Customer Reviews


837 Reviews
5 star:
 (596)
4 star:
 (93)
3 star:
 (54)
2 star:
 (55)
1 star:
 (39)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a keeper!
This is the second album that I've purchased from the remastered 180g vinyl LP Beatles' discography, after having been thoroughly satisfied with the Abbey Road album in that series. I was once again bracing for the worst, based on some of the previous reviews of Sergeant Pepper's here.

This vinyl LP will be played back on a Linn Axis Turntable fitted with a...
Published 18 months ago by Mark J.P.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent
This album is completey overrated. All of McCartneys songs are way too poppy and cheesy. The album is Okay, but it is not a real masterpiece. If you want a true piece of art listen to any album by Pink Floyd starting from Meddle to The Wall. If you want some real rock and roll get a Stones album like Let It bleed or Exile On Main Street. This CD is WAy overrated.
Published on Dec 4 2000


‹ Previous | 1 284 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a keeper!, Jan. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the second album that I've purchased from the remastered 180g vinyl LP Beatles' discography, after having been thoroughly satisfied with the Abbey Road album in that series. I was once again bracing for the worst, based on some of the previous reviews of Sergeant Pepper's here.

This vinyl LP will be played back on a Linn Axis Turntable fitted with a Linn Ittok LV-II tone arm, a Shure V15 V-MR cartridge and a JICO Super Analogue Stylus (SAS).

There was no damage to the outer album cover or any bent edges. I carefully inspected the actual LP for any obvious signs of damage such as scuffs, gouges or warps, as well as for the much talked about "non-fill" defect - which can appear as a "string of pearls". I could find no visual evidence of any such damage. There is only a slight unevenness that can be observed when the LP is in rotation on the turntable platter, but it is not warped. The LP is also properly centered, as the tone arm does not sway from side to side during playback. When held up to a light, the LP shines nicely. There was a "shushing" sound on the lead-in track on Side 1 just before the title track, but it only lasted for a little more than a second - then it disappeared completely. There were also various points when a slight crackling could be heard during playback and it was somewhat more noticeable during "When I'm Sixty-four". At no time, however, was any of this annoying or did it detract from the overall sound quality. Despite some of these artifacts, I feel that this is a good pressing. It is not, however, as quiet as the Abbey Road LP I had purchased earlier. I do wish to emphasize, however, that the overall sound quality that I have heard from my copy of Sergeant Pepper's differs significantly from that described by some of the previous reviewers here.

As in my previous review of Abbey Road, I feel that the remastered Sergeant Pepper's LP has a very natural analogue sound despite the fact it was cut from a 24-bit, 44.1 kHz digital master tape. There are some tracks that sound as though they have excessive treble (especially "With A Little Help From My Friends" and "Lucy"), but that was precisely the artistic approach taken and the sound that the Beatles, producer George Martin and engineer Geoff Emerick had intended back in 1967. I feel that the detail, depth, soundstage and placement of vocals and instruments throughout the album is quite impressive. In this regard, the string arrangements on "She's Leaving Home" and the hand percussion on "Within You Without You" were delightful. In fact, the latter track's combination of George Harrison's sitar and other traditional Indian instruments created a profound sense of musical depth. Of course, "A Day In The Life" - my favorite all-time Beatles single - with John Lennon's haunting vocals is sublime.

I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this LP and can confidently call it a keeper. I do not at all feel that it is a bad pressing, sounds like sand paper, etc. In fact, I am becoming rather puzzled by the many complaints that I keep reading about this Beatles remastered 180g vinyl LP series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Observations, March 5 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band (Audio CD)
Just a few observations on the album and the reviews.
On the album: The music alone simply cannot account for the popularity of this release. It isn't that consistently good. I've noticed that everyone who says it's great tends to overlook its obvious flaws (Within You, Without You anyone?) The popularity of this record has more to do with its release being at a memorable time (the war, summer of love, psychedelia, etc.) than the music. Nostalia sells.
Finally, sorry, it's not a fact that everyone loves the Beatles. And yes, it is up for debate regarding the appeal of their music. 2 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's really not that good..., Dec 26 2000
By 
Ben (Adelaide) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band (Audio CD)
This receives 2 stars from me in the context of what The Beatles are capable of. Any other band recording this would receive 4 stars. As a young (21 yrs) Beatles fan, I have spent the last 3 years constantly listening to every Beatles album, and have to say that I can't see what all the fuss is over Sgt Peppers! This is the softest album they ever recorded (Paul's concept and execution primarily). A Day in the Life is undoubtedly one of The Beatles' finest songs and is possibly one of the best endings to an album ever (closely behind Tommorrow Never Knows). Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds is a dreamy, beautifully sung tune by John. With A Little Help From My Friends is OK (Joe Cocker's is much better though). Remove these three songs from the album, and you are left with some very average songs indeed. Also McCartney's vocals don't have the same range as John's and his added influence is not favourable on the music. Rubber Soul has many classics (Norwegian Wood, In My Life, Drive My Car, Nowhere Man), Revolver has some great electric songs (And Your Bird Can Sing, Taxman, She Said) Sgt Peppers definitely lacks a heart. Far from being the definitive Beatles work, I would place this well behind Rubber Soul, Revolver, Abbey Road and the White Album. For other young people considering a first album purchase of The Beatles, I would recommend Rubber Soul or Revolver. Or get Sgt Peppers if you are the sort of person who pretends to love Radiohead's 'Kid A' just to show how alternative and intellectual your musical tastes are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, Dec 4 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band (Audio CD)
This album is completey overrated. All of McCartneys songs are way too poppy and cheesy. The album is Okay, but it is not a real masterpiece. If you want a true piece of art listen to any album by Pink Floyd starting from Meddle to The Wall. If you want some real rock and roll get a Stones album like Let It bleed or Exile On Main Street. This CD is WAy overrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For the Archives, Nov. 21 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band (Audio CD)
There is some history that is still relevant today and there is other that should be recognized as influential in its time, then filed away. I own this on vinyl and have framed both the cover and the record as decoration. I never saw a need to replace it on CD, for the simple reason that songs like "When I'm 64" and "With A Little Help From My Friends" are badly dated, not really standing the test of time. On the other hand, another 1967 release, "Are You Experienced" by Jimi Hendrix, is still challenging musicians today. This cover is also on the wall, but the CD is in the player. Big difference. 2-stars at best for Pepper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not their best by a long shot, but still good, Oct. 24 2000
By 
This review is from: Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band (Audio CD)
Only Pink Floyd's The Wall is more overrated(their WORST album). The fact that anyone still thinks this the best Beatles album - let alone the best rock album - perplexs me. Sure, it is good and probably the most influential album of all time. But it pails in comparison to the White Album, Abbey Road and Rubber Soul. The reason? McCartney does most of the song writing. Now, he's alright, but his talent is not even close to that of Lennon.(look at his solo CRAP) The first 3 songs are all awesome. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds is just so trippy. When I'm 64, Lovely Rita, and Fixing A Hole are all pretty good. The Sgt Pepper Reprise leads in perfect to A Day In The Life, which is one of the best songs ever recorded. The problem I have with this album is Within You Without You, Being For The Benefit Of Mr Kite, and She's Leaving Home, which, although somewhat trippy, are still little better than filler tracks. All in all, it's certainly a very good album and certainly is listenable, but it doesn't make my top 5 favorite Beatles albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great but don't believe the hype, Oct. 11 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band (Audio CD)
This album certainly has some great tracks: "Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds," "Good Morning, Good Morning" "She's Leaving Home," "A Day in the Life" etc. However, once we get past all the mumbo jumbo about how important it is, it really doesn't compare to the two previous Beatles' albums Revolver and Rubber Soul.
Did it make rock n' roll art for the first time? Of course not. Robert Johnson was art. Muddy Waters was art. Elvis was art. Bob Dylan was widely recognized as art (and was playing rock) a couple of years before this. And, of course, the Beatles were art on their previous albums. And, thanks to George Martin, little on this album really "rocks" anyway. Ultimately it's a really great orchestral pop album (and Frank Sinatra and others certainly made orchestral pop art a long time ago).
Did it inaugurate the psychedelic era? In 1967? Are you kidding? By then the it was practically over on the West Coast.
So, in other words, buy this CD for the music, not the hype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Again, someone has to put things into perspective,,,, Sept. 17 2000
By 
meer (pepper land.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band (Audio CD)
I remember buying this album and being confused. This is supposed to be the 'best album of all time', and i couldn't hear or see that. I went on feeling guilty for a month- no, i'm not joking. The album starts out very strong and ends with an epic song, but it is VERY boring in between those two songs. I've said before that the beatles music sounds mostly like nursery rhymes and this is true here for "with a little help from my friends", "It's getting better", "for the benefit of mr kite", "when i'm sixty four", and "good morning good morning". As a matter of fact, Lennon himslef mentioned how much he hates "good morning good morning". It was a time when he had nothing to say, but they had to record music anyway. That's not the only annoying song on the album, "within you without you", anyone? This must be the worst song put to tape by a major band, EVER! I can go on with all the flaws in the album, but i'll stop here. It's just too much pain to think about these things. I gave whack pepper two stars for the first and last songs which are okay but not great by any means. I hope people who haven't bought the album yet decide not to after reading this review. That's a good ten bucks saved, use themn to buy a zeppelin cd instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The best album ever? Don't be absurd., July 27 2000
This review is from: Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band (Audio CD)
Okay. People really need to stop and think about the very important distinction that one must make between 3 key terms: "innovative", "influential", and "excellent". Because they mean very different things. Were the Beatles innovative? Absolutely. It is the general consensus of pretty much everyone that they changed the face of popular music. Were they influential? Of course! Everyone from Bruce Springsteen to Suzanne Vega was influenced by the Beatles, and it does show in many subsequent artists' creative output. Now, were they "excellent"? That's a tough question, because people have been touting them as a rock superlative for so long that we've stopped really *listening* to the music. I sat down and really LISTENED to Sgt. Pepper, with a critical and analytical ear, and I must say that the Beatles [in comparison with much of the music made SINCE they disbanded] were simply alright. Now before you rush to click the "this review was not helpful" button, hear me out. I acknowledge both their influence and their innovation, but the reason I appreciate it so much is that it paved the way for other artists to pick up WHERE THEY LEFT OFF. Did the Beatles experiment with different sound textures? Yes, but later work done with more sophisticated sound equipment was both more complex and more sonically rewarding (i.e. Nine Inch Nails, Kate Bush). Were their lyrics philosophical/interesting/original? Well, to a certain extent they did advance beyond their early lyrical simplicity, but they NEVER wrote a line as poetic as Joni Mitchell, as mystical as Peter Gabriel, or as expressive as Ani DiFranco. Now down the basics: musicianship. Were they good instrumentalists? Hmm...they could play just fine, but there weren't any Keith Moons, Eric Claptons, Jaco Pastorius', or Van Halens lurking behind those English suits. Could they sing? Sure, Paul McCartney had a nice voice and John Lennon could carry a tune (although it was rather rough at times) but they couldn't hold a candle to the likes of Jeff Buckley and Michael Jackson, who would come along many years later. In short, the Beatles were a decent group of musicians who wrote many catchy, occasionally innovative tunes and DID in fact change popular music forever. But they merely set the stage for GREATER things, and people must acknowledge that Sgt. Pepper, despite being a unique recording *at the time*, is simply not that special in comparison with things that have come along since. Now, you will probably dismiss this review as the rantings of someone who doesn't know what they're talking about, but do me (and yourself) a favor, and really stop to think. Forget about your nostalgia and the musical dogma that surrounds that matter, and be brave enough to suggest that the Beatles are the the end-all of popular music. "The Most Influential Album of the 20th Century"? Quite possibly. "The Greatest Album of the 20th Century"? Don't be absurd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, June 11 2000
This review is from: Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band (Audio CD)
This album is good as a pop album, but it's just that. It's way too flashy and because none of the stuff they had on there (circus/indian/english ballroom/soap opera type music) is not authentic, the album does not hold up over the years. I got it when I was about 13 or 14, enjoyed it for about a year, then grew out of it and haven't touched it since...
JJ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 284 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band
Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band by Beatles (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews