Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of Neil x1000
I can't say enough about this album. To me, it is his best work. He is an ever-changing musician, just when you think you know him, BAM he comes out with something different, yet not far off from what he is all about.
I absolutely love this work. I keep waiting for him to come out with something that is similar. I know he will. It is soft, melodic, wonderful...
Published on June 27 2004 by Carol Engan Borrelli (author)

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, but overproduced
Although this album features some strong song-writing, I found it to be overproduced. Both Young's voice and those of his background singers sound processed, as if the producer were trying to smooth over Neil's rough edges, which is the very thing that has always given him such an authentic, human sound. The arrangements are also needlessly complicated and...
Published on Feb. 28 2004 by David Bonesteel


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, but overproduced, Feb. 28 2004
By 
David Bonesteel (Fresno, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harvest Moon (Audio CD)
Although this album features some strong song-writing, I found it to be overproduced. Both Young's voice and those of his background singers sound processed, as if the producer were trying to smooth over Neil's rough edges, which is the very thing that has always given him such an authentic, human sound. The arrangements are also needlessly complicated and synthesizer-drenched. The above-mentioned flaws are most noticeable on "Natural Beauty," "War of Man," and "Such A Woman." Several of the songs on "Harvest Moon" also appear on Neil's "MTV Unplugged" disk, where they benefit from the sparer arrangement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of Neil x1000, June 27 2004
This review is from: Harvest Moon (Audio CD)
I can't say enough about this album. To me, it is his best work. He is an ever-changing musician, just when you think you know him, BAM he comes out with something different, yet not far off from what he is all about.
I absolutely love this work. I keep waiting for him to come out with something that is similar. I know he will. It is soft, melodic, wonderful. Everyone, not just Neil fans, will love this one.
Do yourself the favor, if there is one Neil album that you should buy it is this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Words - Between the Lines of Age, March 23 2008
By 
E. Haensel (Toronto) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harvest Moon (Audio CD)
It strikes me that Harvest Moon is clearly a hearkening back to Harvest, released some 20 years earlier. As such, it (unfortunately) begs to be reviewed by comparison....I say unfortunately because my appreciation of this album dropped dramatically once I had heard Harvest again.

The magic of Harvest was that the themes and their presentation were varied and fresh, almost naive, Neil was pushing the cusp of his world, groping for his identity amidst the dramatically expanded world in front of him (thanks to his success as a very young musician).

Harvest Moon, while I will agree with other reviewers who note its overall quality, tightness of lyrics and seamless music, comes off as a well textured choreographed album. It has none of the quite rawness of Needle and the Damage Done or the angst of Alabama, nor really the expansive grace of Heart of Gold, let alone the introspective waltz meets boxing match of 'Old Man'.

Indeed, this brings us to what I see as the heart of the matter: Neil Young at the time of this record is a older man, and his record sounds like it, too much like it in fact given the emotion he brings his old and new songs alike in live concerts.

A major drawback for this album is the production. It is way to smooth, overbalanced. This dampens the variance in the songs, homogenizes their disparate textures.

There are some great songs on this album, and it sits well as a whole, but for me it never reaches up to fully grasp my attention, to make me really care about what he is singing about.

That said, I am much closer in age to the Neil Young that wrote and recorded Harvest than the one that wrote and recorded Harvest Moon. And there in may lie the difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, solid album, in some ways better than "Harvest", March 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Harvest Moon (Audio CD)
"Harvest" is still a catchier album in terms of the music, but lyrically "Harvest Moon" is far more rewarding. The writing is richer and more mature, and while "Harvest" may be more tuneful, that's not to say "Harvest Moon" is lacking in melody. The CD is full of breezy, easy-going hooks, like the title track and "One of These Days," the latter unabashedly steeped in wistful nostalgia but perfectly sweet without ever sounding too sentimental. The best numbers are the first two, which are at the very least minor classics, and the last number, "Natural Beauty," which at 10 minutes is twice as long as anything else on the CD. It's a meditative, somber ecological song that is very evocative of how the natural world is slipping away, and it's beautiful in its spare arrangement, surrounding Neil and his guitar with an echo-drenched chorus (not digital echo, as Neil would want to point out) and a few mirimba notes.
I wouldn't go as far as to say it's his best work, but it's one of his most accessible works, and a good entry point for anyone wishing to familiarize themselves with Neil's acoustic side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Forced by consequences, but still great, Sept. 2 2003
By 
This review is from: Harvest Moon (Audio CD)
This album was all Neil could do in 1992. The years before had brought successively harder and louder rock albums: "Freedom," "Ragged Glory," and the incredibly ear-piercing, distorted, feedback-drenched double live album "Weld" had taken their toll on Young's hearing and he couldn't have handled putting out another grungy, hard rock collection (apparently he contracted tinnitus). Thus, he returned to the pastoral feeling of "Harvest" (although he vehemently denied that it was a sequel), and to fine results. The best track is arguably the title one, and I'd buy this for "Old King" alone (a hilarious banjo tribute to his late dog Elvis). It's Young's most unusual release of the 90s; after this he released "Sleeps With Angels" and the incredible "Mirror Ball," both of which helped build his image as the "Godfather of Grunge." "Harvest Moon" is kind of a peaceful interim between the loud rock and roll of the other albums, and that's just fine, something he and his fans needed to give their ears a rest after "Weld."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars His Best?, July 8 2003
By 
Brandon Stanley "bls2182" (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harvest Moon (Audio CD)
I don't know many people who can say much that's negative about Neil Young and his music. He's had a long and productive musical career, one which has spanned well over 30 years. He's made innovative rock with Buffalo Springfield, wonderful harmony vocal albums with Crosby, Stills, and Nash, as well as his own solo albums. He's done folk, rock, hard rock, experimental electronic vocals, even rockabilly. I can go on about how this man's life has been beyond any musicians dreams, but i'll just cover this album.
"Harvest Moon" is the logical successor to Young's early 70's breakthrough release "Harvest". The latter was a massive success in its day ('Heart of Gold' is his biggest song to date; you can hear it on literally every rock station). It was characterized by a mostly folk approach, blended with country and rock and roll sounds. This album is much the same, not only in the approach to sound, but with lyrics as well.
This albu takes a very similar appraoch. The instrumentation is fairly simple, almost purely acoustic and without too many extraneous overdubs. It also features the most heart-felt and honest lyrics of any NY album i've heard. He reflects on rural, simplistic idealisms, revealing a man with a passion for a lifestyle that the average rocker would find incredibly boring. Then again, he's far from average. The guy never makes the same album twice in a row.
With numerous guests, as well as the good ol' reliable Crazy Horse fellows providing that extra little bit of flavor to the music, it's hard to beat. I can listen to it anytime, because it's an album that is not only pleasant to the ears, but provides a sort of message; that life doesn't have to be so fast-paced, always moving and never looking back. This album shows that there is heart to be found in the sweetest (and sometimes the bitterest) of memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Just "Harvest Part II", Aug. 3 2002
By 
Bill R. Moore (New York, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harvest Moon (Audio CD)
The wily unpredictable Neil Young is probably the last person one would expect to release a sequel to his best-selling and best-known album - and yet, unpredictable as ever, that is exactly what he has done here. The said, this is not merely an explicit sequel to the original Harvest. To be sure, it's another batch of great country/folk tunes, back again by the Stray Gators and James Taylor and Linda Ronstadt on vocals, but there are several clear distinctions between the two albums. For one, whereas Harvest was a youthful man's soulful meditations on looking for love, Harvest Moon is an older, more mature and world-wearied man's meditations on love lost, love in turmoil, and regret. Harvest Moon is a very backwards-looking album lyrically. Many of the album's best songs - Uknown Legend, From Hank To Hendrix, the title track, You and Me, and others - seem to be Young pining for a love that is lost - or, in any case, now one-sided. Other songs have similarly backwards-looking themes: One of These Days, in which he vows to one day "sit down and write a long letter" to the many friends and bandmates he has encountered throughout the years and somehow lost touch with; Dreamin' Man seems to be a much more personal set of lyrics - one might even say a rigorous self-examination; Such A Woman, while functioning as a beautiful love song on the surface (complete with an immaculate string section arrangement courtesy of Jack Nitzsche), and seemingly the only current ackwnoledgment of love among the album's songs, nevertheless contains the double-edged line "no one kills me like you do." Of the remaining three tracks, two of them - War of Man and Natural Beauty - are sort of semi-environmentally aware tracks, akin somewhat to Mother Earth (Natural Anthem) from the previous album, Ragged Glory. The album's throwaway (Young seems to include one of these on each album - apparently on purpose - perhaps to DETRACT sales... the only artist one could think of actually doing so) is Old King, a banjo tune with trite lyrics about the singer's old dog, sung to a vocal melody that one could almost call a nursery rhyme - much like the later Daddy Went Walkin'. Although he declares on one song that he "never meant to burn any bridges", Harvest Moon is an excellent album, and a thoughtful, mature, moving, beautiful and pleasant album from one of our greatest singer/songwriters. An essential purchase not only if you loved Harvest, but if you are a fan of any of Neil Young's acoustic music - or just thoughtful, gentle lamentations in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Neil Young classic, June 16 2002
This review is from: Harvest Moon (Audio CD)
I bought HARVEST MOON almost 10 years ago when it was released, and I still find myself returning to it when I want to lay back and listen to great music from a great artist. This album is to some the sequel to his groundbreaking album HARVEST and in some ways it may be. He uses the same backing band that he did on HARVEST with James Taylor and Linda Ronstadt singing background vocals as before. It is also in some ways different. Neil had 20 years between the 2 albums to grow as an artist and a person on the things that he lived through are reflected in the lyrics. UNKNOWN LEGEND, FROM HANK TO HENDIRX, YOU AND ME, HARVEST MOON, WAR OF MAN, OLD KING, SUCH A WOMEN, ONE OF THESE DAYS are songs that are a must listen to . ONE OF THESE DAYS seems like Neil had been reflecting on all the past musicians that he had worked with and past bands he had been in that for one reason or another went their seperate ways. YOU AND ME, SUCH A WOMEN are songs that I think reflect his love for his wife and his family. These are why this album is different than HARVEST. I can say that you will not be disappointed with this album, I know that I havent been going on 10 years now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Money well spent!, April 30 2002
This review is from: Harvest Moon (Audio CD)
While there are more than enough individual tracks dotted around his huge number of recordings to justify Neil Young's major reputation there are only a few albums that, on their own, hold together as satisfyingly complete "works". And... in the (self imposed) absence of any sensible retrospectives since 1977's "Decade" (definitely the best place to start for any "casual buyer") those not "in the know" could be in for some seriously expensive mistakes. So, what's been worth the money since then? Well...for anyone looking for the mellower side of this brilliantly mercurial but annoyingly erratic artist here's a few suggestions: "Comes a Time" (1978), "Freedom" (1989), "Harvest Moon" (1992) and "Unplugged" (1995).
"Harvest Moon", a straight reference back to his massively popular "Harvest" which he immediately chose to move a long way away from at the time (preferring, in his own words, to head for the ditch rather than the "middle of the road") is, amongst his peers, the rarest of things - a follow-up album not only 20 years too late but arguably better than its career-building predecessor. Over the top?... well the debate could continue for hours but, with such wonderfully laid back tracks as "Unknown Legend", "From Hank to Hendrix" & "One of these Days", the rolling country-rock of "Old King", the quite beautiful "Harvest Moon" (brilliantly re-worked by Cassandra Wilson on "New Moon Daughter") and the deeply reflective "You and Me" it's a close call indeed. Mellow music at its best and an album that leaves you feeling... happy. Money well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quiet and powerful., Nov. 11 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Harvest Moon (Audio CD)
For me, Neil Young has always been an acquired taste and I've always had difficulty acquiring it. When I was a teen, I was blown away by "Hurricane" and later by "Rust." But his other stuff, for me, rang of that Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young political-folk, stuck in the 60s aura. Then I bought "Decade," a great 2-disc compilation that spans his early 70s career and ends with "Hurricane." I've since become enamored by his voice and his writing ability. Having steeped myself in the music of the likes of Emmy Lou Harris, Steve Earle, and Julie Miller, I decided to try some of Neil Young's later work (the 90s). This is one of the most beautiful albums I've heard in years. EVERY track is outstanding, although I am especially smitten with "Such a Woman" and "Natural Beauty." It's a very quiet and sorrowful album. Haunting with it's echoes and steely acoustic guitar. Although not produced by Daniel Lanois, it has the same feel as EmmyLou Harris's "Wrecking Ball" and Willie Nelson's "Teatro."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harvest Moon
Harvest Moon by Neil Young (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews