Customer Reviews


157 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars got here fast
I didn't expect to get this until after Christmas, but it arrived a week or so before. It was exactly as shown.
Published 6 months ago by Collene

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Great Start...
Radiohead started off as most bands... A confused, experimental group of guys who just wanted to sound good. And Pablo Honey does sound good---compared to all the other music out there. No, it's not legendary, and probably is Radiohead's worst effort, but it's good. It definitely does not have the complexity, musicality, and the "Radiohead" feel that the other...
Published on April 15 2004 by Yash Srivastava


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars got here fast, Dec 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pablo Honey (Audio CD)
I didn't expect to get this until after Christmas, but it arrived a week or so before. It was exactly as shown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a super! album. And one of its best in the decade., Oct. 15 2013
By 
This review is from: Pablo Honey (Audio CD)
This early radiohead album has what it contains to be a great album a 5-star: Bold,melodic, variability it's also great to hear Radiohead in its early days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pablo Honey - Radiohead, Sept. 16 2012
By 
This review is from: Pablo Honey (Audio CD)
You might recognize Radiohead as being one of music's most acclaimed groups, and while that is very true, it all had to start somewhere. Pablo Honey is Radiohead's big debut, but believe it or not, It was a relatively polarizing album among critics simply because they couldn't decide on wether the album's AAA hit: Creep (an amazing song!) was the only song worth while. I personally am one to deffend Radiohead and say that the rest of this album is worth checking out too. This album feels very grunge influenced is some cases, like in: Anyone Can Play Guitar, Creep, and You, which are some of Radioheads more "tradition" rock pieces and are the albums biggest highlights. However the album takes a much sweeter turn for: Stop Whispering, Thinking About You, and Blow Out, which are also nice songs. Sure, It's not one of Radiohead's best Albums, but it can at least hold it's own amongst the rest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very satisfied, Nov. 10 2011
This review is from: Pablo Honey (Vinyl) (LP Record)
Extreme high quality and fast shipment. This is a brand new item and was factory sealed. Nothing negative to say. Highly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the prelude to a long series of masterpieces, June 12 2004
This review is from: Pablo Honey (Audio CD)
You know your album is sub-par when your strongest single is on the disc twice. But despite the fact that this cd is only so-so, I still love listening to it. This album represents what I wish I could see more bands achieve. How many times have you listened to an album and thought to yourself, "I can hear so much potential." Even though the album isn't as great as you would like it to be, you're still applauding the effort. Occasionally, as in the case with Radiohead, a band will seize that potential and go beyond all expectations. Radiohead started out as a pretty weak band but soon became my all-time favorite musicians. This album is an important precursor to the greatness they would achieve later and should not be passed up.
As a side note, the song they became famous with, 'Creep', soon became the band's least favorite song. Through the 'Bends' and 'Ok Computer' years, Radiohead would often refuse to play 'Creep' while on tour. Last year while touring for 'Hail to the Thief', the band unexpectedly performed 'Creep' for the Atlanta crowd. Thom Yorke seemed to enjoy playing the song that he despised so much and acted playful on stage even adjusting some of the lyrics, like "I wanna perfect soul" with, "so I can look good next to you," while showing off his best feminine pose. It seemed that they were comfortable enough with their post-Creep accomplishments that they felt it was OK to play that 'wretched song'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic to have!, July 21 2008
This review is from: Pablo Honey (Audio CD)
I admit that the OK computer album is unbelievable... but this CD is very good as well. A bit more rock than the other one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Before Radiohead were interesting..., June 9 2004
This review is from: Pablo Honey (Audio CD)
...they sounded like every other guitar rock band on the planet, and if there's anything Radiohead usually aren't, it's generic.
Alas, Radiohead's debut has not aged well at all in any way. Momentary flashes of the group's later brilliance pop up occasionally (most notably in the horrendously-overplayed (yet still high quality) "Creep" and the wonderful "Anyone Can Play Guitar"), but for the most part, it's a group trying to find its voice and failing miserably, as most of this album will be forgotten as soon as you're done listening to it.
Some would say that this album was ahead of its time when it came out. No it wasn't. Radiohead sounded like every other post-grunge outfit on the radio at that time. It can't really be "ahead of its time" if its sound can be classified by the time period it was released in.
Some would also say that you shouldn't come down so harshly on this album for being such an early release by the band, and this may be true. However, just going by the differences between Pablo Honey and The Bends (their second album), the jump in quality between the two is staggering. Even the difference in quality between Pablo Honey and the My Iron Lung EP (released the year after Pablo Honey) is pretty noticeable.
Overall, what we're left with are the very sketchy beginnings of one of the greatest bands in rock and roll. Some of you Radiohead fans might be tempted to buy it just to make your collection complete. Don't. You'll probably only listen to this album once and put it away on a shelf somewhere. Your money would be much better spent elsewhere. Also, those of you thinking about buying Pablo Honey as an intro to the group should think again. The Bends makes a much better introduction to the group's sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Wait just a sec..., May 19 2004
By 
Scott (Fairfax VA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pablo Honey (Audio CD)
Any of you true radiohead fans find this album unbearable, cliche of rock that you've been hearing for the past 5 years or so (which is why we love radiohead so much; they are so unique). However, you have to notice that Pablo Honey was released in 1993. Imagine a world of rock with Pearl Jam, Stone Temple Pilots, Nirvana, and then Radiohead's Pablo Honey. Things are in perspective now, aren't they? Although Pablo Honey is, in comparison to every other radiohead album, a true bore, it is at least worth acknowleging that it was way ahead of its time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Start, April 26 2004
This review is from: Pablo Honey (Audio CD)
I'm probably one of the most unorthodox Radiohead fans. Instead of starting with "OK Computer" as my first Radiohead album, I started with "Kid A". At first I didn't like it too much, but after listening to it over and over, it began to grow on me and I eventually loved Radiohead. So I proceeded to buy OKC and "The Bends", which I really enjoyed. Then "Amnesiac" came out, so I bought that and I thought it was okay, but not up to par with "Kid A". Then, I bought the live EP, which held me over until the next album "Hail To The Thief", which is also a good album (not great, though). So that brings me to this album. This was the last Radiohead album I bought, and I have to say, it's not that bad considering all of the bad reviews I've read of it. So anyway...on to the album.
First off, you can definitely tell it was made during the late grunge era, since most of the songs are loud and self indulgent. However, the way that Radiohead performs these songs makes them a whole lot better. After this album and before The Bends, Radiohead was known as the Creep Band, but Creep isn't the only good song on here. In fact, all of the songs on here are pretty darn good if you don't start into comparisons with their other albums. My personal favorites are "Stop Whispering" and "Thinking About You" because they're the most emotional songs. But the rest of them are also really good, especially "You", "Anyone Can Play Guitar", "Vegetable", and "Blow Out". The only song I don't really like is "Ripcord" but it's still okay. Also, I'm not surprised that "Prove Yourself" is no longer played by the band, because you can imagine how many teens would be singing the lines "I'm better off dead" at their concerts, turning it into a cheesy suicide song when it's a serious song.
Overall, if you're a new Radiohead fan, you should probably start here, or with The Bends, or with OK Computer, in order to be introduced to their style. Then, you should purchase "Kid A", "Amnesiac", and "Hail To The Thief", since they're much less guitar driven and more experimental and progressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Great Start..., April 15 2004
By 
Yash Srivastava (I don't belong here...) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pablo Honey (Audio CD)
Radiohead started off as most bands... A confused, experimental group of guys who just wanted to sound good. And Pablo Honey does sound good---compared to all the other music out there. No, it's not legendary, and probably is Radiohead's worst effort, but it's good. It definitely does not have the complexity, musicality, and the "Radiohead" feel that the other CD's do but it will stand up to a lot of other mainstream CD's. And that's the one thing that isn't so "Radiohead" about this CD. It's totally 100 percent mainstream. But it's a start. For a first CD, Pablo Honey is not bad. Is it worth the money? I think so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pablo Honey
Pablo Honey by Radiohead (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews