Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definite must for Hip fans
The Tragically Hip is the best and most profound band to hit the music scene in years. They've been putting out cds for almost 10 years now and have quite a large fanbase. Fully Completely is one of their earlier works, and although for me it is an impossible task to pinpoint the most outstanding Hip cd, if i had to, this would probably be it.
Published on July 25 1999

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Vinyl pressing has defects and artifacts. poor quality control
The vinyl pressing of this has many artifacts and defects in the vinyl. very poor quality control.
Published 6 months ago by Cobion


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definite must for Hip fans, July 25 1999
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Fully Completely (Audio CD)
The Tragically Hip is the best and most profound band to hit the music scene in years. They've been putting out cds for almost 10 years now and have quite a large fanbase. Fully Completely is one of their earlier works, and although for me it is an impossible task to pinpoint the most outstanding Hip cd, if i had to, this would probably be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canadian rockers give it to the people, May 18 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Fully Completely (Audio CD)
This is the 'must have' Tragically Hip album. Being a Scot, and having spent a considerable time in Canada I was able to see first hand what this album means to the people. The Hip as they are affectionately known in there native land write songs that express contemporary Canada and Fully Completely is a stand out in terms of breadth of style and pace. Personally the track with most resonance is 'Looking for a Place to Happen', which wonderfully summarizes anyone who is fed up with the same old bar hopping routine. Buy this album if you would like to learn more about Canadian culture, a nice wee bonus is the art work on the album cover pulls out to a nice size poster, which you can put on your wall, if you like - nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give the Vinyl a Chance, Jan. 17 2015
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Fully Completely (Vinyl) (LP Record)
Got my $11 (!) copy of Fully Completely on vinyl from Amazon yesterday. First impressions: the sleeve IMO is a really nice gatefold, the artwork is well reproduced and doesn't look like a bad scan, and the poster is a nice touch. The vinyl is flat and flawless with no visible pitting or even the normal pressing swirlies. Dropping it on my LP12/Armageddon/Ekos/Akiva turntable the sound was excellent -- quiet, warm and dynamic.

Amazon was blowing these out at a giveaway price due to complaints about the pressing quality. Either this has been repressed, or I got one of the rare good copies. If you're a Hip fan and into vinyl I'd give it a chance -- you can always return it.

Crossing my fingers for "Day for Night". Hopefully Music on Vinyl will handle the pressing duties as their "Up to Here" and "Road Apples" were beautifully done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Highly Recommended, July 4 1999
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Fully Completely (Audio CD)
I first heard these guys and purchased this CD while visiting Canada a few years back. It still sits in my CD changer (as do my other Hip CDs), The music compliments the poetic nature of the lyrics, lending itself to thoughts that are at times amusingly poignant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Fully Completely" says it all, May 30 2002
Ce commentaire est de: Fully Completely (Audio CD)
"Bill Barilko disappeared that summer.
He was on a fishing trip.
The last goal he ever scored won the Leafs the Cup.
They didn't win another until 1962, the year he was discovered."
These are lyrics from "Fifty Mission Cap", and with a little research I found that this is a true story. Bill Barilko was a star of the 1951 Stanley Cup Champions, the Toronto Maple Leafs. By the way, they defeated the Chicago Blackhawks in 1962, the year after the 'Hawks won their last Cup to date. So what does that have to do with this CD? What does it mean? What's the significance? I DON'T KNOW.
I really don't know how to explain why I like this CD so much. Would it be too much to ask you just to take my word for it? Probably.
I have listened to this disc so many times that I can't remember which songs used to get played on the radio when it came out in 1992. Every song on here sound to me like it should have been a big hit. Most of the songs have kind of a dark and heavy sound. But it is also light, appealing and versatile...an object that can be used freely in the imagination. Just kidding. I stole that last sentence from the liner notes on Iron Butterfly's "In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida" album. That just goes to prove that I should not be writing reviews at 2:00 AM after happy hour has become several happy hours.
My pick-to-click on this disc, along with the afore-mentioned "Fifty Mission Cap", is "Locked in the Trunk of a
Car". Check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars read this review, March 18 2001
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Fully Completely (Audio CD)
With "Fully Completely" the Tragically Hip made their darkest album to date. Gordon Downie takes the lyrical brilliance of their previous masterpiece, "Road Apples", and fleshes out most of the optimism. In it's place he has inserted a series of grisly, psychotic mood pieces that together produce an album of songs about bodies in the trunk, drowned hockey players, implied incest, doomed romance, and cold winds blowing over your private parts. And strangly enough it all works, because once again Downie and the band have produced an excellent collection of songs. The only thing keeping this album from being a five star effort is the muddy production, very similar in sound to "Up To Here". The only song that would sound at home on the looser, rootsier "Road Apples" is "At the Hundredth Meridian", and not surprisingly it is the album's best song. "Courage" and "Looking For A Place To Happen" kick things off and suffer the most from the production. Until you've heard "Courage" live the song should not be judged. It comes to life on stage, on the album it shows weak signs of life. But it is still classic Hip, as Gordon sarcastically sings "courage, it couldn't come at a worse time". Other highlights are the stark "Pigeon Camera", with it's veiled incest in the second verse and hauntingly memorable melody. "Fifty Mission Cap" is the interesting true story of Bill Barilko, an old hockey player who disappeared on a fishing trip, only to resurface years later. It is a must listen, and is a great example of why Downie can be one of the best story-songwriters around. "Locked In the Trunk of a Car" is another gem, with the most urgent music on the album, and another glimpse into Downie's twisted mind. As the song fades Downie is poignantly screaming "let me out", echoing Billy Corgan of the Smashing Pumpkins at the end of his "Cherub Rock". But whereas Corgan was demanding release from the "alternative" music scene, here Downie is demanding release from the trunk, and also maybe from his own demons. "Wheat Kings" is the sole acoustic song on the album, again telling a fascinatingly dark story, again true, about David Milguard. Milguard spent 20 years in prison for a crime he didn't commit. Downie's imagery invokes a tragic loss of innocence, as childhood imagination gives way to grown up reality. The nation's shift of the blame off of themselves is heartbreaking, and difficult to stomach. There are more strong songs here, but these are the best. This album has about 6-8 great songs, so it is not as consistent as "Road Apples". However, the highpoints on this album are higher than "Road Apples", making this an essential album for Hip fans and rock fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best album by a great band, June 29 2000
By 
"kevinbourke" (Needham Heights, Massachusetts USA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Fully Completely (Audio CD)
In answer to the question about whether or not this album has been re-released--the answer is a resounding yes. A CD-ROM element has been added and the disc now includes a few videos that you can access via the 'net.
Now, on to the review. The best band to ever come out of Canada hits its absolute peak (sorry Rush) with this 1992 release. In the three albums leading up to "Fully Completely" the band put out some great music, but was still finding its sound. In the albums since, the band's gotten a little soft--still great, but softer. This release catches the band at it's rockin' best.
Highlights include Courage, At The Hundredth Meridian, and the title track--all of which rock. But perhaps the best tune, in typical Hip form, handles a topic that is truly Canadian--hockey. Fifty-Mission Cap tells the true story of Bill Barilko, a star player for the 'leafs who disappeared after scoring the winning goal in the Stanley Cup Playoffs. Next time the team won a Cup was the year he was discovered. Lyrics don't get much beyond that, but again--the tune rocks!
If you've heard some latter day Hip and are partial to the more mellow tunes, there's a few here too. Wheat Kings, for example, has a Bobcaygeon (from "Phantom Power") feel to it. And Pigeon Camera has a sound so sweet it'll break your heart, even though I have no idea what they're yapping about in the lyrics.
There are other great songs on this CD--hell there isn't a clunker in the bunch--but it'd take too long to go through each one. Bottom line: if you've heard of the Hip and need a place to begin exploring, this is the CD you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, June 29 1999
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Fully Completely (Audio CD)
Fantastic record. Easily their best - recommended unconditionally. One of the best rock records of the '90's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great album, but regret buying LP, April 6 2015
By 
A. Oystreck - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Fully Completely (Vinyl) (LP Record)
Let me get this out of the way right off the top: Fully Completely is one of my favourite albums of all time. The music gets 5 stars. What cost it one star for me is the fact the vinyl LP does NOT come with an mp3 download code for the album, only for the 2 bonus tracks. It's the 21st century, LPs are glorified collectors items and the biggest reason vinyl has made a comeback is that LPs almost always include a download code for mp3s--if not also FLACs--to compensate for vinyl's practical limitations. To not include the download is just a greedy middle finger to fans who are already getting soaked with skyrocketing concert ticket prices. It's like the record label is daring us to torrent it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Completely Rocks, Dec 5 2000
By 
Bobby Otter (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Fully Completely (Audio CD)
Where to start? The fact that just about every song on this album rocks? Or the fact that it rocks? This might not be the most innovated or complicated album of all time, but it does something that most albums don't, come from the heart and rock. You put it in and listen to the album and let the music take you. This album lays it all out for the listener; from "Courage" to "Eldorado" the Hip hold nothing back. They aren't afraid to play hard and fast or calm or slow. It the album works, fully and completely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fully Completely
Fully Completely by Tragically Hip (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews