Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection is Rare, In Utero is Bliss
When 'Nevermind' hit the charts in 1991, 'Smells Like Teen Spirit' was already the anthem to a lost generation as many would say. The greatest thing about 'Nevermind' was that it brought the band onto the main stage and allowed the inevitable, 'In Utero.'
Like Hollywood sequels, the good are rare. In this case, 'In Utero' takes good and throws it out of the ballpark...
Published on July 19 2004 by Michael Roffman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars i like it
its got awesome heavy songs and good sounding songs but Nevermind was the better of the two im sorry lol
Published on Jan. 24 2004 by Tyler Pesely


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection is Rare, In Utero is Bliss, July 19 2004
By 
Michael Roffman "pinball wizard" (Haddonfield, Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Utero (Audio CD)
When 'Nevermind' hit the charts in 1991, 'Smells Like Teen Spirit' was already the anthem to a lost generation as many would say. The greatest thing about 'Nevermind' was that it brought the band onto the main stage and allowed the inevitable, 'In Utero.'
Like Hollywood sequels, the good are rare. In this case, 'In Utero' takes good and throws it out of the ballpark. It's everything the first album was and wasn't, all at the same time. In this case, you have the action figure packed riffs that hook you and entice each listener to each song. Don't tell me 'Heart Shaped Box' doesn't send volts down your spine! Needless to say, lyrically, the album sheds away from changing youth, to just talking about it. There are several kep points in the album, that always amaze me.
'Serve the Servants', arguably one of their greatests songs, makes a joke upon themselves and the culture following. It's extraordinary to find one song that culminates everything the band is. From the raw sound, to the campy yet intricate lyrics of Cobain, and to the mood, we come to view Nirvana more than a band, but as a social phenomenon.
'All Apologies' and 'Pennyroyal Tea', both quiet and timid in nature, but far from peaceful. It's this confusing, albeit tricky choice of songwriting that has everyone go, 'Oh...' and then finally realize the meaning leaving them with, 'Oh!' Listen to the tracks and then really listen to them! See the images you see and the ones meant to be seen. It's a trip.
'Rape Me' and 'Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle' are a darker 'Date Rape' and a historic horror fest, respectively. On one hand we see the terrors we read about and on the other, we see a story we never really knew. It's bold and it's sound takes on different dimensions, something bands use a lot today. The low verse, heavy distortion choruses...very formulaic, and surprisingly, very original then.
The album surprises me to this day, even after ten years or so have passed. Besides maybe 'Unplugged', this is the real way to see Nirvana as honest as they were meant to be. If you catch even a glimpse of it, then you're already hooked. If you even like rock, art, or anything that makes you...um...think, then buy this. I shouldn't even be suggesting this, this is an imperative buy.
It's so perfect, but it's not...and that's what makes it what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, Great Price, Aug. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Utero (Vinyl) (LP Record)
Great album and has a excellent sound to it. Great addition to any Nirvana fan and any fan of rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars maybe the best album i've ever heard, July 27 2005
By 
Kyle W. Bauman (Kitchener, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Utero (Audio CD)
With Nirvana (in my opinion one of the greatest and most influencial bands ever known)people always go on about "nevermind" and yes that album is unbelievable i urge you to get that as well! along with bleach, all class. Nevermind has songs that you will all be addicted to at once...Some of the best songs Nirvana ever released like Smells like Teen Spirit, In bloom, come as you are, and Lithium. However the album is a bit old once you've heard all those too many times.
In Utero on the other hand...Every song is pure class! they just show all emotions and really get to you. If you're affraid there isn't many great hits, well try songs like "heart shaped box" "rape me" and "Pennyroyal tea" But i can't name the songs that are amazing because every single one is, and in my opinion it is the best album by one of the best bands.
you won't be disapointed i'll tell you that ;-)
- kyle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Utero (3CD/DVD - 20th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition), Aug. 13 2013
This review is from: In Utero (Audio CD)
Details have emerged regarding the "treasure trove" of extras planned for the upcoming 20th anniversary reissue of Nirvana's legendary third album, In Utero. As Rolling Stone points out, the fast-approaching "Super Deluxe Edition" box set will contain two versions of In Utero (the original LP remastered as well as a newly remixed variation), plus more than 40 tracks of unreleased rehearsals, demos, live performances, and B-sides, in addition to a newly discovered, never-before-heard instrumental aptly titled "Forgotten Tune."

The retrospective, which arrives September 24 via Universal Records, will come in a number of formats, including a standard digital/CD remaster and a triple-vinyl LP collection; the "Super Deluxe Edition" mentioned above promises a total of three CDs and a single DVD. Disc one features a remaster of the original Steve Albini-produced record, complete with two classic tracks ("Heart-Shaped Box" and "All Apologies") that Scott Lit mixed for the full-length's final version. Alternate Albini mixes of those two songs, which have been circulating as bootlegs for years, will legally appear on the redux, along with Lit's remixed single version of "Pennyroyal Tea" and a slew of In Utero-era B-sides and non-album cuts: "Marigold," "Moist Vagina," "Gallons of Rubbing Alcohol Flow Through the Strip," "Sappy," and "I Hate Myself and I Want to Die." Remastering for all of these songs took place at Abbey Road Studios.

Disc two consists of a new "2013 album mix" of the full 12-track LP, but it's not yet clear if this will be Albini's more visceral version of In Utero or an entirely new take. Also highlighted: demo versions of eight of In Utero's 12 songs, plus Dave Grohl's first-ever solo recording, a 1990 edition of "Marigold." The third disc houses a remastered recording of Nirvana's December 13, 1993 concert at Seattle's Pier 48, which was broadcast as Live and Loud on MTV; the reissue's DVD contains footage of the entire concert, in addition to a dozen more performances featuring Live and Loud rehearsals, Nirvana's European tour in support of In Utero, and a director's cut of the iconic "Heart-Shaped Box" video.

The "Super Deluxe Edition" is currently available for pre-order via Amazon, priced at $150. To make sense of all these extras and bonus cuts, find the full track list below.

In Utero 20th Anniversary Reissue track list:

CD ONE - Original album remastered plus all B-sides & bonus tracks recorded at Pachyderm
1. "Serve The Servants" (Albini mix/original release) - 3:39
2. "Scentless Apprentice" (Albini mix/original release) - 3:47
3. "Heart-Shaped Box" (Litt mix/original release) - 4:41
4. "Rape Me" (Albini mix/original release) - 2:51
5. "Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle" (Albini mix/original release) - 4:09
6. "Dumb" (Albini mix/original release) - 2:32
7. "Very Ape" (Albini mix/original release) - 1:55
8. "Milk It" (Albini mix/original release) - 3:54
9. "Pennyroyal Tea" (Albini mix/original release) - 3:37
10. "Radio Friendly Unit Shifter" (Albini mix/original release) - 4:51
11. "tourette's" (Albini mix/original release) - 1:35
12. "All Apologies" (Litt mix/original release) - 3:55
13. "Gallons Of Rubbing Alcohol Flow Through The Strip" (ex-U.S. bonus track) - 7:35
14. "Marigold" (B-side; "Heart Shaped Box) - 2:34
15. "Moist Vagina" (B-side; "All Apologies") - 3:33
16. "Sappy" - 3:28
17. "I Hate Myself And Want To Die" - 2:59
18. "Pennyroyal Tea" (Litt mix) - 3:36
19. "Heart-Shaped Box" (Albini mix/unreleased) - 4:42
20. "All Apologies" (Albini mix/unreleased) – 3:58

CD TWO – 2013 album mix plus pre-album demos
1. "Serve The Servants" (2013 mix) - 3:36
2. "Scentless Apprentice" (2013 mix) - 3:49
3. "Heart-Shaped Box" (2013 mix) - 4:41
4. "Rape Me" (2013 mix) - 2:49
5. "Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle" (2013 mix) - 4:12
6. "Dumb" (2013 mix) - 2:32
7. "Very Ape" (2013 mix) - 1:57
8. "Milk It" (2013 mix) - 3:56
9. "Pennyroyal Tea" (2013 mix) - 3:32
10. "Radio Friendly Unit Shifter" (2013 mix) - 4:51
11. "tourette's" (2013 mix) - 1:35
12. "All Apologies (2013 mix) - 3:55
13. "Scentless Apprentice" (Rio demo) - 3:54
14. "Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle" (Laundry Room demo) - 4:33
15. "Dumb" (Word Of Mouth demo) - 2:39
16. "Very Ape" (Rio demo) -- 2:21
17. "Pennyroyal Tea" (Word Of Mouth demo) - 3:31
18. "Radio Friendly Unit Shifter" (Word Of Mouth demo) - 2:40
19. "tourette's" (Word Of Mouth demo) - 2:14
20. "Marigold" (Upland Studios demo) – 3:25
21. "All Apologies" (Music Source demo) - 4:25
22. "Forgotten Tune" (Rehearsal) - 2:04
23. "Jam" (Word Of Mouth demo) - 5:44

CD THREE - Live & Loud: Live at Pier 48, Seattle, WA - 12/13/93
1. "Radio Friendly Unit Shifter"
2. "Drain You"
3. "Breed"
4. "Serve The Servants"
5. "Rape Me"
6. "Sliver"
7. "Pennyroyal Tea"
8. "Scentless Apprentice"
9. "All Apologies"
10. "Heart-Shaped Box"
11. "Blew"
12. "The Man Who Sold The World"
13. "School"
14. "Come As You Are"
15. "Lithium"
16. "About a Girl"
17. "Endless, Nameless"

DVD - Live & Loud: Live at Pier 48, Seattle, WA - 12/13/93
1. "Radio Friendly Unit Shifter"
2. "Drain You"
3. "Breed"
4. "Serve The Servants"
5. "Rape Me"
6. "Sliver"
7. "Pennyroyal Tea"
8. "Scentless Apprentice"
9. "All Apologies"
10. "Heart-Shaped Box"
11. "Blew"
12. "The Man Who Sold The World"
13. "School"
14. "Come As You Are"
15. "Lithium"
16. "About a Girl"
17. "Endless, Nameless"

EXTRAS:
18. "Very Ape" (Live & Loud Rehearsal)
19. "Radio Friendly Unit Shifter" (Live & Loud Rehearsal)
20. "Rape Me" (Live & Loud Rehearsal)
21. "Pennyroyal Tea" (Live & Loud Rehearsal)
22. "Heart-Shaped Box" (Original Music Video + Director’s Cut)
23. "Rape Me" (Live on "Nulle Part Ailleurs" – Paris, France)
24. "Pennyroyal Tea" (Live on "Nulle Part Ailleurs" – Paris, France)
25. "Drain You" (Live on "Nulle Part Ailleurs" – Paris, France)
26. "Serve The Servants" (Live on “Tunnel” – Rome, Italy)
27. "Radio Friendly Unit Shifter" (Live in Munich, Germany)
28. "My Best Friend's Girl" (Live in Munich, Germany)
29. "Drain You" (Live in Munich, Germany)

All in all, nothing really "new" but still another addition for the super fan. The much anticipated "Live and loud" dvd release is sure to bring back fuzzy memories of Nirvana at their peak.In Utero (3CD/DVD - 20th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Album, Excellent Vinyl Quality, March 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This album is perfect from start to finish. Nirvana departed from the sound that made them huge on Nevermind. Kurt said he wanted to get away from the "Motley Crue" sound on Nevermind that now embarrassed Cobain for the next album. In Utero is a perfect album in that sense. Very happy with the 20th anniversary edition. Vinyl played great and sounded perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic disc, March 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Utero (Audio CD)
All songs are great and intense. Fantastic tunes that pound away at your soul and rip out your insides (if you like that sort of thing - I do)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome Follow up...., March 22 2005
By 
Mark A. Wallace "wallyism" (Canada/Victoria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Utero (Audio CD)
Nirvana had a tough task at hand's when they had to follow up to the runaway hit

"Nevermind". But Kurt didnt care what anyone else thought of the album and Nirvana give's us a much , much heavier and rawer sounding album. So is it not as good as "Nevermind"? NO. It's way better!

1) Serve The Servent's - An awsome intro! One of the lighter more catchey ub-beat

song's on "In Utero". 5/5

2) Scentless Apprentice - Here's where you get the message "O.K. this not going to

sound like Nevermind". Nirvana's heaviest song by far and is defiantly brilliant! Also notable is the exelent drumming by Dave Grohl! 5/5

3) Heart Shaped Box - Wow! The first single off the album and what a mind blowing

song it is! Kurt's vocal's are so real on this one! 5/5

4) Rape Me - This song is the catchiest on the album! Great guitar hook's! Ovbiously

though this song stird up alot of conterversy but Kurt didn't mean it in a bad way!

5/5

5) Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge - I like it. Catchey but not "Nevermind" sounding catchey. Good base by Krist. 4.5/5

6) Dumb - Creepy , Creepy song! The organ is just so errie. Listen to the brilliantly

written line's "My heart is broke/But I have some glue/Let me InHale/And Mend It with you" and you will see what I mean! 5/5

7) Very Ape - Very short but is so effective! Most people dislike it but give it a try!

It's so moving! 5/5

8) Milk It - Oh man do I love it! One of my favorite's! It's very heavy and is so dark

and scary. I mean listen to the line where Kurt is yelping out "Look On The bright Side Suicide" and where he scream's "Doll Steak/Test Meat". Wow , what a performance! 5/5

9) Pennyroyal Tea - I like this versian more then the "Unplugged" versian! Another

favorite on the album! I just dont know how Nirvana made their work sound so

real on this album but this is a good example of that! 5/5

10) Radio Freindly Unit Shifter - Anoher song people hate! But I think it is moving and I love the guitar riff's! Make's you wanna scream with Kurt! 5/5

11) Touretts - Short and pointless , but is almost a shall we say a "FUN" song! A bunch of screaming but is so raw and moving! 4.5/5

12) All Apoligies - What a sad song. I think this is Nirvana's best song musically and

lyricly. Kurt's vocal's are so sad and real but are powerfull and moving at the same

time. Dave's druming is hard but not "Pounding" hard. Krist's base is calm and cool

like it allway's is and the guitar hook is just so I dont know find out for yourself!

5/5

Don't be expecting "Nevermind" part 2 , but expect a raw incredible album that is

alot sader and heavier. PURE GRUNGE.

I dont know what went on Cobain's head but I do know he sure knew how to write an album!

Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NIRVANA, July 14 2004
This review is from: In Utero (Audio CD)
If u love nirvana u should check this band out all their influences include nirvana their name is cannibal garden their site is [...] you should spread the word around about them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars never mind "Nevermind", July 13 2004
By 
This review is from: In Utero (Audio CD)
although "Nevermind" is a classic, "In Utero" is more complex, and better sound quality. The kicking drums, the fuzzy heavy-on-the-bass guitars and the fact that you can hear Novoselic's basslines clearly on this make this album one insanely catchy, emotional final stand. From start to finish it's just one good song after another. One underrated track on hear is "Milk It", a very twisted song with a catchy beat and excellent chorus. "All Apologies" is like Joy Division's "Decades" with the fact that it's a stunning close to the album. Masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nirvana's Magnum Opus, June 27 2004
This review is from: In Utero (Audio CD)
What makes this album so great is the band's ability to convey emotion behind simple melodies and what some might call shoddy guitar work. Despite the fact that Kurt can't play like Jimi Hendrix his lyrical abilities are second only to Lennon/McCartney and Grohl can bash a drum as well as Jon Bonham with just as much fury. Krist Novoselic's bass is competent and ties the package together nicely and shows the bands parts adding much more to the whole.
This isn't watered down like Nevermind so newer fans might not take to the harsh sound and Cobain's gruff, growling vocals. The album altogether deals with disillusionment moving further away from the angst of earlier works. Disillusionment with family, disillusionment with fans and critics, and disillusionment with life. This is the final work of a man who was at the end of his rope and his back to the wall.
People new to Nirvana should check out Nevermind, for those of you who want an album's worth of the disenfranchised voice of a generation and the best piece of work of the 90's this is for you.
R.I.P Kurt Cobain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Utero
In Utero by Nirvana (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews