Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Recording in the Marriner Style
I own 4 recordings of Mozart's Requiem, and this one is one of my favorites. Marriner's version is brighter and quicker than the others I have, giving it more energy. It does have a darker feel in places, as it should being a requiem. For a truely dark rendition, I would have to recommend Karajan.
The sound quality of the recording is excellent (DDD). I found...
Published on Jan. 30 2003 by Russ W. Knize

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Musically good - Sound poor
I cannot agree with the other listener's ratings. Whilst interpretation and choir might be good or even outstanding, the sound quality of the recording is poor. The choir sounds like singing from the cellar, the music sticks depressingly to the speakers. The sopranos are ringing in the ears and the strings sound like produced on a synthesizer. This recording is one of...
Published on Aug. 30 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Recording in the Marriner Style, Jan. 30 2003
This review is from: Requiem (Audio CD)
I own 4 recordings of Mozart's Requiem, and this one is one of my favorites. Marriner's version is brighter and quicker than the others I have, giving it more energy. It does have a darker feel in places, as it should being a requiem. For a truely dark rendition, I would have to recommend Karajan.
The sound quality of the recording is excellent (DDD). I found myself wishing for more from the tenors in a few places, but that is simply a matter of taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Musically good - Sound poor, Aug. 30 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Requiem (Audio CD)
I cannot agree with the other listener's ratings. Whilst interpretation and choir might be good or even outstanding, the sound quality of the recording is poor. The choir sounds like singing from the cellar, the music sticks depressingly to the speakers. The sopranos are ringing in the ears and the strings sound like produced on a synthesizer. This recording is one of the victims of the early digital recording ages. A great disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Powerful Work, June 11 2004
By 
Leafsfan2028 (magnolia, tx, usa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Requiem (Audio CD)
Perhaps the best recording of this powerful work by Mozart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars maravillosa!!!, June 9 2004
By 
This review is from: Requiem (Audio CD)
coincido con los comentarios de otros en la espléndida participación de la soprano en el introito, en verdad parece la voz de un angel. debo solo agregar que es uno de las versiones de este requiem de Mozart que me ponen los pelos de punta, realmente me pone en contacto con el más allá, un exquisto trabajo sobre la muerte (no precisamente la del compositor). después de escuchar la versión de Sir Neville Mariner, muy pocas otras versiones me han gustado y me han emocionado tanto como ésta.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars espléndida, May 23 2004
By 
This review is from: Requiem (Audio CD)
ya muchos han descrito las grandes maravillas que esta versión del requiem posee. indudablemente, la voz de la soprano es la mejor que oido para el requiem de Mozart. desde el introito la soprano se impone, irónicamente, con su delicada voz de angel. Solo diré que despues de escuchar la versión de Mariner, no he vuelto a oir otra versión que me impacte tanto como ésta, ningun otro "lacrimosa" de este mismo requiem me ha conmovido tanto como el que se presenta en este disco, y ninguna otra versión de este mismo requiem me ha hecho pensar tanto en la muerte como éste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Can't go wrong, May 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Requiem (Audio CD)
This is a very fine recording of the Mozart Requiem. You won't find much fault with it. Great energy, tempo, dynamics, soloists. Sir Neville loves his Mozart!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Version of the Mozart Requiem. Period., Dec 11 2003
By 
Joel (massachusetts, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Requiem (Audio CD)
When I looked for a version of the Mozart Requiem, I listened to literally 30 recordings until I finally chose this one. The balance, sound, and most importantly musicianship and interpretation are superb. The soloists, and especially Sylivia McNair, are to die for. The piece is breathtaking and beautiful. Don't miss possibly the best recording of the Mozart Requiem to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but..., Nov. 11 2003
By 
This review is from: Requiem (Audio CD)
I have the utmost respect for Neville Marriner and the Academy, and there are many things to like here; the tempi are for the most part convincing; the orchestra is first-rate; but, Lord, the choir! They sing as if they don't understand the texts; the deliveries are one-dimensional and unmoving, and this is particularly evident in the minor-keyed movements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolutely Magnificent Rendition, July 7 2003
By 
This review is from: Requiem (Audio CD)
This is by far the best recording of the Requiem available. Marriner's tempi are perfect: slow enough for expression, but fast enough to hold interest. Unlike most other recordings, it doesn't drag...but it's also not so fast that everything whooshes by. The orchestra and choir are perfectly balanced...neither one is overpowering. Usually the choir sounds like a bunch of separate groups of singers all recorded separately. In this recording each voice in the choir is heard equally, and therefore sounds like a unit. The soloists are first-class, and their voices blend magnificently. McNair...an angel; she has the most beautiful soprano voice I have ever heard. This cd is almost worth buying just for her breathtaking solo in Tuba Mirum. If you have only one recording of the Requiem, this should be it. It's worth every cent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Finest Requiem Available, Oct. 30 2002
By 
R. Gerard (Pennsylvania USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Requiem (Audio CD)
This is undoubtedly the finest recording of Mozart's Requiem I've heard. Having owned several recordings of the Requiem Mass, each having its own distinct style (Karajan, Hogwood, Pearlman, Spering, Christie, Solti) this release by Sir Neville Marriner outstands them all.
It's a wonderfully dramatic recording. This comes from the same conductor who recorded the soundtrack to Amadeus, of course. It is also a dark sounding record, while most the period-instrument recordings available of KV. 626 are rather light, airy, and superficial for a death mass. While this may be a powerful modern-instrument rendition, it is not a romanticized as Karajan's, which is a good thing.
The soloists are first rate. McNair's voice is perfect in intoning the "Te Decet" with her explicit calmness, yet tacit darkness and tension that you cannot get from Monica Groop, Ruth Ziesak, or Emma Kirkby.
The conducting is careful and the tempi are perfect. You never need to worry about Marriner going to slow as other modern-instrument conductors do. I have never heard a "Recordare" more radiantly executed, or a "Kyrie" with such driving force, or even a technically challenging movement such as the "Domine Jesu" handled with such precision.
The choir is also the strongest choir I've heard sing Mozart's Requiem. This chorus can invoke fear, while other choirs sound either too large or too amateurish for such a piece.
Regarding sound quality, I have never had a problem with the sound as it sound just a beautiful as any other record in my collection. Maybe it is the resonance of the record, but it does definitely give the record the sound of a large church interior, which is quite appropriate for the music. Although this recording does NOT seem to have any sound or noise deficiencies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbb9def00)

This product

Requiem
Requiem by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews