summer boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars34
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
27
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$14.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 2, 2004
Apart from BLUE, most of the people who know the music of Joni Mitchell appreciate, above all, COURT AND SPARK (1974) and HEJIRA (1976). I won't blame it on them - those are beautiful, elegant albums. Nevertheless, I consider the trilogy formed by LADIES OF THE CANYON (1970), BLUE (1971) and FOR THE ROSES (1972), one of the finest works in pop music. The first chapter, released in April of 1970, is a group of songs written between 1966 and 1969. It is for this reason that the LP is like a summary, a compound of the best pieces she has written up to then. The lyrics go from the intimistic tone to protest and accuse, to just simply storytelling. "Willy" forewarns the tones of BLUE - it's a beautiful song about inadequacy in a relationship, in which is clearly perceptible a sense of impotence even in front of an immense love that makes her feel "like a shiny light breaking in a storm". Or "Conversation", in which she plays the part of someone's lover's lover and she's so in love that makes you feel in love too. On the other hand, songs like "The Arrangement" and "Big Yellow Taxi" develope a clear accuse against modern life abuses and consumer mentality. Together with these are some lyrics that remind the ones belonging to her first two albums, such as "Morning Morgantown" - which is obviously connected with "Chelsea Morning", in CLOUDS (1969).
For what the music is concerned, it's a great step forward in Mitchell's growth as a musician; while her first two albums were based quite exclusively on acoustic guitar, for the first time here we can hear not only the piano - an instrumet which Joni wouldn't play for a long time - but also percussions, a jazzy clarinet (on the final notes of "For Free"), a sax, a flute and a cello.
So, to conclude, Joni paints stories and personal feelings with a taste of free innocence. Maybe the best thing about this album is just that it is open, free. It represents the most sincere and deep expression of her thoughts. Hence, the reason why I consider LADIES OF THE CANYON her best album is because there's a variety of themes and tones that you can't find in her other works, neither in BLUE, nor in COURT AND SPARK, nor in HEJIRA.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2001
There's really no serious debate among fans of Joni or pop-rock in general as to what her best album is - all those who have ears to hear proclaim the monumentally great Blue her high watermark. The real argument is over which disc ranks second best. Most fans and critics say Court and Spark holds that honor. I think it's unquestionably Ladies of the Canyon.
This is the album on which Joni cuts loose most confidently with the pure instrument which is the high end of her soprano range. In fact, part of Blue's greatness is in its retention of that singing style. However, her singing on this album is perhaps unique among her catalog for the innocence it conveys on many of the songs. This is without a doubt her last "flower child" album, and perhaps the one most deserving of the appellation.
While the album's mood bears some resemblence to Clouds, the differences and advancement over that album are revealed in the first track. Joni's rich acoustic guitar tones and girlish vocal approach familiarly carry the verse; then, in the chorus, a welcome new sound - the crystalline, icewater tones of a piano. The album unfolds with arrangements which convey at once a spare innocence and a gorgeous, multihued flexibility. I think that it is her best-arranged album (only Blue and Hejira really come close). The second song, "For Free," exemplifies why, using a cello and lovely syncopated clarinet solo to supplement Joni's vox and piano in a celebration of the spirit of musical expression.
What else makes Ladies of the Canyon a sublime masterpiece? Well, "Big Yellow Taxi" is probably the funnest, most life-giving musical expression in Joni's entire corpus - a shrewdly jaunty way of conveying a sobering message. "The Arrangement"'s haunting suspended piano chords treat hippie capitulation to the yuppie ruse as a profound tragedy - the stuffed shirt Joni so mournfully and movingly laments "Coulda been more/ than a name on the door/ on the 33rd floor/ in the air" - so much potential, but now he's dead to Joni, to the world of spirit and beauty, to himself. A masterpiece. The Clouds-esque "Ladies of the Canyon" celebrates the various faces of womanhood with three vivid character sketches - friends of Joni's from Laurel Canyon?
Meanwhile, some of Joni's best reports from the love front find their home here. "Conversation"'s strums foretell "BYT" while relating a story of an unhappily-married man rendezvousing with Joni to cry on her shoulder. I can taste the apples and cheeses. At the end, it erupts into overdubbed choral chanting, flute glissandos and a smoky bari sax solo. "Willy" forecasts Joni's future fusion-inspired work with its rubato, syllable-squeezing vocal approach. Willy is the man Joni actually wants to settle down with (!!!), but he's too emotionally damaged and shiftless to commit. Idiot. "Rainy Night House" brings the cello back to provide a subtle bottom to Joni's piano as she sings evocatively of the beginnings of a fling with a silver spoon dropout. In "Blue Boy," written in the third person, a woman looks for love from a cold "blue boy" interested in sex and little else. He starts out figuratively as a statue; she ends up one as his interest cools. Musically, this foreshadows Blue, with Joni singing sorrowfully at the top of her range, and letting her voice break movingly at the end of the long phrases at the end of each verse.
Joni's version of "Woodstock" is not my favorite song on the disc, but its impressionistically anthemic generational claims sound less silly from Joni than from anyone else. It makes me ALMOST wish I was a Baby Boomer. Almost.
Ladies of the Canyon's best song is also its oldest, the closing "Circle Game," which dates from 1966 and had been covered multiple times by the time she released her own version. Its poignantly sweet campfire singalong fable of the inability to stay the passage of time still suggests that childhood dreams can come true. It paints and seals this masterpiece collection of songs, with all of its emotional twists and turns, with a gossamer veneer of redemptive innocence.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2001
I discovered this album when I was about 10 (6 years after its release); my mother threatened to break it because I kept moving the needle back to the beginning several times a day, day after day. Joni Mitchell was the first singer/songwriter to take my brain beyond the literal into the more complex world of symbols, metaphor and personal mythology. Among my favorites, "Blue Boy" -a sensual song of forever-to-be unfulfilled longing, "Rainy Night House," "Willy," the title song, "The Priest," and "Woodstock," -- I love them all. This album has a seamless quality to it as well - one song blends beautifully into the next with the exception of a couple of spots like "Big Yellow Taxi," which is thrust jarringly in between "The Priest" and "Woodstock." Eventually my album became so decrepit from wear that I memorized the songs with their skips. It was wonderful to have it transferred onto CD so that I could have the lovely whole once more.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2009
People often talk about the follow up to this album, Blue, and then Court and Spark as Joni's best works.
This one, her third, is vastly under rated. Her first two albums tend to suffer a bit from underproduction, perhaps intentionally highlighting her coffee house singer/songwriter appeal. But Ladies of the Canyon is a step up from those and a wonderful bridge linking her earlier work to her more popular work.
Without Ladies you wouldn't have Blue or Court and Spark. This album also marks the first time she started to use piano to play and compose on and it really lifts her songwriting talents up a notch: The piano driven For Free, about a popular singer watching a street busker playing for free, is an excellent example. Her voice and piano really shine on this.
This album also includes her classic Big Yellow Taxi and the song made famous by Crosby/Stills/Nash, Woodstock.
It ends with one of my faves, The Circle Game.
This album, to my mind, rates highly with Blue, Court, and Hejira.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2003
I first heard this album when I bought a tape deck (reel-to-reel) from my brother in the early 70's when I was in my early teens. A recording of this was included. I knew who it was, but didn't know the name of the album for a long time as the box was unlabelled. I remember being struck with how clean it was, and enjoyed the standards on it (Circle Game, For Free, Big Yellow Taxi), but didnt' think too much about it. I rediscovered the album as a heartbroken 21 year old, and was stunned at the words that Joni had penned. They spoke to me so directly and with such insight, she'd been where I was.
This album comes in and out of my life, much like some people do, close friends who you may only connect with now and then, the time with them is so intense, you almost can't do it on a regular basis, but they are so valuble to you. This and most of Ms. Mitchell's other mid-period work are like that with me, when I'm in a time loss or reflection, they come out.
Anyway, can't add too much musically to the already written reviews, except that I hope people really listen to the words (and read them to get them all) because she is saying some amazing things here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2003
It's hard to be objective and fair when evaluating the work of someone you consider to be the greatest EVER of the particular medium in which they work, so I won't even try. The point is, Ladies of the Canyon contains some of the past century's most enduring musical works, songs that put on dazzling display Ms. Mitchell's supernatural gifts of conveying experience through music and plain lyrical splendor. To be sure, Ms. Mitchell is incomparable as a writer, and where others may surpass her for sheer purity of vocals (Ella, Garland and Streisand are the most obvious examples) Joni's not-too-extraordinary singing voice affords her songs a certain humility, a quality that would otherwise escape these larger-than-life but somehow still encased-within-everyman songs. My personal favorites from this record are the darker ones: Blue Boy, Rainy Night House, Willy and For Free all tell stories that pay tribute to the human identity (and in some cases, anonymity). There is something inexplicably poignant and profound about each of these songs-- almost achingly human is the best descriptor I can come up with. The more popular Big Yellow Taxi, Woodstock, and The Circle Game are still as magical as ever, and there are bounties to be unearthed with every listening of The Arrangement, Priest, and Conversation. Being in my early twenties, I will admit that I'm still figuring out the genius of Joni Mitchell, but after listening to her I find that nothing else flows quite as naturally or as pleasantly through my ears. I now wish I had grown up with Joni instead of Mariah/Madonna/Boyz II Men and all the others whose albums have slipped to the back of my closet. Suddenly, I feel I was born thirty years too late.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2003
Joni's first two albums had their moments, but "Ladies Of The Canyon" was really the first time that people began to realize
that here was a major talent who would come to define their generation. Released in early 1970, the album sums up many of the hopes, dreams and disappointments of the decade which had just passed, and as a result remains one of her best-loved works.
For the first time, she used piano nearly as equally as she did the acoustic guitar, moving her sound away from pure folk and into a more sophisticated singer-songwriter savvy, with her lyrics moving into deeper, more mature territory as well.
Tracks like "Morning Morgantown", "For Free" and "Ladies Of The Canyon" contain a purity of imagery, vocal and music that is
just unparalleled; they run like water that has been filtered for the clearest taste. Which makes the darker tracks such as "The Arrangment" and "The Priest" sound even starker by contrast, and also foreshadow the breakdown documented on the next album. The three most popular and well-known songs close the album: "Big Yellow Taxi" matches a bouncing rhythm against
a rather cynical ecology rant (watch the way she says "a pink hotel, a boutique and a swingin' hot-spot!" with an exaggerated,
slick adman's sense of excitement), "Woodstock" is a slow, meditative attempt to poetically sum up the mood of the festival she came so close to attending in airy, transcendent vocal
phrasings (and IMO far superior to the more commercial CSNY version), while "The Circle Game" is a folkie standard sung with a chorus that marks a gentle nod to the passing of time.
Overall, "Ladies Of The Canyon" paints an optimistic portrait of its time, where the problems of external and internal pollution
are quietly resolved by the extreme purity of its sound. Coming as it does only one album before the torrid "Blue" makes this
even more revealing, and certainly essential.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2002
If I could only have one Joni Mitchell album (a terrible dilemma), this would be it. While there may be more cohesive and mature albums in her collection, Ladies perhaps came closest to capturing the very essence of Joni's musical and lyrical magic.
Ladies Of The Canyon is an album of bright summer mornings and rainy afternoons, throughout which Joni's voice and piano are at their purest and most exquisite. Morning Morgantown, Conversation and Ladies Of The Canyon itself have a freshness and a mystique that an incredible 32 years have failed to diminish in any way.
The tour de force of the album is still Circle Game, which is a bitter-sweet song about individual life unfoldment, reincarnation and the eternal cycles of the Universe.
While Blue, For The Roses, Court, Lawns, you name it, are all truly brilliant albums, I feel that only her classic 'live' album Miles Of Aisles comes close to equalling the sheer magic of Ladies Of The Canyon.
Whatever it is that makes Joni Mitchell the divine enchantress she has always been is fully captured here on Ladies Of The Canyon and on Miles Of Aisles.
An outstanding album that will never fade.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2001
There's really no serious debate among fans of Joni or pop-rock in general as to what her best album is - all those who have ears to hear proclaim the monumentally great Blue her high watermark. The real argument is over which disc ranks second best. Most fans and critics say Court and Spark holds that honor. I think it's unquestionably Ladies of the Canyon.
This is the album on which Joni cuts loose most confidently with the pure instrument which is the high end of her soprano range. In fact, part of Blue's greatness is in its retention of that singing style. However, her singing on this album is perhaps unique among her catalog for the innocence it conveys on many of the songs. This is without a doubt her last "flower child" album, and perhaps the one most deserving of the appellation.
While the album's mood bears some resemblence to Clouds, the differences and advancement over that album are revealed in the first track. Joni's rich acoustic guitar tones and girlish vocal approach familiarly carry the verse; then, in the chorus, a welcome new sound - the crystalline, icewater tones of a piano. The album unfolds with arrangements which convey at once a spare innocence and a gorgeous, multihued flexibility. I think that it is her best-arranged album (only Blue and Hejira really come close). The second song, "For Free," exemplifies why, using a cello and lovely syncopated clarinet solo to supplement Joni's vox and piano in a celebration of the spirit of musical expression.
What else makes Ladies of the Canyon a sublime masterpiece? Well, "Big Yellow Taxi" is probably the funnest, most life-giving musical expression in Joni's entire corpus - a shrewdly jaunty way of conveying a sobering message. "The Arrangement"'s haunting suspended piano chords treat hippie capitulation to the yuppie ruse as a profound tragedy - the stuffed shirt Joni so mournfully and movingly laments "Coulda been more/ than a name on the door/ on the 33rd floor/ in the air" - so much potential, but now he's dead to Joni, to the world of spirit and beauty, to himself. A masterpiece. The Clouds-esque "Ladies of the Canyon" celebrates the various faces of womanhood with three vivid character sketches - friends of Joni's from Laurel Canyon?
Meanwhile, some of Joni's best reports from the love front find their home here. "Conversation"'s strums foretell "BYT" while relating a story of an unhappily-married man rendezvousing with Joni to cry on her shoulder. I can taste the apples and cheeses. At the end, it erupts into overdubbed choral chanting, flute glissandos and a smoky bari sax solo. "Willy" forecasts Joni's future fusion-inspired work with its rubato, syllable-squeezing vocal approach. Willy is the man Joni actually wants to settle down with (!!!), but he's too emotionally damaged and shiftless to commit. Idiot. "Rainy Night House" brings the cello back to provide a subtle bottom to Joni's piano as she sings evocatively of the beginnings of a fling with a silver spoon dropout. In "Blue Boy," written in the third person, a woman looks for love from a cold "blue boy" interested in sex and little else. He starts out figuratively as a statue; she ends up one as his interest cools. Musically, this foreshadows Blue, with Joni singing sorrowfully at the top of her range, and letting her voice break movingly at the end of the long phrases at the end of each verse.
Joni's version of "Woodstock" is not my favorite song on the disc, but its impressionistically anthemic generational claims sound less silly from Joni than from anyone else. It makes me ALMOST wish I was a Baby Boomer. Almost.
Ladies of the Canyon's best song is also its oldest, the closing "Circle Game," which dates from 1966 and had been covered multiple times by the time she released her own version. Its poignantly sweet campfire singalong fable of the inability to stay the passage of time still suggests that childhood dreams can come true. It paints and seals this masterpiece collection of songs, with all of its emotional twists and turns, with a gossamer veneer of redemptive innocence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2001
... Ladies Of The Canyon - by JONI MITCHELL - is my Desert Island Disc #5 (Out of 12). This album is a MASTERPIECE!!!
... The "Top12" DESERT ISLAND DISCS are: #1. The Beatles ("The White Album") by The Beatles, #2. 'Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out!' by The Rolling Stones, #3. Europe '72 by The Grateful Dead, #4. Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere by Neil Young with Crazy Horse, #5. Ladies Of The Canyon by Joni Mitchell, #6. Blows Against The Empire by Jefferson Starship, #7. Muswell Hillbillies by The Kinks, #8. Electric Ladyland by The Jimi Hendrix Experience, #9. Hot Rats by Frank Zappa, #10. Trout Mask Replica by Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band, #11. Attempted Mustache by Loudon Wainwright III, and #12. Nevermind by Nirvana.
... All 12 of these albums are genuine MASTERPIECES!!! ... If I were to be stranded on a Desert Island, and could only bring 12 albums with me, it would be these twelve gems! ... Joni Mitchell has a LOT of great albums - and some true CLASSICS! This one is MY favorite. Every time I listen to these songs, I feel simultaneously as if I am hearing them FRESH for the first time as well as if I was meeting-up with some long-lost friends who I had not seen in years and that it was like NO TIME had gone by at all! - The Aeolian Kid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$12.88
$16.74