Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monkees: Greatest Hits...Nice Single Greatest Hits disc with Davy's I Wanna To Be Free...RIP!
The sudden passing of Davy Jones is certainly very sad indeed. I have really fond memories of the Monkees, when they appeared in their 58 TV shows for 2 years (from 1966-1968). Beside their irrelevant antics, what I treasured most was their singing during each show. Besides Davy Jones (lead singer), we have Michael Nesmith, Peter Tork and Micky Dolenz.

Monkees...
Published on Feb. 29 2012 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK...But there are better Monkees "Best Ofs"
This is an odd collection to call "Greatest Hits". It doesn't contain a complete collection of singles... Its debatable whether an album-only track like 'I Wanna Be Free' deserves inclusion over say, 'For Pete's Sake', or 'Cuddly Toy'. Likewise, 'D.W. Washburn' - which was assuredly never a hit - stands out from the rest of the tracks like a pothole in the road.
If...
Published on July 19 2004 by M. J KILLEEN


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monkees: Greatest Hits...Nice Single Greatest Hits disc with Davy's I Wanna To Be Free...RIP!, Feb. 29 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The sudden passing of Davy Jones is certainly very sad indeed. I have really fond memories of the Monkees, when they appeared in their 58 TV shows for 2 years (from 1966-1968). Beside their irrelevant antics, what I treasured most was their singing during each show. Besides Davy Jones (lead singer), we have Michael Nesmith, Peter Tork and Micky Dolenz.

Monkees has 24 charted singles on Billboard Hot 100, with 3 Number 1 songs: Last Train To Clarksville (1966), I'm A Believer (No. 1 for 7 weeks in 1966; written by Neil Diamond), and Daydream Believer. Monkees also has 21 charted albums on Billboard 200.

If you are looking for a comprehensive collection of songs by the Monkees, Rhino's 4 CD box set Listen To The Band, released in 1991, is highly recommended, but unfortunately, this box set is hard to find now. If you are looking for a single disc of Greatest Hits, this current set is acceptable. An even better compilation is found in Then & Now: The Best Of The Monkees (with 25 songs, on Arista label, released in 1986), but it is also hard to find.

The song listing with their chart positions and year is as follows:

01. (Theme From) The Monkees (album track)
02. Last Train To Clarksville (1/1966)
03. I Wanna Be Free (album track) My all-time favourite Davy Jones's solo
04. I'm A Believer (1(7)/1966) written by Neil Diamond
05. (I'm Not Your) Steppin' Stone (Single Version)(b-side) 20/1966
06. Mary, Mary
07. A Little Bit Me, A Little Bit You (2/1967)
08. The Girl I Knew Somewhere (b-side)(39/1967)
09. Randy Scouse Git (b-side) 1986
10. Pleasant Valley Sunday (Single Version)(3/1967)
11. Words (Single Version)(b-side)(11/1967)
12. Daydream Believer (1(4)/1967)
13. Goin' Down (104/1967)
14. Valleri (3/1968)
15. D.W. Washburn (19/1968)
16. It's Nice To Be With You (51/1968)
17. Porpoise Song (Theme From 'Head') (Single Version)(62/1968)
18. Listen To The Band (Single Version)(63/1969)
19. That Was Then, This Is Now - Micky Dolenz & Peter Tork (20/1986)
20. Heart And Soul (87/1987)

For a single Greatest Hits, this set is adequate. The sound is also very good, as per great Rhino standards. I also appreciate Rhino put in "single versions" of many hits. Highly recommended.

I Wanna Be Free by Davy Jones...Davy, you are free now, and you will be sorely missed. Rest in peace!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK...But there are better Monkees "Best Ofs", July 19 2004
By 
M. J KILLEEN (Collingdale, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is an odd collection to call "Greatest Hits". It doesn't contain a complete collection of singles... Its debatable whether an album-only track like 'I Wanna Be Free' deserves inclusion over say, 'For Pete's Sake', or 'Cuddly Toy'. Likewise, 'D.W. Washburn' - which was assuredly never a hit - stands out from the rest of the tracks like a pothole in the road.
If you're a completist, you may want to buy this if only because it's the only single disc that contains 'Washburn' and 'Its Nice To Be With You'.
If you're looking for a single-disc collection of the best Monkees songs, go for "Best of The Monkees" which has 25 songs on one disc, and a much more balanced selection of songs that represented The Monkees's best work from their original run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great collection!, May 19 2004
By 
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Had to put in my two cents worth having been a Monkees fan since 1966 and set the record straight...one of the reviews calls this collection "the worst of the worst" and says that not having even Hendrix or Jim Morrison in the lineup could have saved them...that's about as far away from the point of these guys as you could get! The Monkees were about entertaining people and having fun...Morrison or Hendrix would have been about as out of place here as mustard on chocolate...to be fair, Jimi and the boys understood each other and even toured (however briefly) together. Mike and Peter and company would get into disguise and go into the audience during his set to catch a look at him onstage. Furthermore, these were hardly what you could consider the worst of the worst when the chart success on a lot of the songs speaks for itself. Carole King, Neil Diamond, Tommy Boyce, Bobby Hart, Harry Nilsson, and countless other fantastic songwriters all played a part in bringing this music to millions of fans and the reunion tours in the 80s and 90s showed they weren't wrong. Sure the CD works out to about an hour but there are 20 tracks here, and perhaps best of all, you get the sadly overlooked gem "Heart & Soul" from 1987 (thanks MTV for the sour grapes). The Monkees made a lot of fans happy, and people still enjoy the music to this day, never mind that the series is out on beautifully remastered DVDs. To the guy who said "worst of the worst", don't disrespect what you just don't understand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hey Hey, not bad., Feb. 28 2004
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
No matter how much musical "credibility" the Monkees have now, you can't deny that they sang some of the most fun and catchy songs to come out of 1960's pop (and if cedibility is a problem to you, then don't look too hard at some of the "artists" today then, either). Most of their hits are here, and it's not a bad place to start looking at Davey Jones and co.
Instantly recognizable hits like "(Theme From) The Monkees", "I'm a Believer", "Daydream Believer", "(I'm Not Your) Stepping Stone)", "Pleasant Valley Sunday", and "Last Train to Clarksville" are all here. Other real standouts are the lesser known "Porpoise Song", "The Girl That I Knew Somewhere", That Was Then, This is Now", "Words", and "Listen to the Band". Overall it's a load of great music at a very reasonable price, and you definitely get your money's worth on this compilation.
Also of note, is that this collection contains a lot of B-sides and alternative versions of songs that are unavailable on their other discs (I know, I know, possibly a scheme by Rhino), and it is essential to complete any Monkees collection. Even though it's a great set of music, I'm giving it 4 stars because I really don't think it's quite up to snuff as a replacement for the Arista label release "Then and Now... The Best of the Monkees", which is currently out of print (definitely pick it up on Ebay or a used CD store if you can find it). Still, it's a lot of fun to listen to, and a great glimpse into one of the most misunderstood bands in rock/pop history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent compilation, but..., May 29 2003
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
One of the finest American rock bands to come out of the sixties was, without question, the Monkees. These guys knew how to rock and roll. In fact, of all the bands in the world at the time who used an altered spelling of an animal name for their band name, they are the second best one (second only to the Beatles.) In 1995, this compilation of the band's twenty greatest hits was released on CD. How does it measure up?
If it's the Monkees, it's gotta be good.
If you're looking for an inexpensive but effective Monkees compilation that covers all the hits, but gives you a little something extra, you've come to the right place! Every one of the band's big hits can be found here (The theme from the band's TV show, Last Train To Clarksville, Steppin' Stone, Pleasant Valley Sunday, Daydream Believer, Valleri.) And of course, there are the two tracks the band did that were written by the one and only Neil Diamond (I'm A Believer and A Little Bit Me A Little Bit You.) And then there are unpopular songs. Though many of these stay true to the stylings of the hits, many like the Porpoise Song are about as different as you can get. It experiments with psychedelic stuff, something this band didn't do much of. This track was the theme to Head, the band's film, which bombed horribly. Why did their film do so poorly? For one one thing, it was rated R, so most of the band's fans (who were kids) couldn't even get into the theatre. And the few that DID manage to get it were left puzzled (the band members all die in the first few minutes of the film.) Okay, enough Head talk, I'll get back to the compilation. As another reviewer stated, many tracks are single edits. Many hits compilatons due this for reasons unknown. I have only one complaint with this collection - The twenty tracks don't fill the eighty minutes on a CD. In fact, there are about twenty spare minutes! In short, whoever put this compilation together was obviously more concerned with putting together a nice, round number of songs than filling it to the brim with more excellent material. Also, a new Monkees hits album was just released, which features more tracks and a bonus karaoke disc. I recommend THAT compilation over this one.
Final verdict? As good as this compilation is, I have to recommend the new one, due to its extra content. However, you may be able to find this one for a lower price. If you're budget-minded, keep that in mind. The Monkees knew how to rock and roll, and this compilation demonstrates that well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT PLACE TO START, BUT DON'T END UP BEING A SUCKER..., March 19 2003
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is a decent (not the best) compilation of the Monkees Greatest Hits. Since 1969 countless record companies have tried to come up with a definitive Monkees Greatest Hits. It seems almost impossible to do since The Monkees have too much great material to place on one CD. However if you're just getting into the pre-fab four Rhino's Greatest Hits is the best place to start.
I made the mistake of not buying this album first and instead choosing 'The Monkees Anthology' over it. It's true that the double disc anthology is a far better compilation than this, but if you plan to buy all 9 of The Monkees classic albums after you've gotten a taste with a Best Of compilation then you'll want to get this CD. Why? because there are a few songs found on this cd that have not appeared anywhere else except on big expensive box sets. Particularily D.W. WASHBURN, IT'S NICE TO BE WITH YOU, A LITTLE BIT ME A LITTLE BIT YOU and the original version THE GIRL I KNEW SOMEWHERE. With all do respect to the good folks at Rhino, but they could have included these tracks as more bonus selections on the Monkees 9 reissues. Instead they issued this greatest hits, a little less than a year after they reissued all of The Monkees original albums with a few songs not included on any of those 9 CD's. Thus forcing Monkeemaniacs to go out and buy a cd with only four songs they need on it. This is not the first time they have done this. Oh well, it doesn't hurt to listen to any of The Monkees hits yet again.
This album has tons of great Monkees classics such as the Monkees #1 hits I'M A BELIEVER, LAST TRAIN TO CLARKSVILLE, and DAYDREAM BELIEVER. As well as other favourites like I WANNA BE FREE, I'M NOT YOUR STEPPIN' STONE, MARY MARY, VALLERI, PLEASANT VALLEY SUNDAY, WORDS, THE PORPOISE SONG and LISTEN TO THE BAND. Although some selections are questionable (particularily the final two 80's tracks) and others missing (TAKE A GIANT STEP? SOMEDAY MAN? TEARDROP CITY? OH MY MY?) This compilation isn't so bad for Monkeemaniacs afterall. Most of the songs differ from the album versions slightly since they are single versions.
Overall not a bad compilation. The best place for a Monkees fan to start. Just don't make the mistake I did! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album!!, Feb. 27 2003
By 
"jem-aja" (Kingston, Georgia United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This was my first Monkees album. Now I have them all. This album is super. All of the songs on it are great. If you love the Monkees I suggest buying this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great overview if you want just the hits., Feb. 18 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Rhino does a great job condensing what they did with the box set, the Anthology set, and the Monkees' 9 original albums all down to 1 cohesive bare bones but hit packed CD.
This CD is great for the newcomer just getting into the Monkees' music.
All the major and minor hits are here along with a few album/b-side nuggets to give the listener a general sense of what this Monkeemania IS - not was about.
Yes folks, Monkeemania is still alive and well with Rhino's excellent job of covering the material fully as well as preparing to give the TV show proper treatment for DVD release.
Till then bask in the sounds of their music starting with this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great overview if you want just the hits., Feb. 18 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Rhino does a great job condensing what they did with the box set, the Anthology set, and the Monkees' 9 original albums all down to 1 cohesive bare bones but hit packed CD.
This CD is great for the newcomer just getting into the Monkees' music.
All the major and minor hits are here along with a few album/b-side nuggets to give the listener a general sense of what this Monkeemania IS - not was about.
Yes folks, Monkeemania is still alive and well with Rhino's excellent job of covering the material fully as well as preparing to give the TV show proper treatment for DVD release.
Till then bask in the sounds of their music starting with this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Desert Island Disc #1, Jan. 8 2003
By 
Michael King "Mike" (Taunton, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
When asked the hypothetical question, what if you were stranded on a desert island with a portable CD player and could only have one CD, which CD would you want? Without hesitation, my answer is "The Monkees Greatest Hits." Their upbeat music has stood the test of time very well. I have very fond memories of watching their TV show as a young man growing up in the sixties. The Monkees had the best songwriters providing them with hits, and Mike Nesmith developed into a fine songwriter in his own right. Mike's voice was well suited for the brand of country rock he pioneered. Micky Dolenz had the perfect voice for rock and roll, and quickly developed into a decent drummer. Davy Jones was an accomplished actor who ably handled the pop tunes and ballads. Peter Tork's voice and guitar style seem best suited to folk music. Although he only provided the occasional lead vocal, as a trained musician, Peter always provided fine musical backing. The Monkees may have started out as a fictitious group assembled for a TV series, but they evolved into a real band. I feel that Rhino's compilation is the best single-disc collection of the Monkees.
1. "(Theme From) The Monkees" - The unforgettable theme song from their TV series is the obvious choice for the first song on this collection.
2. "Last Train To Clarksville" - Their first hit, written by Boyce and Hart, has one of the best opening guitar riffs in rock history.
3. "I Wanna Be Free" - A melodic ballad sung by Davy Jones, warning his female fans not to fall in love with him.
4. "I'm A Believer" - A #1 smash hit, written by Neil Diamond. One of the best hit songs from the sixties, period.
5. "(I'm Not Your) Steppin' Stone" - A socially conscious song, with a scorching lead vocal by Micky Dolenz.
6. "Mary, Mary" - Another melodic masterpiece sung by Micky.
7. "A Little Bit Me, A Little Bit You" - Another tune penned by Neil Diamond, with Davy Jones on lead vocal.
8. "The Girl I Knew Somewhere" - A perfect pop song about a lost love. Micky sings lead and Mike Nesmith provides backing vocals.
9. "Randy Scouse Git" - A fine song written by none other than Micky Dolenz. By the way, Randy Scouse Git is a vulgar English phrase describing a very stupid person.
10. "Pleasant Valley Sunday" - Gerry Goffin and Carole King's condemnation of suburbia sounds celebratory when performed by the Monkees.
11. "Words" - Written by Boyce and Hart, this songs features Micky on lead vocals, with Peter Tork providing backing vocals.
12. "Daydream Believer" - "Cheer up, sleepy Jean. Oh, what can it mean to a daydream believer and a homecoming queen?" Davy Jones manages to make sense of nonsensical lyrics. It's the best song he ever performed with the group.
13. "Goin' Down" - A jazzy blues number, with Micky performing vocal gymnastics that rivaled the best scat singers.
14. "Valleri" - A very melodic tune with great guitar riffs. Originally featured on an episode of the Monkees TV show, it's popularity with viewers prompted the record company to release it as a single.
15. "D.W. Washburn" - A novelty number written by Lieber and Stoller, who also wrote many hit songs for Elvis Presley. Micky infuses the vocals with his good natured humor.
16. "It's Nice To Be With You" - A nice ballad, pleasantly performed by Davy Jones.
17. "Porpoise Song" - This Goffin/King song was the theme to the Monkees' movie Head. Micky Dolenz did not manage to make sense of nonsensical lyrics. For that matter, the movie didn't make much sense.
18. "Listen To The Band" - Mike Nesmith wrote and sang lead on this outstanding song. At the time, it seemed to be the final hit song from the Monkees.
19. "That Was Then, This Is Now" - Credited to Micky Dolenz and Peter Tork only, the song title was a sly reference to the glory days of the Monkees and foreshadowed their imminent reunion.
20. "Heart And Soul" - This hit song further solidified the triumphant return of the Monkees and is the obvious choice for the last song on this collection.
LONG LIVE THE MONKEES!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by the Monkees (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews