Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dolce con molto Fuoco
I have quite a few recordings of the Rach 3 by various pianists. Each artist delivers an exquisite and unique interpretation. By far, my personal favorite is performed by Ms. Martha Argerich.
WARNING: Your speakers may burst into flames by the power and passion delivered by Ms. Martha Argerich.
Another favorite of mine (on DVD: The Cliburn - Playing on the Edge)...
Published on Sept. 27 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "The Ultimate Rachmaninoff 3rd"? Far from it
This is one overhyped CD. Yes, Lady Martha plays like all the blazes, yes, you can almost hear the sonic booms behind her, and yes, she undoubtedly had about eighty espressos before she went out on stage. Yes, the orchestra struggles to keep up with her. Yes, it's electrifying. But the concerto isn't just about being electrifying. The opening theme, for example, is a...
Published on Aug. 13 2001 by The Man in the Hathaway Shirt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dolce con molto Fuoco, Sept. 27 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Pno Ctos 1/3 (Audio CD)
I have quite a few recordings of the Rach 3 by various pianists. Each artist delivers an exquisite and unique interpretation. By far, my personal favorite is performed by Ms. Martha Argerich.
WARNING: Your speakers may burst into flames by the power and passion delivered by Ms. Martha Argerich.
Another favorite of mine (on DVD: The Cliburn - Playing on the Edge) is performed by Ms. Olga Kern. At 26, she tackles the Rach 3 and leaves you in awe.
Check out both performances. You will not regret it. Both are essential for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fine Tchaikovsky, but Rachmaninov misses the mark a bit., Sept. 26 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Pno Ctos 1/3 (Audio CD)
If you translate speed as 'firestorm' and 'rollercoaster ride' etc, as has been previously noted, and if you look for mainly rollercoasters and firestorms in the music of Rachmaninov, then
you will likely very much enjoy this cd. If, however, you require an expression of the Rachmaninov sensibility that can also be found in his other works, then it is my opinion that this interpretation is lacking in that area. Argerich does very well for herself and the music in the slower passages of this concerto, expressing the insight to Rachmaninov that she seems to lose sight of in the bravura passages. It also seems to me that she creates a bit of a muddle when she gives equal balance to her left hand where, in my opinion, the right hand should take precedence. This occassional lack of balance does not at all seem to be a technical error, but rather an interpretive one which results in the loss of sensibility and emotional continuity throughout the piece. Well, in any case, it is gratifying to see some of the reviewers take so much enjoyment in this recording. My only wish is that, in their enthusiasm for Ms Argerich' interpretation of the R3, they would not seem to exclude other interpretations that take a different perspective on the music(specifically the fine Ashkenazy). As to the Tchaikovsky: Although the engineering is lacking in self evident
ways, and with the exception a hard to ignore klunker in
the opening sequence of the concerto, Argerich does fine work
and shows the panache needed in this Tchaikovsky showpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is like a beautiful ride on an amazing roller coaster, Sept. 18 2003
By 
Craig Matteson (Saline, MI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pno Ctos 1/3 (Audio CD)
Some complain about the recording balances on this disk. I suppose they have a point. It is a live recording and sometimes you have to take what you can get. At times things do sound a bit strange, but focus on the playing instead and you should be able to get over the recording issues in a hurry. This is exciting playing.
If you compare these versions to, say, Horowitz's recordings of these pieces (and I think that is the league Argerich is playing in), you will find a different kind of virtuosity. To me Horowitz at his peak still has greater control and especially more power, but it is just a matter of degree.
Argerich has a certain kind of mad excitement in these performances that make them her own. She has fabulous technical control that feels like it is always on the edge of falling off the track, but she never does. Just breathtaking!
These are two of the great piano concertos and Argerich is one of the great pianists. These performances are memorable, maybe recorded less than perfectly, but still recordings you will want to have in your collection. I have listened to this disk many times and still find it exhilarating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Two legendary performances by a legedary pianist, June 9 2003
By 
Christian Dawson (Leicestershire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pno Ctos 1/3 (Audio CD)
Martha Argerich's Rachmaninov piano concerto no 3 recording is certainly one of the fastest, and most exciting ones I have ever listened to. Her speed and interaction between conductor and orchestra is quite formidable. Her speed and power is built up, stage by stage, and then movement by movement, until the immense finale where her speed is white hot. Her Tchaikovsky recording is also very spectacular. The tempo at the very beginning was to me liking. True, there were wrong notes, but one ignores them. Also, I managed to pick out a snap of a piano string in the "Meno Mosso" passage at the end of the third movement, which shows the sorts of things that can occur 'live'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Recordings, Nov. 5 2002
By 
David A. Wend (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pno Ctos 1/3 (Audio CD)
This recording of the Third Piano Concerto of Rachmaninoff was touted as "the ultimate Rachmaninoff 3rd." Actually, Martha Argerich did not want this performance released because of the mistakes she had made. One would have to be a pianist of Ms. Argerich's caliber to find her mistakes. The passion and brilliance she brings to this performance far outweighs any errors, and this is a performance that has come to be regarded as a standard against which to compare new recording. Riccardo Chailly and the RSO Berlin provide magnificent support.
The Tchaikovsky First is played with similar brilliance and energy. I also have Ms. Argerich's earlier recording of this concerto from the 1960s (on DG) and would say that this performance is broader and less driven than the former. Ms. Argerich indeed likes to push the orchestra's tempo but I think she holds back a bit here and is more relaxed. She gets great support from Kirill Kondrashin and the Bayerischen Rundfunks players.
As has been pointed out, these are live recordings and have been digitally remastered, but I found the sound quality to be excellent. The audience is quiet during the performances; there is applause at the end of each concerto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why Argerich is Argerich, Nov. 1 2002
By 
Bruce Hodges (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pno Ctos 1/3 (Audio CD)
No one could possibly be prepared for the firestorm of piano playing on this disc. Both pieces are often played, often recorded, but rarely with the electricity here. If you want elegant or "genteel" versions of these pieces, look elsewhere, but if you want something more white-hot, this is the one.
The Rachmaninoff may be even too fast for some. She erupts into the final movement with a seeming recklessness, and part of the excitement is sensing Chailly's surge to keep up with her. The Tchaikovsky is also amazing in its sheer animal drive. Yes, she may miss a few notes here and there, but who cares when confronted with such a huge performance.
Again, there are many fine recordings of each of these, but this recording will always be one of those brought out to demonstrate why Argerich is legendary. A great document, and also a great live recording. Oh, to have been in the audience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, 2 great concertos in 1 CD, July 22 2002
By 
This review is from: Pno Ctos 1/3 (Audio CD)
I first noticed Rachmaninov's Piano Concerto No.3 via the movie "Shine". When I sampled this Argerich recording in the CD Shop, I was stunned by the Argerich's skill. Even though I had already have Argerich's Tchaikovsky Piano Conerto No.1 of the same recording, I bought this CD without hestitation, these two piano concertos performed by Argerich are great works that no music lover should miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Recording of Rach 3rd, March 29 2002
By 
Xiao He "an underpaid employee" (Chino Hills, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pno Ctos 1/3 (Audio CD)
Let me tell you that I was totally shocked when hearing this piece, the last movement in particular. It is an unhuman performance. The most unbelievable part is that it is a live recording. I have several different versions of Rach 3rd. This is definitely the fastest one I've ever had. This supreme speed brings about the extreme passion. I was wondering when I first listened to this CD: how could Argerich play in such a sonic speed while she could still fully express the sentiment that this concerto should deliver? But I heard that Rachmaninoff himself had version, which was faster than this one. I don't have this version.
If you call this Rach 3rd is the ultimate one, I dare say that the Tchaikovsky 1st is the worst.......be honest.. She played, in my opinion, too many wrong notes. Especially in the third movement, at the very beginning, she made several mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A PASSIONATE PERFORMANCE, March 10 2002
By 
This review is from: Pno Ctos 1/3 (Audio CD)
This single, mid-priced disc is definitely one of Argerich's greatest achievements (I recently bought the "Martha Argerich Collection" (DG), and this is so from my point of view). Since this astounding and divine interpret is THE best pianist alive, you might just guess what I am talking about. Argerich plays the Rachmaninov full of sorrow and impetuosity; her tempi are unequaled in the history of the third corcerto's recordings. I have known people who came really close to commiting suicide when exposed to this monument of human passion, so wonderfully played by so sensational a pianist.
Tchaikovsky's first concerto blossoms to its full tragic strenght, but the orchestra seems perchance somewhat lost at some parts.
In my humble opinion, this is one of the greatest discs ever recorded. If you haven't bought it yet, well, it might be better to hurry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars wild and exciting (perhaps too so), Feb. 3 2002
By 
C Drummond (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pno Ctos 1/3 (Audio CD)
These are very interesting recordings of two of the great Romantic piano concertos. They are both very fast recordings (though contrary to the editorial review, not as fast as Horowitz's seminal recordings with either Reiner or Barbirolli). Martha Argerich plays like a woman possessed which at times appears lacking in sensitivity or control. For instance, the chordal cadenza of the 1st movement of the Rachmaninoff sounds clumsy, and the flashy pianistic climax of the finale of the Tchaikovsky feels overly rushed. However, there are times, especially in the finale of the Rachmaninoff and the intermezzo of the Tchaikovsky, during which her style works wonderfully and shows unparalleled virtuosity. Overall the recordings are very satisfying, despite occasional mistakes and lapses in timing between the piano and orchestra. However, I have mentioned Vladimir Horowitz and I simply cannot recommend these recordings above his performances with Reiner (Rachmaninoff) and Toscanini (Tchaikovsky in the legendary War Bond concert). As an addition to those recordings though, this CD is a fine purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pno Ctos 1/3
Pno Ctos 1/3 by R-Berlin Radi Argerich/Chailly (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews