Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The mother, father and grand father of Hard Rock Music
The greatest hard rock album ever made on the face of this earth. If there was an album which borders between music and noise it is this one.
Deep Purple have woven noise into a web of unforgettable music. How a band has been able to achieve this I will never know.
Harsh, loud, furious with break neck speed, this album is a monstor which has never been matched...
Published on June 30 2004 by Raj

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, Only "Fair" Sound...
"In Rock" is arguably on of the first true "heavy metal" albums. It still stands as one of Deep Purple's best & "heaviest" works. The sound on this cd version, however, leaves much to be desired. I will swear my old lp sounds better. So 5 stars for the music, 1 star for the sound. Your best option is to spend a few extra bucks on the...
Published on July 9 2004 by "The Woj"


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, Only "Fair" Sound..., July 9 2004
By 
"The Woj" (Downers Grove, IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Rock (Audio CD)
"In Rock" is arguably on of the first true "heavy metal" albums. It still stands as one of Deep Purple's best & "heaviest" works. The sound on this cd version, however, leaves much to be desired. I will swear my old lp sounds better. So 5 stars for the music, 1 star for the sound. Your best option is to spend a few extra bucks on the Import "25th Anniversary" edition. Unlike many "limited editions" & "remasters" the bonus tracks on the "In Rock 25th Anniversary" kick @ss thanks to some remixing by Roger Glover.
Again, pass on this one in favor of the better sounding and expanded Import version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The mother, father and grand father of Hard Rock Music, June 30 2004
By 
Raj (Mumbai, India) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Rock (Audio CD)
The greatest hard rock album ever made on the face of this earth. If there was an album which borders between music and noise it is this one.
Deep Purple have woven noise into a web of unforgettable music. How a band has been able to achieve this I will never know.
Harsh, loud, furious with break neck speed, this album is a monstor which has never been matched by any other band. The album may sound dated when you put it on but that will only be at the begining as in no time the music and songs will take you over.
Harsh seering guitar work, Loud screaming vocals, great work on the keys with an excellent rythem section. Each song on this album will pick you up shake you, strangle you and when are totally breathless 'Deep Purple' will do it again with the next song.
Sad that a masterpeice such as 'In Rock' never made it big in the US and was in the shadows of 'Machine head'. This album stayed in the Britsh charts for over a year and is the album which influenced bands like 'Iron Maiden' and 'Judas Priest' among several others.
Deep Purple is arguably the best Rock Band in the world and the reason is "In Rock". No other band could make this album not even 'Metallica' in its hay days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IN ROCK WILL STAND THE TEST OF TIME!!!, June 29 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: In Rock: Anniversary Edition (Audio CD)
The album is kicked off by one of the band's biggest hits, Speed King and it sounds as great as ever. A TRUE CLASSIC! The second track, Bloodsucker, is a classic metal-style rocker, one of my favorites. Next is Child In Time, a ten-minute epic and fan fave, featuring Ian Gillan (Christ in the Jesus Christ Superstar), what soaring vocals and what amazing screams. Next, Flight Of The Rat (track 4) is the finest song on the album, and I'm sure many other fans will agree. Then there is the groovy, Into The Fire, an excellent composition. This is classic seventies hard rock as it was meant to be heard! Track 6, Living Wreck, takes the sound the band used with previous albums, and updates it with more distortion and Gillan's vocals. The album is closed out with Hard Lovin' Man. This is excellent, fast-paced classic hard rock/heavy metal. But that's not all, you also hear (Track 8), the hit single Black Night, followed by various bonus tracks.
All in all, Deep Purple In Rock is a perfect ROCK album, a classic hard rock masterpiece.
Perhaps today, IN ROCK is just too heavy for Classic Rock stations to play here in the States. What a shame! Jon Lord is simply fantastic on Organ. Ritchie Blackmore is a timeless guitar hero. Both of these guys have magical fingers. Don't forget Roger Glover (Bass) and Ian Paice (Drums) keeping it all together. Throughout the album all the members (Gillan included) give their best and heaviest performances, creating in my humble opinion the first true heavy metal album.
What more is there to say? In Rock retains the magic after all these years. If you're a fan of classic hard rock, Deep Purple In Rock is an album that must be added to your collection. The re-mastered sound is a pleasure to the ears (I couldn't believe Warner in the US has released the LP with such poor sound quality), and with a great booklet detailing the making of the album and it really helps you experience the album on a new level. Heavy metal doesn't get much earlier or heavier than this. One of the best hard rock album ever! Once again, this album has a lot of classics and is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Third Band in the Early Metal Trinity, June 17 2004
By 
M. McKay (Downey, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Rock (Audio CD)
I first came to this record when I was in the 7th grade seeking out early heavy metal bands to brag about rather than the ole Guns N Roses and Metallica shtick that everyone was into around 1990 or so. I originally planned to buy "Machine Head" but found the song titles on this one much more interesting and "heavy." I got in home and put it on and was knocked off my feet! The opening blast of "Speed King" completely floored me and I was dragged through the whole record by the throat without mercy! On the cassette version, side one closed with "Into the Fire" and side twos line up was "Flight of the Rat," "Living Wreck," and closed with "Hard Lovin Man." I still think that track line up worked better. Yes it's true that "Fireball," their 1971 follow up was better paced and had a bit more variety but if you want STRAIGHT FOR THE JUGULAR...this ones it! I recently repurchased it on CD after quite a few years without it and fell in love with it all over again! WHY CLASSIC ROCK RADIO DOSEN'T PLAY "FLIGHT OF THE RAT" IS BEYOND ME!!! The song is practically punk rock and makes you want to start slamming! Well, I do know why....because it was not a "hit single" or a "single" at all. Someone just needs to be informed about it! It's an awesome track! Needless to say, this album surpassed Zeppelin and Sabbath for me back then and it might just do the same for you! Check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic..., May 28 2004
By 
RKL (Asheville, NC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Rock: Anniversary Edition (Audio CD)
'In Rock' has always been one of my favourite albums from the 70's golden era of rock & roll. 'Child In Time' blew my mind the first time I heard it. It's here in all it's glory as well as all the other tracks on this expanded edition. Some albums retain their magic through the years while others flame out in a hurry. 'In Rock' retains that magic these many years later. Although it does sound dated(both performance-wise and sonically)it is a classic in the DP catalog. The booklet is very informative but lacks lyrics which is strange for a special edition. Sound quality is best catagorized as 'raw', even the booklet explains this in detail(needles pinned to the red)so if you are expecting a 1000 veils lifted remaster, you'll be disappointed. Missing is the high end which is sad since a lot of detail is in that 16k region. Compared to the Warner Bros. version, this version is better but not that much better. It still sounds distorted and grungy which was probably the point to begin with. Master tapes were used but I would have liked to have heard a remixed version, re-eq'd of course. Still, it's worth having since it will be the definite edition for now. The bonus tracks are interesting but hardly essential. Picture disc. 20 tracks/78.29.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what great musicians, April 25 2004
This review is from: In Rock (Audio CD)
This is great. I usually listen to heavier stuff (metal from 80s on) but I can see just how influential DP was to metal. This is guitar riff driven, no acoustics, emphasis on heavy tone and intensity, vocals are screamed out aggressively at times, drums and keyboards go absolutely wild and chaoitc - the spirit of metal in 1970. Ian Gillan's passionate delivery on tracks like Child in Time (and every track really) makes the songs come alive while, of course, all instruments are easily heard (unlike the bass in most metal albums) and they all seem even more orchestrated than some of the metal I like. These guys were ahead of their time in terms of musicianship, i can tell. Of course, keyboards were unusual to me since they're not used in metal these days too much, but they add so much classic flavour to the music I can't help but love this. In short, extremely good musicianship, classic solos, classic vocals, good variety and of course the rockin' tutti frutti English attitude just makes for a refreshing listen from metal. I want to discover some more of this band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars - Gillan's first, March 19 2004
This review is from: In Rock: Anniversary Edition (Audio CD)
Deep Purple In Rock (1970.) Deep Purple's fourth album, and the first to feature new lead vocalist Ian Gillan.
Not long after Deep Purple released their third studio album, which was self-titled, vocalist Rod Evans was out of the band (a few years later he would form a new band called Captain Beyond.) The band needed a replacement for Evans, so they got Ian Gillan, who would ultimately go on to become known as the band's finest lead vocalist. The first single he released with the band, Black Night, proved beautifully that he had what it would take to be a member of one of rock and roll's many rising young bands. And in 1970 the band recorded its first full-length album with Mr. Gillan at the helm - the appropriately-titled Deep Purple In Rock. Read on for my review.
The album is kicked off by one of the band's biggest hits, Speed King. In my opinion this song is SEVERELY overrated, but it's still pretty good, although I'm not too fond of the band stealing lyrics from various oldies. Oh well. The album's second track, Bloodsucker, is a classic metal-style rocker, reminiscent of some of the band's later work with vocalist David Coverdale. Blackmore's guitar playing here is priceless. The third track on the album is Child In Time, a ten-minute epic that has gone on to become a fan favorite. The variety of stylings used in this tune is its greatest strength. One of the songs on the album that tends to get the most praise is a little tune called Flight Of The Rat. I'm not exactly sure what's up with that title, but the song kicks. Although this IS Deep Purple, this sounds more like a classic punk rock song! And the band's take on these stylings is nothing short of excellent. Combine the guitar mastery of Ritchie Blackmore with an excellent backing keyboard track, and the results never fail. This is the finest song on the album, and I'm sure many other fans agree. Into The Fire is NOT the same song Dokken would record a decade and a half later, but it's still an excellent composition. This is classic seventies hard rock as it was meant to be heard. You can't NOT love this song! Number six, Living Wreck, takes the sound the band used with previous vocalist Rod Evans, and updates it with Gillan's vocals. The album is closed out with Hard Lovin' Man. This is excellent, fast-paced classic hard rock/heavy metal. Once again, Blackmore's guitars have been paired with a backing keyboard track. Blackmore even shells out a killer solo in the latter half of the song. All in all, Deep Purple In Rock isn't quite a perfect album, but it's still a classic hard rock masterpiece.
A number of different versions of this album have been released over the years. The most common version available is the American Warner Bros. reissue, which is the original version of the album as it appeared in America, with the EDITED version of Speed King. Recently overseas, an anniversary edition was released, which restores Speed King to its natural length and adds a whole extra disc of bonus tracks, but this version is WAY more expensive than its American counterpart. No matter what version of the album you buy, Deep Purple In Rock is excellent.
What more is there to say? If you're a fan of classic hard rock/heavy metal, Deep Purple In Rock is an album that MUST be added to your collection. Sure, it lacks the expertise of, say, Fireball or Machine Head, but it serves as a premonition to the band's future successes. Once again, this is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars - A good start for Ian Gillan, Feb. 27 2004
This review is from: In Rock (Audio CD)
Deep Purple In Rock (1970.) Deep Purple's fourth album, and the first to feature new lead vocalist Ian Gillan.
Not long after Deep Purple released their third studio album, which was self-titled, vocalist Rod Evans was out of the band (a few years later he would form a new band called Captain Beyond.) The band needed a replacement for Evans, so they got Ian Gillan, who would ultimately go on to become known as the band's finest lead vocalist. The first single he released with the band, Black Night, proved beautifully that he had what it would take to be a member of one of rock and roll's many rising young bands. And in 1970 the band recorded its first full-length album with Mr. Gillan at the helm - the appropriately-titled Deep Purple In Rock. Read on for my review.
The album is kicked off by one of the band's biggest hits, Speed King. In my opinion this song is SEVERELY overrated, but it's still pretty good, although I'm not too fond of the band stealing lyrics from various oldies. Oh well. The album's second track, Bloodsucker, is a classic metal-style rocker, reminiscent of some of the band's later work with vocalist David Coverdale. Blackmore's guitar playing here is priceless. The third track on the album is Child In Time, a ten-minute epic that has gone on to become a fan favorite. The variety of stylings used in this tune is its greatest strength. One of the songs on the album that tends to get the most praise is a little tune called Flight Of The Rat. I'm not exactly sure what's up with that title, but the song kicks. Although this IS Deep Purple, this sounds more like a classic punk rock song! And the band's take on these stylings is nothing short of excellent. Combine the guitar mastery of Ritchie Blackmore with an excellent backing keyboard track, and the results never fail. This is the finest song on the album, and I'm sure many other fans agree. Into The Fire is NOT the same song Dokken would record a decade and a half later, but it's still an excellent composition. This is classic seventies hard rock as it was meant to be heard. You can't NOT love this song! Number six, Living Wreck, takes the sound the band used with previous vocalist Rod Evans, and updates it with Gillan's vocals. The album is closed out with Hard Lovin' Man. This is excellent, fast-paced classic hard rock/heavy metal. Once again, Blackmore's guitars have been paired with a backing keyboard track. Blackmore even shells out a killer solo in the latter half of the song. All in all, Deep Purple In Rock isn't quite a perfect album, but it's still a classic hard rock masterpiece.
A number of different versions of this album have been released over the years. The most common version available is the American Warner Bros. reissue, which is the original version of the album as it appeared in America, with the EDITED version of Speed King. Recently overseas, an anniversary edition was released, which restores Speed King to its natural length and adds a whole extra disc of bonus tracks, but this version is WAY more expensive than its American counterpart. No matter what version of the album you buy, Deep Purple In Rock is excellent.
What more is there to say? If you're a fan of classic hard rock/heavy metal, Deep Purple In Rock is an album that MUST be added to your collection. Sure, it lacks the expertise of, say, Fireball or Machine Head, but it serves as a premonition to the band's future successes. Once again, this is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, and not to mention timeless!, Jan. 15 2004
By 
This review is from: In Rock (Audio CD)
Deep Purple In Rock is a timeless and classic hard rock album, its essential to any hard rock collection, well any rock collection in general! In Rock is hard, spaced, and greatly put together, it is a very concistant rock album!
Much like Led Zeppelin and Black Sabbath (the other big hard rock giants of the day) Deep Purple was on top of their game. Richie Blackmore is one of the best guitar players to ever pick up the instrument! the rest of the band are all very good at what they do weather it be Ian Gillans amazing vocal range, Jon Lords brilliant keyboards, Roger Glovers rumbling bass, or Ian Paice over the top drumming this band was at the top of their game when the recorded In Rock.
All The songs are classic, where as there isnt a whole bunch of songs its ok because the 7 songs that are here all are amazing. 'Speed King' is a great hard rocker. 'Child In Time' is one of Deep Purples best songs and the solo is the single greateest guitar solo ever played! just listen for yourself and you'll know what I mean. 'The Flight Of The Rat' is such and awsome song with a killer riff by Backmore.
Deep Purple In Rock is one of the best albums ever made, its just falls short of Machine Head because it doesnt have as many songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, but not worth buying at this price....., July 10 2003
By 
Thomas Faust (New Jersey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Rock: Anniversary Edition (Audio CD)
'In Rock' is Deep Purple's best studio album (their best album being Made In Japan, which also happens to be the greatest album of all time, period) and this import adds enough material to warrent shelling out a few extra bucks, but not this much. The original album is here, with the classic 'Speed King' starting it off and sounding as great as ever, to 'Child In Time' featuring Gillian's soaring vocals and Blackmore's best guitar solo, and ending with 'Hard Lovin' Man' and my favorite Lord solo. Throughout the album all five members give their best and heaviest studio performaces, creating in my opinion the first true heavey metal album along with Sabbath's 'Paranoid.' The extras on this CD are really only for true Deep Purple fans, but the unedited version of 'Black Night' with the extended Blackmore solo alone makes this worth buying even if you already have the regular version of 'In Rock' (but only if you find this at a bargain or used). 'Cry Free,' the piano version of 'Speed King,' 'Jam Stew,' and the two 'Black Nights' (and the all too short studio chats) are what are added to this: the 'Speed King' and 'Flight of the Rat' remixes don't sound too different from the originals. The CD itself is produced nicely, with a great booklet detailing the making of the album and it really helps you experience the album on a new level. Awesome album, awesome band, but not an awesome price...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Rock: Anniversary Edition
In Rock: Anniversary Edition by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 2007)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews