Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Those Classics - Listen to a Story Being Told
This is one of those CDs that really deserves 5 stars - it has variety, artistry, and a sort of odd progression to it that makes it good for studying, the car, doing dishes, etc. The best thing about this soundtrack is that it stands alone musically, and doesn't require the movie to help it make musical sense, something many soundtracks (such as, pardon me, Braveheart)...
Published on Jan. 22 2004 by Thomas G. Griffin IV

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good BUT.....
This Cd was much of what I expected. However I was severely disappointed when It came to I will find you- Clannad, which was one of the major factors in me getting this rather than just picking up the score at my local department store. In the movie this particular song is several minutes long with a number of verses, but on the cd they give you 1:42 which is just the...
Published on Sept. 6 2003


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Those Classics - Listen to a Story Being Told, Jan. 22 2004
By 
Thomas G. Griffin IV "Thomas Griffin" (Santa Monica, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last of the Mohicans (Audio CD)
This is one of those CDs that really deserves 5 stars - it has variety, artistry, and a sort of odd progression to it that makes it good for studying, the car, doing dishes, etc. The best thing about this soundtrack is that it stands alone musically, and doesn't require the movie to help it make musical sense, something many soundtracks (such as, pardon me, Braveheart) ultimately fail to do, and also provides an amazing variety. Listening to this CD is like going on a journey every time. It sounds like a beautiful story.
A lot of reveiewers are talking about the movie - I only saw it once a long time ago, and didn't think it was that great - I'll just talk about the music. The bizarre pairing of Randy Edelman and Trevor Jones is one that works out very well. The beginning of the CD is fused with more energetic pieces, music that sounds like someone is running around outside in the forest. Then it switches to a mood like everyone is packing for a journey and starting out. Then stopping for water. Then etc. Eventually it goes through multiple transformations and the last tracks wind up as some of the most haunting, moving, and peacefully disturbing score pieces around. And then it ends with the perfect chord that sums up the trip, and makes you want to start it over.
This CD is my favorite soundtrack, and I don't say that lightly. It has been for the last 8 years, despite all the good stuff Hans Zimmer's been putting out.
Give it a try! You won't be disappointed if you're in the mood for a quality composition that tells a tale of it's own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars clannad, Oct. 22 2003
By 
This review is from: The Last of the Mohicans (Audio CD)
Loved the film. Atmospheric. D.Lewis was a very credible Hawkeye. The elder Indian Chingachook? was excellent. The final scene when he bade farewell to his only child Uncas was moving....minimum emotion but powerful. ALso loved the opening ecene when he paid tribute to the deer they had killed for food.
The nobility of the native americans came across...Well done all.
Re`the music...all appropriate. The Clannad song I Will Find You is beautiful...the full version is available on the Best of Clannad...One reviewer described it as `corny` but I couldn`t agree...it is one of the most effective scenes in the film...when Hawkeye, Uncas and his father hunt the renegade Mohawks and the captive girls...haunting and atmospheric.
Freddie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good BUT....., Sept. 6 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Last of the Mohicans (Audio CD)
This Cd was much of what I expected. However I was severely disappointed when It came to I will find you- Clannad, which was one of the major factors in me getting this rather than just picking up the score at my local department store. In the movie this particular song is several minutes long with a number of verses, but on the cd they give you 1:42 which is just the first verse, you don't even get the verse for which the song was named.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Music is Great; Recording Isn't, June 11 2004
This review is from: The Last of the Mohicans (Audio CD)
I purchased this cd after reading the reviews of this release (original 1992) and the 2000 recording. Most of the commentators seem to have missed an important issue. While the original release is exactly that -- the soundtrack of the movie -- and that music is gorgeous -- the recording of that music is not what anyone with a good stereo system will enjoy. The sound, perhaps ok for theater, and maybe acceptable in Dobly 5.1 -- though I haven't really tried it that way -- sounds monophonic on a decent stero system. There is no real sense of space, very little left and right information, very little depth. The orchestra sounds as if it is playing in a cave and the listener is standing some distance from the cave mouth.
This problem is fairly easily rectified if you have a good audio massage program. CDex will rip the tracks to wave files (.wav) and remix the right and left channels for better separation (J-stereo). Then you can transfer the newly mixed files to a cd-rom for playback in any dvd/cd player. It sounds MUCH better this way -- much more like live music.
But if all this sounds like too much work AND you care about realistically reproduced music, you may be better off purchasing the 2000 release. While I haven't auditioned it except for the online sound bites, it's likely to be the better recording. If you can't tell left from rght channel audio or you like monophonic sound, then by all means, buy the 1992 release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spilt but still one of the Best, May 15 2003
By 
PhiloX "PhiloX" (Southern California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Last of the Mohicans (Audio CD)
This is one of my favorite movie theme CD's that I play over & over until my wife tells me to turn it off...& I am one of those people that never (well, hardly ever) plays the same thing over & over again, because my co-workers play their radio songs over & over...you get the drill. Trevor Jones wrote the first 9 songs & this is my favorite section. He really knew how to express the crash of cultures within the time period from the French Indian war. The fast pace main theme with its sad undertow of things to come, & the ultimate Irish Jig of "The Kiss"...what master pieces with layers of cross current melodies. Randy Edelman wrote the next 6 songs, they are good, but lack the essence of the Ideal of the movie (Okay, that was too philosophical...) lacking the passion of uniting the main ideas of the movie :) What is strange about this CD is that most people think of Clannad's "I Will Find You" as the main song of the movie, when in fact you get a very short insert of that song at the very end. Almost too short because it doesn't give you time to hum along. Over all a great buy with hours of listening pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 Stars. Repetition and lack of focus=missed opportunity., Dec 3 2002
This review is from: The Last of the Mohicans (Audio CD)
LAST OF THE MOHICANS is one of the better films of recent memory. Unfortunately, the score is hit and miss. While composers Jones (DARK CITY) and Edelman (GETTYSBURG) both have extensive soundtrack credits, their 'combined' work here is schizophrenic. Both composers present beautiful themes, but overall the album has a strange, unsatifying feel about it. The music ranges from gorgeous to pedestrian and one of my problems with this album is that the main title motif pops up ad nauseum all over the place. James Horner did this to much better effect on his BRAVEHEART score, often using the same or similar motifs throughout. Here, the beautiful main title is ground into dust. It's like my father said after first hearing the album, "Half of these songs sound the same." That's because THEY ARE. It's literally the same theme over and over and it gets to be tiresome. It's almost as if Jones was suffering from a mental block and was unable to compose more than a few different songs for the film so he just kept bringing the one big theme back over and over. The fact the Edelman also does some music may lend creedence to this theory. When was the last time you saw a major film that had two different composers penning its score? I can't think of any off hand. It would be like John Williams and James Horner each scoring half of the next Spielberg film, or Bernard Herrmann scoring half of a Hitchcock film with someone else. Or John Barry scoring half of a JAMES BOND film. It's just wierd. This score is more like half and album -it never really comes together the way it should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 Stars. Repetition and lack of focus=missed opportunity., Dec 3 2002
This review is from: The Last of the Mohicans (Audio CD)
LAST OF THE MOHICANS is one of the better films of recent memory. Unfortunately, the score is hit and miss. While composers Jones (DARK CITY) and Edelman (GETTYSBURG) both have extensive soundtrack credits, their 'combined' work here is schizophrenic. Both composers present beautiful themes, but overall the album has a strange, unsatifying feel about it. The music ranges from gorgeous to pedestrian and one of my problems with this album is that the main title motif pops up ad nauseum all over the place. James Horner did this to much better effect on his BRAVEHEART score, often using the same or similar motifs throughout. Here, the beautiful main title is ground into dust. It's like my father said after first hearing the album, "Half of these songs sound the same." That's because THEY ARE. It's literally the same theme over and over and it gets to be tiresome. It's almost as if Jones was suffering from a mental block and was unable to compose more than a few different songs for the film so he just kept bringing the one big theme back over and over. The fact the Edelman also does some music may lend creedence to this theory. When was the last time you saw a major film that had two different composers penning its score? I can't think of any off hand. It would be like John Williams and James Horner each scoring half of the next Spielberg film, or Bernard Herrmann scoring half of a Hitchcock film with someone else. Or John Barry scoring half of a JAMES BOND film. It's just wierd. This score is more like half and album -it never really comes together the way it should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Soundtrack from the Greatest Movie Ever!, Sept. 30 2002
This review is from: The Last of the Mohicans (Audio CD)
This OST consists of 16 incredibly beautiful and deeply moving music that complemented scenes from the movie perfectly. Trevor Jones composed the first 9 tracks of the album, while Randy Edelman wrote Tracks 10 - 15 (Track 16 is a short song by the group Clannad). Both Jones and Edelman did a brilliant job on the album, although Jones's "Main Title" and another track, "Promentory" remain the most memorable numbers (and my favourites). I also like Jones's "The Kiss" and "The Glade Part II".
A couple of Edelman's compositions which I find truly beautiful and outstanding are "The Courier" and "Cora".
I play this soundtrack every morning before leaving for work and first thing upon returning home. The music soothes the soul and makes me think (and dream) of the movie a lot, especially of the handsome and heroic Uncas, who's my favourite character in the movie. In my mind and heart, "Promentory" will always be Uncas's song (it recalls vividly to the mind the poignant scene towards the end of the movie of Uncas climbing the cliffs determinedly and fearlessly in order to rescue his love, Alice).
How I adore the movie and its music! They will remain my favourites FOREVER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rare and exquisite, July 7 2002
By 
RAK "rakmup" (Lachambre, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Last of the Mohicans (Audio CD)
The Last of the Mohicans is one of those films that can't be separated from the music. When I listen to the soundtrack I feel once again the loss...loss of a way of life for the Indians, loss of wilderness, loss of love, all of which the movie displays so brilliantly. It is rare to find music that rises to meet such important themes. This soundtrack does. One other that comes to mind is Samuel Barber's Adagio For Strings which was used for the Platoon soundtrack. All the tragedy and loss of war are in that song.
Last of Mohicans, the film, is remarkable not only for its powerful music but because of its perfect casting. And, if anyone has read the novel, they'll know that the story has been changed somewhat. Usually it annoys me when scriptwriters take such liberties with a piece of literature, but in this case the story is actually improved. Not many things were altered, just a few major ones like who loves whom and who dies and how at the end. Plus one character from the novel isn't even in the movie. That last cliff scene is one of the most memorable in contemporary film. So the scriptwriters deserve lots of credit too.
Next time, though, I'd ask record companies to include the entire soundtrack. I too was disappointed by the shortened versions and felt a bit cheated. No excuse not to include the whole Clannad song, for example. But despite that flaw, the CD is still very much a success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unique is Good - This is a unique Masterpiece, April 10 2002
This review is from: The Last of the Mohicans (Audio CD)
A truly powerfull soundtrack comes few and far between. This soundtrack qualifies as such. The sheer beauty, and scope of it leaves one in awe, and yet it also has an earthy and "of the period" feeling to it as well.
I could not describe this soundtrack without saying how powerfull of a role it played in the film. I think that it is a great benifit to a film when the director is willing to release a huge amount of the story telling into the composer's hands. When the composer is given this responsibility, a life comes into the music that tells the story with such a brilliant light that it makes one's heart weep.
The music is used so well in this film, with such perfect vibrant rendition of the story that I don't think even John Williams (too brassy and clean for this) could have done a better job.
From the eminent opening of the Elk Hunt, to the sublime Cora, and from the rustic fiddle of The Kiss, to Clannad's transitionary I Will Find You, this soundtrack completly succesfully shows the indomitable spirit and temperament of that period in history.
Kudos to Michael Mann, and to Trevor Jones and Randy Edelman for taking this and running with it! This soundtrack competes with and nocks into the dust such titles as Braveheart, The Patriot, and Saving Private Ryan. And stands shoulder to shoulder with greater masterpieces that tell a story like Gladiator, The Godfather and The Truman Show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last of the Mohicans
The Last of the Mohicans by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 4 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews