countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
820
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: LP Record|Change
Price:$166.86+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 68 reviews(4 star). Show all reviews
on October 20, 2013
Classic Beatles - on Vinyl no less. My first, original, copy was worn out. This purchase filled the void. Nuttin like hearing the Fab Four on good ole plastic. The way it was intended. Modern day playback turntables do it more than justice. It exalts the audio to new pinnacles. Good price for a reprint. Vinyl weight a little low but just means it needs more TLC. Cheers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2003
A lot of people think "Let it Be" was The Beatles last album, it's only because it was released in 1970, after "Abbey Road" was released. "Let it Be" was done back in 1968 I think that's the right year. I could be wrong about the year, but I know "Abbey Road" was their last album.
Anyway, I thought this album was really good. I really don't know what "Come Together" really means, it has the oddest lyrics. "Something" is the most beautiful song I ever heard. George did a fabulous job on that. "Maxwell's Silver Hammer" is a catchy song as well, I like that one. I really didn't like Ringo's song ("Octopus's Garden") too much. "I Want You" is a great song, a bit long, but still great. I wish there were more lyrics to that songs instead of John repeating the same line over and over again. "Here Comes The sun" another great Harrison track. "Because" is a good song, they really harmonize well. Okay, here's the down fall. From tracks 11-17; the songs are way too short. I love the song "Polythene Pam"; why wasn't this song longer? "The End"; excellent drum solo and guitar, still too short. Plus, these tracks run into each other. I wish they could've made these tracks longer; there's nothing wrong with having a short song, but as soon as you start to get into the song; it's already on the next track. I think that's the only thing I didn't like about this album. Also, they could've left out the song "Her Majesty"; it's not even 30 seconds long, what a waste of space. Overall, this album is well done, just a few short tracks. For everybody, even if you're a not a Beatle fan, give it a try. You'll love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2003
Released in 1969, Abbey Road was the final statement from a band that was collapsing from within. At this point the Beatles (especially John and Paul) were no longer friends, and the tension showed. The Fabs rehired their old producer George Martin and proceeded to release their swan song. At the time, the psychedelia of the mid-'60s was giving way to the blues-based hard rock of Led Zeppelin and later Rolling Stones and the proto-punk of bands like the Stooges and MC5. In this darker, edgier environment the Beatles' lighter and occasionally whimsical pop appeared to some passe, but their final album has aged very well.
It's clear that both Paul and John were releasing less consistent work than before, but it still stands fairly strong. Lennon's Come Together opens the album, with bizarre Dylanesque lyrics and the opening line of "Here come old flat top.." that was swiped from a Chuck Berry tune. While it's a fine song, it can't compare to Taxman, Back In The U.S.S.R, or the title track of Sgt. Pepper as a Side 1, Song 1. Maxwell's Silver Hammer is a hiliariously macabre Paul ditty that John despised. John's dedication to Yoko Ono, I Want You (She's So Heavy) is a decent song, but unfortunately drags on for far too long with its heavy, dreary arpeggios, and Because, though it features some nice vocal harmony, doesn't fare much better. However, McCartney's You Never Give Me Your Money, a sly shot at their record label, is a great way to start Side 2.
There are two things that redeem this album: Harrison's contributions and the excellent medley on Side 2. George definitely steals the show with the excellent ballad Something and the so-beautiful-it-hurts Here Comes The Sun, which will stand alongside Taxman, While My Guitar Gently Weeps, and Savoy Truffle as the best material he's ever released. The Side 2 medley consists of incomplete songs, but the way they are integrated together is simply brilliant. I especially love the marching-style chant of Carry That Weight preceded by the wistful Golden Slumbers.
The End is the last song the Fabs ever recorded, and it's definitely a fine way to wrap things up. Of note is a Ringo drum solo (the only one he did with the Beatles) and the brilliant closing line "And in the end/The love you take..is equal to the love you make." Sublime. The throwaway Her Majesty humourously undercuts this with Paul strumming his acoustic for 18 seconds.
While for me this album doesn't rank on the level of either Revolver or the White Album, it certainly deserves its classic status, and is way better than Let It Be (which consisted of Spector-ized previous sessions recorded earlier and released after Abbey Road). If nothing else, Abbey Road is worth it for that timeless cover art alone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2002
...but not quite as good as Sgt. Pepper or The White Album, in my opinion. What drags this album down a star? Two songs in particular: Maxwell's Silver Hammer and Octopus' Garden...and while I appreciate these songs, they fall solidly into the same class of filler that I would put Yellow Submarine. I loved these songs when I was 13, but nowadays they are merely quaint and interrupt the flow of what would otherwise be a perfect CD.
"Come Together" is a classic Beatles tune, "Something" is among the best love songs of all time, and "Because" is utterly brilliant!! The production is (of course) among the best you'll find from the 60's, and the level of creativity is astonishing considering that this is a recording of a band about to die.
None of the individual Beatles did anything close to this after breaking up, with the possible exception of Harrison's "All Things Must Pass".
A very solid 4 to 4-1/2 star album by a 6-star band.
As I see it:
5-Stars: If you love The Beatles, and don't mind the two songs mentioned above.
4-Stars: If you agree with what I said above.
3-Stars: If you like the "early period" Beatles better, or if you are one of those people who "like The Rolling Stones more". You know who you are!
2-Stars: If you don't like the music your parents listened to...after all, Journey was the real supergroup!
1-Star: If you don't like the music your grandparents listened to...after all, The Backstreet Boys are the real supergroup!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2002
The swan song of the Beatles proved that they could rock out right to the end of their days. Now, after listening to all the Beatles albums, I have to say Revolver's the best. This one is very good. How did they do this stuff with only 4-tracks? Anyway, this has 10 songs, with 2 medleys. The normal length songs are good. Come Together is a strange opener, but it rocks. Something is a very nive ballad from Harrison. It's got that unexpected chord change. Maxwell's Silver Hammer is silly. Oh! Darling is an old doo wop song with screaming lyrics. Octopus's garden is, well, just plain strange. I Want You is the darkest tune the Beatles ever did. Here Comes The Sun is the prettiest Harrison tune yet. Nice capo use. Because has soothing harmonies. You Never Give Me Your Money is pretty cool. It's got some cool piano stuff.
Then, the medleys come in.
I don't want to waste more time, so I will just say that it's a good comibination of ballads, psychadelic, punk, glam rock, and jamming. It's like a symphony, in a way. And then there's Her Majesty. Yea!
Well, after getting Let It Be, which came before this, where do you go from here? No more Beatles, everyone. I guess you eithr get their solo albums or just listen to the old stuff, or get the anthology. Bye.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2001
This was actually the Beatles' last album together, not Let It Be. So, as splintered as their relationships were at the time, it's a pretty good album.
Just about all the songs on here would rate a "B" or better. The exceptions might come on the second side, and they include Polythene Pam, Sun King, and Mean Mr. Mustard, and maybe another. But it depends your taste, I guess. Sung King has sort of a laid back, smooth kind of sound, which isn't all that bad, but it can get boring.
I think Come Together is a stand out track, as is Because, She's So Heavy, and Oh! Darling. Golden Slumbers/Carry That Weight is a beautiful part of the suite. The End is just all 4 of them jamming. Oh Darling is a neat bluesy/rocking song from Paul. Octopus' Garden by Ringo is a fun sounding song, and Something, by George, is very nice. John's Because is the remnant of earlier psychedelia, and is an almost mystical sounding tune.
As you can tell, each individual's work shines through, but the album still has a coherent sound to it. Too bad they couldn't just love each other and keep it up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2001
ABBEY ROAD is one of those Beatles albums that you hear once and think, "I don't like this too much," but after you hear it a few more times, you begin to appreciate each song for what it is. 1. COME TOGETHER I like this song because it doesn't make sense. It's just a jumble of words. It's pretty funny. 2. SOMETHING This song is slow and boring 3. MAXWELL'S SILVER HAMMER This is a playful yet murderous song about a boy killing people with a hammer. A nice tune, but the words don't fit the happy feeling. 4. OH! DARLING This one is pretty interesting because it has a good beat and the words are interesting, too. 5. OCTOPUS'S GARDEN I love this one. Octopus's Garden reminds me of Yellow Submarine. A happy, playful Ringo song. 6. I WANT YOU; Another slow, dingy song. No thanks. 7. HERE COMES THE SUN This is sort of a spring song. The sun is returning after a "long cold lonely winter." It's nice. 8. BECAUSE I like this one. Even though it's slow and doesn't make sense. 9. YOU NEVER GIVE ME YOUR MONEY This title is too long, they only say the title once, and I don't get it. 10. SUN KING This is a little neat because they sing in a sort of Spanish-Italian that even my mom can't figure out! 11. MEAN MR. MUSTARD A girl named Pam takes care of her "mean old man" brother. The first song in the "Mr Mustard/Pam/Bathroom Window medly. 12. POLYTHENE PAM: The second song in the medly. The music goes from Mean Mr. Mustard DIRECTLY to Polythene Pam, so don't think that your CD player is skipping. 13. SHE CAME IN THROUGH THE BATHROOM WINDOW Once again, the beginning begins quickly. It's okay. 14. GOLDEN SLUMBERS This is the first song in the Golden Slumbers/Carry that weight/The end medly. It's slow. 15. CARRY THAT WEIGHT A better beat than Golden Slumbers, and it's song 2 in medly 2. 16. THE END The words are silly. It ends the second medly. 17. HER MAJESTY This song is only 23 seconds long, but the plot line is thought-provoking. Overall, I think ABBEY ROAD is an excellent album. Get it as soon as possible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2001
If the Beatles were smart, they would've released "Let It Be" before "Abbey Road;" that way, they wouldn't have left a bad taste in everyone's mouth. OK, "Let It Be" has its moments but it clearly doesn't have the punch that "Abbey Road" has! Without question, "Abbey Road" is the Beatles most cohesive album they ever released.
Even though AR is a swan song album, one can't help but feel glad that the Fab Four saved their best for last. This album showcases the best in all of the band members, particularly Ringo Starr. Starr's drumming on "Come Together" shows what a journeyman drummer he was--truly, a creative piece of work. Too bad Starr didn't show more of that creativity on some of the group's earlier releases.
Songs like "Sun King/Mean Mister Mustard/Polythene Pam/She Came in Through the Bathroom Window" and "You Never Give Me Your Money/Golden Slumbers/The End" have a way of taking you in, up and out. You can feel your energy level rise as you listen to these songs and when you hit the crescendo, they take you down gently. Which, in some ways, seems to typify the Beatles' career.
The only thing I don't like about this album is the way it ended. It would've been better if the Beatles let "The End" be THE END! This would've been an appropriate, if not symbolic, way to close out the album. Ending it with McCartney's acoustic number "Her Majesty" kinda spoils things a bit but in the larger scheme of things, it's no big deal.
"Abbey Road" has to be one of the great classic rock albums of all times. This is one album that Beatles fans--and even some non-fans--will want to add to their album collections as it shows what a force the Beatles were in rock 'n' roll.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2001
Although Abbey Road may not be the best album, or the most popular as regards the masses, it represents a generation. It was the end of an era, the Beatles would go their seperate ways, and music was forever to be changed. The songs on this album, in my opinion, are a collective best for them; reflecting the Beatles musical maturity on the whole and as individuals. "Come Together" is a great start for the album, possibly even an allusion to the fact the the Beatles had to cooperate and put their differences aside in order to finish. The song's lyrics are a reflection of the psychedelia that was sweeping the sixties, they are fun and, although make no sense put together, make a truly memorable song. Harrison shines with his songs, "Something" and "Here Comes the Sun" showing that the "quiet one" could vocalize his feelings as well as Lennon or McCartney. Starr's "Octopus' Garden" although a catchy tune, is corny and reminiscent of a kid's song. However, no Beatles fan, or anyone who enjoys rock n' roll, should be without this piece of rock n' roll nostalgia.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2001
Something about Abbey Road makes me sad. Not only the knowledge that it was the last album the Beatles recorded, but also the sense that you can witness the band breaking up within the album itself. Even on the cover, we see John impatiently leading the way across the street, turning a cold shoulder, his face barely visible. And musically, though the first half is eclectic enough, the second half is mostly dominated by Paul's ambitious-yet-slightly-disappointing "You Never Give Me Your Money/Carry That Weight etc." medley.
I have never found any one Beatles album as wholly satisfying as, say, Pink Floyd's "Wish You Were Here" or Steely Dan's "Aja." One of the nice things about Beatles albums, though, is that there are always a few genuine classics floating around in there, and "Abbey Road" is no exception. "Come Together" is one of Lennon's best, simply one of the grooviest songs ever recorded. George Harrison is in top form with two entries, the equally sublime "Something" and "Here Comes the Sun." The latter is an absolute delight, bright, optimistic, gentle -- as uplifting a bit of music as the Beatles ever did. Finally we get "Because," which, as a dreamy expression of '60s psychedelia, almost ranks with "Strawberry Fields Forever" and "Lucy In the Sky With Diamonds."
Then there are the second-tier songs. "Oh! Darling," a takeoff on a bluesy/doo wop number, is jolly good fun, worth listening to just for Paul's over-the-top scratchy vocals and Little Richard "woos." "Octopus's Garden" deserves a place next to "When I'm 64" and "Yellow Submarine" as an utterly charming children's song. I especially like the lyric, "In an octopus's garden/near a cave." Ringo just added that little cave in there, a final brush-stroke of narrative detail. :-) I can do without the show-tuney "Maxwell's Silver Hammer," though it does achieve Paul's usual standard of competence. "I Want You (She's So Heavy)" strikes me as a missed opportunity, some great melodic/harmonic ideas, very very groovy bluesy atmosphere, and brilliant Paul bass playing -- but way too long, trying to stretch limited musical material too far. If it were four minutes long instead of neary eight, it would have worked better.
Then there is the medley, mostly Paul's baby. Certainly it's the most ambitious example of a unified, long-form experiment in the Beatles canon, and there is some great material in there -- particularly the reprise of "You Never Give Me Your Money" toward the end, and the rousing "Carry That Weight" anthem. But if you listen to "YNGMYM," you realize something chilling. Beautiful as it is, it's not a Beatles song: it's a Wings song! Note how its form (several unique song sections crammed together) foreshadows such Wings tunes as "Band on the Run" and "Uncle Albert/Admiral Halsey." The production values, including that Broadway-esque piano part, also point toward the bloated '70s. In fact, the second half of "Abbey Road" feels eerily like a proto-Wings album!
Earlier Beatles songs that were entirely composed by Paul (such as "Hey Jude," "Eleanor Rigby," and "Yesterday") were still Beatles songs in essence. But with "YNGMYM" and its sequels, something has changed. Somewhere, in that tiny space between "Because" and "You Never Give Me Your Money," something has broken -- something that can never be put back together. The Beatles are gone: the ghost is out of the machine. "Abbey Road" is like a sad ecstatic sigh, a celebration and a mourning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse