Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of The Outlaws
I have always loved there singing and dueling guitars this band is totally amazing if you like 38 special you will like this band.
Great cd would recommend it to anyone also check out " The Outlaws lady In waiting "
Thanks amazon.ca
Published 2 months ago by Lone Wolf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lopsided Compilation
At their height, the Outlaws were a formidable band capable of riveting hard rock ("Green Grass & High Tides"), lilting country ballads ("Girl From Ohio") and stomping, hell-raising hoedowns ("Knoxville Girl").
Their brilliant 1975 debut ('The Outlaws') was an excellent representation of their abilities. Such was that album's skillfull melding of hard and soft,...
Published on May 13 2002 by R. Mix


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Best of The Outlaws, April 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best of Green Grass & High Tides (Audio CD)
I have always loved there singing and dueling guitars this band is totally amazing if you like 38 special you will like this band.
Great cd would recommend it to anyone also check out " The Outlaws lady In waiting "
Thanks amazon.ca
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Collection From The Ultimate Band, Dec 16 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of Green Grass & High Tides (Audio CD)
BEST OF THE OUTLAWS: GREEN GRASS AND HIGH TIDES is the ultimate collection from the greatest rock & roll band of all time, the Outlaws. I love all of the Southern bands, as well as other classic rock, hard rock, metal, jam, power pop, country, adult alternative, new wave, and modern rock bands, but the Outlaws take the pizza for being the cream of the crop. Get BEST OF THE OUTLAWS: GREEN GRASS AND HIGH TIDES, BRING IT BACK ALIVE, OUTLAWS, HURRY SUNDOWN, LADY IN WAITING, PLATINUM & GOLD COLLECTION, THE HERITAGE COLLECTION, THE ENCORE COLLECTION, DIABLO CANYON, HITTIN' THE ROAD LIVE, and SO LOW all at once if possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Collection From The Ultimate Band, Oct. 5 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of Green Grass & High Tides (Audio CD)
This is the ultimate collection from the ultimate band in rock & roll. Sure, I love Lynyrd Skynyrd, Blackfoot, Molly Hatchet, The Allman Brothers Band, Little Feat, and all of the other Southern rock groups, as well as numerous classic rock, hard rock, metal, country, jam, modern rock, new wave, power pop, and adult alternative artists, but the Outlaws take the pizza for being the best. The Florida guitar army has perfected a unique blend of sweet vocal harmonies, lightning guitar riffs and leads, rocking rhythms, and catchy songs that makes such groups as Warrant, Great White, Guns N' Roses, or Pearl Jam sound like Bread by comparison. This album is an absolute must for anyone interested in rock & roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Collection From The Ultimate Band, Oct. 5 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of Green Grass & High Tides (Audio CD)
This is the ultimate collection from the ultimate band in rock & roll. Sure, I love Lynyrd Skynyrd, Blackfoot, Molly Hatchet, The Allman Brothers Band, Little Feat, and all of the other Southern rock groups, as well as numerous classic rock, hard rock, metal, country, jam, modern rock, new wave, power pop, and adult alternative artists, but the Outlaws take the pizza for being the best. The Florida guitar army has perfected a unique blend of sweet vocal harmonies, lightning guitar riffs and leads, rocking rhythms, and catchy songs that makes Warrant, Great White, Guns N' Roses, and Pearl Jam sound like Bread by comparison. This album is an absolute must for anyone interested in rock & roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure of the genre, July 29 2003
By 
Edward H. Welbon "epiphenomenalist" (Austin, Tx United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best of Green Grass & High Tides (Audio CD)
A good starting point for those unacquainted with the Outlaws and excellent collection of favorite/familiar tunes for fans. The mastering is crisp and clean which complements the crisp Fender guitar sounds. This offering has substantial representation by both Hughie Thomasson and Henry Paul. And yes, I admit to liking "Green Grass and High Tides" (so sue me). While I wish Thomasson and Paul would contribute some new Outlaws music, I guess that's like wishing that Larry Niven would write a new novel comparable to Ringworld. At least we have these recordings...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Rock Collection, June 11 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of Green Grass & High Tides (Audio CD)
This collection of great songs by the Outlaws is the best album ever made. I love Skynyrd, Blackfoot, Molly Hatchet, the Allmans, Marshall Tucker, Little Feat, and plenty of other Southern rock, classic rock, hard rock, jam, metal, country, power pop, modern rock, and adult alternative bands, but these guys take the prize for being the best band of all time. Their blend of sweet vocal harmonies, lightning guitar riffs and jams, rocking rhythms, and great songs is the ultimate in rock & roll. BEST OF: GREEN GRASS AND HIGH TIDES sizzles like a plate of smoky beef short ribs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Outlaws Album from Mid-Nineties, Oct. 25 2002
By 
Vincent (Fort Collins, CO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best of Green Grass & High Tides (Audio CD)
In response to Dave Kelley: I just saw your review. The name of the album from the mid-90s that you mentioned is "Soldiers of Fortune". I've been looking for it for years as well. They have a newer album called "So Low", which my son found for me. It's tremendous, I think, but not as tight as their older stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smokin' Songs, Flaming Guitars, Sept. 6 2002
By 
This review is from: Best of Green Grass & High Tides (Audio CD)
This Outlaws anthology is great. This is their first album you should buy. In fact, it would have been even better as a double- or triple-disc/cassette set. This band was a prototype not only for a great deal of the newer country artists and bands, but also for most of what we consider hard rock today, in addition to the jam-band sound of such groups as Widespread Panic. Not only are these guys true originals, but they make most so-called "hard rock" sound about as revolutionary as James Taylor or Dan Fogelberg. Any reasonable person MUST own this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite- May I Give It 100 Stars?, Sept. 5 2002
By 
This review is from: Best of Green Grass & High Tides (Audio CD)
As you may or may not know, the Outlaws are the greatest rock & roll band of all time. I like many southern rock, hard rock, AOR, classic rock, country, jam, power pop, adult alternative, new wave, alternative, and modern rock bands, but these guys take the pizza for being the best. This album contains all of their best tracks, but a double- or triple-disc/cassette set would have been even better. As it is bands like Soundgarden and Guns N' Roses are infants' stuff compared to these guys, who combine lightning guitar runs with white-hot country-boogie tunes. If you want gut-rippin', smokin' guitar bar-b-que, the Outlaws are your men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lopsided Compilation, May 13 2002
By 
R. Mix "Funkingroovin" (Chicago) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best of Green Grass & High Tides (Audio CD)
At their height, the Outlaws were a formidable band capable of riveting hard rock ("Green Grass & High Tides"), lilting country ballads ("Girl From Ohio") and stomping, hell-raising hoedowns ("Knoxville Girl").
Their brilliant 1975 debut ('The Outlaws') was an excellent representation of their abilities. Such was that album's skillfull melding of hard and soft, rock and country, that it went gold within weeks of its release. Not an inconsiderable feat for a largely-unknown band operating on a brand-new label without a multi-million dollar hype machine behind it.
More likely for the album's commercial success (besides its obvious musical merit) was a slot opening for the Doobie Brothers on their Fall, 1975 'Stampede' tour. At a September date in the old Chicago Stadium, the Outlaws turned 20,000 hard-core Doobie Brothers fans into instant converts. I was among many who were brought to their feet by "Green Grass & High Tides" that night, and by the end of the raucous "Knoxville Girl", was hootin' and hollerin' like a life-long cowboy.
I wasn't alone in the thought that I could've gone home at that point, feeling completely that I had gotten my money's worth. To myself and anyone else who saw this early incarnation of the Outlaws, it marked them as a band to watch.
They didn't always follow up on the promise of that sterling debut, but they did manage another fine LP (1977's 'Hurry Sundown') and recorded much else that deserved to be heard. Unfortunately, they are today an unjustly forgotten member of what was then known as "Southern Rock".
Which brings me to Arista's remastering and reissue program of the first three Outlaw LPs and the release of a new compilation: 'Best Of The Outlaws...Green Grass & High Tides'
No Outlaws fan would quibble with the fact that nearly a third of the CDs tracks (5 of 16) are from the debut. As mentioned before, it's wonderful. And the inclusion of "(Ghost) Riders In The Sky"? Of course. It was their last hit. "You Are The Show"? Okay. Even though 'Playin' To Win' (their fourth LP released in 1979) was a middling affair, it had a few nuggets worth remembering.
My problem with this collection is the under-representation of 'Hurry Sundown', represented here by a measley two tracks. That's what 'Playin' To Win'--a vastly inferior album--got. And why is 1976's 'Lady In Waiting'--an infuriatingly uneven album--represented with more tracks than any other Outlaws album? (Which isn't to say it's a bad album--just an uneven one. Indeed, the aforementioned "Girl From Ohio", "Prisoner" and "Freeborn Man" are wonderful and completely deserving.)
But virtually any of 'Hurry Sundown's seven remaining tracks would be an improvement over the utterly forgettable "Breaker Breaker", "South Carolina", "Stick Around For Rock & Roll" and "Take It Anyway You Want It". As would an especially hot live track or an illuminating demo.
The remastered sound is great, the liner notes informative, but I've docked 'Best Of The Outlaws' a star because of its weak track selection that leaves one of the band's essential albums practically unrepresented.
And that's a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best of Green Grass & High Tides
Best of Green Grass & High Tides by The Outlaws (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews