summer boutiques-francophones vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars58
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$10.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 25, 1999
The Tragically Hip is the best and most profound band to hit the music scene in years. They've been putting out cds for almost 10 years now and have quite a large fanbase. Fully Completely is one of their earlier works, and although for me it is an impossible task to pinpoint the most outstanding Hip cd, if i had to, this would probably be it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon November 28, 2014
Like some other super deluxe type releases, this Hip release has two issues. First, for the price of the box set it is pricey. In addition, the DVD only contains the Heksenketel documentary which clocks in at 65 minutes. Missing are any videos from the era or even some concert footage. The video itself wasn’t cleaned up and reminds me if it was transferred directly from a VHS tape as video issues can be seen.
As for the 2 audio CDs, the album plus bonus tracks on one disc and a concert on the other [a bit short].
The packaging is nice and complete. Discs can be inserted and removed quite easily from the cardboard sleeves that are part of the book. Various pictures and tour scheduler from the era.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2015
Got my $11 (!) copy of Fully Completely on vinyl from Amazon yesterday. First impressions: the sleeve IMO is a really nice gatefold, the artwork is well reproduced and doesn't look like a bad scan, and the poster is a nice touch. The vinyl is flat and flawless with no visible pitting or even the normal pressing swirlies. Dropping it on my LP12/Armageddon/Ekos/Akiva turntable the sound was excellent -- quiet, warm and dynamic.

Amazon was blowing these out at a giveaway price due to complaints about the pressing quality. Either this has been repressed, or I got one of the rare good copies. If you're a Hip fan and into vinyl I'd give it a chance -- you can always return it.

Crossing my fingers for "Day for Night". Hopefully Music on Vinyl will handle the pressing duties as their "Up to Here" and "Road Apples" were beautifully done.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2004
This is the 'must have' Tragically Hip album. Being a Scot, and having spent a considerable time in Canada I was able to see first hand what this album means to the people. The Hip as they are affectionately known in there native land write songs that express contemporary Canada and Fully Completely is a stand out in terms of breadth of style and pace. Personally the track with most resonance is 'Looking for a Place to Happen', which wonderfully summarizes anyone who is fed up with the same old bar hopping routine. Buy this album if you would like to learn more about Canadian culture, a nice wee bonus is the art work on the album cover pulls out to a nice size poster, which you can put on your wall, if you like - nice.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2014
Why buy this CD , again???

###...this review is for the 2 CD deluxe edition only...###

1. FULLY COMPLETELY, was remastered using the same revolutionary remastering process used by , BOB LUDWIG
when making the incredible sounding Bruce Springsteen remastered first 7 album CD Box Set [2014]. This same process was also used by JIMMY PAGE for the making of the LED ZEP / 2014 remasters and the last YES , remasters.

So you do hear a slightly louder CD with unbelievable instrumental separation and better sounding vocals and backing vocals " IN OVERTIME "

2. You get a great up tempo , much more rocking version of the classic song called "SO HARD DONE BY" from the "DAY FOR NIGHT" album.

3. You also hear an excellent old [unreleased] song called "The RADIO SHOW" As with some of The HIP'S best music it takes a few listens to get. However , it is fantastic after a couple of listens. A nice HIP bonus!!!

4. I don't buy CDs some times for the second bonus disc and I have heard better live performances of these songs. However , it is a good recall of The HIP live at Toronto's HORSESHOE TAVERN.

The amazing sound of this studio CD and the bonus tracks all for just $9.99 [Canadian] at Amazon.ca make this a HIP / remastered CD must have , no brainer!!!

IT IS BEST LISTENED TO IN , 4 or 5 speakers with your receiver set at extended stereo. As with most remasters!!!. NO need to spend huge amounts of money on a BLUE RAY and SACD player.

THE TRAGICALLY HIP , should be amazing in concert during their play all of the album " FULLY COMPLETELY Tour " !!! In a North American / European city near you in , 2015!!!

Now , only if The Tragically Hip would remaster UP TO HERE , ROAD APPLES and DAY FOR NIGHT with this kind of incredible sound quality I would be very , very happy. So would a lot of other people!!!

The remastered FULLY COMPLETELY [2014] just sounds sooooooo great now!!! THANK YOU , The Tragically HIP and Bob Ludwig again!!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2015
This is a review of the 2014 vinyl re-issue of this great album fromm The Tragically Hip.

After returning a copy of a verry bad pressing, I must have received a second pressing of this album (at a very special price of $11), since my replacement copy is dead quiet. The sound quality is average, with very little dynamic (flat bass and no kick in the drums) which is probably more a problem with the production that the pressing of the vinyl. Still, recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2015
Let me get this out of the way right off the top: Fully Completely is one of my favourite albums of all time. The music gets 5 stars. What cost it one star for me is the fact the vinyl LP does NOT come with an mp3 download code for the album, only for the 2 bonus tracks. It's the 21st century, LPs are glorified collectors items and the biggest reason vinyl has made a comeback is that LPs almost always include a download code for mp3s--if not also FLACs--to compensate for vinyl's practical limitations. To not include the download is just a greedy middle finger to fans who are already getting soaked with skyrocketing concert ticket prices. It's like the record label is daring us to torrent it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2013
Of the early releases this is their best outing and it's even better seeing them live.

Pick it up if your new to the Tragically Hip. You'll probably end up buying most of their other early releases which are just as good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 1999
Fantastic record. Easily their best - recommended unconditionally. One of the best rock records of the '90's.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2002
"Bill Barilko disappeared that summer.
He was on a fishing trip.
The last goal he ever scored won the Leafs the Cup.
They didn't win another until 1962, the year he was discovered."
These are lyrics from "Fifty Mission Cap", and with a little research I found that this is a true story. Bill Barilko was a star of the 1951 Stanley Cup Champions, the Toronto Maple Leafs. By the way, they defeated the Chicago Blackhawks in 1962, the year after the 'Hawks won their last Cup to date. So what does that have to do with this CD? What does it mean? What's the significance? I DON'T KNOW.
I really don't know how to explain why I like this CD so much. Would it be too much to ask you just to take my word for it? Probably.
I have listened to this disc so many times that I can't remember which songs used to get played on the radio when it came out in 1992. Every song on here sound to me like it should have been a big hit. Most of the songs have kind of a dark and heavy sound. But it is also light, appealing and versatile...an object that can be used freely in the imagination. Just kidding. I stole that last sentence from the liner notes on Iron Butterfly's "In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida" album. That just goes to prove that I should not be writing reviews at 2:00 AM after happy hour has become several happy hours.
My pick-to-click on this disc, along with the afore-mentioned "Fifty Mission Cap", is "Locked in the Trunk of a
Car". Check it out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$12.88
$4.99
$4.99