Customer Reviews


225 Reviews
5 star:
 (209)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the all time Best Rap album/Artists! CLASSIC!!!
Wu Tang Clan is my favorite rap group,
A combination of Rap and Old School Chinese Martial Art Movie.
They always [ok, actually is their early days] keep dirty, grimy, raw and dark!
That's all of their charisma!
Group with ith 9 unique rappers,
and many of them is well-known Best rappers in rap game!
Enter The Wu-Tang 36 Chambers is the album...
Published on July 7 2004 by TKitO

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Music awesome, Vinyl was warped
Obviously I got this album because I love it. It obviously met my expectations. Wu tang clan is one of the best hip hop groups to ever have been formed.

the only down side is that the vinyl came warped. which i'm not pleased with. but it sounds fine.

long live the wu!
Published 15 months ago by alessandro


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Instant Classic, May 19 2003
By 
This review is from: Enter the Wu-Tang (Audio CD)
The Wu-Tang Clan took the Lost boro of Staten Island and transformed it into the lyrical poetic super-power of Shaolin. Using clips from Martial Arts films, and incorporating The Shaolin fighting style into their already deep rooted lyrics, Wu-Tang has brought something eye-popping, thought provoking and smart to the rap/Hip-Hop game. The RZA, a beat genius, takes unorthodox piano keys and eccentric loops to create the theme and setting for this dark walk through Staten Island and Brooklyn's Hip-Hop scene. RZA, ODB, GZA, Masta Killa, Raekwon, Ghostface Killah, U-God, Inspektah Deck, and Method Man are the clansman. They all have they own fighting style and all deadly with their Liquid Swords. Complex metaphors and strange punchlines incorporated with deep words of poetry make this cd an incredible edition to a real Hip-Hop head's collection. In my opinion, The GZA(the head of Voltron) who is the oldest member of the Clan is the best lyricist and MC(mic constructer). He is a walking metaphor. He tries to make everything as metaphorical as possible, and you can see a little bit of how dope he is on CLan in Da Front. But every Wu member is ill in their own way. SHaolin is on the Hip-Hop map forever. And with this revolutionary debut, Wu has given birth to Killarmy, Wu Syndicates, Sunz Of Man, and Gravediggaz. All and All, The RZA's beats and the madd nasty lyricism of all the CLan's liquid swords make this a Hip-Hop classic and one of the greatest cds of all time. ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 36 chambers aint nothing to [mess] with, April 8 2003
By 
Scott (Portland ORE) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Enter the Wu-Tang (Audio CD)
of all the cd's i have listened to, 36 chambers has to be one of my favorite. the raw energy that the wu come with on their debut is unmatched. couple that with the influence and impact this cd made and it is easily one of the top 10 cd's of any genre in the 1990's, if not EVER.
bring da ruckus starts the cd off with what will become a wu trademark....kung fu samples interlaced in the tracks. the low tech beat lets you know that you are in for something completely unlike anything you have ever heard. the production by the rza sets up not only several successful albums by the group together, but at least 1/2 dozen solo careers. rza's production is one of a kind...and the stripped down version of rap in 36 chambers is arguably his masterpiece
perhaps the only "mediocre" track is shame on a nigga, track #2. still, this track is only one that you skip knowing that the remaining 10 tracks are nearly flawless.
da mystery of chessboxin, method man, tearz, and clan in da front are my favorite tracks....though it is hard to pick. honestly i like all the tracks except shame on a nigga...
if you like anything by method man, jedi mind tricks, or just want to see rap reduced to the raw beat and flow...pick up this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitly a Top 10 Album, March 21 2003
By 
This review is from: Enter the Wu-Tang (Audio CD)
This is without a doubt one of the best albums found in hip-hop today. This is also the LP that inspired me to be a rapper. Some of the hardest and best metaphors can be found on this one CD. (I developed my style from this LP.) What I like about this CD is that every member of Wu has his well-deserved shine. All of these songs can be considered calssics. Wu-Tang has always been my favorite group. A group that has Method Man, GZA, RZA, Inspectah Deck & Ghostface Killah must be the greatest of all-time. A group that has these 5 lyricists AND produces hit after hit; hot album after hot album is definitly somewhat sacred. The top songs on this cut are C.R.E.A.M., Method Man, Can It All Be So Simple, Protect Ya Neck & Wu-Tang Clan Ain't Nuthin Ta [Mess] Wit. If you don't have this LP, then your life just isnt complete. Below is my track rating (1-5):
Track 1 - 5
Track 2 - 4.5
Track 3 - 5
Track 4 - 4.5
Track 5 - 5
Track 6 - 5
Track 7 - 5
Track 8 - 5+++
Track 9 - 5+++
Track 10 - 5+++
Track 11 - 5
Track 12 - 4.5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars? How about 6?, March 17 2003
By 
This review is from: Enter the Wu-Tang (Audio CD)
Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers) was released back in the days of REAL hip-hop. You know, back when Snoop Dogg's middle name was "Doggy", Jay-Z only had one nickname, Nas's name was Nasty Nas, and Common's name was Common Sense (this is also when RZA's name was Prince Rakeem; see where I'm going with this?). Really, there isn't much that I can say that hasn't already been said by everyone else except for the fact that the most interesting thing on this album is the intro where the Method Man describes the duties of each Clan member. This lets the listeners know that each member has an individuality and that this isn't just a rap group full of indistinct no-names.
The Clan touches on hard-time topics ("Can It Be All So Simple"), old-time mic-rocking ("Clan in Da Front", where Genius really shines), and they even give the first member who would drop a solo album a chance to shine ("Method Man", which uses an interpolation of Hall & Oates's "Method of Love"; where else do you think the "M-E-T-H-O-D" line came from?). The best songs are "Shame on a N", "C.R.E.A.M.", and...well, everything on here is good. And although their follow-ups and solo projects would be hit-or-miss, it's good to look back to this album and see how it all began.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest hip hop albums of all time, Dec 24 2002
By 
MC Who (Westchester, New York) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Enter the Wu-Tang (Audio CD)
This is, hands down, my favorite album EVER. It showed me what real hip hop is, guiding me away from the commercial stylings of talentless morons like Jah Rule and Nelly and molding me into the educated hip hop head that I am today. If there could be one word used to describe this album as a whole, it would be 'rugged.' I've heard that the original version of this album was recorded by Rza on a tapedeck, and it wouldn't surpise me if this were true. The beats are comprised of dusty drum tracks, menacing bass lines, occasionally pierced by high pitch screeches, and snippets of dialogues from old kung-fu movies. Yet, they are multi-layered in an ingenious, subtle manner. The samples are original and innovative, and they [fade] out while giving rise to new ones within the songs. Lyrically, Wu's rhymes were unheard of at the time. They are a combination of battle rhymes, street tales, and ancient kung-fu mythology. Every MC reps it to the fullest here. Every track is no less than amazing, and the overall atmosphere of the album is more potent than any other in hip hop history. In short, this is a phenomenal release in a class all its own which will never be equaled. If you don't have this album make sure that is is the first thing on your list the next time you head over to the record store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enter The Wu-Tang (36 Chambers), Dec 13 2002
By 
This review is from: Enter the Wu-Tang (Audio CD)
This is without a doubt the best album found in hip-hop today. This is also the LP that inspired me to be a rapper. Some of the hardest and best metaphors can be found on this one CD. (I developed my style from this LP.) What I like about this CD is that every member of Wu has his well-deserved shine. All of these songs can be considered calssics. Wu-Tang has always been my favorite group. A group that has Method Man, GZA, RZA, Inspectah Deck & Ghostface Killah must be the greatest of all-time. A group that has these 5 lyricists AND produces hit after hit; hot album after hot album is definitly somewhat sacred. The top songs on this cut are C.R.E.A.M., Method Man, Can It All Be So Simple, Protect Ya Neck & Wu-Tang Clan Ain't Nuthin Ta [Mess] Wit. If you don't have this LP, then your life just isnt complete. Below is my track rating (1-5):
Track 1 - 5
Track 2 - 4.5
Track 3 - 5
Track 4 - 4.5
Track 5 - 5
Track 6 - 5
Track 7 - 5
Track 8 - 5+++
Track 9 - 5+++
Track 10 - 5+++
Track 11 - 5
Track 12 - 4.5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Ol' Days When The Wu Were Absolutely Brilliant, July 19 2002
By 
Chris Wrathall (Clitheroe, Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Enter the Wu-Tang (Audio CD)
"Shaolin Shadowboxing. In the Wu-Tang Sword Style. If what you say is true, the Shaolin and the Wu-Tang could be dangerous. Do you think your Wu-Tang Sword can defeat me?" After this abstract introduction, straight from a Wu-Tang kung-fu movie that gave these nine MCs their group name, the greatest Wu-Tang album ever and probably one of the top ten rap albums ever begins.
This album is brilliant. No understatement. The beats and lyrics are both of an excellent standard, and you can literally listen to the album without pressing the fast forward button because there isn't a single weak track on the CD to skip. Every song is very, very good, and there are a few classic songs on there as well. The RZA shows his production skills best on this album, where he shows a brilliant ability to change the pace of the tracks. After the slow-paced and hard Bring Da Ruckus, in which most of the Clan are introduced to us, comes the fast-paced and dancey Shame On A Nigga. Shame On... also introduces us to the madly eccentric ODB, who rides the beat brilliantly. His almost psychopathic rantings would later become his trademark. "Do you want to get your teeth knocked the ...out?!" Method Man is also fantastic on this song. Clan In Da Front is a chance for The GZA, the oldest and arguably the best MC in the Clan to showcase his skills. "Clan in da front/Let ya feet stomp!!!"
Wu-Tang 7th Chamber is a good but underrated track, followed by a fairly unique track, Can It All Be So Simple. CREAM (Cash Rules Everything Around Me) is a classic track, with Raekwon at his brilliant best, and Protect Ya Neck is one of the best rap songs of all time. The beat is fantastic and every MC pulls their weight, each dropping very hot verses. Tearz is an emotional song where RZA raps an especcially good verse.
Every single hip-hop fan should have this album in their collection. And if you have every other Clan album but this one, PLEASE BUY THIS, especcially if you think the others are very good because this, the Wu's first album, is their best by far. It shows just how good this album is by the fact that it came out in 1993 and is still excellent. Unfortunately, nobody makes albums like this and Raekwon (from the Wu)'s Only Built 4 Cuban Linx anymore, not even the Wu-Tang Clan. Their latest album, Iron Flag, was good, i gave it four stars, and we can only hope that some time soon the Wu-Tang Clan can recapture the excellence of the days of Enter The Wu-Tang (36 Chambers) in 1993.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Rap Album Of All-Time, June 16 2002
By 
This review is from: Enter the Wu-Tang (Audio CD)
This is without a doubt the best album found in hip-hop today. This is also the LP that inspired me to be a rapper. Some of the hardest and best metaphors can be found on this one CD. (I developed my style from this LP.) What I like about this CD is that every member of Wu has his well-deserved shine. All of these songs can be considered calssics. Wu-Tang has always been my favorite group. A group that has Method Man, GZA, RZA, Inspectah Deck & Ghostface Killah must be the greatest of all-time. A group that has these 5 lyricists AND produces hit after hit; hot album after hot album is definitly somewhat sacred. The top songs on this cut are C.R.E.A.M., Method Man, Can It All Be So Simple, Protect Ya Neck & Wu-Tang Clan Ain't Nuthin Ta [Mess] Wit. If you don't have this LP, then your life just isnt complete. Below is my track rating (1-5):
Track 1 - 5
Track 2 - 4.5
Track 3 - 5
Track 4 - 4.5
Track 5 - 5
Track 6 - 5
Track 7 - 5
Track 8 - 5+++
Track 9 - 5+++
Track 10 - 5+++
Track 11 - 5
Track 12 - 4.5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Birth of The Wu-Tang Clan, Feb. 14 2002
This review is from: Enter the Wu-Tang (Audio CD)
Everyone knows that this is the best rap album of all time, I'm just laying it out for you. Wu-Tang gave to us what was needed to signify Hip-Hop as a force to be reckoned with.Never before has the lyrical world and rap world collided in such an amazing fashion.When this album came out everyone was trying to make it big as a rapstar, but soon after they realized that it would be a lot hareder to compete with true masters such as the Clan.The Wu gave us amazing lyrics with steady beats to complete a track justly.The intro told us that they will Bring Da Rukus so you better be prepared to battle.In Shame on a Nigga they tell you whats what.In Wu-Tang Ain't Nuthing Ta F' Wit they ensure that the Clan is here and there's noplace to hide so if your gonna try to compete you better be ready to fight.Protect Ya Neck they're styles is wild and they're a threat. But the most powerful tracks are definitly Can't It Be All So Simple Then and Tearz. The tracks describe the beauty and tragedy of life, going into a time were life was different. Tearz provides us with two tales as real of life with real life conciquences.Method Man probably got the best out of this album with his own song, launching him to be the most popular member.What some fans wonder is were's Masta Killah, well if you listen closely you can hear Masta on Da Mystery of Chessboxin' with just one verse. The reason he wasn't on more was because he was locked up. If I could have given this album more than 5 stars I probably given it 10 because it's not he just the quality of the music but it's significance as a statment to the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Something new..., Dec 11 2001
By 
Moby Dick (Belgium Antwerp) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Enter the Wu-Tang (Audio CD)
Well, when I bought this album I never heard anything by the Wu-Tang Clan yet so I didn't really had got any expectations but when I heard the album...WOW! It was great, it was like a total new world wich opened itself for me! The Wu Tang Clan really brought something new into hip hop, I can't really explain what but this album has something no other album has.... This is a classic, no doubt but it's not just that, this album is so much more than just a classic, it's ONE of the most important hip hop albums ever made! This is also defenitly the best Wu Tang album but you probably already knew! This album also doesn't have any bad tracks on it but the best are "bring da ruckus" wich has a great beat and thight lyrics, "Da mystery of chessboxin'", "Wu-Tang Clan ain't nuthin ta f' wit", "Method Man" wich is my favourite Wu song and at last but not least "Wu-Tang: 7th chamber - ptII" (I like ptII better then the first, I think the beat is much better! This album introduced us to some of the best rapartists out there like Method man, odb, GZA, Raekwon... and almost all the others! So if you want a classic hip hop album wich means something in the game, I recommend you this album, even my mum likes it, and that ain't no joke!
I'm out..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers) [Vinyl LP]
Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers) [Vinyl LP] by Wu-Tang Clan (LP Record - 1994)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 3 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews