Customer Reviews


165 Reviews
5 star:
 (144)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome dance-metal music.
I can't exactly call Rammstein's debut album their best, as all their albums are incomparably different. But I can call it GREAT!
Songs:
1)Wollt ihr das bett in flammen sehen? (Do you want to see the bed in flames): 10/10- great song, with a rousing chorus at the end and hard guitar rythms.
2)Der Meister (The Master): 9/10-Good song, but the vocals get a...
Published on Nov. 15 2003 by N. Lencioni

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Emits a lot of energy.
I got this first album from Rammstein just a few weeks ago. I've listened to it quite a bit during the time that I've had it. It didn't take too long for me to get comfortable with it (grew on me quickly). It's really cool to be able to listen to a German band that sings in their native tongue--it adds an interesting element to their music. While I don't think that...
Published on April 26 2000 by sauerkraut


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, Dec 1 2003
By 
T. Sparks (Leesville, LA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Herzeleid (Ger) (Audio CD)
I'm a big Rammstein fan; I have all three of their CDs, the "Live Aus Berlin" DVD, and I've also been known to buy soundtracks to get my hands on exclusive Rammstein tracks (I picked up the "Resident Evil" soundtrack just to get my hands on "Hallelujah.")
Of their three CDs, Herzeleid is by far the most angry and intense. It's not going to appeal to all musical taste; if you want some of their more thought-provoking work, "Mutter" is your best bet. "Herzeleid" is designed to go straight for the throat.
This music is designed to illicit a response; whenever I go for a run, I load up "Asche Zu Asche", "Laichzeit" and "Du Reischt so Gut" into my MP3 player. It's somewhat monotonous, but the beat is constant, and the band sounds angry enough to get anybody's heart beating faster.
Be warned, though, Rammstein's lyrics aren't going to appeal to a lot of people. "Laichzeit," for example, means "Spawning Time." I'll let you use your imagination from there on out.
Still, "Herzeleid" is among the best death metal on the market today. If you're new to Rammstein, though, I suggest picking up their second album, "Sehnsucht," first, which was their first album released in the US and has the hit "Du Hast" on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome dance-metal music., Nov. 15 2003
By 
N. Lencioni - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Herzeleid (Ger) (Audio CD)
I can't exactly call Rammstein's debut album their best, as all their albums are incomparably different. But I can call it GREAT!
Songs:
1)Wollt ihr das bett in flammen sehen? (Do you want to see the bed in flames): 10/10- great song, with a rousing chorus at the end and hard guitar rythms.
2)Der Meister (The Master): 9/10-Good song, but the vocals get a little wierd and it sounds a bit too happy. Slightly out of Place.
3)Weisses Fleisch (White Flesh):10/10-A fast song, with cool-sounding lyrics and a nice beat.
4)Asche Zu Asche (Ashes to Ashes):10/10-Great song; goes well with the previous track.
5)Seeman (Seaman):9/10-A slow song, really mournful.
6)Du Riechst so gut (You smell so good):10/10-A cool song, with hard beats and guitars, and cool vocals. Singer Till Lindeman's voice works especially well on this song.
7)Das Alte Leid (The Old Sorrow):10/10-A really hard song, but at a slower tempo. At five minutes long, it provides five minutes of solid metal. Lindemann's true talent comes out in this song, most noteably when the song stops as he yells out "Ich Will Ficken!" (I want to F---).
8)Heirate Mich (Marry Me):10/10-Awesome song, with slightly gothic-sounding vocals at times, and a cool guitar solo.
9)Herzeleid (Heartache):10/10-Another hard song, with only about twenty words spoken syllable by syllable.
10)Laichzeit (Spawning Time): 13/10 (I don't care if it's not possible--it's not possible for anyone else to make this awesome a song)-Starts out a little techno-ish, but quickly moves into a hard rock tune. With a few guitar solos and another bellow by Lindeman, this is the best song on the disc.
11)Rammstein (Rammstein):10/10-the band's title track is one of its best. It starts out kinda like a techno remix of the Jaws theme, and goes into a pounding, ominous guitar melody with the word "Rammstein" coming between phrases. This song is the point in the live show when the singer sets himself on fire as he sings.
Overall score: 11/10
A Great album, in conclusion.
Go the [...] for lyrics, news, and information about the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Word: Amazing, Oct. 1 2003
By 
This review is from: Herzeleid (Ger) (Audio CD)
As a big fan of their album "Mutter" and a fan of their album "Sehnsucht" i thought i would get this to complete my Rammstein studio album collection. Once i listened to this album over 20 times i spotted a big difference in this album to their other albums. I found that this album was their heaviest, rawest, fastest, energetic and most memorable album, and i also noticed that singer Till Lindeman sang less and talked more on this album then his previous albums which i don't know if that is a bad thing or not. Rammsteins genre in my oppinion would be a mix of Heavy Metal, Alternative Metal, Industrial Metal and Progressive Metal and their tones are to me sound Menacing, Ominous, Gloomy, Nihilistic, Malevolent, Thuggish, Aggressive, Brooding, Angry, Hostile.
This album contains many standout tracks like "Du Reichst So Gut" an extremely energetic, catchy song which will have you singing along to it in no time, "Weisses Fleisch" another energetic, catchy song which will have you singing along to it, "Laichzeit" another one of their standout tracks which has some of the keyboardist best work, and again this is another catchy, energetic, fun to sing along to song. The only filler track is "Rammstein" which is just stupidly repetitive and boring, i don't care if it has a great message or its their title track it just plain sucks.
Positives: Extremely high replay value, catchy, extremely unforgettable, perfect for any mood, many standout tracks, only 1 filler track.
Negatives: Till's voice isn't very good when compared to his other albums, 1 filler track.
Album ratings: Mutter: 4.75 Sehnsucht: 4.25 (this album): 4.5/5
Hope this helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Let The Language Turn You Away!, Jan. 17 2003
By 
This review is from: Herzeleid (Ger) (Audio CD)
When Rammstein debuted, they were quickly scrutizied because they spoke only in German and they were an extremely "heavy metal" band. In America, this sort of ingenuity classifies you as Satanic or something.
This is absolutely not the case with Rammstein, they are a truly great band. No one else can sustain the aggresive, searing guitars and tenacity as Rammstein and actually NOT sound the same and monotonous on every track. They should be known for their metal/industrial style, not as just another heavy metal band.
If you are not convinced, here are some interpretations of the track titles. The album title, "Herzeleid" is Heartache in our native tongue. "Der Meister,"a very good track, translates to The Man. "Weisses Fleisch", another good one, is White Flesh. "Asche Zu Asche" is Ashes to Ashes. The track "Seamann" is as mellow you will ever hear these guys play, it is a ballad titled The Sailor. "Riechst So Gut" is You Smell so Good. "Heirate Mich" was the first song I ever heard by Rammstein (from the movie Lost Highway) and it means Marry Me, though the actual lyrics have very little to do with the title. That's something you should look into on your own time! Those are all the ones I could interpret. It was interesting to actually find out what was being said in these songs.
This turned out to be more of a lecture than a review, I am sorry! None the less, there guys are intense. It doesn't matter what they are brooding about, they will have you banging your head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Rammstein, Oct. 7 2002
By 
Erica Anderson (Minneapolis, MN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Herzeleid (Ger) (Audio CD)
Being a big fan of "Mutter" and "Sehnsucht", I thought I would complete my Rammstein collection with their first album "Herzeleid". I am a great admirer of the band's work as well as the entire industrial genre. I love the aggressiveness of this type of music, and Rammstein in particular. I may not understand their native language but I can sure feel the emotions the band put into their music. It is probably just as well as that the band sang in German 'cause I wasn't really wild about the english version of their hit "Du Hast". As soon as I popped "Herzeleid" into my cd stereo and cranked up the volume, I absolutely went nuts over the music. I love the sheer aggressiveness of the opening track "Wollt Ihr Das Bett In Flammen Sehen". The thunderous drums and searing guitars just collided together to make the perfect song. The aggressiveness of this cd doesn't let up on the second track "Der Meister". What really blew me away was the ballad "Seemann". It was so different to hear Til Linderman croon as opposed to growl. Of all the three studio albums Rammstein has put out, "Herzeleid" has to be the most diverse album I have heard. This is by far my favorite Rammstein album with "Mutter" in second, and "Sehnsucht" in third place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wollt Ihr Das Bett...? Most definitely!, Feb. 10 2002
By 
Nemesis Jones "daskind" (home looking up at the winter sun) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Herzeleid (Ger) (Audio CD)
This CD is one of my three favorites as far as full length studio CD's by Rammstein go. This is their first, the most angry, the most tribal. Dark techno war-drums and electronic construction sounds pattern after the heavy sounds of the 60's Sir Lord Baltimore 'Oh Come My Kingdom Come' and Bloodrock's 'DOA'. Haven't heard of them? I'll keep it simple then. Herzeleid is the 90's making the 60's sound like the 80's in hard rock meets electronic sound, flesh and metal. Der Meister has a U2 flavor to it. Surely you've heard of U2. Heirate Mich is mass sung in deep German and Rammstein, the last song, takes me to a construction site where people scramble as Black Sabbath's Iron Man passes judgement. Don't tell me you don't know who Black Sabbath was!
This CD comes under two different covers. One has the bandmembers shirtless as the follicles of an orange-red flower that is in full bloom, the other is a portrait photo in blue-white tones in which they look more boys than men.
For any Rammenfan both should be in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rammstein's amazing debut, Jan. 7 2002
This review is from: Herzeleid (Ger) (Audio CD)
after i got sehnsucht, i was so blown away by it i went and
picked up this album. herzleid is quite a bit 'crunchier', and
although it's not any heavier than the other albums, it's more
agressive. there's not a whole lot i can say about it, so i guess
i'll describe the songs-
1. wollt ihr das bett in flamen sehen- starts out with a cool
keyboard driven pattern that breaks into the same pattern on
the duel guitars. awesome writing on this song, the way it's put
together. heavy, but not their heaviest. still a good song to
get hooked on rammstein with.
2. der meister- one of the fastest songs rammstein has ever done,
it has an awesome main riff, and the vocals are wicked how the
music stops so he can sing a line then picks up the fast main
riff again. cool all the way through, still not a 'heavy' one.
3. weisses fleisch- opens with a keyboard increasing in speed,
then a drum beat, then till screams "weisses fleisch!". probably
the most morbid lyrics they've ever done. it's about going into
a school yard and raping and killing people. don't look down on
the lyrics, it's a wicked song. one of their heaviest, and
probably one of the best live. AWESOME solo from richard in it.
4. asche zu asche- a sweet little diddy about crucifixion. the
dude gets crucified, then comes back as a god and crucifies the
dude that did it to him. main riff sounds a little like der
meister slowed down. the best part of it is when the last verse
bleeds into the last chorus- "and i stick my finger in your...
ashes! to ashes!" GREAT song.
5. seemann- a ballad about a sailor. most beautiful bass line
ever. the only 'light' 'pretty' song on the record. still wicked.
6. du riechst so gut- "you smell so good". as far as i can tell
it's about a stalker. really cool keyboard. another good one
live.
7. das alte leid- "the old grief". a slow, mesmerizing song.
i don't know how to describe this one, you just gotta hear it.
this one proves they don't have to go "all out" to be brutal.
8. heirate mich- "marry me". catchies, coolest, best written
song on the album, not to mention the one with the sickest
lyrics. i love it. it's about a dude that falls in love with a
chick, she dies, and he digs up her body... the rest is history.
one of the best songs they've ever done.
9. herzeleid- best written song they've ever done. there is
three beats, then a word, then three beats and a word, and so on.
it's actually a very beautiful song. the lyrics go along the
lines of "every minute we spend together is precious, time is
short, my heartache is great". something like that. heavy as
hell, and an instant rammstein-classic. also the best song live.
10. Laichzeit- "spawning time". this song has the best music on
the whole album. it's actually about incest, but you get used to
that. "he liebt de schwester"- he loves his sister...ya know...
the keyboard in this song is amazing. if you download one song,
let this be it. heavy and fast as hell, scathing vocals and
lyrics. another classic.
11. rammstein- another very slow, very brutal song. he says
"rammstein", then says a line of the song. i dunno what to
say except "brutal". got a GREAT solo by richard at the end.
actually written as a tribute to the 90 (or so) people that were
killed at Rammstein airforce base during an air show. the lyrics
are morbid and beautiful at the same time.
all around, this is an amazing album. no matter what you listen
to, pick up this album, there is something for everyone. never
have i seen this much musical talent packed in 1 album. truly
a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Herzeleid Breakdown, Nov. 21 2001
By 
This review is from: Herzeleid (Ger) (Audio CD)
For being Rammsteins first album it is their best album, it portrays the emotion of life and love throught a sick yet awsome way. Every song is unique in its own way neither the songs sond remotely the same. The introduction Wollt Ihr Das Bett In Flammen Sehen? is a great way to start an album, they hit you hard with the first song and don't stop. There are many songs on the album that are remembered classics: Der Meister, Seeman, Rammstein and Asche zu Asche; these songs are the key backbone of the album opening up to the adrieniline of passionate Rammstein fans.
I will break down my favorite song on the album: Weisses Fleisch.
The keyboard in the beginning is trippy bringing an effect that techno brings, then going into the drums with the bass in there as well, then out of nowhere, "Weisses Fleisch!" It hits you like a ton of bricks. The guitar brings out the intensity in the song right after the weisses fleisch shout, and then slows down as Till(the singer) begins singing. The chorus is outstanding, brilliant work of art, the lyrics and instruments harmonize so well that it catches your ears. finally the end, ending with the chorus I believe was the best thing for this song, getting the point across that he is just like his father and that he is livin under his fathers image, and just the effect with "erleuchtet.....Mich!" having the song end with Mich symbolizes that its about him and and well it makes the song more intense. I believe this song is their best song and I believe the album herzeleid is their best album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Industrial Wagner, Aug. 25 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Herzeleid (Ger) (Audio CD)
Loud, explosive, thrashing and yet also at the same time keeping a rhythmic emotional pace, Rammstein have to be one of the leading bands out there, even if they are hardly noticed by most music listeners. The fact that they are in control of themselves, are 100% original and their music actually contains lyrical sense. (Despite the fact that many people complain the lyrics are too simple, but hey so are most songs in english) Although all of their cds are brilliant, Herzeleid is probably their most grinding and thundering. The combination of explosive guitars, pounding drums and Teutonic lyrics gives off an errie and awesome effect, with an almost militaristic feel.Herzeleid opens with 'Wolt Ihr Das Bett In Flammen Sehen?' with rocking guitar riffs and the lead singer growling away in German, giving a great introduction to their music. Other notable songs are 'Weisse Fleisch', 'Du Riescht So Gut' and 'Hierate Mich' (Which a ghostly sound and double tap of the drums) 'Seemann' is another great song, which contridicts the rest, being a slow, calming song which shows that the lead singer can use his vocals to sing rather than just growl and shout. This is definately a CD to purchase. While most American bands or artists such as Limp Bizkit, Eminem, Linkin Park etc try to pull off a hard macho image, it is seen as all an act when compared to Rammstein. If you are wanting true hard music by artists who arent little American boys bouncing around on stage, then I think you would be better off with fully grown, muscle bound Germans who actually sing about real themes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Personal Favorite from Rammstein., Aug. 13 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Herzeleid (Ger) (Audio CD)
This is in my opinion, Rammstein's Greatest CD, So far. Its their most heavy, and angry album. If you listen to this CD, then the other 2, Sehnsucht and Mutter, you notice the extreme changes, they're more melodic, and less [ticked]-off-sounding than Herzeleid. If anyone out there knows the translations to the songs, you notice the morbid, almost disturbing lyrics, those of you who do, you know what I'm talking about. The style of the music of the album is blunt with a very precise rhythm section, and crunching duel-guitars, courtesy of Paul and Richard. The vocals on this album are monotonous, which isn't a bad thing, it still sounds great, Till sings on some songs, like the Ballad, Seemann, but for most of the album, it sounds like he is mostly talking, which goes well with the blunt, to-the-point sound of the band. Added into the mix are the Keyboards, which give it an industrial edge. This is not only my favorite Rammstein album, Its one of my favorite albums over-all. Favorite songs: Wollt Ihr das Bett in Flammen Sehen, Weisses Fliesch, Herzeleid, Laichzeit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Herzeleid (Ger)
Herzeleid (Ger) by Rammstein (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews