Customer Reviews


154 Reviews
5 star:
 (125)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Depeche Mode's best album
This is Depeche Mode's album. Martin Gore himself said that if God was judging them, he would give them a 7 out of 10, which I also believe is a fair estimate of the band. However this album (along with Speak and Spell) is album that deserves a 9 out of 10 or even a perfect 10. Every song on this album is fantastic. The standout songs are obviously Enjoy the Silence,...
Published on Oct. 26 2010 by Tyronne Mayadunne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Remote romance
Compared with such influential albums as "Some great reward", DM's commercial breakthrough is a mostly tedious affair. The band doesn't do anything to develop their '80s sound, and "Violator" just can't compare with the variety of styles and moods of its predecessor "Music for the masses". Even worse, Martin seems to have lost his...
Published on May 18 2000 by Chris Turk, lightbulb_sun@yahoo.de


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Depeche Mode's best album, Oct. 26 2010
By 
Tyronne Mayadunne (Mississauga, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Violator (CD & DVD) (Audio CD)
This is Depeche Mode's album. Martin Gore himself said that if God was judging them, he would give them a 7 out of 10, which I also believe is a fair estimate of the band. However this album (along with Speak and Spell) is album that deserves a 9 out of 10 or even a perfect 10. Every song on this album is fantastic. The standout songs are obviously Enjoy the Silence, World in my eyes, Policy of truth, but the remaining songs are all great. Highly recommended.

However buyers should take note that this is the N. American releases of the CD&DVD album, which means the CD is NOT a SACD-hybrid. In fact the Europe-release SACD versions are no longer available (except for some ridiculous sum on Ebay).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars makes your heart smile!, April 26 2006
By 
paula b "paula" (surrey, england!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Violator (Audio CD)
this is officially dep mode's best album,
i think along with "faith & devotion"
the best bits here are "world in my eyes" (straight down to earth!), "personal jesus" (touch faith!), "enjoy the silence (all i ever wanted)" & "halo" - voted by xfm radio listeners as dep mode's best song ever!
i also love "blue dress"
this is a brilliant collection for someone like me, who has loved the boppin' electro boys since the '80s.
along with "behind the wheel" & "strange love" this album has all my fave dep mode songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's all been leading to this point..., April 16 2004
By 
Alan Wilder (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Violator (Audio CD)
This is one of the best electronic albums ever created, and the sheer re-playability of it is stunning. You listen once; good. Listen twice; better. You listen many times; perfect album. The reason for this is the breath taking layering of sound that, unfortunately, is never as detailed again as it is here. The lyrics are meant, and Enjoy the Silence really is the best song ever made. No filler. Just sheer brilliance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Synth-Pop At Its Finest (4.5 Stars), April 12 2004
By 
This review is from: Violator (Audio CD)
Depeche Mode has always been considered a unique band by this reviewer although admittedly I had never purchased a Depeche Mode album until very recently. ''Violator'' hasn't left my CD player since I bought it. Yes it's that good. Like most listeners, I suspect, I hadn't heard of The Mode until ''Enjoy My Silence'' hit the airwaves around 1990. Despite having released other superb records (I bought ''Music For The Masses the other day), ''Violator'' is still considered their best album by many. I still feel the need to explore more of their work before I can testament to that. Nearly 14 years after the release of ''Violator'', Depeche Mode is still regarded as one of the most creative and interesting bands of the last two decades or so and they are known for their brilliantly concert tours as well.
So why is ''Violator'' regarded as an classic album by so many music listeners? ''World In My Eyes'', ''Sweetest Perfection'', ''Personal Jesus'', ''Enjoy The Silence'', ''Policy Of Truth'' and ''Clean'' are simply great synth-pop with great hooks and ambiguous lyrics. Those offering are what makes ''Violator'' an essential buy for all music enjoyers.
My favourites:
''World In My Eyes'' is a mood-setter for the album, almost introducing the listener to a journey into the Mode's world. Its dark tone, yet danceable beat makes you wonder what you will be listening too for the next 45 minutes or so. Up next, ''The Sweetest Perfection'' starts off sounding very fervently, yet it develops into a melancholic slow-burner. I really enjoy the dreamy vibe they managed to inject into the music, making the listener almost feel ''The Sweetest Perfection''. ''Personal Jesus'' remains one of my favourite songs of all time. Despite having heard it numerous times, I still enjoy the stamping gem. ''Enjoy The Silence'' is an upbeat ballad with an amazing guitar rife . Dave Gahan's voice with its haunting and warm quality blends perfectly with the dreamy melody. Who can anybody not like this tune? It's possible one of the most recognised and most loved songs ever. ''Policy Of Truth'' was an instant favourite of mine and I think it's among the three best tracks on the album. Its catchy and great hook will have the listener waiting more. ''Clean'' is an haunting ballad with a dark sound attached to it and Dave Gahan sings it wonderfully.
''Violator'' consists of nine superb tracks with great melodies and thought-provoking lyrics. In all honesty there are no fillers on the album at all, which is quite rare these days. Perhaps that explains its ''classic status''. ''Violator'' is an album for everybody who enjoys brilliantly synth/pop combined with lovely melodies and enjoyable hooks. It's an essential purchase for any music lover.
Overall Grade: 9.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, April 10 2004
This review is from: Violator (Audio CD)
Viloator is not only DM's best album ever but also a real classic and a must for every pop music collector. It is an album that seals DM's (...) 80s and shapes their sober and down-to-earth 90s. It is an album that expresses pain mostly, and it seeps out of the lyrics and highly intesified by dark and forceful music. It is truely a continuous perfection. No wonder then that the following album, Songs Of Faith And Devotion, could not achieve such heights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I've Been Violated..., March 19 2004
By 
"bigditz" (Palm Harbor, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Violator (Audio CD)
This may be the greatest album ever created. Every song feels like the ol' boys spent some time on it. "World in my Eyes" pretty much sums up how this album is gonna be, one HELL of a trip! I love how all these people listen to "Personal Jesus" and declare DM Christian lovers. You don't get more anti-religion than PJ. Of course this album wouldn't be the masterpiece that it is without the number 1 single of the decade, "Enjoy the Silence". I still believe that if they made "Blue Dress" a single, it would be just as big as EtS. "Clean" ends Violator with an omen which would haunt DM a few years later.
Violator blows other great albums such as The White Album, Dark Side of the Moon, Joshua Tree or anything else you can think of out of the water. Prepared to be... Violated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Get Violated., March 9 2004
By 
H3@+h "Over 1500 reviews!" (thanks for the helpful review votes) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Violator (Audio CD)
Their album prior to this may have been called "Music For The Masses", but this is the one that really made them huge. It's easily their most popular, and probably their best. It's a near perfect mix of alt-rock, goth, and electronica. This includes the hits "Personal Jesus", "Policy Of Truth", and the excellent "Enjoy The Silence". But other tracks like "World In My Eyes", "Clean", and "Waiting For The Night" are just as good. They have many other great albums, but none of them are so short on filler. I think the better name for this might have been "Sweetest Perfection". Almost half of these songs are on "The Singles 86-98" as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD... a must have!!!!, March 1 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Violator (Audio CD)
It is my first DM CD and I would like to thank you all guys for your review!!!
This album is great and if you do not have this album...get one !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best CD's ever, Feb. 10 2004
By 
Sherlock Bones (Fairfax, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Violator (Audio CD)
Definitely Depeche Mode's best CD and one of the best CD's ever. Every song on Violator is fantastic and anyone who doesn't think this record deserves 5 stars is flat out wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Depeche Mode Album, Hands Down, Feb. 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Violator (Audio CD)
In 1991, DM's Violator was my first purchase of something that was of true, bona-fide, musical importance. It still ranks as one my all-time favorites. Don't think about it, just get this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Violator
Violator by Depeche Mode (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews