Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whitney Houston: The Bodyguard...sold 20 million copies with Whitney at her pinnacle!
Whitney Houston has suddenly passed away at the tender age of 48. She has led a tumultuous life, with drug abuse, resulting in the ultimate sacrifice: the loss of her golden voice and her life. According to Tommy Mottola, the boss at Sony, he rightly said that Whitney Houston's voice at the beginning of her career was considered the golden standard, to be imitated by...
Published on Feb. 12 2012 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good But Uneven Album
If it weren't for songs like "I Have Nothing," "Queen of the Night" and "Run to You," I'd probably give this album only two stars. With the exception of "I Will Always Love You," the Whitney Houston selections really make this album while the rest of the material is merely second-rate.
"I Will Always Love You" is one...
Published on April 6 2001 by quasar_909


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whitney Houston: The Bodyguard...sold 20 million copies with Whitney at her pinnacle!, Feb. 12 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bodyguard (Audio CD)
Whitney Houston has suddenly passed away at the tender age of 48. She has led a tumultuous life, with drug abuse, resulting in the ultimate sacrifice: the loss of her golden voice and her life. According to Tommy Mottola, the boss at Sony, he rightly said that Whitney Houston's voice at the beginning of her career was considered the golden standard, to be imitated by other singers that follow.

To truly appreciate the raw talent of Whitney, a greatest hits album is simply not enough. She has 19 charted albums on Billboard 200 Album Chart. The Bodyguard is the best selling album of Whitney Houston with 20 million sold, and it stayed at Number 1 at Billboard Top 200 Album Chart for 20 weeks. It also won the Grammy for Album Of The Year.

The best song from this album is of course the very beautiful I Will Always Love You. I will never get tired of listening to this song. Her rendition truly showed off her golden voice, with so many different levels of octaves that she could effortlessly soar up into the sky above. Simply magnificent and majestic!

The song listing is already listed in the website. So I am not going to repeat here. But there are actually two versions of this soundtrack: one the standard soundtrack with 12 songs, the one you are reading, and a second one, called Special Commemorative Edition, with 3 bonus tracks: Waiting For You by Kenny G, I'm Every Woman (Clivilles & Cole House Mix I) and Queen Of The Night (CJ's Master Mix), both by Whitney Houston, plus a special picture calendar for 1994, with 12 beautiful pictures of Whitney. This deluxe edition is a collector's item now, not readily available. But if you see it, get it.

The Bodyguard represents the pinnacle in Whitney's career, when her stars shine the brightest. Her voice cannot be matched anywhere at that time. She was simply unstoppable. This album is highly recommended and is a must-own as part of your Whitney Houston collection.

UPDATE:

One week after Whitney's passing, Whitney's Greatest Hits has re-entered the Billboard 200 Album Chart at #6, while her previous chart-topper I Will Always Love You re-entered the Billboard Hot 100 at #7! In The Catalog Album Chart, Whitney's Greatest Hits reigned supreme, re-entering at Number 1, while her first album, Whitney, re-entered at Number 5 and The Bodyguard Soundtrack at Number 7. Amazing feat!

MORE UPDATE:

Bodyguard (blu ray) is being released on March 27. The way to get the cheapest price is to pre-order as soon as the item is announced. Right now, the price is only $13.99. This price is bound to go up later. So, if you want to see Whitney in HD, singing I Will Always Love You in HD audio, order now. You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars merci pour le service, March 17 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Bodyguard (Audio CD)
bonjour juste quelques mots pour dire que je suis très satisfaite du service,,,super bon cd et super vite posté..
merci beaucoup et je vais surement recommander
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate Whitney Houston album!! This is a classic!!, Sept. 23 2006
This review is from: The Bodyguard (Audio CD)
You can't forget the love theme from the movie, The Bodyguard. I Will Always Love You emerged in 1992 with 14 weeks at No. 1. and for four years it was the longest #1 single on the Hot 100 singles chart until One Sweet Day with Mariah Carey and Boyz II Men and We Belong Together also from Mariah Carey in 2005. Run To You, I Have Nothing and I'm Every Woman were huge hits for this diva- whose popularity took a dive after the Bodyguard soundtrack and her last two albums failed to generate any interest. Well, Whitney Houston will be remembered for this awesome soundtrack and this soundtrack produced one of the greatest songs of all time. I Will Always Love You is one of the best love songs of all-time and this album is a must-have for every Whitney Houston fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The true DIVA soundtrack album for Whitney!, June 15 2004
By 
This review is from: The Bodyguard (Audio CD)
All of the six songs that Whitney Houston sang for "The Bodyguard" soundtrack show her as a true diva taking control! Every time I hear "I Will Always Love You", I get chills! It is so perfectly done, so beautiful, and you can't be moving around, because Whitney's taking center stage and running the show when she sings it! The other songs are just as good, such as "I Have Nothing", "I'm Every Woman", "Jesus Loves Me", "Run to You" and her no-nonsense dance number "Queen of the Night."
The other album's half is okay, typical soundtrack stuff, but I love SOUL SYSTEM's rapped-sung "Lovely Day" and Lisa Stansfield's "Someday I'm Coming Back." The Kenny G song and the theme from the Bodyguard are also good. But the true album's standout is Whitney! I can see now why it's sold over 24 million albums or so to date! A diva at her highest level!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 For Whitney, April 18 2004
This review is from: The Bodyguard (Audio CD)
Whitney really delivers on this album. I love it. She sings I will always love you. A true hit. She also sings Im Everey Woman a remake of Chaka Khans origianal song. And my favorite song she sings here. Run To You. Where she hits a High E over Middle C a difficult note to sing. I love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!, Nov. 9 2003
By 
This review is from: The Bodyguard (Audio CD)
Whitney's always love you song is much better in my opinon than the original. She stretches her vocals to new heights. Every song on this album has something to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY NICE SOUNDTRACK!!!, Oct. 10 2003
By 
A. R SCOTT "Alesha Scott" (Houston, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Bodyguard (Audio CD)
Exceptional singing but Whitney already has a nice voice to go with it . These songs are very nice and very well picked so I would truly reccommend anyone who likes whitney to buy this album !!!! Whitney really delivers on this album!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Diva in her prime, Sept. 11 2003
This review is from: The Bodyguard (Audio CD)
"The bodyguard" probably shows Ms Houston in the pinnacle of her career. Her vocals have finally matured and sound better then ever. The powerhouse megahit "I Will Always Love You" originally written/sung by Dolly Parton spent over 14 weeks at the number one chart, making it one of the longest number one hits on the charts. David Foster is the primary producer of her radio hits, doing his best and succeeds at imitating "Babyface"'s work. The highlights are obviously Whitney's hits, such as the soulful "Run To You" and "I Have Nothing." I also enjoy the down-right FUNKY remake of Chaka Kahn's "I'm Every Woman" as well as the sassy powerhouse hit "Queen of the Night." The second half of the album features such artists as famed Saxophonist Kenny G, soul legend Aaron Neville and her mother Cissy Houston. "The Bodyguard" shows Whitney's voice at her best, and the Gospel track "Jesus Loves Me" prooves that as well. I really reccomend this soundtrack to anyone who enjoyed the radio hits and is clammoring for more Whitney!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loving Through Whitney., June 27 2003
By 
Rev Edith (Carlisle, Pa, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bodyguard (Audio CD)
Whitney Houston....What is she all about? Well the girl can sing and there is no two ways about that. Her albums feature songs for everyone..I mean when she sings...you listen to the words and whatever your emotions are at that moment, she touches them. cry, laugh, love, inspire, encourage....and I mean that.
"I will Always Love you"anyone in a relationship at that time had to be more inspired to treat your gal/guy as your precious love above all. "Run To You" would make you get off the stick and commit if you had not already done so. I mean Whitney and only Whitney can take a song and make those words feel and even 'talk' to you. She's the balm and frankly in the music world she has not received her just due. Her pipes are unmatched.Keep on keeping on...don't stop..The Best Is yet to come.I bought the CD after I saw the movie "The Bodyguard." and for the last three or more years I play the CD and watch the movie over and over again. There is a message in her songs and Whitney puts all of herself into her songs...she makes them her own even when they are written by another. She is commanding and that also comes out in her talent and God-given abilities to use that talent to be more than an entertainer.She entertains yes, but its deeper than that. She inspires.In my profession that means much..to inspire others to seek meaning in their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Whitney Houston's soundtrack rules as the Queen of the Night, May 30 2003
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Bodyguard (Audio CD)
There have been a lot of successful soundtrack albums from "West Side Story" and "The Sound of Music" to "Grease" and "Titanic," but in all of those cases the movies were big successes as well. However, in the case of "The Bodyguard" the album was way more successful than the film selling over 15 million copies, spending 20 weeks at the top of the charts, and winning the Grammy award for Album of the Year. Then there was the hit single, "I Will Always Love You," a powerful cover of Dolly Parton's sweet little song, which hit the #1 spot on the Billboard singles chart and stayed there for 15 weeks. Of course where "The Bodyguard" was different from most soundtracks was that the leading lady not only did her own singing but happened to be at the top of her game. True, she only sang the first six songs on the album (what would have been the first side of the record back in the olden days), but these were songs that sounded like Houston was still recording "I'm Your Baby Tonight," except with better songs. Consequently, there is nothing here that is regarded as a stretch for the singer turned actress (compare the results with what Bette Midler had to do in her first film, "The Rose"; Midler is a pretty good singer but Janis Joplin-type songs are not her forte).
Most of the other songs made it high up on various charts: "I Have Nothing" was #4 on the Billboard Hot 100, "Run to You" was #10 on Adult Contemporary, "I'm Every Woman" was #1 for Hot Dance Music/Club Play; and "Queen Of The Night" was #1 for Hot Dance Music/Club Play. For four years the album made it to the top spot on the Billboard Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums. If you want more of an explanation for the album's success than Whitney Houston's voice and Kevin Costner's buzz cut, then the variety of charts these songs covered evidences its widespread popularity. The only serious complaint is that Houston only does the first half of the ablum and the rest is just the sort of filler than usually makes its way onto soundtrack albums in the last decade or so even if having Kenny G, Aaron Neville, and Joe Cocker doing the filling was above average. But in comparison to the way the album started the second half could not help but suffer in comparison. There had not been a soundtrack so "A" side "B" side since the Beatles put out "Yellow Submarine" and I just cannot round this one up when it comes to the rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bodyguard
The Bodyguard by Various Artists (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews