Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Green by R.E.M
I ordered this one so that the song 'Stand' would get out of my head and be heard in full by my own choice. The rest of the album is wonderfully done and very memorable, especially Orange Crush. What a nice bonus.
Published 6 months ago by Red the Wonderer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The grass is greener on one side...
The fourth R.E.M. I have owned really was a different one. The three preceding ones I owned (Auto, OOT and Hi-Fi) all have complex, moody songs (ignoring the likes of Shiny Happy People, obviously)... but this cd is all about catchy, radio friendly tracks, and they're guaranteed to put a smile on your face, even if half of the tracks aren't too good...
The two...
Published on May 31 2004 by Dan Stanley


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Green by R.E.M, Sept. 19 2013
By 
Red the Wonderer - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Green (Audio CD)
I ordered this one so that the song 'Stand' would get out of my head and be heard in full by my own choice. The rest of the album is wonderfully done and very memorable, especially Orange Crush. What a nice bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars don't get turned off by the tree hugging, Sept. 21 2009
By 
Brian Maitland (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Green (Audio CD)
Denis Leary does a great comedic riff on one of the songs off another album ("Shiny Happy People" on Out of Time) which does hit home about earnestness and "saving the Earth." And laugh as I do at it, this Green album is still so solid I never let that get in the way of my enjoyment.

"Orange Crush" and "World Leader Pretend" still hold up today. "Pop Song 89" sort of is a forerunner to "What's the Frequency, Kenneth?" in its guitar riff.

Anyway, the REMulans were still musically relevant when this came out so this is a must-download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The grass is greener on one side..., May 31 2004
This review is from: Green (Audio CD)
The fourth R.E.M. I have owned really was a different one. The three preceding ones I owned (Auto, OOT and Hi-Fi) all have complex, moody songs (ignoring the likes of Shiny Happy People, obviously)... but this cd is all about catchy, radio friendly tracks, and they're guaranteed to put a smile on your face, even if half of the tracks aren't too good...
The two opening tracks, Pop Song 89 and Get Up, are both fun pieces of pop... I love them both. They're catchy and they'll stick in your mind, and if you're not into overly complex songs, these will have you hooked.
Stand and Orange Crush, the two main singles of this album, are certainly very catchy, though it may alarm some fans of the IRS days (as this is a VERY big swing from, say, Fables...) But I'm sure even they are grinning whenever they play Stand!
World Leader Pretend is awesome, period. This is the best track on this album, and it should have got more recognition. I also love the heavier Turn You Inside Out. There's not much to not like about this album...
Except the remaining tracks didn't really appeal to me, they seemed a bit dry. Maybe it's because they're not bouncing off the walls like the other songs, but still, You Are The Everything just annoyed me for some reason, and The Wrong Child just leaved me uninspired. The last three tracks are good, but they just don't compare to the better songs this album offers.
So what I'm basically saying is that half of this album is great... fantastic even, if you're into the happier, poppier stuff. But half of the tracks just don't really cut it for me.
Well, try it out. It's definatly a good album that's worthy of purchase (especially when you consider how cheap it is to buy these days), but be sure to pick up their higher rated albums first, before jumping straight into the Green.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars at odds on puropse, May 27 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Green (Audio CD)
Ok, I didn't read all 89 reviews, but...
It seems that a great many reviewers have missed several points about this album. A dash of context and a little hindsight might help. First, of all, if you are familiar with Mr. Stipe, then you know how much interest he has in Andy Kaufman, having produced "Man On the Moon; " another of his film productions is "Being John Malkovich." Stipe is interested in the cult of celebrity and a type of channeling various/varied personalities, a loss of self to some social "other".
Green's disparate songs and lyrical "personalities" fit these tendencies. Stipe has always been inward and obtuse; his newfound "outwardness" is a mask--it's him trying on these different personas. He denounces cultural social graces and indifference by channeling vapidity right on the first song, "Pop Song 89"...
Then he goes on to channel the political aspirant ("World Leader Pretend"), the handicapped ("Wrong Child"), the narrow-minded and politically oblivious ("Stand"), military leaders ("Orange Crush")--almost all in the first person. What he controls, rather brilliantly, is how these personalities are perceived: the "stupid pop songs" are clearly cultural parody, but others are more genuine in their tone ("Hairshirt"). "World Leader Pretend" is really one of his best--a non-topical political commentary (hard enough to do by itself, really) that reveals insecurities and questioning beneath the bravado.
He tried it again--stylistically, without as much social commentary-- on Monster...

And that's Agent Orange "covering" the "green" on the cover.
Remember what it was initially used for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Played like the bandn itself was a bit Green, May 2 2004
This review is from: Green (Audio CD)
If you look at the stock market, even during bearish times, it peaks and valleys a bit.
R.E.M.'s album quality is akin to this -- if you line graphed it, with the midpoint being average, all of their albums would come in above average. However, there a couple that, while good, definitely lag behind the others.
"Green" is one of those. While I think I'd actually give the album 3.5 stars rather than just three, I'd say that "Green" represents a dip between "Document" and "Out of Time." It certainly has a few great songs, my favorite being Orange Crush, a song that holds up very well to this day.
But the quality of the album is uneven. There are few songs on "Green" that really don't move me one way or other, which is unusual when it comes to R.E.M. Also, I agree with those who've said the pacing of the album is odd -- I don't really like the interspersing of slow with up tempo here.
Since R.E.M. has set such high standards for itself, "Green" can come across as a disappointment in some ways. Yet it is hardly a bad album (it beats quite a few other bands' best efforts) and it does give hints of what's yet to come in subsequent R.E.M. albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fun album, April 29 2004
By 
I ain't no porn writer (author, "Crippled Dreams") - See all my reviews
This review is from: Green (Audio CD)
The lyrics on this album are pretty dumb hahaha, but the songs are upbeat and soooo catchy. People make fun of me for liking this album, but I don't care, I love that song "Stand", I could listen to it over and over. Other very catchy tunes here too. This is the CD you take with you to the beach, the songs are very beach-y.
David Rehak
author of "A Young Girl's Crimes"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Falls off toward the end, Feb. 26 2004
By 
saxmaster3 "saxmaster3" (York, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Green (Audio CD)
And here you have it, the first album REM with songs that I never listen to. Tracks 1-5 (ESPECIALLY 5) are all very good. However, track 6, though it has good mandolin, never really goes anywhere. Track 8 is a weary arena rock, while track 9 also never takes off (track seven does kick some butt though). Track 10 is a bad rehash of "Oddfellows Local 151," while the last track is simply tepid. The pace of the CD is jarring, with 2 up-tempo, hard rock songs followed by one slow song w/o drums, followed by 2 more up-tempo songs, etc. Definitely not one of the best and possibly the worst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Segue, Feb. 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Green (Audio CD)
End of the old or beginning of the new? Classic either way. A must own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Power of Stupid Pop Songs, Oct. 26 2003
This review is from: Green (Audio CD)
I read somewhere that Michael Stipe at one time refused to use personal pronouns in his lyrics; no "I" or "me," no "you," none of that. Well, he damn sure changed his mind, especially on this release. In so doing, he taught us all a lesson about powerful songwriting, but he didn't necessarily do himself any favors.
See, there are two kinds of songs on "Green," straight ahead pop songs and more artsy sorts of offerings. The boundaries between the two get real slim (this being R.E.M.), but they're there. And it's on the "stupid pop tunes," as the band members called them (Pop Song 89, Get Up, Stand) that those personal pronouns work. The songs have definite beats and drum lines, short phrases and simple lyrics. They say things like "I think I can remember your name," "Your head is there to move you around," "I believe in what you do," lyrics that carry an interesting load of meaning but don't give the musicians too much time to indulge themselves. Rock music is, after all, at its best when it's got a good beat and you can dance to it.
Other songs drift. You can't just count "1-2-3-4" and end up on the same beat you started with. Cuts like "The Wrong Child" and "Hairshirt" require several listenings before you can really get what these guys are up to.
Which wouldn't be so bad - in fact, some of these tunes are among the most beautiful R.E.M. ever laid down - except that on many of these cuts, Michael Stipe turns completely inward and sings exclusively about himself, like the State of Michael Stipe was of overwhelming interest to you and me. "I've a rich understanding of my finest defenses," "I'll try to sing a happy song," "I am not the type of dog that could keep you waiting for no good reason"; notice how long those lines are? There's no rhythm to them, and not much rhythm to the songs they come from, either.
My point is that, if a band is going to play that kind of music, it turns out to be a bad idea to give it self-involved lyrics. Apparently, we need something more interesting than one man's mental state to hold onto if we are not to have rhythm, structure, and melody. Stipe is one of the most interesting stars that rock music has ever produced, but even he can't sustain that kind of self-indulgence for this long.
So, you may ask, why the heck am I giving this record five stars? Let me put it this way; a few years after this, R.E.M. released some soundcheck video that showed Michael Stipe watching the other three play a few tunes to set volume levels. When it was done, he got on the microphone and said "You guys are great; if I was a fan I'd really like what I was hearing." Then he chuckled a little and said "I might have a little trouble with me, but I'd really like you three." As that comment suggests, this record works because Michael Stipe is cautious about his artiest tendencies; he instinctively knows when to shut up, even if he doesn't always do so.
And, even when he climbs too far up his own rear, he's got the other three to yank him out. He's got Peter Buck with his usual mastery of everything from grunge to fingerpicking, plus some mandolin experiments this time. He's got Mike Mills leading everyone with his bass lines and filling in the holes with some really interesting keyboards. He has Bill Berry providing exactly the right drum part for each moment through some combination of experience and inspiration. He's got Mills and Berry inventing backing vocals that he has to work to keep up with. Yeah, Michael Stipe's got all the support he could ever need, and several times it laps him.
That's why the five stars; not just for the great music, but for what it means. And what it meant. "Green" came out just at the start of George Bush Senior's administration and tackled themes like the need for peace, courage, love of nature, generosity. None of these were easy to come by at the start of yet another right-wing presidency, especially for young leftists like these guys. And on top of that, "Green" was R.E.M.'s first major label release, doubling the pressure. So Michael Stipe got a lot of press attention for his various antics on and offstage. Lesser men might have jumped right off the ego mountain at a time like this and taken their whole band down with them. Not this bunch.
Benshlomo says, For God's sake get some partners; you're not as independent as you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars R.E.M.s most underated album!, Oct. 5 2003
This review is from: Green (Audio CD)
this album does not get the respect it deserves.personally it's up there with reckonig and murmur.stipe once said that green reminded him of murmur.it's strong from top to bottom,wrong child,world leader pretend,and i remember califonia are true r.e.m. classics,songs like pop song 89 and stand,harp back to documents "its the end of the world",you are the everything,get up,and hairshirt,turn you inside out,and orangecrush round out a great cd.R.E.M. hardly sold out making this album,those who said they did were never r.e.m. fans,then again r.e.m. fans tend to be a disloyal lot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb07b942c)

This product

Green
Green by R.E.M. (Audio CD - 1988)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews