Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection is Rare, In Utero is Bliss
When 'Nevermind' hit the charts in 1991, 'Smells Like Teen Spirit' was already the anthem to a lost generation as many would say. The greatest thing about 'Nevermind' was that it brought the band onto the main stage and allowed the inevitable, 'In Utero.'
Like Hollywood sequels, the good are rare. In this case, 'In Utero' takes good and throws it out of the ballpark...
Published on July 19 2004 by Michael Roffman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars i like it
its got awesome heavy songs and good sounding songs but Nevermind was the better of the two im sorry lol
Published on Jan. 24 2004 by Tyler Pesely


‹ Previous | 110 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rate Me would've made more sense, June 20 2004
This review is from: In Utero (Audio CD)
In Utero is not challenging in the sense that it's art (because it ain't), it's challenging in the sense that it's hard to fathom how something so calculated & corporate could've gotten past the public's sensibilities to tell whether or not something is genuine. In Utero isn't bold, interesting, or inventive. It's just music that should've been done better. It's so bland and lifeless, but I suppose it wass Cobain's style to bore listeners to death. He's so repetitive! After each "solo" or bridge in every song, you might as well change the track, because something from a previous part is the song is repeated thirty times. All Apologies has "All in all is all we all are" repeated 27 times! Oh, and what's all this supposed controversy I still hear about Rape Me? The song isn't explicit, but then again, it's not enlightening either. Tell me, how is saying "Rape me again and a gain" a "bold anti-rape statement"? From all looks, the song appears to be encouraging it, no matter what "Kurdt" says. But overall, Rape Me is so lyrically and musically tame that Cobain could've called it Rate Me instead, and it wouldn't have made a difference. The only song on In Utero that most people will automatically love is Heart-Shaped Box. They might like All Apologies, that is, if they can stand three straight minutes of Kurt droning "All in all...". The rest of the songs are throwaways, but worst song has got to be Scentless Apprentice. You can't even make out any of the words, and yet there are so many lyrics to the song!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lowly Janitor Cobain, June 5 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: In Utero (Audio CD)
Kurt Cobain's idea of hell is probably watching people still sitting around continuing to rave about him and his band. He didn't want that in life, and in death I'm sure he still doesn't. He didn't think he was worth all the hype you freaks give him, (...). There are several qualification for Sainthood, and one of the main ones is to perform two miracles. Cobain couldn't even perform a concert right. He never did anything more than promote suicide by doing himself in. If anybody out there still thinks he did teens a favor in any way, they are sick. The name Kurt Cobain is synonymous with suicide. What's the first thing you think of when somebody mentions him? Suicide. His death is more memorable than any of his music, and that is why he "lives on". You don't forget the selfishness of somebody like Kurt Cobain who killed himself. He found comfort in sadness because it's easy to be selfish coward and wallow in your own self-pity. He should have been grateful for his money and fame, but nothing can satisfy a junkie. His In Utero record is practically a rough draft of his final suicide note. There are references to death and suicide in nearly every song. With these lyrics: "Look on the bright side; suicide" (Milk It), "I miss the comfort in being sad" (Frances Farmer), "Hate me/Waste me" (Rape Me), "I'm buried up to my neck" (Very Ape), "I am married and buried" (All Apologies), "Throw down your umbilical noose" (Heart-Shaped Box), "Distill the life that's inside of Me" (Pennyroyal Tea), and "I hate myself and I want to die" (I Hate Myself and I want to Die).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's only cool to be different when it's convenient, July 18 2004
By 
earthlight66 (Portland, Oregon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Utero (Audio CD)
I never liked Nirvana. Just what kind of a revolution was Kurt Cobain trying to start? Surely he couldn't have tried to start a revolution of peace and importance, because the only thing he succeeded in sparking was a revolution of trend-following, flannel-wearing, faux-suicidal couch potatoes. And I mean that. Just take a look at your teenage son or daughter, and if they're anything near the mainstream, typical teen, they're up in their room pretending to mope and whine about how "bad" their life is because they didn't get their $20 allowance this week. It's sad to realize that all the kids out there with potential are the ones who are outcast. In the youth society that supposedly says being different is OK, it's sad to see that it's all a lie. The main thing teens have learned from Kurt's drug-addled, self-absorbed "teachings": It's only cool to be different when it's convenient, and also when it's temporary and you can change back to what's considered "normal" in mainstream society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nirvana=Teenage fixated sh*t, Feb. 17 2004
This review is from: In Utero (Audio CD)
I don't know why SOOOO many teens these days think it's so cool to like Nirvana , like what are they one drugs? , yeah they probably are or maybe they think Kurt Kobain is so cool . Kurt Kobian was an idiot and shot heroine in his veins too much he f*cked himself over. The guy had a total problem and therefore he ain't cool at all. The music is a bunch of annoying sounds which I personally can't stand , I listened to this album at a party , whoa it sucked. Nirvana really suck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I GAVE IT 1 STAR CUS IVE ONLY HEARD 1 SONG OFF THE ALBUM, Nov. 20 2003
This review is from: In Utero (Audio CD)
I gave this 1 star because ive only heard 1 song off the album
I didnt hear the song that well, it was blasting in a furnace
Running into telephone polls
This album just isnt very good, ive only heard 1 song off the album though, but if i may quote some lyrics
"Hay! What?!
Ive got a rude compliment
Only looking out of my heart shaped box!"
THose lyrics Cobain wrote arent very good, someone needs to tell this guy to get his head together
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's only cool to be different when it's convenient, July 18 2004
By 
earthlight66 (Portland, Oregon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Utero (Audio CD)
I never liked Nirvana. Just what kind of a revolution was Kurt Cobain trying to start? Surely he couldn't have tried to start a revolution of peace and importance, because the only thing he succeeded in sparking was a revolution of trend-following, flannel-wearing, faux-suicidal couch potatoes. And I mean that. Just take a look at your teenage son or daughter, and if they're anything near the mainstream, typical teen, they're up in their room pretending to mope and whine about how "bad" their life is because they didn't get their $20 allowance this week. It's sad to realize that all the kids out there with potential are the ones who are outcast. In the youth society that supposedly says being different is OK, it's sad to see that it's all a lie. The main thing teens have learned from Kurt's drug-addled, self-absorbed "teachings": It's only cool to be different when it's convenient, and also when it's temporary and you can change back to what's considered "normal" in mainstream society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nirvana? Not one of the best metal bands of all-time., Sept. 23 2006
This review is from: In Utero (Audio CD)
Nirvana for the most part was over-rated and Kurt Cobian was overwhelmed by his instant success. Heart Shaped Box is a great song, but the video is one of the most controversial videos in the 90s. All Apologies is another great song. However, having two great songs on an album doesn't make this album a masterpiece. Not a chance. In Utero failed to measure up to their previous effort- but even that album produced the hit, Smells Like Teen Spirit. Nirvana is over-rated.

Nirvana overshadowed heavy metal and Nirvana just doesn't make the grade with this album.

This is one album to avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbb095f0c)

This product

In Utero
In Utero by Nirvana (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews