Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Response to David Pabian's review below
Response to David Pabian's review:
My review was not in error, as Mr. Pabian expects. The review was for the original CD release, not this expanded version. Amazon lifted it out of that spot and dropped it here, which of course makes it anachronistic. Why they did it without reading it is certainly an inept decision.
Published on June 29 2004 by A. Andersen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Gummed up a beautiful soundtrack album
This overblown "completeitis" has got to stop. Some of the stupidist mistakes of this movie, e.g., the prelude in heaven with Billy cleaning stars, are lovingly included here - where, if the actual credits music needed to be used (arguable), it could've been faded into, without MacRae's whistling and spittin' on stars. The original, beautifully played,...
Published on June 9 2003 by David Pabian


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Response to David Pabian's review below, June 29 2004
By 
A. Andersen (Bellows Falls, VT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Response to David Pabian's review:
My review was not in error, as Mr. Pabian expects. The review was for the original CD release, not this expanded version. Amazon lifted it out of that spot and dropped it here, which of course makes it anachronistic. Why they did it without reading it is certainly an inept decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Version of Carousel!, Feb. 15 2004
By 
Elizabeth (Metairie, LA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Carousel (Audio CD)
This is a beautiful version of Roger and Hammerstein's CAROUSEL. Shirley Jones has an absolutely GORGEOUS voice and does well on all of her solos. Her voice is beautiful and full of emotion! She is great playing Julie Jordon. Gordon Macrae has a heart-melting voice that will make you want to swoon! He has a gorgeous voice! I recommend buying this recording because of the wonderful voice acting! "You're a queer one, Julie Jordan!" does not appear in the final edited version of the film, so if you've only seen the film it's an extra! A BEAUTIFUL CD! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gummed up a beautiful soundtrack album, June 9 2003
By 
David Pabian (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This overblown "completeitis" has got to stop. Some of the stupidist mistakes of this movie, e.g., the prelude in heaven with Billy cleaning stars, are lovingly included here - where, if the actual credits music needed to be used (arguable), it could've been faded into, without MacRae's whistling and spittin' on stars. The original, beautifully played, soundtrack album Carousel Waltz is now relegated to Appendix status, and terrible sonics accompany dancers' footstomping in the "new" expanded musical sequences, taken directly from the soundtrack. There was a reason soundtrack recordings were studio (and sometimes studio-for-recordings-only) performances. The proportions were right, the timings were correct for an overall BALANCED listening experience. These gawdawful expanded editions, often with dialogue thrown in, completely throw off those balances. An argument might be made for expanded sequences appropriate to CDs longer playing time than the standard L.P. 45min., but possibly only if those sequences were still available in their original studio-recorded, pre release-print mix. In this recording, and the Oklahoma! and King and I new expanded soundtracks, the touted "restored" segments sound like the recordings I made as a kid off of 16mm films by sticking my reel-to-reel jack into the audio output. Yucch! This is, for my money, still the most beautifully sung recording of this work (except for Barbara Ruick's cutesy cutesy 50s schtick), beautifully orchestrated, wonderfully realized. The censors made them drop "The Highest Judge of All," possibly the best song in the score, and actually the definition of who the character of Billy Bigelow is. But then it was also cut in the '94 revival - most likely because of the ineptness of the actor who played Bigelow (his "Sililoquy" is beyond painful, his 'voice' giving out about halfway through). It's a shame if the original soundtrack album of "Carousel" is no longer available. And a quick word on one of the above reviews: This is not the first time the complete Carousel Waltz is heard in stereo. There were two previous CD remasterings of the original soundtrack whereon it was included. And the reprise of "If I loved You" was part of every soundtrack release, mono and stereo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed in Virginia, Oct. 24 2002
By A Customer
This recording is a disappointment. Yes, the singing of MacRae and Jones is beautiful, and I even like Didier Deutsch's liner notes. Shame it's all ruined by the remastering. What a disaster! When one considers the beautiful, demo-calibre remastering that RCA has done with its mid-fities recordings of Bartok's Concerto for Orchestra and Saint Saen's Symphony No. 3, there seems no excuse for the painful sound of this CD. I can forgive the slight tape hiss that appears in a few portions. It's the shrill tonality of the entire disk that robs the performances of their beauty. Then there's the editing. Please explain why on a CD (not a DVD), a full 20 percent of the disk is devoted to to the sound of dancers clumping around the sound stage. I don't know if there's a better recording of Roger and Hammerstein's masterpiece, perhaps the folks at Angel will try again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Music from a Classic Movie!!, Sept. 21 2002
By A Customer
This is a wonderful soundtrack. Filled with beautiful music, and memorable dialogue,it is a must buy for R&H fans, along with the soundtrack from "Oklahoma." It's simply great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's great, except for..., May 22 2002
By A Customer
This remastered and expanded edition of Carousel has never sounded better. Here we have the entire contents of the original soundtrack LP plus a whole slew of other, unreleased tracks. The previously released tracks are taken directly from the soundtrack album masters. The unreleased tracks are lifted from the edited film soundtrack. Because of this we notice a slight difference in fidelity between the released and unreleased cuts. The unreleased tracks are nice, except that on a music only CD we do not need to be bombarded with extra sound effects such as hand clapping and foot stomping (a good example is the "June" dance sequence). Those are appropriate when viewing the picture, but not when listening to it in soundtrack form. Similar sound effects are also had with the remastered OKLAHOMA, MY FAIR LADY, and (to a small extent) THE KING AND I and THE MUSIC MAN. For future releases of this album (and Oklahoma, which suffered the same downfall) more effort should be made to locate the original recording masters, where they exist, and incorporate them into the album.
If you can get past that, CAROUSEL has never sounded better. Gordon MacRae and Shirley Jones are in top form, and fresh from their successful pairing in the Academy Award Winning OKLAHOMA (1955). Barbara Ruick and the rest of the support cast are excellent as well. While I dearly love the 1945 Original Broadway Cast album of CAROUSEL, the recording methods of 1945 will forever keep that album sounding like it was recorded in 1945 for 78 RPM records.
Those that still have their copies of the previous (1993) CD release of CAROUSEL will want to hang onto them, as that album is how a music only CD of Carousel should sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heavenly, Jan. 15 2002
By 
A. H. Lynde "ahlynde" (Ewa Beach, HI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This remastered and expanded soundtrack gives us just about everything one could ask, rich and delectable. The additional songs, orchestrations and important dialogue are welcome. MacRae's heart-rending reprise of 'If I Loved You' is quite possibly the most touching in musical-comedy history. His rich, tender, masculine baritone steals the soundtrack, but Shirley Jones' usual sweet soprano is wonderfully complementary to his vocals and her acting is superb. The great tenor Rounseville's turns and the mezzo Turner's performance of 'You'll Never Walk Alone' are unforgettable. There's fine acting (and even passable singing!) by Cameron Mitchell. But 'If I Loved You' (duet and reprise) elevates this to Rodgers' masterpiece. Full chorus and exciting period orchestrations complete the timelessness of a great work about, well, the meaning of life. A must-have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best recording of classic R&H score., Jan. 1 2002
By 
Pope (United States) - See all my reviews
While I usually say that the original cast albums are always best, this may be an exception. The sound quality here is much more clearer and it is in stereo. If you're a big fan of CAROUSEL, by all means, get the original cast recording as well; it is very nicely presented. But if you're just looking for just one recording of the show, get this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its best incarnation to date, Aug. 20 2001
By 
Anthony Clarke (Woodend, Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've so far owned two LPs and three CDs of this Rodgers and Hammerstein movie soundtrack -- the same goes for their other great musical, Oklahoma. And the new 2001 remastering of both Carousel and Oklahoma not only brings us so much more music than ever before, but brings us the music with an unsurpassed warmth and clarity. I have never heard these great musicals to better effect. The result is breath-takingly beautiful; just how these musical masterpieces should be presented. Now we only need to have the films themselves, in equally fine versions on DVD! Carousel was shot in large-format Todd-AO and Oklahoma in Cinemascope 55; anamorphic processes giving an unprecedented sharpness and clarity. But for tthe existing DVD transfers, Fox has ignored this, and has made a mediocre non-anamorphic widescreen transfer not worthy of the efforts of the original film-makers. The sound side has been well looked after -- now get the image right as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous and emotionally supportive too., Aug. 7 2001
When I was a child and young man, I was found two songs from this show very heartening.
The first is 'You'll Never Walk Alone.' The short staircase in our house was somewhat dark, and I used to be afraid of the dark. So when I was going up to bed, my mother used to sing 'You'll Never Walk Alone', and that made me less scared.
The second is 'You're a Queer One, Julie Jordan'. As an only child, I often felt lonely and strange. This song always cheered me up. When I got older, I was amused by Hammerstein's play on the word 'queer'.
The rest of the songs are, of course, fabulous. I love to sing them in the shower, or hum them on the way to the gym.
(I also recommend 'South Pacific' for when you want 'to wash that man right outa [your] hair'.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carousel (Audio Cassette)
Carousel (Audio Cassette) (Audio Cassette - 1993)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews