Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The World Is Full Of Kings And Queens Who Blind Your Eyes And Steal Your Dreams,Its Heaven And Hell"-Heaven And Hell
In 1979,After Ozzy left Black Sabbath,Dio became the new singer of the band giving the band a new life and new energy.You can feel right from the opening song "Neon Knights",that something about them has changed.Some tought,are quick to criticize Dio and of course those people just want Ozzy and nothing else,if you have an open mind then you will probably like...
Published on May 18 2008 by Tommy Skylar

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not there best, but a step up from previous work...
OK, I don't know exactly what would possess people to think otherwise, but Never Say Die (the album before Heaven & Hell) is complete crap. Only the title track is worth listening to. With that said, Heaven & Hell is a huge step up. For starters, this album unleashes Ronnie James Dio on the world, who, regardless of what you may have heard, is light years ahead of Ozzy...
Published on June 11 2002 by jigglybooch


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The World Is Full Of Kings And Queens Who Blind Your Eyes And Steal Your Dreams,Its Heaven And Hell"-Heaven And Hell, May 18 2008
By 
Tommy Skylar (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
In 1979,After Ozzy left Black Sabbath,Dio became the new singer of the band giving the band a new life and new energy.You can feel right from the opening song "Neon Knights",that something about them has changed.Some tought,are quick to criticize Dio and of course those people just want Ozzy and nothing else,if you have an open mind then you will probably like Sabbath-Dio,if not then just don't like it that's all.Ronnie James Dio,has an amazing voice and in my opinion,he's a way better singer than Ozzy and can really bring a song to life.I can understand those people because I was once like them,beleving that Ozzy was the only true singer of the band but once I heard them with Dio it all changed.I think that Sabbath was great with Dio,maybe not as much as they were with Ozzy,but Dio certainly had his place in Sabbath and the albums he did with the band are memorable and classics ones with some great songs.

One big change is of course the fact that lineup is now consisting of Toni Iommi,Geezer Butler,Bill Ward and Ronnie James Dio,but another change is that Iommi's guitar playing has changed in the transition of Ozzy to Dio.He plays awesomely in my opinion and comes out with some rocking riffs that really stick to your head.In a way Dio is much more of a musician while Ozzy is a singer.This album has much more melody than previous albums and its a masterpiece that can sometimes be overlooked.The lyrics can also be more profound and real,they are different than in their previous album,you'll notice.Black Sabbath with Ronnie James Dio is still Black Sabbath to me lets make this clear.

The albums starts out with one of the best metal songs ever in my opinion,"Neon Knights" which has a great riff by Iommi and at this point already you know you're in for something special."Children Of The Sea" is considerably slower and more of a rocker.Dio sounds amazing on this one and its really an emotional song about courage,one of the best songs on the album."Lady Evil" is another great song with a good chorus and there is really nothing to complain about.I often have some of the lyrics in my head,"Lady evil,evil,she's a magical,mystical woman..." its got a good groove what can I say?"Heaven And Hell",the title track is amazing starting out slow and gradually becoming more intense.The solo in this song is amazing!A highlight of the album."Wishing Well" is pretty good,there's nothing really special,the song is just great."Die Young" is excellent no less."Walk Away"'s the song I don't really like,it's good at what it is,no more."Lonely Is The World" is a good bluesy closer but nothing exceptionnal here.

Dio was the best choice for a replacement singer,some bands after loosing such important members as Ozzy was decide to quit but sometimes continue and in some case do very well and Sabbath was one of those bands.Everything is top notch,the songs,the playing,everything is there and the result of "Heaven And Hell" is a masterpiece and one of the best Sabbath has ever done.I can't say it enough,this album is a must-have and it should be in any serious rocker's collection.Its a highlight in both Sabbath and Dio's careers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums ever!, April 14 2008
By 
Customer from Quebec (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
I still remember the first time I listened to Heaven And Hell. I was in awe. I couldn't believe that Dio fits like glove to the band. You have the impression they've been together forever. Coming from Rainbow, which is more of a Deep Purple sound, Dio made Black Sabbath darker and and created with them three masterpiece albums! Who would think, that a group that everybody thought was losing it after the horrible Never Say Die, will come back so strong! After so many great albums with Ozzy, they wrote some stunning material-Heaven And Hell, Die Young, Children Of the Sea, Lonely is The World, Neon Knights. It's about the whole album. One masterpiece after another. I love Ozzy, but I get mad when I hear people saying that Black Sabbath with Dio isn't Black Sabbath! It is! And no less than 100%
Now touring like Heaven And Hell (and sounding better than ever, I saw them last year), I cannot wait to hear the new album they are recording together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheerly Awesome-They Still Got It Without The Ozzman, June 24 2004
This review is from: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
MY OPINION-To me Black Sabbath has and always will be Ozzy, Tony, Geezer, and Bill. My first response to this album was "Crap. It's not the same without Ozzy". But my closedmindedness (if thats a word) soon fell away and I opened my eyes to a truely awesome album. All the songs are masterfully done and the songwriting is the best since Sabotage. On to the review
1.Neon Knights-The concept of this song is weird in my opinion. One thing Dio added to the songs was a mystic, midievil feel to them. This song proves that right away. 9/10
2.Children of the Sea-2nd best song on the album. Some of the lyrics are not really that good (Then we did the demon dance and rushed to Nevermore)but still an awesome song. 10/10
3.Lady Evil-Strange, yet the music is so good that it's overlookable. 9/10
4.Heaven and Hell-The single best song on the album. The riff is deathly catchy (even if it is sorta reminiscent of the Snowblind riff) 10/10
5.Wishing Well-Not the best song by far, but still a decent rocker that'll get ya goin. 8/10
6.Die Young-Amazing song. The intro thingy is really cool and the main riff is great. Probably the 3rd best on the album. 9/10
7.Walk Away-The riff is good and sorta sounds just a fuzz like Marilyn Manson's song Lunchbox (to me anyway). Not the best song on the album, but still good. Probably the weekest song though. 7/10
8.Lonely is the Word-Sounds sort of generic, but the riff is good. Once again, not the best song but not the worst. 8/10
BOTTOM LINE:This album should appeal to everyone who is even remotely interested in metal/rock music. To everyone who think Sabbath couldn't make it without Ozzy, listen to this album and tell yourself that again. Sounds stupid to say that dont it?
Rock on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sheerly Awesome-They Still Got It Without The Ozzman, June 24 2004
This review is from: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
MY OPINION-To me Black Sabbath has and always will be Ozzy, Tony, Geezer, and Bill. My first response to this album was "Crap. It's not the same without Ozzy". But my closedmindedness (if thats a word) soon fell away and I opened my eyes to a truely awesome album. All the songs are masterfully done and the songwriting is the best since Sabotage. On to the review
1.Neon Knights-The concept of this song is weird in my opinion. One thing Dio added to the songs was a mystic, midievil feel to them. This song proves that right away. 9/10
2.Children of the Sea-2nd best song on the album. Some of the lyrics are not really that good (Then we did the demon dance and rushed to Nevermore)but still an awesome song. 10/10
3.Lady Evil-Strange, yet the music is so good that it's overlookable. 9/10
4.Heaven and Hell-The single best song on the album. The riff is deathly catchy (even if it is sorta reminiscent of the Snowblind riff) 10/10
5.Wishing Well-Not the best song by far, but still a decent rocker that'll get ya goin. 8/10
6.Die Young-Amazing song. The intro thingy is really cool and the main riff is great. Probably the 3rd best on the album. 9/10
7.Walk Away-The riff is good and sorta sounds just a fuzz like Marilyn Manson's song Lunchbox (to me anyway). Not the best song on the album, but still good. Probably the weekest song though. 7/10
8.Lonely is the Word-Sounds sort of generic, but the riff is good. Once again, not the best song but not the worst. 8/10
BOTTOM LINE:This album should appeal to everyone who is even remotely interested in metal/rock music. To everyone who think Sabbath couldn't make it without Ozzy, listen to this album and tell yourself that again. Sounds stupid to say that dont it?
Rock on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, May 30 2004
This review is from: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
This is Black Sabbath's best album with Dio, easily ranking above the very good Mob Rules and the good Dehumanizer. I am a fan of Dio's solo work as well as the Ozzy and Tony Martin led Black Sabbath and this is one of the best of all of them. Dio's work with Black Sabbath is excellent and under-rated because Ozzy is so rich and famous. The opener Neon Nights is brilliant, and a good attention getting tracks that reaks of vintage masterpiece Dio. The cliche about Dio says he's the ultimate Dungeons and Dragons guy, but I put him more fantasy and I highly doubt any or most Deungeons and Dragons geeks listen to Dio. You can get chicks listening to Dio but you can't get chicks playing D & D. Track 2 Children of the Sea is also brilliant and a definate album highlight. Lady Evil is sexy and funky. The title track is the great album's ultimate masterpiece, a testament to the magesty of both Dio and Sabbath. The rest of the album is also good but I'm covering the highlights. Recommended for dark fantasy type people like myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black Sabbath's best album ever - no contest, May 25 2004
This review is from: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
Heaven And Hell (1980.) Black Sabbath's ninth album.
Following the recording of Black Sabbath's 1978 effort, Never Say Die!, they were forced to expel legendary metal vocalist Ozzy Osbourne out of the band. Ozzy would start a solo career, but would would Geezer Butler, Bill Ward, and Tony Iommi do without a vocalist? The answer to that question was simple. Get a new one. Ronnie James Dio, who previously did lead vocals in the blues rock outfit Elf and former Deep Purple member Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow, became the new Black Sabbath vocalist. How would Black Sabbath measure up without Ozzy? Read on for my review of Heaven And Hell.
I had some serious doubts when I heard that Black Sabbath released material without Ozzy in the band, even though I knew that Ronnie James Dio was a great metal vocalist. Well, one things for sure - this album SHATTERED those doubts, and made me feel stupid for ever having had them! Heaven And Hell is Black Sabbath's BEST ALBUM. Period. Sorry to disappoint all you Ozzy loyalists, but it's the truth. Neon Knights, the opener, is fast-paced hard rock with a slight melodic touch - just the kind of sound that Dio demonstrated he could do beautifully in his Rainbow days. The slow-paced Children Of The Sea comes next - it's the album's ballad, if you'd like to call it such. The slow and melodic side of Sabbath never sounded finer. Lady Evil is another Rainbow-esque classic hard power rocker as only Dio could shell out. And with Sabbath backing him, the results can only be promising. By far, though, the strongest track on this album is the lengthy title track. Tony Iommi is a guitar god, and he's demonstrated it tons of times both before and after the release of this album, but NO TRACK SHOWS THAT HE IS A GUITAR GOD THE WAY THIS SONG DOES. The opening solo to this track is the best damn guitar playing he has EVER done. Combine that with some priceless vocals from Dio, and you know very well you've got a masterpiece on your hands. It is immediately followed up with another excellent rocker, Wishing Well. Once again, you get some killer vocals from Dio here. From start to finish, Heaven And Hell flat out rocks.
THE TEXT IN THIS PARAGRAPH REFERS EXCLUSIVELY TO THE WARNER BROS. AMERICAN REISSUE OF THE ALBUM. Warner Bros. did a fine job remastering and rereleasing the Black Sabbath catalogue, as did they several other artists. Unfortunately, they didn't really do anything outside of improving the sound quality. You don't get expanded liner notes, interviews, bonus tracks, or anything. It's kind of a disappointment, but it doesn't change my views on the album itself.
Heaven And Hell is, for lack of a better way of putting it, a masterpiece among masterpieces. When you take the heavy metal vocal mastery of Ronnie James Dio and pair him up with Tony Iommi's guitar expertise, the results can only be good. If you're a fan of Black Sabbath, or a fan of ANY band Ronnie James Dio has ever played in, this is a must own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black Sabbath Roars Back in 1980 With Ronnie James Dio!!!!, April 27 2004
By 
Robert J. Schneider (Tacoma, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
After charismatic, but drug-addicted, John "Ozzy" Osbourne left the band for good in late 1978, Black Sabbath still had many fans, but they were basically considered to be washed-up. After all, Heavy Metal was an early '70's thing, and disco now ruled the airwaves in the latter part of the decade. This was the position in which the remaining members (guitarist Tony Iommi, bass guitarist Tony "Geezer" Butler and drummer Bill Ward) found themselves when searching for a new lead singer. They found Ronnie James Dio, an American who had been the lead singer for New York-based blues-rock band Elf from 1972-75, and then for British-based progressive Heavy Metal band Rainbow from 1975-78. Many people wondered skeptically if Black Sabbath could recreate their old magic with Dio as their lead singer.
Well, they didn't; instead, they made some new magic. Hooking up with Rainbow's producer, the great Martin Birch, they were clearly re-energized when they recorded HEAVEN AND HELL in early 1980, both musically and lyrically. Ronnie James Dio, who had written Rainbow's famous mystical lyrics to such classics as "Man On The Silver Mountain" and "Stargazer," found a new home in Black Sabbath, as he was easily able to incorporate his mystical lyrics into Sabbath's style. Opening with the fast, blazing "Neon Knights," HEAVEN AND HELL shows Black Sabbath ready for the 80's. Tony Iommi's guitar riffing is faster, Geezer Butler and Bill Ward's rhythmic interplay is tighter, and Dio's singing is incredibly inspired. This was a Black Sabbath that was louder, faster, clearer and more progressive-oriented. This progressive orientation is even more evident on the album's second track, "Children Of The Sea." Beginning with soft guitar and singing, Black Sabbath quickly whip the music up into a fierce mid-tempo riff over which Dio sings:
"We sailed across the air before we learned to fly;
We thought that it could never end.
We'd glide above the ground before we learned to run. Run!
Now it seems our world has come undone."
"Children Of The Sea" incorporates some gothic-sounding background vocals which combines the third dimension of finesse with Tony Iommi's technically proficient lead guitar playing. It's an incredible song. "Lady Evil" begins with a strong mid-tempo bass/drum groove with enticing lyrics that talk about "a magical mystical woman" who lives "In a place just south of Witches' Valley" and features another inspired lead guitar solo from Tony Iommi. Then, another instant Black Sabbath classic is born with the title track, which features one of the best and most recognizable opening guitar riffs, some of the best bass playing and drumming, and one of the most incredibly fierce vocal performances singing some of the most poetic lyrics:
"Sing me a song, you're a singer.
Do me a wrong, you're a bringer of evil.
The Devil is never a maker.
The less that you give, you're a taker.
So it's on and on and on, it's Heaven and Hell,
Oh well"
Black Sabbath just redefined their music for a whole new generation of Metal fans with this album! The nearly seven-minute "Heaven And Hell" ends with a full minute of beautiful Spanish-guitar playing by Tony Iommi, which he had not done since "Symptom Of The Universe" from the 1975 album SABOTAGE. "Wishing Well" is a fast hard-rocker that reminds us that "Time is a never ending journey/Love is a never ending smile." Black Sabbath then go for the jugular again with the multi-part "Die Young," which deceptively begins with a spacey keyboard intro which is joined by high-pitched guitar, then transformed into a fast, muscular feast of Metal, in which Dio sings with an emotional ferocity:
"Gather the wind, though the wind won't help you fly at all
Your back's to the wall
Chain the sun, and it tears away (and it breaks) you as you run, you run, you run."
Then, everything gets quiet and Dio sings softly:
"Die young, die young;
Can't you see the writing in the end?
Die young, gonna die young
Someone stopped the fall."
Then the heavy guitar comes roaring back again. All of this goes on comfortably inside of five minutes! "Walk Away" is a mid-tempo tune that can be described as a mystical anti-love song. The song is not among the album's most memorable (even so, it still beats most of the material on NEVER SAY DIE!), but it's still very solid and rhythmic. Then the feeling of loneliness is explored in the album's final song, the slow-paced but powerful "Lonely is The Word."
At 39:50, HEAVEN AND HELL is a full six minutes shorter than the band's final outing with Ozzy, which was overlong and under-produced, and as a result is snappier and packs a much greater punch. There are no weak songs here. This album totally revitalized Black Sabbath and opened them up to a new generation of fans. HEAVEN AND HELL sold over a million copies in the U.S. alone (which Sabbath had not done in at least five years) and made the Billboard Top 20 for several weeks in 1980. Black Sabbath embarked on a highly successful arena-sized concert tour that year, and immediately spurred on the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal (joined by re-energized veterans such as Judas Priest, and by newcomers as diverse as Iron Maiden, Def Leppard, Saxon and Motorhead). To this day, this remains one of Black Sabbath's greatest albums ever (see its position on my Listmania list), and is a must-buy for any fan of their music.
MOST RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ozzy who? Dio is the only real metal vocalists, March 9 2004
This review is from: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
Hey nu-metal kids, Sabbath was kicking ass way before Limp Bizkit was a wet dream in the record company's mind. Dio vocals kill, as of now, I cannot find anyone (rock/pop/other) who has the range, power, and intesity of Ronnie James Dio. Not say the other Sabbath members should be forgotten.
Iommi, has to be one of the most underrated guitar players of all time. He consistanly rocks, even if the rest of the band isn't up to par. (***Please note this is not in reference to this album***) I can say that Iommi's riffs could easily hold up with modern nu-metal with Iommi crushing the compotision.
As I said in the "The Mob Rules" review, Gezzer can be heard on this album and it is killer. Bill Ward is another serverly underrated palyer in Sabbath. He can go at it with anyone for that era (But he does fall to John Bonham).
"Neon Knights" gets this album rocking, and it doesn't stop. See other rockers "Wishing Well", "Heaven & Hell", and "Die Young". Sabbath put out two awesome records with Dio and two of my favorites. Also the artwork for both "Heaven & Hell" and "The Mob Rules" are on my list for coolest of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This IS The New Sabbath!!! (Of 1980 of Course), Jan. 2 2004
By 
Marcus From Canaan (Canaan, NH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
Wow. This album, I mean CD, brings me back to 1980. I was a huge Sabbath fan at the time. I loved everyhting they did. I remember seeing this in the New Release section of the record store and was psyched. Then I flipped the album over to look at the names of the songs and was shocked to see no Ozzy! How could there be a Sabbath without Ozzy? Oh well, I thought. They were a good band while they lasted. Then a friend of mine bought the album and called me up to tell me how good it was. He was a casual Sabbath listener and I thought it was only for those who "kind of" liked Sabbath. Boy, was I wrong! He brought it up and I was totally blown away. Yeah, Ozzy's voice was missing, but here was a new, vibrant, heavy, youthful sounding Sabbath. I couldn't believe my ears. Fast, full throttle rockers, slow churning, heavy rockers, melodic interludes, and the signature Sabbath crunch of Tony Iommi's guitar. (By the way, I believe some of his best work is on here) It took a while to get used to Ronnie James Dio's vocals in the mix, but it was worth the wait. As for the lyrics, Ronnie brought in a bit of mythological mysticism with enough dark undertones to make for some exciting new songs.
I will always love this album. It heralded in a new, albeit short-lived chapter of Black Sabbath history. It was sad that the line-up didn't remain because I believe they would have been the biggest act of the decade, even eclipse Ozzy's success (which was sadly due only to his drug and drink influenced behavior and not his new musical direction. Sorry Ozz, but it's true) Anyway, this IS Sabbath, like it or not. It rang in a new decade of heavy metal music and was THE album that broke the floodgates open for the NWOBHM that was to follow. Buy it, enjoy it. It's great heavy metal and it's great Sabbath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Staggering!!!!, Sept. 2 2003
By 
This review is from: Heaven and Hell (Audio CD)
Man, this was a total transformation. From the opening chords of NEON KNIGHTS, you know something changed drastically in the band, much more than a troublesome change of singers (Dio replacing Ozzy). It has a totally different sound, more powerful, more crisp, more "talented" (production courtesy of Mr. Martin Birth, a magician who went on to produce the best Iron Maiden albums. By the way, where is he nowadays? Probably turning down offer after offer...)
There was a total change, including lyrical approach (by the way, if somenone can explain me the meaning of Dio's lyrics in this album, please call me!!). The bass is loud, really loud, ad Ward never sounded fresher. Man, the eight tracks are awesome, fantastic (yes, even WALK AWAY. It may be a little pop, but the band play it with conviction, adn Dio's voice is at its peak on this one.)
LIke the old saying goes, good things never last, and this line up lasted only one album. Appice replaced Ward for MOB RULES, still featuring Martin Birch handling the production, and this was also a very, very strong album. THen, Dio left, the band accusing him, him accusing the band, and Sabbath became the solo project of Tony Iommi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heaven and Hell
Heaven and Hell by Black Sabbath (Audio CD - 1987)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews