Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sound of the Soul of France
Edith Piaf (1915-1963) was an unexpected artist, the child of a part-time prostitute and a circus acrobat, raised in a brothel, singing on street corners for pennies in Paris--until 1935, when her success at the famous Paris nightspot Gernys launched her to what would become international stardom. Notorious for her many ill-starred love affairs, attacked as a Nazi...
Published on July 8 2004 by Gary F. Taylor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sound quality very poor
The songs are wonderful but this disc needs to be re-mastered it sounds like she is singing in a box .i will be looking for future songs from this era whether it is Edith or whomever that have been re masterd
Published 18 months ago by Andrew Bowman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Edith Piaf, Nov. 20 2013
By 
Duchess "Duchess" (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Voice of the Sparrow: The Very Best of Edith Piaf (Audio CD)
I bought this CD because my husband was rather fond of the songs she sang on this CD. Since he received it last night, he has really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars marvellous, March 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Voice of the Sparrow: The Very Best of Edith Piaf (Audio CD)
hearing her voice transports me back to my wonderful European holidays.
The variety of songs are well chosen and so beautifully sung
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars C'est magnifique!, March 6 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Voice of the Sparrow: The Very Best of Edith Piaf (Audio CD)
All the best Edith Piaf songs are on this cd. Many will be familiar even if you don't recognize the French titles. Simply beautiful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly the Best of!!!, May 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Voice of the Sparrow: The Very Best of Edith Piaf (Audio CD)
I got this album for my father & he absolutely loved it!....Finding the songs he has enjoyed through the years...A good buy indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I wanted to like it, July 31 2011
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Voice of the Sparrow: The Very Best of Edith Piaf (Audio CD)
I really wanted to like this album. I recognized the name and her song "La Vie En Rose" is part of everything French. After "La Vie En Rose" in the "'Allo 'Allo! (1982 TV series)" I thought I would take a chance on this album. Well it turns out I like Louis Armstrong better at that particular song.

I found Edith Piaf's voice to be a tad raspy and with the exception of the songs that really sounded French, she just grated. Most of the songs on this album make me thing that Edith was the Connie Frances of her time. Maybe part of the problem is I only understand a handful of the words. But I was hoping the other attributes would make up for that (they did not).

The package comes with a paper insert that has a list of the songs.

The artist, born Édith Giovanna Gassion led an interesting life. You could make a movie from it. However it is her music that interested me. That is before buying this album. Don't get me wrong. It is not bad, just not my taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Edith Piaf, Feb. 11 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Voice of the Sparrow: The Very Best of Edith Piaf (Audio CD)
Another great woman in our Art, Culture & Entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, July 13 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Voice of the Sparrow: The Very Best of Edith Piaf (Audio CD)
It is a "mono" recording and lacks depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, May 12 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Voice of the Sparrow: The Very Best of Edith Piaf (Audio CD)
Not the songs I wanted. Will need to try again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, May 6 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Voice of the Sparrow: The Very Best of Edith Piaf (Audio CD)
No one like her since
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars quality cd of Edith Piaf's best songs, Nov. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Voice of the Sparrow: The Very Best of Edith Piaf (Audio CD)
Sounds good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews