Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Duran Duran's Third Release Made Them A Household Name!
"Seven And The Ragged Tiger" fully established Duran Duran as a household name and it was at this point in their career that they were considered "teen idols" with their GQ good looks and heavily aired MTV videos. The album had three hits beginning with "The Reflex", "Union Of The Snake" and "New Moon On Monday". But the...
Published on Aug. 7 2003 by highway_star

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Better Than I Initially Thought
1. Reflex---This is the unmixed version. There is no "fle-fle-fle-fle-flex", sadly, and is not as good as the one on the Greatest CD and in the concerts I've viewed, but it's ok. I've gotten used to it. I still miss the alternate opening.
2. News Moon on Monday---Good song. Hard to say why a song is good. I like the way it sounds. The lyrics are...
Published on July 1 2004 by BooksandMoviesLover


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Duran Duran's Third Release Made Them A Household Name!, Aug. 7 2003
By 
highway_star (Hallandale, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
"Seven And The Ragged Tiger" fully established Duran Duran as a household name and it was at this point in their career that they were considered "teen idols" with their GQ good looks and heavily aired MTV videos. The album had three hits beginning with "The Reflex", "Union Of The Snake" and "New Moon On Monday". But the album clearly had more catchy pop/new wave songs such as "Of Crime And Passion", and "Shadows On Your Side", both of with had "hit" potential. This was Duran Duran's last pop/new wave release before a change in musical style, as is evidenced in their next album, produced the funk laden hits "Notorious" and "Skin Trade". This latest remastered edition of "Seven And The Ragged Tiger" is greatly improved with enhanced bass, midrange and increased output. If you enjoy listening to eighties new wave pop, then this would be an excellent addition to one's cd collection. Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't let my friends know I had this album, March 4 2004
By A Customer
You know, throughout the eighties I was a guitarist into all of the so called "hair bands" of the time such as Motley Crue, Van Halen, Joe Satriani, Ozzy, Sabbath etc. My circle of friends, also musicians, were of like tastes and would shun the likes of a Duran Duran.At leat publicly they would.I say that simply because I loved these guys but would never have admitted doing so at the time.
What does that have to do with respect to Duran Duran or this album in particular?
Good question with a very simple answer.
Its all about the songwriting not the sound and or style.
My personal preferance with respect to style and sound is constantly changing.But a good song is a good song no matter how it is presented.
That being said, this album is full of good songs.
It's as simple as that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Better Than I Initially Thought, July 1 2004
This review is from: Seven And The Ragged Tiger (Audio CD)
1. Reflex---This is the unmixed version. There is no "fle-fle-fle-fle-flex", sadly, and is not as good as the one on the Greatest CD and in the concerts I've viewed, but it's ok. I've gotten used to it. I still miss the alternate opening.
2. News Moon on Monday---Good song. Hard to say why a song is good. I like the way it sounds. The lyrics are incomprehensible but weird in an interesting way because you'll never come across sentences like these again in your life. Distinguished, maybe. I like the video more than this particular song though. No offense to those who like it.
3. (I'm Looking For) Cracks in the Pavement---Very weird song. The music is a little annoying but catchy. The words paint a picture of a very disturbed man. Read the lyrics to the songs for your self. You can find them on the internet.
4. I Take the Dice --- Tune's pretty good. Lyrics are interesting.
5. Of Crime and Passion---Tune's not that great but ok. Words are incomprehensible. But I like it anyway.
6. Union of the Snake--Great tune. I read somewhere that Simon says the song is about the unconscious mind (the snake) breaking through the consciousness, or at least the fear that this will occur. If you watch the video for this song with that interpretation in mind, wow, it's great.
7. Shadows on Your Side---Don't like the opening with the parallels to the band being "shackled" and forced to play for an audience because it's too blatant for me. I like obscure lyrics better.
8. Tiger Tiger---I think it's purely instrumental, but not sure. Never listened to all of this one.
9. Seventh Stranger---I love the title (the title of the album too) and the song is great. Maybe the fact that "seven" is in the title makes it seem meaningful because "7" is a meaningful number, which is brought up in the song, kind of. The music to this one is great though there are times when it grates at my nerves for some reason but overall terrific song, the lyrics especially. Once again, you can find the lyrics on the internet.
So overall this is worth 3 to 4 stars. At first, without really listening to the songs, I thought it would be a bad collection, but I really took to it, once giving the songs a shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dancing on the Valentine., March 11 2004
By 
By the time Duran Duran's 1983 "Seven and the Ragged Tiger" came out, its platinum success was all but guaranteed. At that point, the Birmingham-based group was already a staple on MTV and had their first two albums in Billboard's Top Ten. Typically, each Duran Duran album sounds different from the one that preceded it, and the weirdly named "Seven and the Ragged Tiger" is no exception. They replaced producer Colin Thurston (who did the first two records) with Alex Sadkin and Ian Little, who were responsible for Duran Duran's smash hit "Is There Something I Should Know." The result is a slightly arty, more sophisticated sound that bears no resemblance to their 1981 self-titled debut. The record spawned three top ten singles, one of which, "The Reflex," went on to become their first American Number One single. Other interesting album cuts are the dynamic "Of Crime and Passion," "Shadows on Your Side," and the sax-flavored instrumental "Tiger Tiger." "Seven and the Ragged Tiger" has been remastered (there are no bonus tracks), and the sound quality is a decent improvement over the original CD pressing. Narrow-minded rock connoisseurs may scoff at both this band and this album, but "Seven and the Ragged Tiger" is still a fine effort from Duran Duran in its original, five-member lineup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Duran's Third, March 5 2004
Duran Duran became mega stars after their second album, Rio, became a smash hit worldwide thanks in equal parts to radio friendly songs and glamorous videos. Their third album, the bizarrely titled Seven & The Ragged Tiger, is again filled with big hooks and hits, but also with a bit more of an edge. The album's first single, "Union Of The Snake" is one of their most challenging and experimental songs. The song has a catchy hook built around a slinky guitar riff and a Moroccan vibe. There is a jazzy saxophone solo in the break and is flush with synth flourishes that give the song a mysterious and sensual sound. It peaked at number three on the charts. "New Moon On Monday" was the second single and is a straightforward song in the classic new romantic vein. The band produced a Thriller like, 20-minute video to accompany the song involving some bizarre underground resistance group in France. It helped propel the song to peak at number ten. The third single became the band's first US number one, "The Reflex". The album version differs from the single, which was remixed, as it doesn't have the female vocals that are some prominent in the single version. It is still catchy and quite memorable and one can tell upon first listen why it was smash hit. Other songs have a shiny sound including "(I'm Looking For) Cracks In The Pavement" and "I Take The Dice". The last two songs return the band to the edgier sound that appeared on the last few tracks on their first album. The haunting instrumental "Tiger Tiger" segues into the hauntingly beautiful "The Seventh Stranger" creating two of the finest moments in the band's history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS ONE OF THE GREATEST ALBUMS OF ALL TIME., Feb. 11 2004
By 
Thomas C. Eddy "tecool" (auburn, ny USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
DURAN DURAN'S SEVEN AND THE RAGGED TIGER IS ONE OF THE GREATEST ALBUMS OF ALL TIME. THIS ALBUM WAS A GIGANTIC SUCCESS WITH OVER A MILLION COPIES SOLD DURING ITS DEBUT, DURAN DURAN'S SEVEN AND THE RAGGED TIGER WENT PLATINUM IMMEDIATELY. THIS ALBUM HELPED THEM BECOME EVEN MORE GIGANTICALLY SUCCESSFULL THAN THEY ALREADY WERE PRIOR, CONTINUING ON THEIR MASSIVE CLIMB IN SUCCESS LEADING TO THEIR TODAY LEGENDARY STATUS, AS ONE OF THE BIGGEST BANDS IN HISTORY. THIS ALBUM CONTAINS GREAT HIT SINGLES LIKE- THE REFLEX, NEW MOON ON MONDAY, AND UNION OF THE SNAKE. ALL TOP 10 SINGLES. THE REFLEX WAS #1 ON THE BILLBOARD POP ALBUM CHART FOR 2 WEEKS. DURAN DURAN STARTED THEIR WORLD WIDE MASSIVE ARENA TOURS THE YEAR THIS ALBUM CAME OUT. anyone who listens to this great album will easily see why DURAN DURAN ARE GIGANTIC LEGENDS WHO CONTINUE TO GROW IN POPULARITY EVERY YEAR. DURAN DURAN CURRENTLY HAVE A STAR ON THE HOLLYWOOD WALK OF FAME. DURAN DURAN ARE THE GREATEST BAND IN HISTORY, AND ARE GREAT LEGENDS. I HIGHLY RECOMEND THIS GREAT MASTERPIECE OF AN ALBUM TO EVERYONE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Reason Why The Music Of Duran Duran Has Touched Many, Aug. 31 2003
You are basically buying this for the remastering and although it's not quite as good as some remasters' I've heard I would still have to say it has very good remastered sound. No audio bonus tracks (Or bonus video's like the "Rio" remaster) present. Insert folds out and has the lyrics to the songs but there are no rare pictures of the band other than the original album cover of "Seven And The Ragged Tiger", Which I cannot call rare. Anyways the success here in the States of the Rio albums' hits seemed like a tough cookie to top, But they did it. "Union Of The Snake" slithered up the charts to strike #3, "New Moon On Monday" rose out of the darkness to shine at #10, And finally Duran Duran got the response they wanted from the audience with the stimulating sounds of "The Reflex", Which became their first #1 single. Their only other song to get to that spot was from the James Bond movie of the same name "A View To A Kill". They had seven songs break the top 5 and almost, But not quite, Do that feat. "The Wild Boys" (to name one) stayed at #2 for four weeks. Thanks Simon, John, Andy, Nick, Roger and everyone else that contributed to the success of Duran Duran... What a ride! Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Required for your collection, but a black sheep almost., Feb. 5 2003
By 
Ryan Brenner (Texas, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seven And The Ragged Tiger (Audio CD)
Duran Duran's debut was remarkable. Rio was phenomenal. Between the two, I'm hard-pressed to pick the best. Both albums were filled with cohesive songs and there were no weak filler elements. Seven And The Ragged Tiger does however suffer from that problem. Two songs in particular bring this album down: '(I'm Looking For) Cracks In The Pavement' and 'I Take The Dice.'
With them, this album is about ***1/2 worthy. Delete them altogether and the album is a solid ****+. Replace them with, in this order, 1983's 'Is There Something I Should Know?' and 1984's 'Wild Boys' and this is a five star album all the way.
Don't think things like that should be done? Consider the fact that 'Is There Something I Should Know?' came out the same year as Seven And The Ragged Tiger but was put on the re-release of the 1981 debut album in place of the track 'To The Shore.' 'Is There Something I Should Know?' doesn't entirely fit the feel of the first album. It does fit particularly well with the likes of 'Union of the Snake' however. And since Duran Duran history has proven with 'To The Shore' that it is possible to delete a track altogether and replace it with a later track, go ahead and put 'Wild Boys' on there. It goes remarkably well with 'The Reflex.' Want to make Seven And The Ragged Tiger a 6 star album? Add 'A View To A Kill' in after 'Wild Boys.'
But to be fair, the debut Duran Duran album and Rio are two of the best albums of the era. Seven And The Ragged Tiger was Duran Duran competing with themselves and losing to a degree. Seven And The Ragged Tiger is a great album with two of the best Duran Duran singles ever (The Reflex and New Moon On Monday) and a couple of choice album cuts (Tiger Tiger and The 7th Stranger) that harken back to the darker, moodier elements of their debut (Nightboat, Friends of Mine and Tel Aviv).
Then there is the quite solid and required single 'Union of the Snake' and very enjoyable 'Of Crime and Passion' and 'Shadows on Your Side' which are comparable to likes of 'New Religion' and 'Anyone Out There,' impeccable and single-worthy.
If you are going to buy Duran Duran albums, you MUST BUY the first three, it's just that Seven And the Ragged Tiger is the weakest among them for the two problem songs alone. If you can look past those two songs, you will enjoy this album much, much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seven or Rio? Give credit where it's due., Jan. 11 2003
This review is from: Seven And The Ragged Tiger (Audio CD)
There has been much praise for this third Duran Duran album but Also, much criticism that I believe to be unfounded and unfair. I suppose it was inevitable. This album came not too long after Rio, the album that made the band a household name in the 80's. I am not writing this in any way to criticise Rio because that album is by far one of the best of the 80's and you really cannot go wrong with it--and I myself love it, but I feel that because of the popularity of that album, Seven tends to get overlooked and is constantly seen in the shadow of Rio.
The Similarities: I think what I like best about Duran Duran is the ambiance and feel that you get from the music; Lush, tropical and exotic pop pleasure. And I'm not just talking about the music videos because I have never seen any of the videos for this album but that feel is evident in the sound presented on this album. The same mysterious and sometimes eerie feeling that Rio gave you ( "The Chauffeur", "Last chance on the stairway" ) is also present here ( "Tiger Tiger" "The seventh stranger" ). Those who enjoyed " Hungry like the wolf " and "Rio" for their pure 80's pop sound will probably enjoy this album immensely.
The differences: Rio is definately more artsy than Seven.Other than their two biggest hits, The songs are lyricly deeper and the sound is less conventional than what you'd expect if you compared those two singles or anything on this album with The other songs on that album.In other words, if you were to take all of the songs from each album and put them on the radio at the time of this release ( 1983 ), the songs on this album would be much more popular because they fit the decade better. Many might find that this album is so "POP" that it has no substance to it; this is untrue. Simon's vocals vocals shine on "New moon on monday" and bubble gum pop artists would not be so creative or inspired to make "The seventh Stranger"; the best track on the album which is NOT a simple pop song but truly a sensitive and melancholy ballad with thoughtful, original lyrics to back it up.
Reasons why you should buy this: 1. Does "The reflex" ring a bell? That big hit did NOT come from Rio by the way... 2. This is the last album with all of the original line-up together. 3. This is the end of the early era( The best in my opinion ) of Duran Duran. 4. This is your best choice of all DD albums for pop lovers and those who seek GOOD 80's pop music with innovative sound. 5. If you already own Rio, DON'T snub this one; you'll regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars more like a sketchy lynx, Dec 17 2002
By 
This review is from: Seven And The Ragged Tiger (Audio CD)
Of the 3 Duran Duran albums with the original line-up, this is the one I would not recommend. Simon LeBon's vocals have gone from the confident crooning of the past to high-pitched yelps. The lyrics, although brilliant in places, ("catch me with you fizzy smile", "saw your heart turn spade this orchid's turned to black") are often unbearably cliche ("caught in the crossfire and it ain't no wind of change", "you belong to the hands of the night"). Andy Taylor's guitar licks are particularly corny here too, like bad hair-metal, especially on 'Of Crime and Passion' and 'Shadows on Your Side". All that said, it's still a fun listen if you're a fan. Fun that is, until the last few songs. The end of 'Shadows on Your Side' is haunting (unfortunately, it too suffers from the aforementioned problems of whiny singing and inappropriate guitar work). 'Tiger Tiger' is a gorgeous instrumental. 'The Seventh Stranger' is heart-wrenchingly beautiful and is suavely delivered. John Taylor's bass goes all rubbery and fretless for these final two. Maybe they dragged Japan's Mick Karn into the studio and didn't tell anyone.
Speaking of that great under-recognized British synth-pop outfit, Japan, has anyone ever noticed the striking parallel between these two groups? It always appeared to me that Duran Duran was always one step BEHIND Japan musically and stylistically. Album by album, you can see the conscious following of footsteps:
Japan-Quiet Life (1979) / Duran Duran S/T (1981) ... stark synth-disco
Japan-Gentlemen Take Polaroids (1980) /Duran Duran-Rio (1982) ... slick Euro-pop
Japan-Tin Drum (1981)/Duran Duran-Seven and the Ragged Tiger (1983) ... ethnic experimentation
Just compare band photos from each period and you can tell from that alone. Ahh, but what Japan originated Duran Duran perfected and SOLD! Plus, Duran Duran were better looking!!! And isn't that what really matters here? Style over susbstance? NO! Duran Duran put out some great albums. Seven and the Ragged Tiger just isn't one of them. Buy the first one and Rio and get to know the true heirs to the Roxy Music throne of glamour and over-the-top greatness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seven And The Ragged Tiger
Seven And The Ragged Tiger by Duran Duran (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews