Customer Reviews


167 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Re-release of this Classic Compilation....but better sound can sometimes be found elsewhere
Having collected pretty much all the Beatles' CD releases since 1987, I would like to present my considered (but by no means definitive) views on the re-release of the 'Red' Album Compilation (1962 -1966) which has been newly minted in remastered form by Apple Records.

For all fellow Beatles fans considering whether to invest (again!) in this title - I have...
Published on Oct. 30 2010 by Mr. F. J. Coop

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fanstastic Music But Horrible "Bang for the Buck"
Music: 5 stars; Economic Value: 1 Star
Not counting the Anthology albums in the 90's (which are not hit compilations anyway), the Beatles have in the last 30 years been compiled only once, on 2000's "1", an excellent overview for what it is, their best known and biggest hits. The 1973 "Red" and "Blue" compilations remain in print, and I...
Published on July 10 2004 by Paul Allaer


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Re-release of this Classic Compilation....but better sound can sometimes be found elsewhere, Oct. 30 2010
By 
Mr. F. J. Coop (Woodbridge, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having collected pretty much all the Beatles' CD releases since 1987, I would like to present my considered (but by no means definitive) views on the re-release of the 'Red' Album Compilation (1962 -1966) which has been newly minted in remastered form by Apple Records.

For all fellow Beatles fans considering whether to invest (again!) in this title - I have played and compared it, track by track, against the original 1993 CD and also against previous digital releases that hold some of the same tracks, namely The Yellow Submarine 'Songtrack' CD Album (from 1999) and The Beatles '1' CD Album (from 2000). My aim is to provide a useful, constructively-critical guide to anyone unsure about committing themselves to this purchase.

Disc 1

1."Love Me Do" - 2:23 (Mono)
I found the version on the '1' Album to have better focus to the vocals and more clarity to the tambourine than both the 1993 & 2010 Red versions.

2."Please Please Me" - 2:03 (Mono)
I think The 2010 'Red' version has better bass definition than the 1993 'Red' version and the electric guitars sound crisper, Ringo's background drum fills are also cleaner.

3."From Me to You" - 1:57 (Mono)
It seems to me that the '1' Album's version sounds less bright overall than the 1993 & 2010 'Red' versions, with John & Paul's vocals being noticeably clearer with less (distracting) delay to the studio echo which George Martin applied to them.

4."She Loves You" - 2:22 (Mono)
In my view the '1' Album has the better version of this track than both the 1993 & 2010 'Red' versions as the mix is less muddy and the symbols don't tend to wander in and out of focus, Paul's bass and Ringo's drums are also better defined.

5."I Want to Hold Your Hand" - 2:26
Although I think that the new 2010 'Red' Album version is an upgrade of the 1993 release, it's only slightly better than the version on the '1' Album, with the stereo image being slightly wider and the hand-claps that punctuate the track (which are provided by all four Beatles)sounding more lifelike.

6."All My Loving" - 2:08
I actually prefer the 1993 'Red' Album version of this track to the 2010 'Red' Album version, as the vocals and guitars appear clear and crisp in the centre of the stereo image - the newer release has them driven (annoyingly) hard right with the remaining instrumentation placed more distantly left of centre.

7."Can't Buy Me Love" - 2:13
In my view the version found on the '1' Album contains a better rendition than either the 1993 or 2010 'Red' Albums - having a bolder presentation of Paul's vocals, cleaner lead and rhythm guitars and added depth to the bass; there's also a satisfying punch to Ringo's kick-drum.

8."A Hard Day's Night" - 2:34
The 2010 'Red' Album gives a slightly wider and taller stereo image than it's 1993 counterpart, it also presents far more detailed and realistic bongos and better focused vocals, bass and electric guitars.

9."And I Love Her" - 2:31
The 2010 'Red' Album again beats the old 1993 CD release with a rendition that adds just the right amount of gain to bring out the full emotion of Paul's lead vocal, perhaps at the expense of just a touch more audible tape hiss, the trademark blocks used as percussion throughout the song also have a more realistic 'clack' which is all conveyed with better reverb & studio depth.

10."Eight Days a Week" - 2:45
The smoother intro to The 2010 'Red' Album version and its more accurate portrayal of Ringo's drums and symbols steadily builds to create an image that beats the 'splashy' mix on the previous 1993 release.

11."I Feel Fine" - 2:19
The new 2010 'Red' Album's rendition is now far less 'brittle' as the opening guitar feedback is generated and the lead guitars kick in, John's double-tracked vocal is also now clearly portrayed in the centre of the stereo image.

12."Ticket to Ride" - 3:10
I actually prefer the Beatles '1' Album version of this track, the stereo is ever so slightly wider with larger sound to the vocals, guitars and drums.

13."Yesterday" - 2:05
Again I feel that The Beatles '1' Album has the better sounding version of Paul's classic song, his acoustic guitar sounds a little more 'real' with a more audible ring after the strings have been gently strummed; the chamber Orchestra sounds fuller and cellos especially can be heard to better effect than the 2010 release.

Disc 2

1."Help!" - 2:19
In my opinion the 2010 'Red' Album version relays the best version of this superb song, the added clarity now means there is now no doubt that both 6 string and 12 string guitars exist in the rhythm track and John's pleading vocals are placed fully forward in the mix.

2."You've Got to Hide Your Love Away" - 2:11
In my opinion The 2010 'Red' Album version has the best portrayal of the tambourine, maracas and 12 string guitar used on the backing track, John's vocals are superior to the 1993 release.

3."We Can Work It Out" - 2:16
It's my belief that The Beatles '1' Album has the best sounding version of this joint collaboration between John and Paul, as Ringo's drums sound more realistic and the picture painted by backing track comprising the accordion, tambourine and symbols is more solid and crisp than the 2010 'Red' version.

4."Day Tripper" - 2:49
I think the best lead and harmony vocals of this track can be found on the Beatles '1' Album version , they also don't suffer from audio drop-out and the lead and bass guitars sound far better than the 2010 remaster.

5."Drive My Car" - 2:27
The 2010 'Red' Album now gives a clean and accurate representation of this bouncy song that beats the old 1993 'Red' album version with ease the vocal echo now gives studio depth to the lead vocal provided by Paul.

6."Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)" - 2:05
I believe The 2010 'Red' Album has the best sounding version of this song from John, the remastering now brings clarity to George's Sitar and makes is clear that there were timpani bells as well as tambourine used in the percussion.

7."Nowhere Man" - 2:44
I believe the version on The Yellow Submarine 'Songtrack' CD sits head and shoulders above those created for the 1993 or 2010 'Red' Album releases in fact the stereo image is so broad, defined and detailed it makes the other albums' versions sound almost mono in comparison.

8."Michelle" - 2:42
Starting a run of three tracks that sees the 2010 'Red' Album as the place to find the most satisfying versions, this pseudo-French song from Paul is now a step-up from the 1993 release in most departments, most obviously with the fuller bass and cleaner vocal.

9."In My Life" - 2:27
The 2010 'Red' Album continues its run with John's moving retrospective song, the new remastering bringing Ringo's drums and symbols into a fuller stereo image packed with information.

10."Girl" - 2:31
The final track in this fine run for the 2010 'Red' Album has the sultry brushwork by Ringo on his snare drum clearly sweeping around the mix with ultimate realism, the strong intake of 'breaths' from John are also now far more detailed.

11."Paperback Writer" - 2:31
I think the Beatles '1' Album gives a better view of this song than either of the 1993 or 2010 'Red' Album releases, the lead vocal stands further forward of the harmonies and the bass really drives hard.

12."Eleanor Rigby" - 2:08
It's abundantly clear to me that the version contained on the Yellow Submarine 'Songtrack' CD is the one that leaves the listener most satisfied; it has been created without the clumsy panning to the right when Paul first delivers the vocal of 'Eleanor...Rigby' and it also includes superior depth and detail to the cellos as well as conveying all the drama of the score George Martin created for the Chamber Orchestra.

13."Yellow Submarine" - 2:37
Without a shadow of a doubt the best version of this track still remains the title track from the Yellow Submarine 'Songtrack' CD, it surpasses the version on the 2010 'Red' album in every respect.

So in closing, I recommend this new 2010 release to all those new to the Beatles musical catalogue as it's the best place to start your journey of discovery - for all those others who are already 'hooked', you can buy this CD knowing most of the tracks will give an upgrade in sound quality to the 1993 release....

However, if you don't have them already, I also recommend that you buy The Yellow Submarine 'Songtrack' & '1' CD albums to fully realise the best sounding versions of these 26 tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Beatles, May 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Over 50 years later and everyone still listens and enjoys the Beatles. This CD has everything, all my favorites. Love, Love, Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beatles, Aug. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Brings back a lot of memories I wish I was back then again. I listen to them all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Dec 20 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not quite a "greatest hits" compilation, this collection lacks covers like "Twist & Shout", focussing on hits actually penned by the band. In combination with 1967-1969 (the blue album), this collection is incredible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fanstastic Music But Horrible "Bang for the Buck", July 10 2004
By 
Paul Allaer (Cincinnati) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1962-1966 (The Red Album) (Audio CD)
Music: 5 stars; Economic Value: 1 Star
Not counting the Anthology albums in the 90's (which are not hit compilations anyway), the Beatles have in the last 30 years been compiled only once, on 2000's "1", an excellent overview for what it is, their best known and biggest hits. The 1973 "Red" and "Blue" compilations remain in print, and I guess are still selling. While the "Blue" 1967-1970 compilation justifies its continued availibility on 2 CDs, one really has to question why the "Red" 1962-1966 compilation does.
"The Beatles 1962-1966" (26 tracks) clocks in at 62 min., way below the capacity of a single CD, yet remains on the shelf as 2 CDs (along with a heftly $31 retail price). This is nothing short of ripping off the buying public, in my opinion. The reason given by the label management is "to keep the integruity of the original vinyl issue", but is anyone really buying this? Shame on them!
The music on the "Red" album is of course stellar, that's not the point. Maybe it's too soon yet after the "1" compilation, but hasn't the time come for a definitve 2CD compilation of the Beatles, along the lines of, say, "The Essential Bob Dylan", maximising the capability of 80 min. of a CD?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Be realistic, Nov. 7 2003
This review is from: 1962-1966 (The Red Album) (Audio CD)
In retrospect, the early beatles songs have quite a lot of filler that would now try most peoples patience.The only album represented on this compilation that really deserves more attention is revolver.Get 62-66 & revolver and you will have all of the pre-sgt.pepper beatles you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hits and Classics from the Beatles early period, Feb. 18 2003
By 
Jack Fitzgerald "JFD" (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1962-1966 (The Red Album) (Audio CD)
The Beatles 1962-1966, also known as the "red" album, along with its counterpart, 1967-1970, the "blue" album, make a great starter combination for new fans.
1962-1966 is packed with great music, from the early hits "Love Me Do" and "She Loves You" to the beginning of the experimental era with "Eleanor Rigby" and "Yellow Submarine." You get all the key A-side singles not found on the regular releases, such as "I Want to Hold Your Hand" and "I Feel Fine" plus essential album tracks like "Yesterday" and "Nowhere Man."
Yes there are plenty of omissions, but the 26 tracks are all classics. I also agree that Rubber Soul is weighted over Revolver, and that there should have been a couple George Harrison tunes. And here's a final quirk. A cassette version I listened to a lot in college had the original soundtrack intro to Help!, a James Bond-like bit that gave the disk a bit of humor. That has been deleted here. I don't know why. There is plenty of time on the disks.
Oh well, you still can't go wrong with this collection, plus you get the lyrics in the liner notes and some fun shots of the Beatles as the mature through the 1960s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Anthologies that Got It Right Part 1, Oct. 4 2003
By 
Tim Brough "author and music buff" (Springfield, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1962-1966 (The Red Album) (Audio CD)
In just four short years, The Beatles completely turned the world of music on its head. We all know that part. But even with the mere 26 songs on "1962-1966," it's hard to conceive of this much youthful energy consistently formulating such timeless brilliance. As primitive as some of the early singles may sound after forty years, you can't argue that they still leap from the speakers and demand that you jump up and pay attention.
Within two years, The Beatles were already experimenting with sounds and structures (that gripping single chord that opens "A Hard Day's Night"; the feedback that slices into the beginning of "I Feel Fine") in a fashion that all but dared anyone else to not take up their lead. Then, all of a sudden, there's "Yesterday." How could these so-called "mop-tops" ever come up with a song so emotionally powerful?
Disc two makes the case for The Beatles' burgeoning influx of psychedelia. "Help!" was John Lennon suddenly performing songs that had lyrics for grown-ups. George Harrison discovered the sitar ("Norwegian Wood"). And with "Nowhere Man," "Paperback Writer" and "Eleanor Rigby," they began to display a range of topics that moved far away from interpersonal boy meets girl love sings and into the world of characters that inhabited an outside world. It was just a half step from the church of Father Mackenzie to Billy Shears' and his band.
There will always be those that bicker over which songs would have suited this set better. Frankly, the individual albums are more than capable of supplying any number of different personal favorites on a given day. As for a real juicy snack of amazing music, I'm happy to have "1962-1966" here to put in my player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Red and Blue, Sept. 4 2010
This review is from: 1962-1966 (The Red Album) (Audio CD)
The Red and Blue collections remain the best introduction to the music of the Beatles. The problem with these collections is that they were released in the days before CDs and thus do not contain as much music as can be fitted onto four compact discs. They were great value as LPs, not so much as CDs. Some day we may see other collections, but until then, if you want the best of the Beatles as opposed to buying some or all of their studio albums, this is what you should get. Covering the years 1962 to 1966, it is very hard to find fault with the song selections. I can think of songs to add - This Boy, It's Only Love, Taxman - but none that I would exclude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "The Red Compilation", Jan. 1 2008
By 
Tommy Sixx Morais (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 1962-1966 (The Red Album) (Audio CD)
In 1973 two Beatles compilations were released,the first being 1962-1966 recognizable by its red cover and the second one is 1967-70 with a blue cover covering a specific era of The Beatles`s career.These were double LPs at the time and with their CD release they kept it that way,with the double discs.As with every other compilations there are complaints to be made,this one is no exception to the rule in fact it has its share of problems as well.It is however a very good choice to start with the 1962-66 and 1967-70 compilations if you get them both you will get a good idea of the band and all.It might not be the best(and its not with the more recent greatest hits such as 1 and Love) but its still worth taking a look at but there ain`t nothing new on this one be advised its just a plain greatest hits.My complaints about this compilation is that it states 1962-1966 when there is nearly no material from 1966!There are only two songs from Revolver wich is actually one of their greatest albums,Rubber Soul on the other hand despite being really great,has more than five songs here wich is way too much.Otherwise the tracklisting is pretty good,each of the albums they did between 62 and 66 are covered some maybe more,some less but still its all covered and that`s a good thing.The fact that they could have added more songs to this one is not too overlook as all those songs could fit on one CD,the material altogheter is barely 60 minutes but they still putted it on two discs.Instead they should have added more songs but i guess they wanted to keep it exactly like the original,wich they did really well.There is nothing new at all with this compilation album except its on CDs,no new songs,videos or anything while they could have added unreleased tracks as there were plenty from that era but they just made it real easy and just remastered everything.You have 26 great songs for the most part and The Beatles are such a great band and they really are worth getting into if you are wondering.Overral at the time it was released this was alright but not by today`s standarts,still the songs remains the most important and if that`s what you`re looking for this is not the best place but still a good place.It is interresting to note that in 1973,their fans were still waiting for the Beatles to regroup again but it never did happen,i doubt seriously that this greatest hits did anything great to their career maybe except give the members a little cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1962-1966 (The Red Album)
1962-1966 (The Red Album) by Beatles (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews