on this is good, there are a few things that bother me.
1)Whoever did the...
Published on Aug. 19 2003 by Nick Bobraton


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sounds Amazing, Dec 12 2011
This review is from: Paranoid (Audio CD)
I too have owned this album multiple times. As much as I love this album I always found the sound quality really poor unless being played through a really good sound system. I was waiting for them to reissue this for years but gave up after a while. I was excited to hear about the black box remasters but had no interest in all the recordings. Finally they released the individual albums from those remasters and I have to say I instantly noticed the difference in sound quality. Crisper, louder and less hiss than early CD releases. The rest of the package I could care less about, but the original recording is worth the price. Also Amazon shipped to me in 2 days!! AWESOME!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Started the Heavy Metal Era, July 8 2004
By 
This review is from: Paranoid (Audio CD)
All discussion aside, this is without a doubt the greatest album in metal history. Never since Black Sabbath has any metal band revolutionized rock music so much. Toni Iommi, the god of heavy metal guitar, is in his prime on this album, with some of his fastest and heaviest riffs ever, even with two butchered fingers. Ozzy Osbourne, revered as the Godfather of Modern Metal, is awesome here, seeing as no one could sing songs like these as well as the Ozzman himself did. Bill Ward truly rocks on this album, even having his own drum solo. And last, bust CERTAINLY not least, Geezer Butler, possibly the greatest bassist to ever grace the world of music, proves himself nowhere else better than on Paranoid, the primier heavy metal band's second musical effort.
1) War Pigs - This is Black Sabbath's best song, bar none. Absolutely breathtaking. 11/10
2) Paranoid - One of the rare moments when a filler becomes a band's most popular song ever. Short and sweet, this song never gets old. 10/10
3) Planet Caravan - I used to hate this song, but now i listen to it just as much as the others. A very underrated tune, this bizarre smoothe rocker displays some of Geezer's best work. Try the Pantera cover as well. 8/10
4) Iron Man - One of the heaviest, doomiest, and catchy of any Sabbath tune. Awesome distorted guitar, fast bass playing, clever drumming, vocals, everything on this track is sure to please any metalhead. 10/10
5) Electric Funeral - Starts off as a slow, sludgy, doomsday song, then slowly transitions into a quick and powerful blues/jazz tune. Good stuff. 9/10
6) Hand of Doom - Probably my second favorite Sabbath song. One of the few songs ever in which the bass does a good job at carrying the song, especially for 7 minutes. An incredibly underrated track, this, like many other Black Sabbath songs, is overlooked for either its meaning, length, or some other excuse. Listen closely, this song holds an important message. 11/10
7) Rat Salad - A 2 and a half minute instrumental, 45 seconds being a talented drum solo. Sort of a tribute to John Bonham's Moby Dick on Led Zeppelin II. 8/10
8) Fairies Wear Boots - The album closes with a big bang with the jazz-inspired 'Fairies Wear Boots'. Kind of a funny song about the perils of drug addiction. Awesome song. 9/10
Average - Exactly 9.5/10 (5 stars)
If you do not own this album, you should be ashamed for calling yourself a Black Sabbath fan. This album proves that all good music will stand the test of time. Buy this album. It's that simple. You won't regret it, I promise.
Peace, everyone, and keep rockin'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit overrated, but the songs are good., Aug. 19 2003
This review is from: Paranoid (Audio CD)
One thing I love about the 1st Black Sabbath album was the fact that it sounds nothing like what they did later on in their career. If anything, it sounded like distorted blues with a few songs having dissonant riffs. Paranoid starts the 'classic' phase of Black Sabbath, and while every song on this is good, there are a few things that bother me.
1)Whoever did the remastering needs to be slapped in the face. The album really needs to be turned up in order to hear it, and the drums are so...distant. It's annoying. The production is almost as bad as Metallica's And Justice For All.
2)Since this is the popular album, I guess I have to talk about Iron Man. I am fine with this song, but it seems that you can't talk about Black Sabbath seriously without some punk middle schooler with a backwards cap and a Limp Bizkit shirt saying "Iron Man! Ozzy rules!" So, that pisses me off.
All problems aside, this isn't a bad album. The lyrics are better than any of the pretensious lyrics off the 1st album. Some songs are about Vietnam, heroin, and hoodlums. Some are just as dumb as the 1st album. However, there is a little more variety. Planet Caravan is a nice acoustic trippy song, and Rat Salad shows off the awesome drumming of Bill Ward.
If you want to start your Black Sabbath collection, than be my guest, get Paranoid. Just don't say it's their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Most Influential Album Ever", Nov. 10 2007
By 
Tommy Skylar (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Paranoid (Audio CD)
Black Sabbath for most people is absolute horror while for metalheads they can only be considered as Gods.Lead signer Ozzy Osbourne,guitarist Tony Iomi,bassist Gezer Butler and drummer Bill Wardat the time didn't know that they basicly created Heavy Metal with their second album,1970's "Paranoid" which can be considered as not only the best Sabbath album but the best rock/metal album of all time.Paranoid has got to be the one of the most influential albums ever,and its safe to say that without it,Heavy Metal wouldn't exist.The album has since receved countless credit as the best metal album and most influential album and it fully deserves it.

The band's idea when they started was to make horror music.They tought that if someone would pay to see a horror movie they would do the same with horror music,that was the humble beggening of metal and what would latter be heavy metal and many other genres.The songs do have an horror feel at times and mostly all of them are great.Many of those songs such as "War Pigs","Iron Man" and the title track "Paranoid".The album has a very distinguishable sound that was present in future bands and even today some bands are still influenced by it.There have been several covers of the songs on Paranoid notably Megadeth and Motley Crue's covers of "Paranoid" as well as many tributes.

I could talk about how all the songs or nearly depending on everyone's tastes are all great,but several reviewers have done so already.They're all classics really and Sabbath one great band to discover.I don't have a bad thing to say on that point.It is interresting to note that this album was originally going to be called "War Pigs" but it was changed to Paranoid by the recording company due to the sensitivity about the Vietnam War.

Tought the band would have several lineups over the years they are still best remembered for their work on "Paranoid" and being the fathers of heavy metal.Even Ozzy who had succesfull solo career after being fired of Black Sabbath in 1978 is automaticly associated as a member of Black Sabbath.With Paranoid,Sabbath changed the music world forever and gave millions of listeners something to rejoice.The guitars,vocals and drums were at the time considered "heavy" and without Paranoid metalheads wouldn't be able to enjoy their music,or at least heavy metal would have sounded different.For any rock,metal or heavy metal fans definatly get this,its a great addition to nearly anyone's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A landmark in heavy metal, June 28 2004
By 
John Alapick (Harveys Lake, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paranoid (Audio CD)
Black Sabbath's Paranoid album is not only the band's finest hour but also one of the best heavy metal albums ever produced. Although there were many great moments on their first five albums, Paranoid is their only release that is fantastic from beginning to end. Also worth noting is that Paranoid, with the exception of AC/DC's Back In Black, is the best metal album ever recorded where the songs are based on heavy memorable riffs.
How great are the tracks here? Three of the greatest heavy metal songs ever, "War Pigs", "Iron Man", and the title track are all present here with the latter two being the band's only Top 100 hits. Lead singer Ozzy Osbourne still performs all of these songs regularly whether it's with his solo band or with Black Sabbath on the Ozzfest tours. "War Pigs" is arguably one of the greatest anti-war tracks recorded, which is astounding since these issues were typically touched on more by singer/songwriters like Bob Dylan and Neil Young than bands of their genre. "Iron Man" is still one of the coolest guitar riffs ever recorded and along with the title track still receives generous airplay on classic rock radio. Amazingly, the rest of the album is very strong as well. The tracks "Electric Funeral" and "Hand Of Doom" both feature slow memorable riffs in the chorus and verses and then go into killer jams during the middle of the track. The instrumental "Rat Salad" is also excellent, carried by Bill Ward's underrated energetic drumming. The heavy shuffle of "Fairies Wear Boots" and the moody "Planet Caravan" are also great tracks. This is also their most influential album as Paranoid encouraged literally thousands of teenagers to pick up a guitar and later form heavy metal bands. You can still hear this influence in many of today's heavy bands like Staind and Disturbed. An essential album for all heavy metal fans. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Bonanza of Sabbath!, Oct. 28 2009
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Paranoid (Audio CD)
Wow, how many times have I bought Paranoid now? I would guess that this might be my sixth purchase of this album. And, for the record, the four stars are for the reissue, not the album itself. Paranoid is and always will be a five star album.

Liner notes and photos: A+. Awesome job. Lots of cool photos, facts, and figures that I was not previously aware of.

Packaging: C-. I have a 2CD/1DVD Clash set from this series where all three discs are packaged with a plastic tray to hold them in. Not so with Paranoid! Cost cutting may be the reason, but disc 2 slides into a cardboard sleeve while the other two discs have plastic trays.

Remastering: A+. My understanding is that this is a brand new remastering. That would be time #3 for Paranoid. (1996 Castle remasters, Black Box remasters.) Like the Black Box version, this sounds great, very clear, very powerful, very authentic. Can you tell the difference between this version and the Black Box version? Not really!

Bonus material: B+. Maybe it's not anybody's fault, but the bonus material is somewhat dissapointing. Most are alternate takes with different lyrics or no lyrics at all. I guess that's all that was available. Still, it's not something I will listen to often. The DVD in quad is great, but keep in mind you're going to be hearing these songs three times each! The alternate lyrics are interesting to say the least, but when you're so used to hearing these songs a certain way, it is a little jarring.

The DVD is an A. On this DVD, you get the original 1974 quad mix. Collectors rejoice, and people who are hoping for a 5.1 remix are going to have to keep waiting. I love the fact that we're finally getting reissues of classic 1970's quad mixes. Deep Purple have been releasing some as well. Personally I hope to hear some of the old Alice Cooper quad mixes some day, too.

Not a perfect reissue, but it is what it is. The packaging is the one thing that could have been improved easily. The extra material, well, if this is all Sabbath have in the vaults, then so be it!

Four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My first introduction to true metal., June 13 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Paranoid (Audio CD)
You can debate and debate and debate but if you ask what is the best metal album of all time, it is hands down Paranoid.Why?Well because this was my first metal album that I ever bought and it was great.It first got me interested in even heavier stuff like Slayer and Pantera.Theres people that argue whether Master Of Puppets is better than Reign In Blood or not but let me tell you Paranoid is even cooler than both of them.They were both great albums but noone has a cooler guitar tone than Tony Iommi.He invented heavy metal guitar.Sure Jimmy Page could play fast and loud but he could play nowhere near as dark and heavy as Tony could.And the vocals.Man they are awesome>Ozzy Osbourne gives the best performance of his life on this album.I cant even decide which song is the best because they are all great but Iron Man was the first song Ive ever heard by them so that remains my favorite.War Pigs is a very good intro to the album with some of the best guitar work ever commited to tape.Paranoid is a groovy rocker sort of an ode to depression and also sort of a break up song(you know the part where he sings finished with my woman cause she couldnt help me with my mind).Planet Caravan is one of my favorites too cause its about outer space and thats one of the topics Im very interested about.Electric Funeral and Hand Of Doom are also about 2 things Im sort of obsessed with the end of the world(Electric Funeral and heroin addictions(Hand Of Doom).Rat Salad is a cool instrumental sort of a Led Zeppelin tribute.Fairies Wear Boots is a great closer with an awesome guitar solo at the end.Its about hallucionations from drugs.All in all this is a great introduction to anyone interested in hard rock.Buy this now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black Sabbath's Classic Sophmore Release!, June 12 2004
By 
highway_star (Hallandale, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Paranoid (Audio CD)
Released in 1970, Black Sabbath's sophmore release "Paranoid" is a must have for any classic rock afficianado. It clearly was one of the heaviest albums of the year (along with Deep Purple's "In Rock" album), practically coining the term "heavy metal". Black Sabbath, known for writing songs that depicted destruction and evil as is best evidenced in songs such as "War Pigs", "Hand Of Doom", and "Iron Man" were thought by sceptics to be "satan worshippers" because of the lyrics of many of their songs as well as the trademark crosses the members wore. Of course we all know this was not the case but was merely Black Sabbath's image and style of music at the time. Fast and screetching guitar licks, thumping bass, solid drumming and frontman Ozzy Osbourne's vocals made Black Sabbath one the seventies most popular rock bands alongside Led Zeppelin, Deep Purple and Uriah Heep to name just a few. The songs speak for themselves, as the favorite classics here are "Paranoid", "Iron Man" and "War Pigs", but the album produced many other excellent songs such as "Fairies Wear Boots", "Electric Funeral", "Rat Salad" and the eerie but beautiful "Planet Caravan". Black Sabbath would continue to release a number of excellent albums until the later seventies when Osbourne clearly was ready to leave the band and go solo. A classic rock album that sounds as good today as it did thirty four years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The album that made Metal popular!, June 12 2004
By 
Will Culp (Greenville, South Carolina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Paranoid (Audio CD)
(Actual Rating-4.5)
Released in 1971, Paranoid is Black Sabbath's second album.
Although Black Sabbath(Self-Titled Album) was arguably the album that created Heavy Metal, Paranoid is the album that made it popular. After the minor success of Black Sabbath, upon its release in 1971, Paranoid quickly shot into the Top Ten, reaching as far as Number 8 on the heels of the gloomy singles "Paranoid" and "Iron Man", and eventually sold over 4 million copies, by far Black Sabbath's biggest selling album. Paranoid is the album that made metal popular, and Paranoid secured its place as one, if not the most, influential albums of all-time, creating an entire genre out of one recording. To this day, the radio is constantly playing "War Pigs","Paranoid", and "Iron Man", so Paranoid's legacy has not been forgotten even after 32 years, a feat most albums can't say for themselves. To this day, along with "Smoke On the Water", "Iron Man" has one of the most memorable and well-known riffs of all-time, and if you ask any guitarist what the first songs they learned to play were, it will always be those two. According to most Black Sabbath fans, Paranoid is their best album, so are they right or
wrong? Read on to learn what I think of Paranoid.
Luke's Wall/War Pigs-10/10: Iommi's sludgy guitar riffs and the foreboding siren in the beginning set the stage for the album perfectly. What you are about to hear is an all-out metalfest! Ozzy's vocals take center stage soon after, singing some of the most ingenious lyrics I've ever heard, and they only rival "Iron Man" in terms of complexity. As the song progresses, Iommi and Ozzy duel for center-stage, Iommi breaking out with killer riffs and solos at any time and Ozzy singing about the destruction of the world because of politician's greed with a flair that can only belong to him.
Paranoid-10/10: Even though "Paranoid" clocks in just over 2 and a half minutes, it stands as one of the most memorable tracks on the album! Iommi's riff is unmistakeable, and Ozzy's piercing vocals scream out at you from the stereo with no remorse. One thing though, Iommi's solo was somehow screwed up by the remastering, so it doesn't sound to good.
Planet Caravan-3/10: This song is nothing but indistinct vocals from Ozzy and almost unhearable drumming. I'm only nice and giving it 3 points because of Iommi's bluesy guitar solo, which is unfortuneatly hard to hear but still sounds really good.
Iron Man-15/10-You might have heard Iommi's opening riff, and if you haven't you must be living under a rock! Like on "War Pigs", Iommi and Ozzy share center stage, each taking turns showing their distinctive mastery! Iommi belts out insane solos and sludgy riffs as Ozzy casually sings about the slow insanity of a robot that destroys mankind. I would say this song has the BEST lyrics I've EVER HEARD, and that's from a man who listens to Rush and Metallica! Ward's drumming is to die for on this song!
Electric Funeral-10/10: Unlike the title suggests, this song isn't all that bad! This song seems like it could have easily became a hit, because it's Classic Metal at its very Best! We get an Alice In Chains-y riff from Iommi throughout the song that is completely genious, and Ozzy backs it up perfectly with his vocals about the end of the world(AS USUAL!). About 2:20 in, the song goes in a new direction, giving the song a light edge to it, Iommi discarding his usual sludgy riff for a lighter one, but he soon goes back to it 3 minutes in. Nonetheless, it is an excellent intermission that builds up to the dark riffs later on.
Hand of Doom-7/10-Starts off a little slow, with Ozzy's sarcastic vocals singing about your ascension into hell, but then Iommi's sludgy riff sweeping in and building up to a chorus that is louder than hell itself! The reason I took off 3 points is because for 8 minutes, this song really only does that, with a good solo to break the flow every once in a while. Black Sabbath tries to do many things in this song, but somehow it seems disjointed and not as masterful as the other songs.
Rat Salad-9/10: Why do people call this a filler track? WHY!? It's just as long as "Paranoid", with the exception that it's an instrumental. This song truly gives Iommi and especially Vinny Appice a chance to take the spotlights on themselves for over two minutes. Iommi goes for a less sludgy riff while Bill Ward plays his HEART OUT! SOME OF THE BEST DRUMMING I'VE EVER HEARD, HE BREAKS INTO AN AMAZING MINUTE LONG SOLO!
Fairies Wear Boots/Jack the Stripper-15/10: As the liner notes suggest, this is clearly Black Sabbath's most ambitious song. Iommi's combination sludgy/light guitar riffs and solos perfectly balance the song and make it stand out as one of the most genious songs on this album. As you might suspect, the song is kind of a joke, and Ozzy's vocals might even make you laugh, but not in the bad way! Everything is top-notch here, and this song is tied "Iron Man" as the best on Paranoid. Truly great instrument playing!
Overall, Paranoid is a great album essential to the making of one of the greatest kinds of music ever, Heavy Metal, and we owe it all to the mastery of Iommi, Ozzy, and Bill Ward. DO NOT HATE ON "RAT SALAD"! "Iron Man" and "Fairies Wear Boots" are masterpieces and have to heard by any fan of Rock in general! The reason Paranoid gets 4.5 stars is because of filler track "Planet Caravan" and the slightly disjointed "Hand Of Doom".
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! ANY FAN OF METAL, CLASSIC ROCK, OR ANYBODY INTERESTED TO SEE THEIR FAVORITE GRUNGE BAND'S BIGGEST INFLUENCE, LOOK NO FURTHER! SINCE PARANOID,BLACK SABBATH, AND MASTER OF REALITY ONLY COST 9.99$, ALL THESE ALBUMS ARE A STEAL! Thanks for Reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars - Their most popular album, May 29 2004
This review is from: Paranoid (Audio CD)
Paranoid (1971.) Black Sabbath's second album.
Black Sabbath came onto the rock and roll scene in 1970, with the release of their self-titled debut album. Unfortunately, the band quickly received negative feedback for their musical stylings - radio stations even refused to play their songs. But the truth was plain and simple - their music was great. And in 1971, the band followed up their debut with their sophomore effort, Paranoid. Read on for my review.
War Pigs starts off the album. It's an essential Sabbath classic that went onto become one of the band's biggest hits, and why not? It flat out rules. The outro guitar solo, Luke's Wall, is also excellent. Tony Iommi is an underrated guitar genius. The album's title track proves to be yet another Sabbath classic. This time around we get fast-paced hard rock that shows us just how talented the band is. Planet Caravan was never a big hit for the band, and it's not up to the quality of the hits. Still, it's a good song overall. Track four is Iron Man, Black Sabbath's most popular song by far. The lyrics and instrumentation are perfect in this track, so it's no surprise that many Sabbath fans call it their favorite. Of all the non-hits on the album, my favorite would have to be Electric Funeral. It's heavy and gloomy, just the way Sabbath should sound. Why did this song never get the proper credit? Hand Of Doom is another gloomy and bluesy rocker, but it never became a big hit. I guess this is to be expected though, it's one of the weaker songs here. Probably the least popular song on the album is Rat Salad, which is also the weakest. Here the band tries their hand at an instrumental, but they aren't able to pull it off as well as they should have been. Concluding the album is the minor hit, Fairies Wear Boots, a little tune the band wrote about an encounter with some skinheads. An instrumental sequence entitled Jack The Stripper kicks this one off. Despite the odd title, it will grab your attention and hold onto it. This track will not fail to please if you're a fan of classic hard rock. In the end, you're left with one hell of an album.
THE TEXT IN THIS PARAGRAPH REFERS EXCLUSIVELY TO THE WARNER BROS. AMERICAN REISSUE OF THE ALBUM. Warner Bros. did a fine job remastering and rereleasing the Black Sabbath catalogue, as did they several other artists. Unfortunately, they didn't really do anything outside of improving the sound quality. You don't get expanded liner notes, interviews, bonus tracks, or anything. This means you might as well buy the bargain version of the album. The bargain versions of Black Sabbath's albums tend to usually pop up in gas stations, drug stores, or any other place that has a small CD selection, consisting of mostly budget-priced compilations. Since the bargain version is a much better value, I (rather obviously) recommend that it be the version you buy.
Overall, Paranoid is a classic rock masterpiece. It's not quite five star material due to all the lower-quality tracks (a five star album has NO weak tracks on it), but it's still excellent. If you like classic rock and/or hard rock/heavy metal, this is an album just waiting to be added to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paranoid
Paranoid by Black Sabbath (Audio CD - 1987)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews