Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Rhythm here
This is a cd which I keep in the car for long distance journeys. Great beat to reenergize me for driving distances.
Published 4 days ago by pat jasper

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You Can Call Me Bored
I'll try not to mention Graceland too often in this review. My one star review is not based on how unlike Graceland this sorry collection of dreary background music is. I understand what Paul Simon was trying to achieve with this album. Using South American musicians to create an ethnically-diverse collection sounds promising. It worked with the African and Cajun-filled...
Published on Sept. 21 2001 by Dino


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Rhythm here, April 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rhythm of the Saints (Audio CD)
This is a cd which I keep in the car for long distance journeys. Great beat to reenergize me for driving distances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You Can Call Me Bored, Sept. 21 2001
By 
This review is from: Rhythm of the Saints (Audio CD)
I'll try not to mention Graceland too often in this review. My one star review is not based on how unlike Graceland this sorry collection of dreary background music is. I understand what Paul Simon was trying to achieve with this album. Using South American musicians to create an ethnically-diverse collection sounds promising. It worked with the African and Cajun-filled Graceland album. The problem I have with this is that Rhythm Of The Saints lacks any memorable tracks, melodies or memorable lyrics. The lyrics are often self-indulgent and cryptic. The musical backings inexplicably often drown out Simon's vocals, which only adds to the misery. Mood music? To be judged as a whole album, creating an "atmosphere" rather than showcasing radio-friendly singles? Okay - I can accept that. I own several Latin-styled albums that are much more entertaining and listenable than this. Rhythm Of The Saints is, in comparison, dull and boring, a wasted opportunity. I had to play Jerry Lee Lewis after this to wake myself up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yawwwnnnnnnn...., April 10 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rhythm of the Saints (Audio CD)
For anyone expecting another Graceland, forget it! This album seems to have been put together very quickly because of Graceland's success. All the songs on this album are pretty much the same...spell that BORING! Lay down a rhythm track in the background and have Paul ramble in his non-melodious style. What's worse is that on this recording, Paul sounds like he's singing in Wrigley Field without a mic. His voice is overwhelmed by a tedious rhythm track. No...not all rhythms from other parts of the world is interesting, especially when the tempo and texture is all the same from one song to the next. Graceland gets 5 stars...this one gets ZERO if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite, Aug. 12 2006
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Paul Simon followed up the classic Graceland, his fusion of African and Western pop music with this stunning album of great songs with a South American and more particularly Brazilian flavour. This reissue includes three previously unreleased racks.

The Obvious Child is my favorite, a powerful melodic song with great drums and guitars and a wistful, nostalgic feel. Another favorite is The Coast, a story about a family of musicians taking shelter in a church; this song really impresses with its flowing melody, polyrhythmic drum patterns and moving lyrics.

Proof is another charming pop song, particularly noted for its evocative backing vocals and gentle, lilting rhythm whilst Further To Fly and She Moves On are more subdued, melancholy numbers with bubbling and insistent rhythmic patterns.

The mood lifts with the uptempo and buoyant Born At The Right Time, once again a lyrical and musical masterpiece and filled with catchy hooks. The guitar and atmospheric backing voices of Spirit Voices are beyond compare whilst the title track is a meandering piece with innovative instrumental flourishes.

What makes these songs particularly moving is that Simon tells the stories of ordinary people and that his perceptive, poetic lyrics are carried so well on the exotic instrumentation. Of course, the beautiful tunes have a lot to do with that. Rhythm Of The Saints may not be as immediately appealing as Graceland and may not offer quite as many classics, but it remains a major achievement, a brilliant marriage of Brazilian and Western popular musical styles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Close your eyes and drift away, April 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Rhythm of the Saints (Audio CD)
Absolutely incredible!!! As perfect as a soft breeze during a warm summers night. I wait till spring every year to bring this album out of my collection an into my c.d player and once I do it never leaves! When I first heard this c.d I had just fallen in love with Paul Simon's Graceland months earlier and I kept comparing it to that. Now years later there is no comparison. Graceland is fantastic and easily one of my favorite albums, but The Rhythm of the Saints is so much more. It's an overwhelming feeling of peace and relaxation, but it also has a mysterious and hypnotic quality. I urge you to buy this album and give it a chance, and I hope, like the perfect drug that it is, transcends you to another place!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, April 8 2004
By 
Toby (Deal, Kent) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rhythm of the Saints (Audio CD)
Best album I own (and I've got quite a few!) Not sure where to start. The music is sublime, the lyrics are brilliant and no matter how you feel it makes you feel better. I like most of Paul's Simon's stuff, but it all pales beside this - a masterpiece of music, mood and Paul Simon's always-perceptive words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A complete album. A world is entered., April 6 2004
By 
John Truslow (Amherst, New Hampshire, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rhythm of the Saints (Audio CD)
This is my favorite album of all time, in part because it is one of a few albums that demands to be played as a complete set of music. From start to end, the combination of the tunes, lyrics, pace of the cuts and flow of the songs create a mood unlike any other. After repeated listenings over a twelve year period, I have never grown tired of album that is clearly more sophisticated than Graceland, its predicessor. The sound quality is very good. The album can be listened to explicitly, or turned on in the background. With respect to the other reviewers, it's not "like" anything else. It stands alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best one yet, Feb. 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Rhythm of the Saints (Audio CD)
hard to imagine that anything could top "graceland" but "rhythm" does! hypnotic, mesmerizing, hallucinogenic. a must for simon fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs up!, Oct. 18 2003
By 
Saundra (Bakersfield, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rhythm of the Saints (Audio CD)
My favorite CD of all time, this album continues to be the ultimate spiritual experience each time I hear it. It took me many years to warm up to this album. Each time I grow as a human being I understand more of the music and love it more. It offers a massive sensual experience, especially in lines such as "soil as soft as summer, the strength to push like spring."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RHYTHMS OF THE SAINTS, Sept. 17 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rhythm of the Saints (Audio CD)
Paul Simon followed up the classic Graceland, his fusion of African and Western pop music with this stunning album of great songs with a South American and more particularly Brazilian flavour.
The Obvious Child is my favorite, a powerful melodic song with great drums and guitars and a wistful, nostalgic feel. Another favorite is The Coast, a story about a family of musicians taking shelter in a church; this song really impresses with its flowing melody, polyrhythmic drum patterns and moving lyrics.
Proof is another charming pop song, particularly noted for its evocative backing vocals and gentle, lilting rhythm whilst Further To Fly and She Moves On are more subdued, melancholy numbers with bubbling and insistent rhythmic patterns.
The mood lifts with the uptempo and buoyant Born At The Right Time, once again a lyrical and musical masterpiece and filled with catchy hooks. The guitar and atmospheric backing voices of Spirit Voices are beyond compare and the title track is a meandering piece with innovative instrumental flourishes.
What makes these songs particularly moving is that Simon tells the stories of ordinary people and that his perceptive, poetic lyrics are carried so well on the exotic instrumentation. Of course, the beautiful tunes have a lot to do with that. Rhythm Of The Saints may not be as immediately appealing as Graceland and may not offer quite as many classics, but it remains a major achievement, a brilliant marriage of Brazilian and Western popular musical styles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae5d60b4)

This product

Rhythm of the Saints
Rhythm of the Saints by Paul Simon (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews