Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars don't miss this
It may be an EP, but what you get for your money is actually a whole album's worth of UW material. And not just any material, this EP contains some of the best techno to come from the british trio (now reduced to duo). It starts out with a mix of Pearls girl, called Tin There, but as is often the case with UW mixes of thier own work, it sounds nothing at all like the...
Published on May 20 2001 by M. B. Van Haren

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Idiosyncratic, but worthy, experimental EP
Underworld's PEARL'S GIRL, a nine-track EP released in 1996, forms a bridge behind the previous album, SECOND TOUGHEST IN THE INFANTS, and their 1998 breakthrough BEAUCOUP FISH. Although an EP, PEARL'S GIRL features over an hour of music, often odd, sometimes captivating, and always energetic.
The EP features four versions of the title track "Pearl's Girl."...
Published on April 23 2001 by Christopher Culver


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars don't miss this, May 20 2001
By 
M. B. Van Haren "kingofsnake" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pearls Girl (8 Tracks) (Audio CD)
It may be an EP, but what you get for your money is actually a whole album's worth of UW material. And not just any material, this EP contains some of the best techno to come from the british trio (now reduced to duo). It starts out with a mix of Pearls girl, called Tin There, but as is often the case with UW mixes of thier own work, it sounds nothing at all like the original track. It's a very fast paced, breakbeat laden techno frenzy that just builds and builds in the distortion, into an incredible climax. One of the most energetic techno tracks I've ever heard. The 14996 mix is a more subdued version with little vocal samples of the original thrown in, not the best track of this ep. Puppies is a whole other world again, deep reverbed synths and a really cool vocoder effect on Karl's voice make this a very dreamy and emotional track. Oich Oich is absolutely one of my favourite tracks of all time. Very ambient and very carefully built and layered with synths, voice samples, lyrics and a laid back housebeat mix into a dreamlike world of sound and emotion. Cherrie Pie starts with the intro from Rowla (from Second Toughest...) but quickly transforms into another wonderful techno epic with a very dark and hypnotising sound. Then there's the actual Pearl's Girl (and a shorter edit version) which still remains one of UW's best and most popular tracks, hard breakbeats, great lyrics, great atmosphere. The last two tracks, Mosiac and Deep arch are wonderfully ambient instrumental tracks, with again the careful buildup that is so reminiscent of UW's style. All in all, this ep has both incredible power, and incredible atmosphere and makes me think wether some people who call UW "watered down music" have actually listened to any of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great Underworld dessert..., March 21 2001
This review is from: Pearls Girl (8 Tracks) (Audio CD)
This EP feels like an extension of the Underworld LP that preceeded it, "Second Toughest In The Infants". If you scrap the album version of "Pearl's Girl" and it's edit, which are really the only downpoint. Don't get me wrong, but the edit isn't needed and the album mix feels like it's at the wrong place in the CD. If you get beyond that, this release feels like it should be another album instead of a single release. The first mix of "Pearl's Girl" bears no likeness to the original, and relies on just a hard thump to drive it through to your skull. The second mix only bears a slight likeness, but otherwise resembles a car chase leading to deadly results. "Puppies" feels rather pointless, and leans towards disturbing in places. "Oich Oich" bears no resemblance to Underworld of yore. Music this lush and deep doesn't even seem humanly possible. "Cherry Pie" is simply awe-inspiring. Even though it steals the introduction to one of Underworld's other songs, "Rowla", it's an entity to it's own. Starting from a seemingly simple techno riff, "Cherry Pie" starts tearing to a heavy snare and effects workout, never relenting in it's pace. It feels divinely constructed, gliding from point to point without a hitch. "Moasic" feels like you might have taken too much yage or peyote, whatever your poison may be. The tribal drums and feel of this track makes you look to the side, just so you can be sure there really isn't a shamen sitting next to you. "Deep Arch" expands lightly on the ending of the classic anthem "Born Slippy .NUXX", winding it's way into pure childish delight.

If familiar with Underworld, I suggest buying this EP as a companion to "Second Toughest In The Infants". It gives the album a whole new dimension. If starting out with Underworld, view this release as more of a dessert: to be eaten after the main course. Buy "Second Toughest In The Infants" or "Dubnobasswithmyheadman" first. If this ditched the edit of "Pearl's Girl", it could work as another Underworld album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful rhythms, soothing melodies... it's all here., May 27 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Pearls Girl (8 Tracks) (Audio CD)
I remember way back when in '94, when my view on electronic music was pretty jaded. This was at the beginning of the house era, when any 2bit DJ with a turntable and a mike could go out and score a record deal. Then, I picked up a CD from one of the last bastions of good music, Chicago's Wax Trax! label. This was my first taste of Underworld.
The first album ws fantastic, and the second album proved to be even better. After the group came out with a single for the Trainspotting Soundtrack, I knew something was happening. Then I picked up Pearl's Girl, mostly mixes from the '96 album, plus a few unreleased tracks. It absolutely blew me away. From the awe-inspiring soundscape of Tin There to the building crescendo of Deep Arch, it proved that there are actually good electronic artists out there.
I gave it a 9, basically because I don't believe that anything can be perfect. Other Good Artists(Orbital, Crystal Method, Moby, Daft Punk, Fatboy Slim)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant..., March 31 2001
By 
funktion (The Synaptic Gap) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pearls Girl (8 Tracks) (Audio CD)
The PEARL'S GIRL EP features four versions of the title song along with five previously-unreleased tracks. The "Tin There" version of "Pearl's Girl" is a keyboard-heavy, trance remix. The "14996" remix is lighter, featuring a paced ambience and subtle effects. All the versions retain the song's pulsing, thud-like beats and tightly ringing cymbals, and its trippy ambient feel. Underworld likes to start songs slowly and gradually build them into fast-paced, synth-heavy grooves. The aptly-titled "Mosaic" starts with a tribal beat and steadily gains texture with the addition of cymbals, keyboard and guitar. The droning synths, scratching effects and deeply overlaid vocals on "Puppies" evoke early-'80s goth-rock. Undoubtedly, some of Underworld's finest moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Idiosyncratic, but worthy, experimental EP, April 23 2001
By 
This review is from: Pearls Girl (8 Tracks) (Audio CD)
Underworld's PEARL'S GIRL, a nine-track EP released in 1996, forms a bridge behind the previous album, SECOND TOUGHEST IN THE INFANTS, and their 1998 breakthrough BEAUCOUP FISH. Although an EP, PEARL'S GIRL features over an hour of music, often odd, sometimes captivating, and always energetic.
The EP features four versions of the title track "Pearl's Girl." The edit and album versions are the best, featuring the wild vocals of Karl May. The "Tin There" and "14996 Version" mixes are much more dancey, and lack vocals. The various other tracks are okay. "Cherry Pie" is perhaps the best. "Deep Arch" makes no sense whatsoever.
Just about as good as BEAUCOUP FISH, but at the price of an EP, PEARL'S GIRL offers some good tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hot diggity!, Oct. 11 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Pearls Girl (8 Tracks) (Audio CD)
Underworld never ceases to amaze me just how incredible their trance/techno is. Thick seductive vibes that ingulf your senses and put you in a relaxed state of mind. this cd has an excellent mix of modest yet very bright techno; especially tracks like "cherry pie" as well as the unforgettable "pearlsgirl". this was the first song I fell in love with while listening to it in the record store, the first song that got me involved in this whole techno thing! every song here sounds really futuristic! I guarantee once you by this cd you wont get anything less than what you've expected!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beware the CHERRY PIE, March 16 2000
By 
This review is from: Pearls Girl (8 Tracks) (Audio CD)
This song alone makes the CD worth purchasing. As someone else reviewing the CD said, Underworld is producing the most love-infused music in any genre of music today - if you ever just once open yourself to listen to one of their songs and hear the subtleties, the fade-ins, the gradual melodic changes, and the climaxing, its a spiritual moment not to be believed. If you like Underworld, you will absolutely LOVE this CD, and especially CHERRY, a song so touchingly-crafted, you really have to wonder how they are SO consistently successful at creating the music they do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Way better than I expected!!!, Aug. 21 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Pearls Girl (8 Tracks) (Audio CD)
I love this cd! I expected it to be a lot like juno reactor, but it's not like it at all. It starts out with a few simple beats, then as the song progresses it gets more complex. If you like daft punk, juno reactor, chemical brothers, and fluke, then you'll probably like this. The only reason you might not want to get this is if you hate repetetive music, or have something very strong against a twist of jungle music. But if not go for it, it's a wonderful cd!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hit the continue button buddy, Nov. 5 2001
By 
Stan Wyber (Denver,CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pearls Girl (8 Tracks) (Audio CD)
this album is a classic. those of you that see all the songs named pearls girl remixed in some and expect 4 versions of the same song, dont worry, its not one of those minor alteration reemixes you get with some music groups, you will end up thinking each song is wholly new, thanks to someones remixing abilities.
all i can say about this album that will sum it all up is: become familiar with the "continue" button on yer cd player!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best music on earth?, May 7 1999
This review is from: Pearls Girl (8 Tracks) (Audio CD)
this is my favourite Underworld record (also my first). excellent use of jungle elements (though it took me a while to notice that it was a bit jungle..) Cherry Pie is just the best.. so trippy.. it makes me feel in love. Mosiac is also great, as is Deep Arch, and the rest of this fantastic EP.
if you don't have it, something's missing from your life. and i mean it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pearls Girl (8 Tracks)
Pearls Girl (8 Tracks) by Underworld (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews