Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Let's Go Crazy And Let's Get Nuts"- One Of Prince's Best!
After Prince went forward and made a major breakthrough with 1982's "1999" that spawned the hit singles "Little Red Corvette" and the dance-pop hit, "1999", Prince and his new band the Revolution began to write music for the album that made him a superstar called "Purple Rain". "Purple Rain" was the first album to be...
Published on May 23 2004 by Brandon Ousley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Let it Rain
I know i just commited some kind of musical sin for giving this album 3 stars but i promise i can back it up! All in all this is a very promising album filled with lots of potential.But Face it this was a Comercial Album for a Comercial Film. The only reason it did well because it was showing prince as rather "Macho" since everyone thought he was "Gay" But if you look at...
Published on Sept. 29 2003 by Jennifer Cruz


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Let's Go Crazy And Let's Get Nuts"- One Of Prince's Best!, May 23 2004
By 
Brandon Ousley (Chicago, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Purple Rain - Music from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
After Prince went forward and made a major breakthrough with 1982's "1999" that spawned the hit singles "Little Red Corvette" and the dance-pop hit, "1999", Prince and his new band the Revolution began to write music for the album that made him a superstar called "Purple Rain". "Purple Rain" was the first album to be credited to the Revolution that featured longtime keyboardist Matt Fink, drummer Bobby Z, bassist Brown Mark, and the fabulous female duo of guitarist/vocalist Wendy Melvoin and keyboardist/vocalist Lisa Coleman. While Prince strays away from his R&B roots in favor of more pop-oriented styles, that doesn't mean he turned his back on soul music since a lot of the album carries soulful elements. Though the soul is still on Prince's mind, he mixes it up with dashes of metal, new wave, pop, and even some traces of psychedelia. "Purple Rain" was the one that helped launch Prince into superstardom. The album opens up with the rocking, "Let's Go Crazy". As Lisa Coleman's wailing organ and Prince's gospel-like sermon ends, Bobby Z's rhythmic elctric drum tracks comes with metal-blazing guitar riffs and wailing keyboards. Then, there are the puncy bass lines that come in. Next, there is the smooth and psychedelic tune, "Take Me With U", as it opens with the mid-tempo bass drums and the melodic synthesizers that are accompanied by the pounding bass lines. It's a beautiful duet with the Purple Rain movie co-star, Apollonia. The strings are just wonderful. "The Beautiful Ones" is a great R&B-like ballad, which has some great drum work by Bobby Z and Matt Fink's piano and organ-sounding synthesizers are lushy, as well as, great. The tune is about how beautiful women aren't always happy. "Computer Blue" is a funky, pop tune, which is very hard-pounding. The guitar-work and strong backbeat percussion is breathtaking. "Darling Nikki" totally sounds like something from his 1980 album, "Dirty Mind". The song is all about eroticism. The tune has some killer, blazing metal guitars. "When Doves Cry" is probably Prince's greatest song ever. It went #1 on the charts and stayed there for six weeks. The song doesn't have any bass included, it just has percussion, keyboards, and guitars. "I Would Die 4 U" is a up-tempo tune with some great, energetic synthesizer work. "Baby I'm A Star" is a funky, dance-pop song with Prince saying that he doesn't want to stop being a star, until he reaches the top. The spritual-like "Purple Rain", has to be one of the best compositions Prince has done. The song has some well-focused instrumentation in it. It has a beautiful fusion of guitar, cello, violin, drums, and strings. The album, itself, is a major classic. Every song on here are probably Prince's best performances ever. His 1982 album, "1999" might've introduced Prince to pop music, but "Purple Rain" was the one that kept the monumental going. It was the album that took pop music to a whole new horizon. "Purple Rain" is truly a pop landmark. The disc will never leave your CD player, trust me. A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wah-Hoo!, June 5 2004
By 
Melting_Pot (Shreveport, LA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Purple Rain - Music from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
This is one of my favorite records now and when it came out. Prince is a great singer/songwriter, one of the world's best, if I may say so myself. This was Prince's highest selling album, and I can see why. While some other of Prince's releases may seem not my style, this one shows that Prince is one of pop/rock's greatest stars. Adding equal amounts of pop, rock, and funk, Prince shows off his talent. Although this record may seem extremely 80's at first listen, it really is one of those timeless ones, like the Beatles 'Revolver' or Ratt's 'Out Of The Cellar'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Purple Rain! Purple Rain! Purple Rain!, May 25 2004
This review is from: Purple Rain - Music from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
Prince, Prince, Prince!! The best musician on the face of this earth! There may be many great singers, or songwriters, or producers...but this man is all of them wrapped in 1! He is on fire, although a few times it was calmed. But the fire he possesses will NEVER be burnt out! Count on that.
I know just about all there is to know about him, so let's talk music, baby. This album, Music from the Motion Picture "Purple Rain" is great. I would say that this is his rock-iest album. Sign 'O' the Times comes close to being the rock-est, but this pure blend of rock got me introduced to what rock and music is supposed to be. I am originally an R&B fan, but this is just about my favorite album. My favorites are "Computer Blue", "When Doves Cry" (I mean, who doesn't love that song?), and "The Beatiful Ones". I love ever last one of the songs on this album and I also know all the words...
We all know there is a wonderful movie to accompany it and there is no way you can own this and not see the movie, and you cannot own the movie without giving this a listen (then you'll buy it after one hear!). I recommend it and as long as you don't play "Darling Nikki" your children can love it as well (as long as they don't see the movie until they're alot older...). But this can't possibly be a waste of money. Besides 1999, this was the first album I owned and listened to. If you are becoming a Prince fan or wanna do it right, you have to start off with this!
BUY IT AND LOVE IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prince's arguable triumph, May 22 2004
By 
Terrence J. Reardon (South Carolina and Mass., USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Purple Rain - Music from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
Prince's soundtrack to his movie Purple Rain was released in the summer of 1984. My mother bought this album for herself the year it came out and it is one of the greatest albums ever(my mom is a rock and roller but also liked Prince because he somewhat reminded her of Hendrix, a somewhat good comparison). Prince is a God given talent who can write his own songs, play guitar and keyboards and of course, sing. This album was rightfully #1 for six months in a row, let's see if Britney would ever do that. This classic kicks off with the classic Let's Go Crazy which is one of the greatest opening tracks ever on an album. Take Me With U is a great duet from Prince and co-star Apolonnia(is that how you spell it) and those two tracks were the only singles taken from the first half. The Beautiful Ones is a great ballad with Prince singing in falsetto than going to power before going into banshee screaming mode to end the song. Computer Blue is another great song. The first half closes with the infamous Darling Nikki which makes Britney's Touch of My Hand sound like Barney's I Love You You Love Me and was the same song that caused Tipper Gore to form the PMRC, whom also accused Styx and Pink Floyd and Rush of being Satanic. The #1 hit When Doves Cry kicks the second half off and was the last song where it was Prince all himself as there were three tracks on this album where Prince recorded some songs himself and is a classic. I Would Die 4 U is another great song and was another Top 10 hit and The Neptunes stole from The Great Artist Known as Prince for that awful Britney track! Baby I'm a Star follows and is another good song that follows. The album closes with the epic title cut which had a superb guitar solo from Prince and was another hit. This album will always hold a place in my heart as it was the second album of his I heard after the classic 1999 released in late 1982. This album sold millions and millions and is the major reason why Prince is in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and his new album is selling good as well and is recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "The Revolution" will not be televised........., April 29 2004
By 
This review is from: Purple Rain - Music from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
Prine is having a great 2004; inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame, he has a new album coming out called "Musicology"(go check it out) and his 1984 masterpiece "Purple Rain" is being re-mastered. Speaking of that.....
While it serves as the soundtrack of one of the WORST movies of all time, it's influence on modern popular music cannot be denied. This album has been influenced people like The Neptunes(and their side project N.E.R.D), D'Angelo, Musiq, Bilal, Beyonce, Pink and TLC just to name a few. The music is so inventive, yet would not sound as good without his long time backing band, comprised of Wendy and Lisa, Dez, Fink and Bobby Z. This album rocks, and I don't mean it in the metaphorical sense; this album truly ROCKS! With its Hendrix-like guitar solos is "Let's Go Crazy', and "When Doves Cry" (which is played without a bassline; UNSPEAKABLE for a black artist!) will apease any rock fan. This album is also revolutionary in another way; "Darling Nikki"(which the Foo Fighters did a wonderful cover of recently), got Tipper Gore in a tizzy, which would eventually lead to all record companies requiring warning labels for explicit content. The title track ballad is one of the best title tracks in music history; it's closes the album in resounding fashion. This album would make His Royal Badness into a mega-star, rivaling only Michael Jackson and Madonna is popularity. While he would hit his true accomplishment with "Sign O' The Times", this worthy of anybody's music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Hell of an Album, April 16 2004
By 
Timothy Pernell (Saratoga, North Carolina, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Purple Rain - Music from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
Prince...
That's all you can say, really. Prince is just simply a genius and back in the day he had a gang backing him up: The Revolution. And with this classic album and seminal masterpiece soundtrack/studio album released in 1984, Prince and these cats totally rocked the house with this album!
There are too many essential cuts on this muthasucka and no fillers. It's a genius piece of work. Twenty years later, Prince is still the baddest musician that ever lived and this album is still sooo good to listen to.
This is one of those albums where if you had only one of an artist's albums, this will be it by far!
"When Doves Cry" has to be one of the greatest songs EVER recorded, you can never get TIRED of it at all even if you try. And I haven't mention the brilliance of "Let's Go Crazy", the majestic ballad, "Beautiful Ones", the fabulous "Darling Nikki", the glorifious and funky-as-hell "Baby I'm A Star" and the wonderful 8-minute opus of "Purple Rain" with its great guitar solo.
This is truly one HELL of an album! Congratulations to Prince for his recent induction to the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame! Can't wait for the new album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prince Explodes into Magnificence, April 15 2004
By 
Shelley D. Bowen "Afficianado" (Sterling, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Purple Rain - Music from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
Prince had albums before "Purple Rain" like "1999", "Controversy", "Prince" and so on. Still, this is the album that really put Prince into superstardom. It has all the ingredients of a classic album. The energetic opener, majestic hit single, the cool sounding tracks sandwiching the hit single, and the powerful closing ballad. This and Prince's vibrant persona and enthusiam made "Purple Rain" wonderful. Lets get down to business: I dont even have to rate how good the songs are because they'll all be 5 out of 5. My personal favorites that really give me the goosebumps are: "Lets Go Crazy", "When Doves Cry", "Purple Rain", "Darling Nikki", and "Computer Blue (wicked guitar playing in this one)". Do yourself a huge favor and purchase this. It doesnt matter if you like rock, rap, R&B, or whatever other type of music there is. This album defies pigeonholes and genres and succeeds on all levels. I have nothing more to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Second/Third best Prince Album Ever, April 6 2004
By 
Troy A. LaRaviere (Champaign, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Purple Rain - Music from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
Let's go through the tracks:
1. Let's go Crazy - The rock sermon at the beginning, the intense end. Kind of pop-ish, but still a classic.
2. Take me with you: the weakest track on the album, but still a good listen. A nice melody with Apollonia.
3. The beautiful ones. One of Prince's greatest ballads (right behind "Adore," and "Do Me Baby." And probably the most intense ballad ever written. "Baby! Baby! Baby! I want you!!!!!"
4. Computer Blue. No other song like this one. The beautiful guitar solo is wonderfully contrasted with the freaky beginning and intentionally robotic melody.
5. Darling Nikki. A track made for the movie and it works beautifully with the scene it was designed for. A bare bones musical structure and a very blues and rock rich vocal performance.
6. When Doves Cry. What can anyone say about this track. I mean this dude did an R&B track with no base line. Unheard of at the time. And it hit! The lyrics, the track, the symphony at the end on the long version--perfection.
7. I would die for you. This is the favorite of a lot of female friends of mine.
8. Baby I'm a star. Popish, but Good upbeat track and inspiring lyrics.
9. Purple Rain. As with several prince songs, there's never been another one quite like this one anywhere in music history. Just Beautiful.
Overall. A great album. Surpassed only by 1987's Sign 'O the Times. Now that was a great Album. No one has ever explored so many variations of the Black musical tradition on one album and done it with such consistently good quality; from the skeletal title track, to the never-to-be duplicated and ingenious "If I was your girlfriend" to the musically and lyrically rich ballad "Adore" ("If god one day struck me blind, you're beauty I'd still see. Loves too weak to define what you mean to me.") That Album was simply divine.
But Purple Rain makes a good case for being his second greatest album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Princes best album, April 4 2004
By 
This review is from: Purple Rain - Music from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
Purple Rain is Prince at his best, his songwriting is amazing here and the songs are deliverd amazingly, but that also do to his backing band, The Revolution. Purple Rain is the greatest movie soundtrack of all time, and it is probley the best album of 1984.
The album starts off with one of Prince's biggest hits 'Lets Go Crazy' which is one of the funnest songs Prince ever made, and it has a cool political statement hiddin in the lyrics which makes it even better. 'Take Me With U' was a hit for Prince but it wasnt a big one, its still a great song though. 'The Beautiful Ones' is a killer ballad about how the Beautiful Ones are always the ones to hurt you. 'Computer Blue' is one of my favorite songs off Purple Rain, I dont know why its really nothing way to special but I just love it. 'Darling Nikki' is a dirty little song that only Prince could write about masterbation! 'When Doves Cry' is the best song Prince ever made, it has great lyrics and its a funk song with no bass, come on how cool is that? 'When Doves Cry' is one of the best songs of all time! 'I Would Die 4 U' is a killer love song, either that or its about Jesus, it could go either way, but anyways its a really great song, one of Princes best and biggest hits. 'Baby Im A Star' is a cool little pop song, but everytime I hear it I think of Tina Turner for some reason. The legendary ballad and title track, 'Purple Rain' is one of the greatest ballads ever written and one of Princes very best songs and the perfect track to end this amazing album.
Purple Rain is an album that no one should miss out on, its one of the greatest albums you will ever listen to and I can promise you that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PURPLE RAIN is also red hot!, March 2 2004
By 
andy8047 (Nokomis,Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Purple Rain - Music from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
Prince broke into Hollywood in late 1983 or early 1984,making his starring debut. PURPLE RAIN,the movie soundtrack,is Prince's second megahit album. His first megahit was 1999,released in late 1982. Again,he uses numbers and single letters in place of homonyms. One example is I WOULD DIE 4 U(for you). Another is TAKE ME WITH U. This sure occupies less space,though. LET'S GO CRAZY,WHEN DOVES CRY and the heavy metal title track are hits also. Mariah Carey later covered THE BEAUTIFUL ONES on her BUTTERFLY album in 1997. Her version is slightly slower than the one on this album. The front cover features Prince on a motorcycle and behind him is his co-star Apollonia Kotero who played his girlfriend. This album is on the Warner Bros. label and the movie was made by the same company. After this album,Prince recorded his AROUND THE WORLD IN A DAY album and did his second and most recent film,UNDER THE CHERRY MOON. That movie would be filmed in black and white as it was set in the 1930's when B&W was very common. Of course,there was a soundtrack album also. PURPLE RAIN,the movie,was one of 1984's biggest films. It grossed about $5,000,000 at the box office!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews