Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection is Rare, In Utero is Bliss
When 'Nevermind' hit the charts in 1991, 'Smells Like Teen Spirit' was already the anthem to a lost generation as many would say. The greatest thing about 'Nevermind' was that it brought the band onto the main stage and allowed the inevitable, 'In Utero.'
Like Hollywood sequels, the good are rare. In this case, 'In Utero' takes good and throws it out of the ballpark...
Published on July 19 2004 by Michael Roffman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so bad
While ther's stuff on here I just hate, Tourettes, all appollogies, Dumb, Heart-shaped box , serve the servants give it something.
Published on Nov. 23 2003


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I thought this was garbage..., Feb. 19 2004
By 
stevedee (Hightstown, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Utero (Audio CD)
I thought this was garbage when it first came out and I still do. Am I the only one that feels this way about Nirvana? I can only attribute their success to the fact that by the early 90's the Rock Music landscape was so desolate that the monotonous noise that came from Nirvana was able to find an audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nirvana was not a great band, March 18 2004
By 
Daniel (pennsylvania!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Utero (Audio CD)
but if you want one of their cds... buy this instead of their other albums. or if your more open minded DEFINITELY buy the acoustic in new york.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Its not Nirvana but Amazon, May 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Amazon needs to be more descriptive on what the product is they are selling. I purchased this album and it is in 45! My turntable is high end and does not have the little button to switch speeds. I have to remove plate and put band on the different gearing. Not a big deal but it is when your spinning all night.
It is not the first time this has happened. No mention of it being a 45 at all. Just a description of how it sounds etc. Being form that era and nearly playing a cd out....I know how it sounds.

I would rate this as a must have if it weren't in 45 speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great album but bad reissue., Feb. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Utero (Vinyl) (LP Record)
In Utero is a great album. this vinyl recording was disappointing. I found the sound of the LP to be flat and lifeless. I was instantly disappointed at first listen and regret this buy.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring & repetitive & over rated, Oct. 8 2003
This review is from: In Utero (Audio CD)
Nirvana was not talented or interesting or good in any way, shape, or form - they are not in the top 10 best bands ever, top 20, top 50, or top 100 best bands ever - they were not revolutionary in any way, shape, or form - they were merely rip-offs of Green River (formed by the members of Pearl Jam in the early 80s) & Soundgarden...
If Nirvana didnt break the Seattle scene, one of the other bands wouldve done it about 1 month later, the other bands just werent in as big of a rush to be as corporate as Nirvana was, to break the scene first
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What's the point, Dec 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Has the album in multiple formats at 24/96.
Does not have a 5.1 mix.
Does not have tracks from the Deluxe version.
Does not have tracks from the Super Deluxe version.
Does not have tracks from the Super Duper Deluxe version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rate Me would've made more sense, June 20 2004
This review is from: In Utero (Audio CD)
In Utero is not challenging in the sense that it's art (because it ain't), it's challenging in the sense that it's hard to fathom how something so calculated & corporate could've gotten past the public's sensibilities to tell whether or not something is genuine. In Utero isn't bold, interesting, or inventive. It's just music that should've been done better. It's so bland and lifeless, but I suppose it wass Cobain's style to bore listeners to death. He's so repetitive! After each "solo" or bridge in every song, you might as well change the track, because something from a previous part is the song is repeated thirty times. All Apologies has "All in all is all we all are" repeated 27 times! Oh, and what's all this supposed controversy I still hear about Rape Me? The song isn't explicit, but then again, it's not enlightening either. Tell me, how is saying "Rape me again and a gain" a "bold anti-rape statement"? From all looks, the song appears to be encouraging it, no matter what "Kurdt" says. But overall, Rape Me is so lyrically and musically tame that Cobain could've called it Rate Me instead, and it wouldn't have made a difference. The only song on In Utero that most people will automatically love is Heart-Shaped Box. They might like All Apologies, that is, if they can stand three straight minutes of Kurt droning "All in all...". The rest of the songs are throwaways, but worst song has got to be Scentless Apprentice. You can't even make out any of the words, and yet there are so many lyrics to the song!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lowly Janitor Cobain, June 5 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: In Utero (Audio CD)
Kurt Cobain's idea of hell is probably watching people still sitting around continuing to rave about him and his band. He didn't want that in life, and in death I'm sure he still doesn't. He didn't think he was worth all the hype you freaks give him, (...). There are several qualification for Sainthood, and one of the main ones is to perform two miracles. Cobain couldn't even perform a concert right. He never did anything more than promote suicide by doing himself in. If anybody out there still thinks he did teens a favor in any way, they are sick. The name Kurt Cobain is synonymous with suicide. What's the first thing you think of when somebody mentions him? Suicide. His death is more memorable than any of his music, and that is why he "lives on". You don't forget the selfishness of somebody like Kurt Cobain who killed himself. He found comfort in sadness because it's easy to be selfish coward and wallow in your own self-pity. He should have been grateful for his money and fame, but nothing can satisfy a junkie. His In Utero record is practically a rough draft of his final suicide note. There are references to death and suicide in nearly every song. With these lyrics: "Look on the bright side; suicide" (Milk It), "I miss the comfort in being sad" (Frances Farmer), "Hate me/Waste me" (Rape Me), "I'm buried up to my neck" (Very Ape), "I am married and buried" (All Apologies), "Throw down your umbilical noose" (Heart-Shaped Box), "Distill the life that's inside of Me" (Pennyroyal Tea), and "I hate myself and I want to die" (I Hate Myself and I want to Die).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless, radiofriendly, pop, garbage, overrated., Dec 21 2003
By 
"gravijah" (fort pierce, florida ,United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Utero (Audio CD)
I could go on and on, But i doubt it would all fit...I've always hated this band, They were always overrated..Please, listen to something BETTER and get away from this pop garbage..Kurdt was not a god, I am sorry..Kurdt did not write eye opening lyrics..The music was bland, catchy, but bland..They did not start a revolution..Maybe in the pop world, But thats it..Nothing i listen to, Nothing with style..Nothing with merit, Just this popular crap that doesent go anywhere..Just radiofriendly riffs with radiofriendly lyrics..Let's all be happy Kurdt shot himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's only cool to be different when it's convenient, July 18 2004
By 
earthlight66 (Portland, Oregon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Utero (Audio CD)
I never liked Nirvana. Just what kind of a revolution was Kurt Cobain trying to start? Surely he couldn't have tried to start a revolution of peace and importance, because the only thing he succeeded in sparking was a revolution of trend-following, flannel-wearing, faux-suicidal couch potatoes. And I mean that. Just take a look at your teenage son or daughter, and if they're anything near the mainstream, typical teen, they're up in their room pretending to mope and whine about how "bad" their life is because they didn't get their $20 allowance this week. It's sad to realize that all the kids out there with potential are the ones who are outcast. In the youth society that supposedly says being different is OK, it's sad to see that it's all a lie. The main thing teens have learned from Kurt's drug-addled, self-absorbed "teachings": It's only cool to be different when it's convenient, and also when it's temporary and you can change back to what's considered "normal" in mainstream society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Utero
In Utero by Nirvana (Audio CD - 1993)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 2 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews