summer boutiques-francophones Learn more snsflyout Pets All-New Kindle sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars133
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$15.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 25, 2015
Great sound track based on Scottish folk song the gale by Dougie McLean revised by Trevor Jones and Randy Edelman new tracks added by the revising two. Fell in love with this music as a teen. Some tracks in between are a little boring buy the gale rocks on. My copy of sound track came new and in good time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2004
This is one of those CDs that really deserves 5 stars - it has variety, artistry, and a sort of odd progression to it that makes it good for studying, the car, doing dishes, etc. The best thing about this soundtrack is that it stands alone musically, and doesn't require the movie to help it make musical sense, something many soundtracks (such as, pardon me, Braveheart) ultimately fail to do, and also provides an amazing variety. Listening to this CD is like going on a journey every time. It sounds like a beautiful story.
A lot of reveiewers are talking about the movie - I only saw it once a long time ago, and didn't think it was that great - I'll just talk about the music. The bizarre pairing of Randy Edelman and Trevor Jones is one that works out very well. The beginning of the CD is fused with more energetic pieces, music that sounds like someone is running around outside in the forest. Then it switches to a mood like everyone is packing for a journey and starting out. Then stopping for water. Then etc. Eventually it goes through multiple transformations and the last tracks wind up as some of the most haunting, moving, and peacefully disturbing score pieces around. And then it ends with the perfect chord that sums up the trip, and makes you want to start it over.
This CD is my favorite soundtrack, and I don't say that lightly. It has been for the last 8 years, despite all the good stuff Hans Zimmer's been putting out.
Give it a try! You won't be disappointed if you're in the mood for a quality composition that tells a tale of it's own.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2004
I must confess I am a avid collector of soundtracks. Many times I buy the soundtrack before seeing the movie. I saw this movie about 10 times before buying the soundtrack. I like the music and when playing the CD I relax and close my eyes. The music pulls you in and the feeling is unique. Buy the CD and when you play it the first time turn up the volumn slightly higher than you normally do. The music is unique and timeless.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2003
Loved the film. Atmospheric. D.Lewis was a very credible Hawkeye. The elder Indian Chingachook? was excellent. The final scene when he bade farewell to his only child Uncas was moving....minimum emotion but powerful. ALso loved the opening ecene when he paid tribute to the deer they had killed for food.
The nobility of the native americans came across...Well done all.
Re`the music...all appropriate. The Clannad song I Will Find You is beautiful...the full version is available on the Best of Clannad...One reviewer described it as `corny` but I couldn`t agree...it is one of the most effective scenes in the film...when Hawkeye, Uncas and his father hunt the renegade Mohawks and the captive girls...haunting and atmospheric.
Freddie
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2003
This Cd was much of what I expected. However I was severely disappointed when It came to I will find you- Clannad, which was one of the major factors in me getting this rather than just picking up the score at my local department store. In the movie this particular song is several minutes long with a number of verses, but on the cd they give you 1:42 which is just the first verse, you don't even get the verse for which the song was named.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2004
I purchased this cd after reading the reviews of this release (original 1992) and the 2000 recording. Most of the commentators seem to have missed an important issue. While the original release is exactly that -- the soundtrack of the movie -- and that music is gorgeous -- the recording of that music is not what anyone with a good stereo system will enjoy. The sound, perhaps ok for theater, and maybe acceptable in Dobly 5.1 -- though I haven't really tried it that way -- sounds monophonic on a decent stero system. There is no real sense of space, very little left and right information, very little depth. The orchestra sounds as if it is playing in a cave and the listener is standing some distance from the cave mouth.
This problem is fairly easily rectified if you have a good audio massage program. CDex will rip the tracks to wave files (.wav) and remix the right and left channels for better separation (J-stereo). Then you can transfer the newly mixed files to a cd-rom for playback in any dvd/cd player. It sounds MUCH better this way -- much more like live music.
But if all this sounds like too much work AND you care about realistically reproduced music, you may be better off purchasing the 2000 release. While I haven't auditioned it except for the online sound bites, it's likely to be the better recording. If you can't tell left from rght channel audio or you like monophonic sound, then by all means, buy the 1992 release.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2003
This is one of my favorite movie theme CD's that I play over & over until my wife tells me to turn it off...& I am one of those people that never (well, hardly ever) plays the same thing over & over again, because my co-workers play their radio songs over & over...you get the drill. Trevor Jones wrote the first 9 songs & this is my favorite section. He really knew how to express the crash of cultures within the time period from the French Indian war. The fast pace main theme with its sad undertow of things to come, & the ultimate Irish Jig of "The Kiss"...what master pieces with layers of cross current melodies. Randy Edelman wrote the next 6 songs, they are good, but lack the essence of the Ideal of the movie (Okay, that was too philosophical...) lacking the passion of uniting the main ideas of the movie :) What is strange about this CD is that most people think of Clannad's "I Will Find You" as the main song of the movie, when in fact you get a very short insert of that song at the very end. Almost too short because it doesn't give you time to hum along. Over all a great buy with hours of listening pleasure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2002
LAST OF THE MOHICANS is one of the better films of recent memory. Unfortunately, the score is hit and miss. While composers Jones (DARK CITY) and Edelman (GETTYSBURG) both have extensive soundtrack credits, their 'combined' work here is schizophrenic. Both composers present beautiful themes, but overall the album has a strange, unsatifying feel about it. The music ranges from gorgeous to pedestrian and one of my problems with this album is that the main title motif pops up ad nauseum all over the place. James Horner did this to much better effect on his BRAVEHEART score, often using the same or similar motifs throughout. Here, the beautiful main title is ground into dust. It's like my father said after first hearing the album, "Half of these songs sound the same." That's because THEY ARE. It's literally the same theme over and over and it gets to be tiresome. It's almost as if Jones was suffering from a mental block and was unable to compose more than a few different songs for the film so he just kept bringing the one big theme back over and over. The fact the Edelman also does some music may lend creedence to this theory. When was the last time you saw a major film that had two different composers penning its score? I can't think of any off hand. It would be like John Williams and James Horner each scoring half of the next Spielberg film, or Bernard Herrmann scoring half of a Hitchcock film with someone else. Or John Barry scoring half of a JAMES BOND film. It's just wierd. This score is more like half and album -it never really comes together the way it should.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2002
LAST OF THE MOHICANS is one of the better films of recent memory. Unfortunately, the score is hit and miss. While composers Jones (DARK CITY) and Edelman (GETTYSBURG) both have extensive soundtrack credits, their 'combined' work here is schizophrenic. Both composers present beautiful themes, but overall the album has a strange, unsatifying feel about it. The music ranges from gorgeous to pedestrian and one of my problems with this album is that the main title motif pops up ad nauseum all over the place. James Horner did this to much better effect on his BRAVEHEART score, often using the same or similar motifs throughout. Here, the beautiful main title is ground into dust. It's like my father said after first hearing the album, "Half of these songs sound the same." That's because THEY ARE. It's literally the same theme over and over and it gets to be tiresome. It's almost as if Jones was suffering from a mental block and was unable to compose more than a few different songs for the film so he just kept bringing the one big theme back over and over. The fact the Edelman also does some music may lend creedence to this theory. When was the last time you saw a major film that had two different composers penning its score? I can't think of any off hand. It would be like John Williams and James Horner each scoring half of the next Spielberg film, or Bernard Herrmann scoring half of a Hitchcock film with someone else. Or John Barry scoring half of a JAMES BOND film. It's just wierd. This score is more like half and album -it never really comes together the way it should.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2002
This OST consists of 16 incredibly beautiful and deeply moving music that complemented scenes from the movie perfectly. Trevor Jones composed the first 9 tracks of the album, while Randy Edelman wrote Tracks 10 - 15 (Track 16 is a short song by the group Clannad). Both Jones and Edelman did a brilliant job on the album, although Jones's "Main Title" and another track, "Promentory" remain the most memorable numbers (and my favourites). I also like Jones's "The Kiss" and "The Glade Part II".
A couple of Edelman's compositions which I find truly beautiful and outstanding are "The Courier" and "Cora".
I play this soundtrack every morning before leaving for work and first thing upon returning home. The music soothes the soul and makes me think (and dream) of the movie a lot, especially of the handsome and heroic Uncas, who's my favourite character in the movie. In my mind and heart, "Promentory" will always be Uncas's song (it recalls vividly to the mind the poignant scene towards the end of the movie of Uncas climbing the cliffs determinedly and fearlessly in order to rescue his love, Alice).
How I adore the movie and its music! They will remain my favourites FOREVER.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse