Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheerly Awesome-They Still Got It Without The Ozzman
MY OPINION-To me Black Sabbath has and always will be Ozzy, Tony, Geezer, and Bill. My first response to this album was "Crap. It's not the same without Ozzy". But my closedmindedness (if thats a word) soon fell away and I opened my eyes to a truely awesome album. All the songs are masterfully done and the songwriting is the best since Sabotage. On to the...
Published on June 24 2004 by Phil

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not there best, but a step up from previous work...
OK, I don't know exactly what would possess people to think otherwise, but Never Say Die (the album before Heaven & Hell) is complete crap. Only the title track is worth listening to. With that said, Heaven & Hell is a huge step up. For starters, this album unleashes Ronnie James Dio on the world, who, regardless of what you may have heard, is light years ahead of Ozzy...
Published on June 11 2002 by jigglybooch


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheerly Awesome-They Still Got It Without The Ozzman, June 24 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
MY OPINION-To me Black Sabbath has and always will be Ozzy, Tony, Geezer, and Bill. My first response to this album was "Crap. It's not the same without Ozzy". But my closedmindedness (if thats a word) soon fell away and I opened my eyes to a truely awesome album. All the songs are masterfully done and the songwriting is the best since Sabotage. On to the review
1.Neon Knights-The concept of this song is weird in my opinion. One thing Dio added to the songs was a mystic, midievil feel to them. This song proves that right away. 9/10
2.Children of the Sea-2nd best song on the album. Some of the lyrics are not really that good (Then we did the demon dance and rushed to Nevermore)but still an awesome song. 10/10
3.Lady Evil-Strange, yet the music is so good that it's overlookable. 9/10
4.Heaven and Hell-The single best song on the album. The riff is deathly catchy (even if it is sorta reminiscent of the Snowblind riff) 10/10
5.Wishing Well-Not the best song by far, but still a decent rocker that'll get ya goin. 8/10
6.Die Young-Amazing song. The intro thingy is really cool and the main riff is great. Probably the 3rd best on the album. 9/10
7.Walk Away-The riff is good and sorta sounds just a fuzz like Marilyn Manson's song Lunchbox (to me anyway). Not the best song on the album, but still good. Probably the weekest song though. 7/10
8.Lonely is the Word-Sounds sort of generic, but the riff is good. Once again, not the best song but not the worst. 8/10
BOTTOM LINE:This album should appeal to everyone who is even remotely interested in metal/rock music. To everyone who think Sabbath couldn't make it without Ozzy, listen to this album and tell yourself that again. Sounds stupid to say that dont it?
Rock on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sheerly Awesome-They Still Got It Without The Ozzman, June 24 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
MY OPINION-To me Black Sabbath has and always will be Ozzy, Tony, Geezer, and Bill. My first response to this album was "Crap. It's not the same without Ozzy". But my closedmindedness (if thats a word) soon fell away and I opened my eyes to a truely awesome album. All the songs are masterfully done and the songwriting is the best since Sabotage. On to the review
1.Neon Knights-The concept of this song is weird in my opinion. One thing Dio added to the songs was a mystic, midievil feel to them. This song proves that right away. 9/10
2.Children of the Sea-2nd best song on the album. Some of the lyrics are not really that good (Then we did the demon dance and rushed to Nevermore)but still an awesome song. 10/10
3.Lady Evil-Strange, yet the music is so good that it's overlookable. 9/10
4.Heaven and Hell-The single best song on the album. The riff is deathly catchy (even if it is sorta reminiscent of the Snowblind riff) 10/10
5.Wishing Well-Not the best song by far, but still a decent rocker that'll get ya goin. 8/10
6.Die Young-Amazing song. The intro thingy is really cool and the main riff is great. Probably the 3rd best on the album. 9/10
7.Walk Away-The riff is good and sorta sounds just a fuzz like Marilyn Manson's song Lunchbox (to me anyway). Not the best song on the album, but still good. Probably the weekest song though. 7/10
8.Lonely is the Word-Sounds sort of generic, but the riff is good. Once again, not the best song but not the worst. 8/10
BOTTOM LINE:This album should appeal to everyone who is even remotely interested in metal/rock music. To everyone who think Sabbath couldn't make it without Ozzy, listen to this album and tell yourself that again. Sounds stupid to say that dont it?
Rock on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, May 30 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
This is Black Sabbath's best album with Dio, easily ranking above the very good Mob Rules and the good Dehumanizer. I am a fan of Dio's solo work as well as the Ozzy and Tony Martin led Black Sabbath and this is one of the best of all of them. Dio's work with Black Sabbath is excellent and under-rated because Ozzy is so rich and famous. The opener Neon Nights is brilliant, and a good attention getting tracks that reaks of vintage masterpiece Dio. The cliche about Dio says he's the ultimate Dungeons and Dragons guy, but I put him more fantasy and I highly doubt any or most Deungeons and Dragons geeks listen to Dio. You can get chicks listening to Dio but you can't get chicks playing D & D. Track 2 Children of the Sea is also brilliant and a definate album highlight. Lady Evil is sexy and funky. The title track is the great album's ultimate masterpiece, a testament to the magesty of both Dio and Sabbath. The rest of the album is also good but I'm covering the highlights. Recommended for dark fantasy type people like myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black Sabbath's best album ever - no contest, May 25 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
Heaven And Hell (1980.) Black Sabbath's ninth album.
Following the recording of Black Sabbath's 1978 effort, Never Say Die!, they were forced to expel legendary metal vocalist Ozzy Osbourne out of the band. Ozzy would start a solo career, but would would Geezer Butler, Bill Ward, and Tony Iommi do without a vocalist? The answer to that question was simple. Get a new one. Ronnie James Dio, who previously did lead vocals in the blues rock outfit Elf and former Deep Purple member Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow, became the new Black Sabbath vocalist. How would Black Sabbath measure up without Ozzy? Read on for my review of Heaven And Hell.
I had some serious doubts when I heard that Black Sabbath released material without Ozzy in the band, even though I knew that Ronnie James Dio was a great metal vocalist. Well, one things for sure - this album SHATTERED those doubts, and made me feel stupid for ever having had them! Heaven And Hell is Black Sabbath's BEST ALBUM. Period. Sorry to disappoint all you Ozzy loyalists, but it's the truth. Neon Knights, the opener, is fast-paced hard rock with a slight melodic touch - just the kind of sound that Dio demonstrated he could do beautifully in his Rainbow days. The slow-paced Children Of The Sea comes next - it's the album's ballad, if you'd like to call it such. The slow and melodic side of Sabbath never sounded finer. Lady Evil is another Rainbow-esque classic hard power rocker as only Dio could shell out. And with Sabbath backing him, the results can only be promising. By far, though, the strongest track on this album is the lengthy title track. Tony Iommi is a guitar god, and he's demonstrated it tons of times both before and after the release of this album, but NO TRACK SHOWS THAT HE IS A GUITAR GOD THE WAY THIS SONG DOES. The opening solo to this track is the best damn guitar playing he has EVER done. Combine that with some priceless vocals from Dio, and you know very well you've got a masterpiece on your hands. It is immediately followed up with another excellent rocker, Wishing Well. Once again, you get some killer vocals from Dio here. From start to finish, Heaven And Hell flat out rocks.
THE TEXT IN THIS PARAGRAPH REFERS EXCLUSIVELY TO THE WARNER BROS. AMERICAN REISSUE OF THE ALBUM. Warner Bros. did a fine job remastering and rereleasing the Black Sabbath catalogue, as did they several other artists. Unfortunately, they didn't really do anything outside of improving the sound quality. You don't get expanded liner notes, interviews, bonus tracks, or anything. It's kind of a disappointment, but it doesn't change my views on the album itself.
Heaven And Hell is, for lack of a better way of putting it, a masterpiece among masterpieces. When you take the heavy metal vocal mastery of Ronnie James Dio and pair him up with Tony Iommi's guitar expertise, the results can only be good. If you're a fan of Black Sabbath, or a fan of ANY band Ronnie James Dio has ever played in, this is a must own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black Sabbath Roars Back in 1980 With Ronnie James Dio!!!!, April 27 2004
By 
Robert J. Schneider (Tacoma, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
After charismatic, but drug-addicted, John "Ozzy" Osbourne left the band for good in late 1978, Black Sabbath still had many fans, but they were basically considered to be washed-up. After all, Heavy Metal was an early '70's thing, and disco now ruled the airwaves in the latter part of the decade. This was the position in which the remaining members (guitarist Tony Iommi, bass guitarist Tony "Geezer" Butler and drummer Bill Ward) found themselves when searching for a new lead singer. They found Ronnie James Dio, an American who had been the lead singer for New York-based blues-rock band Elf from 1972-75, and then for British-based progressive Heavy Metal band Rainbow from 1975-78. Many people wondered skeptically if Black Sabbath could recreate their old magic with Dio as their lead singer.
Well, they didn't; instead, they made some new magic. Hooking up with Rainbow's producer, the great Martin Birch, they were clearly re-energized when they recorded HEAVEN AND HELL in early 1980, both musically and lyrically. Ronnie James Dio, who had written Rainbow's famous mystical lyrics to such classics as "Man On The Silver Mountain" and "Stargazer," found a new home in Black Sabbath, as he was easily able to incorporate his mystical lyrics into Sabbath's style. Opening with the fast, blazing "Neon Knights," HEAVEN AND HELL shows Black Sabbath ready for the 80's. Tony Iommi's guitar riffing is faster, Geezer Butler and Bill Ward's rhythmic interplay is tighter, and Dio's singing is incredibly inspired. This was a Black Sabbath that was louder, faster, clearer and more progressive-oriented. This progressive orientation is even more evident on the album's second track, "Children Of The Sea." Beginning with soft guitar and singing, Black Sabbath quickly whip the music up into a fierce mid-tempo riff over which Dio sings:
"We sailed across the air before we learned to fly;
We thought that it could never end.
We'd glide above the ground before we learned to run. Run!
Now it seems our world has come undone."
"Children Of The Sea" incorporates some gothic-sounding background vocals which combines the third dimension of finesse with Tony Iommi's technically proficient lead guitar playing. It's an incredible song. "Lady Evil" begins with a strong mid-tempo bass/drum groove with enticing lyrics that talk about "a magical mystical woman" who lives "In a place just south of Witches' Valley" and features another inspired lead guitar solo from Tony Iommi. Then, another instant Black Sabbath classic is born with the title track, which features one of the best and most recognizable opening guitar riffs, some of the best bass playing and drumming, and one of the most incredibly fierce vocal performances singing some of the most poetic lyrics:
"Sing me a song, you're a singer.
Do me a wrong, you're a bringer of evil.
The Devil is never a maker.
The less that you give, you're a taker.
So it's on and on and on, it's Heaven and Hell,
Oh well"
Black Sabbath just redefined their music for a whole new generation of Metal fans with this album! The nearly seven-minute "Heaven And Hell" ends with a full minute of beautiful Spanish-guitar playing by Tony Iommi, which he had not done since "Symptom Of The Universe" from the 1975 album SABOTAGE. "Wishing Well" is a fast hard-rocker that reminds us that "Time is a never ending journey/Love is a never ending smile." Black Sabbath then go for the jugular again with the multi-part "Die Young," which deceptively begins with a spacey keyboard intro which is joined by high-pitched guitar, then transformed into a fast, muscular feast of Metal, in which Dio sings with an emotional ferocity:
"Gather the wind, though the wind won't help you fly at all
Your back's to the wall
Chain the sun, and it tears away (and it breaks) you as you run, you run, you run."
Then, everything gets quiet and Dio sings softly:
"Die young, die young;
Can't you see the writing in the end?
Die young, gonna die young
Someone stopped the fall."
Then the heavy guitar comes roaring back again. All of this goes on comfortably inside of five minutes! "Walk Away" is a mid-tempo tune that can be described as a mystical anti-love song. The song is not among the album's most memorable (even so, it still beats most of the material on NEVER SAY DIE!), but it's still very solid and rhythmic. Then the feeling of loneliness is explored in the album's final song, the slow-paced but powerful "Lonely is The Word."
At 39:50, HEAVEN AND HELL is a full six minutes shorter than the band's final outing with Ozzy, which was overlong and under-produced, and as a result is snappier and packs a much greater punch. There are no weak songs here. This album totally revitalized Black Sabbath and opened them up to a new generation of fans. HEAVEN AND HELL sold over a million copies in the U.S. alone (which Sabbath had not done in at least five years) and made the Billboard Top 20 for several weeks in 1980. Black Sabbath embarked on a highly successful arena-sized concert tour that year, and immediately spurred on the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal (joined by re-energized veterans such as Judas Priest, and by newcomers as diverse as Iron Maiden, Def Leppard, Saxon and Motorhead). To this day, this remains one of Black Sabbath's greatest albums ever (see its position on my Listmania list), and is a must-buy for any fan of their music.
MOST RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ozzy who? Dio is the only real metal vocalists, March 9 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
Hey nu-metal kids, Sabbath was kicking ass way before Limp Bizkit was a wet dream in the record company's mind. Dio vocals kill, as of now, I cannot find anyone (rock/pop/other) who has the range, power, and intesity of Ronnie James Dio. Not say the other Sabbath members should be forgotten.
Iommi, has to be one of the most underrated guitar players of all time. He consistanly rocks, even if the rest of the band isn't up to par. (***Please note this is not in reference to this album***) I can say that Iommi's riffs could easily hold up with modern nu-metal with Iommi crushing the compotision.
As I said in the "The Mob Rules" review, Gezzer can be heard on this album and it is killer. Bill Ward is another serverly underrated palyer in Sabbath. He can go at it with anyone for that era (But he does fall to John Bonham).
"Neon Knights" gets this album rocking, and it doesn't stop. See other rockers "Wishing Well", "Heaven & Hell", and "Die Young". Sabbath put out two awesome records with Dio and two of my favorites. Also the artwork for both "Heaven & Hell" and "The Mob Rules" are on my list for coolest of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This IS The New Sabbath!!! (Of 1980 of Course), Jan. 2 2004
By 
Marcus From Canaan (Canaan, NH United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
Wow. This album, I mean CD, brings me back to 1980. I was a huge Sabbath fan at the time. I loved everyhting they did. I remember seeing this in the New Release section of the record store and was psyched. Then I flipped the album over to look at the names of the songs and was shocked to see no Ozzy! How could there be a Sabbath without Ozzy? Oh well, I thought. They were a good band while they lasted. Then a friend of mine bought the album and called me up to tell me how good it was. He was a casual Sabbath listener and I thought it was only for those who "kind of" liked Sabbath. Boy, was I wrong! He brought it up and I was totally blown away. Yeah, Ozzy's voice was missing, but here was a new, vibrant, heavy, youthful sounding Sabbath. I couldn't believe my ears. Fast, full throttle rockers, slow churning, heavy rockers, melodic interludes, and the signature Sabbath crunch of Tony Iommi's guitar. (By the way, I believe some of his best work is on here) It took a while to get used to Ronnie James Dio's vocals in the mix, but it was worth the wait. As for the lyrics, Ronnie brought in a bit of mythological mysticism with enough dark undertones to make for some exciting new songs.
I will always love this album. It heralded in a new, albeit short-lived chapter of Black Sabbath history. It was sad that the line-up didn't remain because I believe they would have been the biggest act of the decade, even eclipse Ozzy's success (which was sadly due only to his drug and drink influenced behavior and not his new musical direction. Sorry Ozz, but it's true) Anyway, this IS Sabbath, like it or not. It rang in a new decade of heavy metal music and was THE album that broke the floodgates open for the NWOBHM that was to follow. Buy it, enjoy it. It's great heavy metal and it's great Sabbath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Staggering!!!!, Sept. 2 2003
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
Man, this was a total transformation. From the opening chords of NEON KNIGHTS, you know something changed drastically in the band, much more than a troublesome change of singers (Dio replacing Ozzy). It has a totally different sound, more powerful, more crisp, more "talented" (production courtesy of Mr. Martin Birth, a magician who went on to produce the best Iron Maiden albums. By the way, where is he nowadays? Probably turning down offer after offer...)
There was a total change, including lyrical approach (by the way, if somenone can explain me the meaning of Dio's lyrics in this album, please call me!!). The bass is loud, really loud, ad Ward never sounded fresher. Man, the eight tracks are awesome, fantastic (yes, even WALK AWAY. It may be a little pop, but the band play it with conviction, adn Dio's voice is at its peak on this one.)
LIke the old saying goes, good things never last, and this line up lasted only one album. Appice replaced Ward for MOB RULES, still featuring Martin Birch handling the production, and this was also a very, very strong album. THen, Dio left, the band accusing him, him accusing the band, and Sabbath became the solo project of Tony Iommi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WHY DON'T YOU OWN THIS!?!??!?!?!?, July 13 2003
By 
J. Wesley Townsend "westknife" (new york) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
I have had this for about a year, and I cannot stress this enough: Heaven and Hell by Black Sabbath is very possibly the best rock album EVER. I cannot put into words how great this album is. Ronnie James Dio's powerful voice was not so much a replacement for Ozzy Osbourne, it was more of a transformation. This "new" Sabbath sounds NOTHING like the old Sabbath. The musical and lyrical themes are magical, mystical kinds of stuff.
The album kicks off with, in my opinion, the best Sabbath song in their entire career. "Neon Knights" also happens to be my all-time favorite rock song. Right from the start, you know that something has changed about the band. They start off with a hard-rocking groove, and then all of a sudden... Dio's amazing voice takes the music into another dimension! In terms of songwriting, this is one of the best songs in either Sabbath's or Dio's catalog. The climax of the song, though, is Iommi's guitar solo. I could listen to this guitar solo on repeat for the rest of my life. Feel it!
The second song, "Children of the Sea," is slower, and heavier. The main crawling criff is one of the best on the album, and Dio's vocal part is very melodic and beautiful. This is one of the best songs on the album.
"Lady Evil" is an uptempo rocker that makes you want to move! "There's a place just south of Witches' Valley..." This is also a highlight of the album. It has one of the best guitar solos on the record, as well.
"Heaven and Hell," for many people, is the climax of the album (and for good reason!). From the opening hard-driving riff, you know this song is going to be something special. The guitar pummels away with the rhythm section for a little while, then pulls back, leaving only the drums and a mid-paced, galloping bass line. Enter Dio! He enters, singing his now classic line "Sing me a song, you're a singer..." After the verse, Dio sings "So it's on and on and on...", while the guitar comes crashing in, slamming out mighty power chords, and then turning into a sludgy, heavy riff. When the guitar pulls back again for the second verse, faint harmonized guitar leads can be heard echoing in the distance, giving harmony to the verse, where there was none before. After the chorus this time, the sludge riff keeps going, and Dio wails his final verse over it. One final chorus is extended for maximum build-up, and then a crashing finale! But wait...... it's not over. It is time for a monstrous, epic guitar solo! Starting quietly and slowly, Iommi creeps in, displaying his lesser-known talent for melodic beauty. Echo and delay effects make the solo very tripped-out and unbelievable! It ends on a fermata, and all is calm. Suddenly, Bill Ward starts a newer, faster beat, and all of a sudden the band comes crashing in, with power never before known!!! Dio screams and wails the song's final melody, with more intensity and inspiration than anyone could dream possible. He is soon joined by Iommi's lead guitar again, this time a fast maniacal solo that is technically impressive while still being melodically beautiful. This is the end to one of the best metal epics EVER. The song ends with a baroque-style acoustic guitar pattern that fades into the distance.
Then, suddenly, the first power chords of "Wishing Well" shake the silence! This is another great melodic track.
"Die Young" is one of the highlights of the album, with its furious, power-chord-driven riff, and infectious melody. This song contains some of Iommi's best guitar work on the album, even the little filler licks in between the vocal lines are incredible. Some of Iommi's most inspired work.
"Walk Away" is the only track on the album I would not recommend to everyone. It is kind of a pop attempt, and many Sabbath fans slander it for this reason. However, it is still a very good song, and should be appreciated for what it is.
The closer, "Lonely Is the Word," is obviously a personal song to Iommi. It is sloooow, and very bluesy. Tony Iommi himself says that it is one of his favorite guitar solos. This is a very sad song, but very calm also, and a great way to close the album.
What else can I say? If you are a fan of rock music, this is one of the best things you can possibly spend your money on. It has been my all-time favorite album ever since I got it, and it still is! It stands the test of time, and has redeeming value through many, many listens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh man, where to start?, July 10 2003
By 
Thomas Faust (New Jersey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
Rarely do you see an album that is so solid through and through. Most people point to 'Paranoid' as Sabbath's all-time classic, and with good reason, but in my opinion it is only the original Sabbath line-up's finest effort. 'Heaven and Hell' takes the crown for greatest Sabbath album and greatest heavey metal album ever. To me, the line-up of Iommi-Dio-Ward-Butler is the true Black Sabbath: they were meant to play together. I'm not even going to discuss specific songs since all of them are top-notch, not a single throw-away or filler. Dio's vocals and songwriting are at their best, Iommi's guitar just lets loose on this album (check out 'Lonely Is The Word,' the two guitar solos just put anything today's "guitarists" can put out to absolute shame, but then again even Iommi at his worst can do that), and while Butler and Ward aren't as brutal and up front as they are in their brightest rythem moment('Paranoid'), they still lay the beat down competantly and easily justify their position as one of the greatest rythem sections ever. I love this album and it is one of the three that never leaves my side wherever I go. I think that says it all right there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heaven and Hell
Heaven and Hell by Black Sabbath (Audio CD - 1987)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews