Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Peaches Stands Apart From The Crowd
When songwriters Harry Warren and Mack Gordon had their composition At Last become the B-side to the 1942 Glenn Miller # 1 hit (I've Got A Gal In) Kalamazoo, they probably thought they had died and gone to Heaven. Especially when it too charted at a respectable # 14 with Ray Eberle doing the vocals. A decade later they struck paydirt again when the song was resurrected in...
Published on Dec 17 2003 by AvidOldiesCollector

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars At Last must have been her last
good song!
Most of the songs are doo-wop 50s songs. Which are alright. But none have the soul and sound of "At Last" the only REALLY good song on the CD, in my opinion.
Published on July 3 2002 by J. Bradford


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Peaches Stands Apart From The Crowd, Dec 17 2003
By 
AvidOldiesCollector (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: V1 Her Best (Audio CD)
When songwriters Harry Warren and Mack Gordon had their composition At Last become the B-side to the 1942 Glenn Miller # 1 hit (I've Got A Gal In) Kalamazoo, they probably thought they had died and gone to Heaven. Especially when it too charted at a respectable # 14 with Ray Eberle doing the vocals. A decade later they struck paydirt again when the song was resurrected in the movie Orchestra Wives and then taken to # 2 by Ray Anthony & his orchestra.
But the best was yet to come, and when a 23-year-old from Los Angeles by the name of Jamesetta Hawkins decided to record it in 1961 under her stage name Etta James, from that point on it became HER song. It may not have done as well on the pop charts as the earlier versions [# 47] but it did become a # 2 R&B and is, by any standard, the best version of that enduring love song.
Her career had actually commenced in 1955 when, at age 17, she recorded an "answer" song to the 1954 # 1 R&B hit Work With Me Annie by The Midnighters [Hank Ballard and crew]. Also known as Roll With Me Henry, and with Richard Berry providing the bass male vocal, it too reached # 1 R&B early in 1955 as The Wallflower as by Etta James and "The Peaches" [hence the later nickname]. That same year Georgia Gibbs would have a # 1 pop with it as Dance With Me Henry.
Later that year she would have her second hit single when Good Rockin' Daddy climbed to # 8 R&B with the backing of The Dreamers, a group that included the great Jesse Belvin, and Maxwell Davis & His Orchestra.
Personal problems then set in, and Etta would be off the charts until early 1960 when she returned with the stirring ballad All I Could Do Was Cry, which scored on both the R&B [# 2] and pop [# 33] charts. And from there right through to 1976 she would be seldom off the charts, racking up another 27 R&B hits and putting 26 more on the pop charts.
This CD gives you the best of those along with nine pages of liner notes by Peter Grendysa of Words On Music Ltd., a partial discography of the contents [no chart information], and two more nice photographs of Etta, who was inducted into the R&R Hall of Fame in 1993.
Just 65 years old, Etta is still wowing them in personal appearances. This is a must-have compilation for any true R&B fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Etta James - V1 Her Best - CD, Dec 12 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: V1 Her Best (Audio CD)
I ordered this CD for my wife as she likes Etta James. She says it is a great album and plays it regularly - easy listeneing music. Very pleased with your company service, the price was excellent and it arrived vry quickly. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The place to start, Nov. 22 2003
This review is from: V1 Her Best (Audio CD)
This is the bare essentials. For those wishing to sample Etta James Hawkins' classic period at Chess Records without going for the box set anthology, this single-disc is the perfect purchase.
Featuring 20 of the tracks that appear on the double-disc "The Essential Etta James", without anything literally essential left off, this is the one-stop, first-time purchase for those who wish to sample Etta's mixture of soul, R&B, blues and, well, pop.
4 1/2 stars. There is no better starting place than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Etta rocks!!, Nov. 23 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: V1 Her Best (Audio CD)
This Cd is great.Etta can really wail out a tune and put so much emotion into every song.All the songs on this disc are great.I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential to any R&B, pop or rock collection!, Sept. 6 2002
By 
Dan Cutrer (Dallas, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V1 Her Best (Audio CD)
There's a wonderful story of "All I Could Do Was Cry" from an ancient book on musicians of the 50's and early 60's: paraphrasing Ms. Etta "That old Leonard Chess didn't know nothing about music. He'd see me patting my foot to a tune and holler 'That's it. That's the hit.' Sometimes I'd pat my foot to a piece of junk just to mess with him. He never caught on."
The story I won a bet with was how Leonard used to get into the audio booth at the Chess studio WITH Etta (tight squeeze, no doubt), would pinch, poke, tickle her at places in the song where he thought she ought to "squall." (If you don't know what "squall" is ...) With that background, "All I Could Do" makes much more musical sense. When Etta sings "and now, the wedding is over, rice ... RICE has been tossed over their heads ..." You can bet the farm that Leonard has just goosed Etta. "I'd come out of a session black and blue from all the hitting and pinching he'd done on me."
If you are a fan of Etta, you should also meet Big Maybelle, for my two cents the greatest female singer ever! Give some of her "torch songs" a listen, I've always thought of Etta as a latter-day Big Maybelle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Girl...You Are HOT!!!, Sept. 4 2002
By 
F. Gentile (Lake Worth, Florida, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V1 Her Best (Audio CD)
Miss James gets me to twitchin'!! I consider her one of the most versatile artists ever, and this collection has all her sounds. She croons a moody smooth ballad, or belts out a blues number, with equal skill and potency. There is not a more romantic song than "At Last", and, every time I hear her "Somethings Got A Hold On Me", I've gotta MOVE!!! "Her Best" is THE best!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars At Last must have been her last, July 3 2002
By 
J. Bradford "Amazon junkie" (New York State) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V1 Her Best (Audio CD)
good song!
Most of the songs are doo-wop 50s songs. Which are alright. But none have the soul and sound of "At Last" the only REALLY good song on the CD, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big Ron, Feb. 4 2002
By 
Ronald L. Harison (Syracuse, New York United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V1 Her Best (Audio CD)
WOW really all you got to listen to is PUSHOVER !!! The Recording is just great outstanding really. Just let it flow over you.
Ron Harrison
Syracuse NY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best!, Aug. 19 2001
By 
This review is from: V1 Her Best (Audio CD)
Again, what a wonderful collection of Her Best! Her powerful voice gets INTO you and you cannot help but fall in love with her right away! A favorite for my lifetime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars who is the male voice?????, May 21 2001
By 
This review is from: V1 Her Best (Audio CD)
If I can't have you....
At first, I wasn't crazy about this but the male voice just knocks me out. WHO IS IT? Now, I listen to it all the time and I think it is very moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

V1 Her Best
V1 Her Best by Etta James (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews