Customer Reviews


273 Reviews
5 star:
 (185)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Delicate Musical Tension
Before The Wall, before Wish You Were Here, before Dark Side Of The Moon, before Meddle, before David Gilmour, there was the magical, psychedelic masterpiece that was Piper At The Gates of Dawn. An album which captures Pink Floyd at its most experimental and challenging, Piper At The Gates of Dawn embraces the essence and pushes the limitations of the psychedelic sound...
Published on July 8 2004 by KB

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THE EMPEROR HAS NO CLOTHES!
Syd Barret is NOT a genius. A genius would figure out how to survive mental illness. Pink Floyd made a career out of one mans madness. Roger Waters has been telling us for years that "Syd is a genius so listen to my stories about him". Roger made a million selling Syd's story. But one listen to this album and you'll realize that 'THE EMPEROR HAS NO CLOTHES' We've been...
Published on June 21 2002


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Delicate Musical Tension, July 8 2004
By 
KB (Lawrence, KS) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Piper at the Gates of Dawn (Audio CD)
Before The Wall, before Wish You Were Here, before Dark Side Of The Moon, before Meddle, before David Gilmour, there was the magical, psychedelic masterpiece that was Piper At The Gates of Dawn. An album which captures Pink Floyd at its most experimental and challenging, Piper At The Gates of Dawn embraces the essence and pushes the limitations of the psychedelic sound. Written almost entirely by guitarist Syd Barret, whose penchant for wild and reckless experimentation extended far beyond the purely musical, Piper At The Gates Of Dawn takes on a life wholly independent of other Pink Floyd albums.
It is a difficult, almost feral, album filled with songs that project a view of the world that is almost childish in its naiivety, and yet, at the same time, maintains a very dark, menacing edginess. It is an album which manages, somehow a very delicate tension between the whimsical and the sinister, a tension which, perhaps, reflects the personal turmoil of Syd Barret himself.
Tough to say what might have transpired had Barret not lost the edge. Perhaps his psychological collapse (brought about by the over-use of psychotropic drugs), was necessitated by the nature of the art he created: a brilliance not made to last, like a star going nova. Conjecture aside, Piper At The Gates of Dawn remains a unique artistic statement, wholly unlike anything that would be produced by the subsequent incarnation of the group following Barret's departure. It is an album which captures, in a very real way, the nature and essence of psychedelic music, and may in fact be the best Pink Floyd album.
[NOTE: for the casual Floyd fan, the incarnation of the band present on Piper At The Gates Of Dawn is the Pink Floyd you know and love in title alone. Consequently, Piper At The Gates Of Dawn make take some getting used to, particularly for those either unfamiliar with late 60's psychedelic rock or those expecting a Darkside-esque album.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First Floyd, June 30 2004
By 
Alan Caylow (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Piper at the Gates of Dawn (Audio CD)
1967's "The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn" is the one that started it all for Pink Floyd, back in the early days when bassist Roger Waters, keyboardist Richard Wright & drummer Nick Mason were led by the genius, but doomed singer/guitarist Syd Barrett. Psychedelic rock doesn't get much more trippier than "Piper," a totally far-out collection of avant-garde space rock, songs about gnomes and scarecrows, off-the-wall production and sound effects, and superb performances by a tight British art-rock band that were destined to become Rock 'N' Roll Hall Of Famers.Although he made one last "cameo" appearance with the Floyd on their second album, "A Saucerful Of Secrets" with that album's closing number, "Jugband Blues," the lion's share of Syd Barrett's legacy with the band is all contained right here on "Piper," barring a few early singles. Writing all but one song, and, with a charismatic singing voice and incredible guitar-playing skills, Barrett was truly a musical genius, and his equally-talented bandmates match him song for song. Every track on the album is a highlight in it's own right, but certainly worth mentioning are such tracks as the opening space rock of "Astronomy Domine," the before-there-was-alternative alternative rock of "Lucifer Sam," the far-out instrumentals "Pow R Toc H" and "Interstellar Overdrive," the frenetic rock of "Take Up Thy Stethoscope And Walk" (written & sung by Waters, in his debut composition for the band), the charming tale of "The Gnome," and the classic, half children's song/half freak-out finale, "Bike," which starts out cheerily enough before giving way to some deliciously wacko noises and sound effects.Sadly, and tragically, shortly after the release of "Piper," Syd Barrett's experimentations with psychedelic drugs ultimately destroyed him, and he was finally ousted from the band. Roger Waters more-or-less took over as the group's leader, and Barrett's vacated slot was filled by guitarist David Gilmour. Barrett, despite his drug-addicted state, would record a pair of solo albums before dropping out of the music business altogether. Not well enough to look after himself, he's been quietly living in the care of family members ever since. Pink Floyd, meanwhile, would go on to major superstardom and sell millions of albums, with such classics as "Dark Side Of The Moon," "Wish You Were Here," "Animals" and "The Wall." But "The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn" was the band's very first chapter, and one that would not have been possible without the great Syd Barrett. "Piper" is outstanding psychedelic rock, and a Pink Floyd classic. And thank you, Syd, wherever you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THE EMPEROR HAS NO CLOTHES!, June 21 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Piper at the Gates of Dawn (Audio CD)
Syd Barret is NOT a genius. A genius would figure out how to survive mental illness. Pink Floyd made a career out of one mans madness. Roger Waters has been telling us for years that "Syd is a genius so listen to my stories about him". Roger made a million selling Syd's story. But one listen to this album and you'll realize that 'THE EMPEROR HAS NO CLOTHES' We've been told so many times that the Syd Barret Pink Floyd period is 'pure genius' that we almost start to believe it without ever listening to a single note of the music made with him. I'm sorry Floydians, but I don't get it. Just because is hasn't been done before does'nt make it good. These songs would have drove me nuts too if I had to rehearse them over and over. I think that's why Syd has gone mad. He [stinks] and he knew it then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far from floyd but closer than you think!, Sept. 3 2006
This review is from: The Piper at the Gates of Dawn (Audio CD)
As a budding Pink Floyd fan, I got this album a few months ago as maybe the fourth after getting the mid 70s albums I knew. I heard it was genious and Syd Barrett was amazing on it. Well I bought it and 13 others. Syd gave the music a poetic stance that the band lost after while, still my favorite but hearing the band experiment and then find the sound with Meddle is awesome. This album is fantastic but it takes some open mindedness and getting used to for the main stream Floyd fan. Give it a chance and you will not be dissapointed.

Shine on Syd, you Piper and Painter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing, Nov. 22 2007
By 
This review is from: The Piper at the Gates of Dawn (Audio CD)
The opening to Astronomy Domine is the best opening of any track - play it as loud as you can!

This is a great CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Psychedelic debut!, July 27 2006
This review is from: The Piper at the Gates of Dawn (Audio CD)
Sure it's different from say - The Dark Side Of The Moon. Sure it's psychedelic and kinda weird. Still, its charm lies there. Fun and endearing, I can only say:

"I know a mouse

And he hasn't got a house

I don't know why

I call him Gerald

He's getting rather old

But he's a good mouse"

If that doesn't make you want to buy this album, nothing will! :o)

Shine on, Syd, you crazy diamond. RIP.

-Katrina
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment, June 23 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Piper at the Gates of Dawn (Audio CD)
I had really expected more from this album. The lyrics and style are a little too goofy and exaggerated for my taste. If you are a fan of Pink's 70's era music, then you'll find this album shockingly different from normal Pink Floyd.
The sounds and guitar (especially in the song "Interstellar Overdrive") I find grate on your nerves after a while, and, I find, are very annoying.
The vocals are alright, which is why i gave this three (not one) stars. If you like The Beatles then you might like the vocals in this album, but Im not sure i can compare the sounds and feel with anything else, except disappointment. For all the praise this album gets, I find it overrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The birth of Pink Floyd starts here, June 20 2004
By 
Terrence J Reardon "Classic rock guru" (Lake Worth, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Piper at the Gates of Dawn (Audio CD)
In August of 1967, Pink Floyd released their debut album The Piper at the Gates of Dawn in the UK and a month later in the US as The Pink Floyd. This was the first introduction to a band that would conquer the world in a few years time. The band consisted of bassist Roger Waters, drummer Nick Mason(credited as Nicky on this album's original sleeve), keyboardist Rick Wright and guitarist/vocalist and main songwriter Syd Barrett, whom was the mad genius of the band. The members of the band were in groups known as The Abdabs, The Megadeaths and The T-Set among others until Syd hooked up with childhood friend Roger and Roger's architectural school classmates Rick and Nick and another friend Bob Close to form the group The Pink Floyd which was named after two old Georgia bluesmen Pink Anderson and Floyd Council. Bob Close left after recording Syd's demo of Lucy Leave. Throughout 1966, the band were a concert sensation in London's underground music movement and proceeded to get a deal with EMI in Europe and was signed to EMI's US affiliate Capitol under the subsidary Tower(way before the record chain existed). The band's first two singles were Arnold Layne and See Emily Play which were both Top 20 hits in England. Then, the group's entered Abbey Road Studios to record their debut sometime in March of 1967 with producer Norman Smith, whom worked with The Beatles from 1962-65. Ironically, The Beatles were in the same building finishing their classic contribution to rock history Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band. All but one track on Piper was written or co-written by Syd Barrett. His songs were whimsical works of art. The original UK album started with Astronomy Domine, which was about going into space to explore the universe(strangely this song was eliminated off of the original American vinyl release). Next is Lucifer Sam, a tale about a Siamese cat. Matilda Mother and Flaming(which was also left off of the original US vinyl release) follow and are great songs. Next is the first of two instrumentals Pow R Toc H which grabs the attention. Next was Roger Waters' first song written for the band Take Up Thy Stethoscope and Walk which is a silly song with some excellent jamming. The second half starts with Interstellar Overdrive which was a number the band had played live before signing with EMI and was written by the band. The Gnome follows and is about a gnome named Grimble Crumble. Chapter 24 follows and is my favorite Syd track. The Scarecrow follows and is a funny song. The album concludes with the whimsical Bike(also left off the original US vinyl release in favor of See Emily Play) which then turns into a collage of sound effects and duck-call noises. The album showed Syd at his best before LSD caused his behavior to become erratic and unpredictable and his songwriting skills started to go down the drain. The US version of the album hit the lower reaches of the Billboard Top 200 while the UK version hit #6 in England and the UK version would eventually be released in the US on the double album A Nice Pair in 1973 and properly on CD on its owm in 1987. The CD sounds better now with the remastering done in 1994 by James Guthrie. Excellent start to an outstanding career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEST ALBUM EVER, June 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Piper at the Gates of Dawn (Audio CD)
If you only buy one CD in your whole life make it this one. I only vaguely framiar with Pink Floyd when I recieved this album and was not a huge fan. All i knew about was DSOTM and The Wall and stuff like that. A friend let me listen to his copy, i was astounded by how good it was!!! I can't explain why. Something about the way Syd makes all his voice slure. Something about the long periods of free form jamming. Something about the fairytale psychadelic lyrics. JUST BUY IT!!! But be warned that this album is so addictive that it'll make all your other CD's obsolete because you wont want to listen to any but this one for about a month straight. Don't be ashamed to listen to Bike 20 times in a row.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great debut cd, June 14 2004
This review is from: The Piper at the Gates of Dawn (Audio CD)
this is a masterpiece debut album from floyd.please ignore the one star reviews on this page.you should buy this fantastic cd.five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Piper at the Gates of Dawn
The Piper at the Gates of Dawn by Pink Floyd (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews