Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Spiritual Album In An Era Defined By Psychedelia
When people talk about The Who's Tommy, they generally seem to focus on the form rather than the content of the album. Listeners will comment on the originality of Townshend's application of opera sensibilities to a rock and roll album, and so on and so forth. Yes, it's true, what made The Who's Tommy a major hit rather than a pop-culture after-thought was its structure...
Published on June 9 2004 by KB

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been more...
The whole Who "deluxe edition" release effort has been a mixed bag, especially this Tommy set which is missing a couple of important elements. In contrast, the Live at Leeds set was released previously with a remixed and upgraded package that was terrific. The later Leeds deluxe set could be justified because it made the entire concert available in a cleaned up format...
Published on Dec 27 2003


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Spiritual Album In An Era Defined By Psychedelia, June 9 2004
By 
KB (Lawrence, KS) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tommy (Audio CD)
When people talk about The Who's Tommy, they generally seem to focus on the form rather than the content of the album. Listeners will comment on the originality of Townshend's application of opera sensibilities to a rock and roll album, and so on and so forth. Yes, it's true, what made The Who's Tommy a major hit rather than a pop-culture after-thought was its structure and distinction as the first "Rock Opera," but I believe that the most artistically redeeming quality of the album is its message.
During a time when psychedelic experimentation was the order of the day, The Who had the intestinal fortitude to release an album preaching transcendence through spiritual exploration. Tommy is a wholesale rejection of the entire psychedelic culture dominating the late 60's and a plea for spiritual enlightenment. More than just great music, Tommy is an album with purpose and a positive message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been more..., Dec 27 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Tommy (Dlx Ed) (Audio CD)
The whole Who "deluxe edition" release effort has been a mixed bag, especially this Tommy set which is missing a couple of important elements. In contrast, the Live at Leeds set was released previously with a remixed and upgraded package that was terrific. The later Leeds deluxe set could be justified because it made the entire concert available in a cleaned up format with the complete Tommy on Disk 2 and decent liner notes (the bootleg version of complete Leeds was sonically uneven but was, at least, chronologically correct - "Tommy" did not end the show but was the middle core of it). The Who's Next set, while the first disk was interesting but not as well chosen as the remixed single '95 release, was justifiable because of (finally) releasing the Old Vic concert tracks in pristine form on Disk 2. And the liner notes were informative and worthwhile.
Tommy, on the other hand, was never released in enhanced form, just a mid-nineties remix that was good, not great. The jump to a deluxe set disappoints in several ways: the remix of the original tracks was great, in either format, but to make the argument for a two disk set the additional material needs to expand the artistic vision of the work. Here, the second disk seems somewhat hashed together yielding little insight into the creative process. The unreleased tracks were either undistinguished instrumental tracks or inferior releases of out takes already released on other sets. For example, Cousin Kevin Model Child is a pale copy of the one on Odds and Sods and the Townsend demos are presented in better context in his "Scoop" series and seem tacked on here to fill time. The Beatles anthology series did this better. However, finally getting the frantic track "Dogs, Pt. II" on CD is welcome.
The liner notes and booklet offer little insight into what was going on with the band at the time and is too photo heavy - the set is not really for casual fans so extra photos are not such a draw, more information is. I expect notes to include some info on each track that is a little more personal than date, time, and studio, - none here. So two out of three elements for a kicking deluxe set are a no-show, in my humble opinion. Blown opportunity, too bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Another edition?, March 16 2014
By 
Gis A. Bun (Montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tommy (Deluxe) (Audio CD)
I would be giving Tommy five stars but the number of releases are getting out of hand. Original release. A few years ago a 2CD version with demos on the second CD [there was a DVD audio release as well]. Now released again on 2CD but this time with a "concert" from the Tommy tour from various locations [and a Blu-ray audio release]. Was the release from a few years ago that bad? Did Pete just tinker a bit with the release - or was it an excuse to have a box set as well? [I suspect some of the other big Who albums like Who's Next will get the box set and re-release editions again].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tommy in 5.1 mix, March 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tommy (Dlx Ed) (Audio CD)
A great job by Pete Townsend in the mix. Sounds great if you have an SACD player.
Some Sony blu-rays have the capability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A_Who must have, Jan. 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Who: Tommy (DVD Audio) (DVD Audio)
Again DVD AUDIO makes its case for great multichannel sound. You will love your favorites of this iconic album. Would recommend highly to anyone with a high end system who loves music the way it should sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything I expected, Jan. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tommy (4CD) (Audio CD)
Everything is great, it arrived in 2 days and was awesome. I gave it
to my step-dad for Christmas and he was very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome in blu ray, Dec 25 2013
By 
Bruce M. Garber (cincinnati oh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
awesome. clear and detailed. strange the way keith moon's drums are only in the left rear channel. wonder if that was intentional or a screw up?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Standout Masterpiece among Generations to come, June 28 2004
By 
TopRockCritic (You wanna find me and fight any Brothas out there? i live in Harlem ahahahahahaha) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tommy (Audio CD)
Listening to this is pure bliss its a Opera of some of the best rock music you may ever hear in your life.........The Who are a very impressive rock band and some may say Classic Rock sucks but those idividuals are usually "Limp Bizkit" fans who dont really even know what real music is.......take my advice and get this classic opera approach with an open mind and let it soak in your head till the day you die for this is an album to celebrate and cheerish to the end of all things
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must have for fans of The Who!, July 4 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tommy (Dlx Ed) (Audio CD)
This two disc SACD version of the The Who's Tommy has much improved dynamics and resolution over the redbook CD.
Roger Daltrey's vocals are sharp and focused. Keith Moons drumming is explosive and John Entwhistle's bass comes through clean and clear. Pete Townshend's manic acoustic guitar opening to the Pinball Wizard sounds like he's
right there in my listening room about 8 feet away. It's as though they removed a veil of electronic reproduction
- the transparency brings the band back to life. My only nitpick (a minor one but worth noting) about this disc
is how they recorded and mixed Moon's drums so that they moved from left to right and back in the soundstage when going from one track to the next. Otherwise a fantastic recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I know it's cliche to say that this is an awesome album, but..., July 10 2006
This review is from: Tommy (Audio CD)
Let's face it: 'Tommy' was The Who's final attempt to make it in show business. Even Pete said that if this didn't work, The Who were finished.

I got 'Tommy' as part of a birthday present from a friend of mine (and I nearly choked him to death (in a good way) when I saw the album cover). That being said, I think that 'Tommy' is one of the greatest albums ever recorded. It's right up there with Dark Side of the Moon, Sgt. Pepper, Highway To Hell, and Led Zeppelin IV. It's a great way to get introduced to The Who if you're not all for buying a lame greatest hits compilation. You'll find NO FILLER on here at all despite the long list of songs, and what other listeners may say. Every track is worth listening to. Highlights include: 'Overture', 'Amazing Journey', 'Eyesight To The Blind (The Hawker)', 'Sparks' (one of the best guitar solos I've ever heard), 'Cousin Kevin', 'Acid Queen', 'Pinball Wizard', 'Sally Simpson', and 'Miracle Cure'.

Add this to your Who collection mates!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb8a525d0)

This product

Tommy
Tommy by Who (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews