Customer Reviews


770 Reviews
5 star:
 (648)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Was expecting the worst, but...
Having read the many complaints about the most recent remastered Beatles 180g vinyl LP box set, I have decided to go the safer route of trying out the albums individually. At the attractive price of $16.44 on Amazon.ca, I have started with the album that appears to be generating the most controversy: Abbey Road. With all of the bitter and vitriolic complaints on...
Published 21 months ago by Mark J.P.

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars It sure stinks
The fact that Abbey Road stinks,is to me far too obvious to be ignored any longer. Saying this is NOT an attempt to make myself interesting. I agree that The Beatles made more evergreens than any other band. I love most of their material. The magic touch is however almost totally missing on Abbey Road.
John Lennon is the one that disappoints me the most on this...
Published on Dec 3 2002 by vidar


‹ Previous | 1 277 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Was expecting the worst, but..., Nov. 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Having read the many complaints about the most recent remastered Beatles 180g vinyl LP box set, I have decided to go the safer route of trying out the albums individually. At the attractive price of $16.44 on Amazon.ca, I have started with the album that appears to be generating the most controversy: Abbey Road. With all of the bitter and vitriolic complaints on Amazon.com and the rather hysterical postings on the Steve Hoffman forums that I've read so far, I was - quite frankly - expecting the worst.

The turntable used for the playback of this vinyl LP is the Linn Axis fitted with a Linn Ittok LV-II tone arm, Shure V15 V-MR cartridge and the JICO Super Analogue Stylus (SAS).

I carefully examined the album cover, sleeve and the LP itself. There was no damage to the cover whatsoever. To my surprise, the black inner record sleeve is of the type that has plastic protective lining on the inside similar to that used by A&M Records back in the day. Most other new vinyl LPs that I have purchased recently have come with a plain paper inner sleeve. I inspected the LP itself for any signs of damage - particularly the now infamous "non-fill" problem complained of on Amazon.com and the Hoffman forums. I could neither find the tell-tale "pearl necklace" markings nor any marks, scuffs or gouges on the LP of any kind. Placing the LP on the turntable platter and starting it, I looked at the disc from the side and observed that it is pretty much flat with only a very slight unevenness. Looking directly down at the turntable revealed that the LP was properly centered with no side-to-side swaying of the tone arm engaged. This LP appears to be in excellent condition visually. It shines and reflects nicely when held up to a light.

I played both sides of the LP from beginning to end. The surface noise on playback was quite normal for a brand-new vinyl LP and was in no way distracting or annoying - particularly on the lead-in and between tracks. There was slightly more noise on the lead-out, which is normal. There was none of the so-called "shusssshhhing" noise or distortion associated with "non-fill" damage caused by improper pressing at the plant. There were very few pops and tics and they were very faint. I must, therefore, regard the product that I received as a very good vinyl LP pressing. The space between tracks only revealed the faint and gentle "swoosh" sound of the grooves moving past the stylus.

As for the music itself, everyone knows that the Beatles' "Abbey Road" is one of the greatest albums in the history of popular music. The colossal hits from the album, including "Come Together", "Something", "Octopus's Garden" and "Here Comes The Sun" all sound great. The final "medley" of "Golden Slumbers", "Carry That Weight" and "The End" is also a treat - especially Ringo's drumming in "The End". I thoroughly enjoyed my first "listen-through" and found the playback warm and quite "analogue sounding", despite the fact that the record was cut from a 24-bit, 44.1 kHz digital master tape.

This vinyl LP was delivered to me in excellent, brand-new condition and displays none of the pressing issues or damage that so many other vinyl lovers are complaining about. It is a "keeper" and I fully expect to enjoy it for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow., May 24 2010
By 
Kyle Rogers "TheAwesomeBomb" (Ottawa, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Abbey Road (Audio CD)
I was looking over the negative reviews for this album, and the one titled "Falls Short" really just made me want to counter it. The reviewer said that pretty mich every song on the medley sounds unfinished. This person obviously only listened to them by themselves and didn't bother to listen to the album as a whole. What an idiot. This album is the second best Beatles album, so do not listen to any of the negative reviews, they are just people trying to be different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Amazing!, June 4 2004
By 
D. Lee (Baltimore, Md United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Abbey Road (Audio CD)
This is absolutely one of the most amazing things that I have ever heard in my life! Wow! With the exception of Octopus' Garden, this album is absolutely flawless. And it's not just that this album is flawless, this album just has a rare chemistry, spirit, and pulse that pushes it beyond just greatness. In the past eight months I have come to acquire five other Beatles albums because I was so impressed. They are all great, but Abbey Road stands at the top of the pack. I don't see how anyone could love music and not love this album. "Come Together" is an intense hard rocker that gets things off to a dynamic start. "Something" is one of the most perfect songs that I have ever heard. It does such an effective job of setting and projecting just the right mood for the lyrics. This love song is perfectly constructed and really pushes the listener to be wholly submerged in the artist' world while listening. "Maxwell's Silver Hammer" is another great song. The tone of the song is like that of a joyous childlike sing-a-long but the song is about a serial killer who preys on his victims with a silver hammer. This makes for a stark and striking contrast. "Oh! Darling"'s baseline is like some slow classy sophistafunk. This song starts off with an almost doo-wop feel to it, but then the guys crank it up into an intense hard rocker. This once again is extremely effective at drawing the listener into the musician's world and allowing you to completely lose yourself in the experience. "Octopus's Garden" is Ringo's contribution and it could have very well been omitted in my opinion. It's a well put together song but it just sounds out of place on this album. The next song is one of the GREATEST rock songs that I have ever heard. The way the singer sings the same notes that he plays right in tune with the guitar is very Hendrix-like. John Lennon completely pulls you into his world for this one and it makes for quite an intense and ultimatley cathartic experience. "Here Comes the Sun" is a beautiful and sunny song with a really optimistic undertone to it. "Because" will cause you to just zone out and lose yourself in its sonic depths. The lyrics are basically a series of ironic thought provoking plays on words that have a double meaning. They basically use words in both their literal sense and their figurative sense in the same sentence: brilliant and clever! Their voices are like fine tuned instruments that blend perfectly with the other instruments to melt into a wonderful world of bliss; sucking you in until you drown. "You never give me your money" is a great song that is really like four mini songs put together. The begin piano sets the perfect mood to allow you to stay emerged after experiencing "Because". Impeccably great! It then trancsends into a much more uptempo part of the song. This part connects with another part that is also very uptempo which speaks about getting a grip on and rising above your current situation. It then ends with a sing-a-long type chorus with a great guitar solo to go along with it. "Sun King" is like a dreamy spaced out break in a sense, and this is yet another great song. Now the famouse 'suite' begins. Listening to the ending song suite is just a magnificent experience because it just feels so perfect. It feels like timeless musical masters had come up with their grand finale, which is what this is. This album earned my total and complete respect and gratitude. I am greatful that they took the time and the energy out to make this album, and that the technology was around that would allow me to be able to experience it years later. I STRONGLY recommend this album to everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Band , Timeless Album, July 6 2006
By 
ZeppelinDude (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Abbey Road (Audio CD)
This was actually the first beatles record i listened to .. Everey song form start to finish was just great so magical so creative just a masterpiece. I like every song on this album and have no negatives for any songs, Since this was the beatles last album they kneew that they had to pull it off big .. they knew this was it ... this had to be the one that would change Music forever.. and they did i really hate hearing all these bad reviews about this album and the band.. ahow some respect dont hate this MAGNIFICENT BAND :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am amazed, Feb. 15 2006
By 
mb1000 "mb1000" (Mississauga, ON Canada (Near Toronto)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Abbey Road (Audio CD)
Abbey Road is simply great. The songs all fit together like a beautiful musical puzzle you've ever heard. Track No. 14, "Golden Slumbers" is especially wonderful. It almost brought tears to my eyes the first time I heard it. Then came track #15, "Carry That Weight". I was amazed. This album is great from start to finish. It's well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, experimentation, July 1 2004
This review is from: Abbey Road (Audio CD)
This is another excellent Beatles album.
Most of the songs are all fairly short and that's great because I don't get tired of them. they are all very experimental songs and I do believe this is an influential album. My favourite song is Octopus's Garden. I often wonder why Ringo doesn't write more songs. My second favourite song is Here comes the sun, really great song. The cover says it all about the band at the time. They'd had enough of eachother and they were going down to the recording studio to record this masterpiece before disbanding. But they don't look as though they're socialising do they? They're not looking at eachother or smiling. It's raelly interesting. They're wlaking in such a regimented form too! I am really fond of two ballads on here, Because and Sun King. I feel they really influenced the group 'America' but maybe I'm wrong. And those two songs are just excellent. Then there's rocking madness with Polythene Pam, She came in trhough the bathroom window and The End. There are also other little experimental gems like Mr. Mustard, Carry that weight and Come Together. Excellent album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Once there was a way to get back home..., June 26 2004
By 
This review is from: Abbey Road (Audio CD)
Not only is this the Beatles' most poignant album, it is also their last recorded, as many others have stated. That it begins with a bizarre plea to "come together" and ends with a beautifully constructed medley of different Beatle songs is probably no coincidence. The other three Beatle masterpieces, Revolver, The White Album, and Sgt. Pepper, can be appreciated either as a cohesive (or in the White Album's case, deliberately non-cohesive) whole, or as a fantastic collection of songs. Abbey Road takes that a step further. The first eight songs are, indeed, a fantastic collection of songs while most of Side 2 is taken up by the cohesive weaving of disparate tunes into a connected web. Side 1 is more or less rock, the highlight being George's beautiful ballad Something. Side 2, including the medley, is much mellower. The rock songs are great, from Octopus's Garden, which is easily Ringo's best song (not there's much competition) to the quirky Maxwell's Silver Hammer. John hated this song, and many Beatle fans seem to agree, but it's a lot of fun.
And Beatle fans were given one of the great moments in 60's rock 20 years after the fact, once the CD eliminated the distinction between record sides. When the harsh, hypnotic tones of I Want You (She's So Heavy) end suddenly, we're left with a brief pause before the simple, breathtaking opening of Here Comes the Sun. There could be no better expression of coming out of a tunnel of darkness and despair into the light and comfort of a new morning. Here Comes the Sun is the best song on the album and may be the best song George ever wrote. And it's one of my ten favorite Beatles songs, at least. It's followed by another beautiful song, Because, which John probably didn't think much of, but he should have. Then the medley, which is really more like two medleys. The best joining-up of a song is Polythene Pam to She Came in Through the Bathroom Window. My favorite songs are Sun King, Mean Mr. Mustard, and Golden Slumbers. You Never Gave Me Your Money and She Came in Through the Bathroom Window are unforgettable as well, while The End ends things on a rousing note, followed by the memorable Beatle coda:
And in the end, the love you take, is equal to the love you make...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Fab Four go out on top, June 24 2004
This review is from: Abbey Road (Audio CD)
This is, in my opinion, The Beatles best work ever. I say in my opinion becasue when it comes to The Beatles it is hard for fans to agree on what their best work was. That is fine becasue a case could be made for any one of their albums. Many people complain that Let It Be was an anti-clamatic way for The Beatles to go out, but it wasn't. Becasue that was not their last album that was recoreded, this was. Although this was released before Let It Be this is the clamatic ending that everyone was expectingf. I believe this album is their best for any reasons. Even with them fighting, and basically hating each other after the Get Back movie sessions, they were still able to put together yet another masterpiece. Even the unfinished songs that were thrown in on side two (on vinal) make for an amazing finish. Side one is full of great somgs which include Goerge's second best song, Something (While My Guitar Gently Wheeps is his best dispite what people say about Something) which once again proved that Goerge should have been aloud to write more songs. Come Together is the most memerable song, and is one of John's best. Maxwell's Silver Hammer makes even a song about a cerial killer seem happy. Plus many more. I highly suggest buying this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest farewell album in rock history, June 21 2004
By 
Terrence J Reardon "Classic rock guru" (Lake Worth, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Abbey Road (Audio CD)
The Beatles' swan song Abbey Road was released in October of 1969. The album was recorded at a time of great turmoil in the band as guitarist John Lennon was fighting a crippling heroin addiction and wanted to make avant-garde music with wife Yoko Ono. As a result, bassist Paul McCartney takes command and the result, arguably the band's greatest triumph. Abbey Road starts with John's Come Together which is a great rocker. Lead guitarist George Harrison's Something follows and was the huge hit from the album and is a classic even today. Paul strikes twice with the humorous Maxwell's Silver Hammer and the ballad Oh Darling. Ringo turns up some comic relief with Octopus' Garden before the first half ends with Lennon's epic I Want You(She's So Heavy). George's classic Here Comes the Sun kicks off the second half before going into the harmony induced Because. Paul's You Never Give Me Your Money follows and is a great rocker. Next is three great short songs from John which were the surreal Sun King, the funny Mean Mr Mustard and Polythene Pam before giving way to Paul's She Came in Through the Bathroom Window. The Golden Slumbers/Carry That Weight/The End medley is the greatest album closer ever and was Paul's baby. The Her Majesty was thrown in at album's end as a curveball. Today, this album is the second best selling Beatles disc while The White Album is technically the best seller. Abbey Road went to #1 like every other album. No wonder Paul, George and Ringo love this album while Lennon hated it for reasons I can't fathom why. I have gone through copies of this album since first buying this in May of 1995. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Walk Down Abbey Road, June 1 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Abbey Road (Audio CD)
Behind what may be the most famous album cover ever lies what may be one of the overall greatest records laid down by a single group of musicians: the Beatles' 1969 masterpiece Abbey Road. The album kicks off with John Lennon's hard-rocking Come Together (which ranks with I Am the Walrus as some of the Beatles' most cryptic lyrics), followed by George Harrison's tender Something, which is one of the world's most beautiful love songs and a personal favorite. Next comes Paul McCartney's strangely irresistible Maxwell's Silver Hammer, whose toe-tapping beat and fun chorus almost make you forget that it's a song about a kid that murders people by hitting them from behind with a silver hammer. Another McCartney composition follows: Oh! Darling, in which Paul puts his roaring Little-Richard inspired vocals to good use. Ringo Starr provides some light-hearted material with Octopus's Garden, a children's song in the same vein as Yellow Submarine. Then there's I Want You (She's So Heavy), another hard-rocker by John that is kept from monotony by Paul's funky bass lines, masterful variation on the two main themes, and an epic crescendo of a climax that breaks off mid-measure in typical Beatles style. Here Comes the Sun is another utterly beautiful piece by George Harrison with lyrics and arrangement that purely embody the themes around which the composition centers: springtime, growth, rebirth, joy at its purest. Simply amazing. John's Because is a tune that takes a little warming up to, but its trippy lyrics and multitracked harmonies are splendid. So ends Part I of Abbey Road.
For those who don't know, Part II is really one long suite cut down into nine songs/song fragments. It begins with the McCartney composition You Never Give Me Your Money, with several distinct sections chronicling how three different people deal with their financial situations. This segues into Sun King, which is a soft, rather relaxing song (it even has ambient cricket chirruping at the beginning) with some faux-Italian lyrics in the latter half. From there we enter a series of character-sketches, the first two of which (Mean Mr. Mustard and Polythene Pam, respectively) are John's work. The first is almost carnival-styled while the second is yet another hard-rocker that carries into She Came in through the Bathroom Window with some great ambiguous lyrics by the composer (Paul). (It's not supposed to make sense, so don't even try.) Here Movement I of the afore-mentioned "suite" ends; Movement II commences with Golden Slumbers, a touching lullaby whose lyrics are actually by a 16th-century poet, the tune to which Paul couldn't read, inducing him to write his own. Then into Carry that Weight, which incorporates a reprisal of the "Money" theme and is quite epic with symphonic George Martin orchestration and an almost chant-like multitracked chorus. The End is a suitable finale, containing Ringo's only drum solo, a rollicking duel between the three guitarists foreshadowing the guitar-driven rock of bands like Led Zeppelin and the Who in the seventies, only to close with a wonderfully beautiful lyric: "And in the end the love you take is equal to the love you make." The Beatles in a nutshell. And just to make sure we don't go out feeling glum, Paul's cheeky fragment Her Majesty is tacked onto the end after the fadeout, just for grins.
The Beatles were bar-none the greatest act this planet has ever seen, and their like shall not be realized again. With Abbey Road their swansong they could not have gone out in better style. Rocking, reflective, and cheeky fun all by turns, grandiose in its musical scope and structure, and held aloft by the finest band and one of the finest producers in history, it stands as a crowning achievement in the world of rock & roll, in the world of music itself. Your record collection is not, cannot be complete without it. I don't think I even have to say that I recommend it. Highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 277 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Abbey Road (Vinyl)
Abbey Road (Vinyl) by The Beatles (LP Record - 1995)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews