Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock, Drama, Emotion, Inspiration, at the highest level
Oh man.
My mother bought this album I was 2.
I listened to it (really) I was 8.
I have listened now to more than 10,000 hours of music. Focused.
All Purple. All Sabbath. All Hendrix. All LZ, All Judas, Floyd, Blues/Metal/Rock/Pop etc.
And this is still the best album I have ever heard. Seriously.
There is Rock, Drama, Emotion, Inspiration, at...
Published on Feb. 18 2011 by Purple Mutant

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, Only "Fair" Sound...
"In Rock" is arguably on of the first true "heavy metal" albums. It still stands as one of Deep Purple's best & "heaviest" works. The sound on this cd version, however, leaves much to be desired. I will swear my old lp sounds better. So 5 stars for the music, 1 star for the sound. Your best option is to spend a few extra bucks on the...
Published on July 9 2004 by "The Woj"


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, Only "Fair" Sound..., July 9 2004
By 
"The Woj" (Downers Grove, IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Rock (Audio CD)
"In Rock" is arguably on of the first true "heavy metal" albums. It still stands as one of Deep Purple's best & "heaviest" works. The sound on this cd version, however, leaves much to be desired. I will swear my old lp sounds better. So 5 stars for the music, 1 star for the sound. Your best option is to spend a few extra bucks on the Import "25th Anniversary" edition. Unlike many "limited editions" & "remasters" the bonus tracks on the "In Rock 25th Anniversary" kick @ss thanks to some remixing by Roger Glover.
Again, pass on this one in favor of the better sounding and expanded Import version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock, Drama, Emotion, Inspiration, at the highest level, Feb. 18 2011
This review is from: In Rock: Anniversary Edition (Audio CD)
Oh man.
My mother bought this album I was 2.
I listened to it (really) I was 8.
I have listened now to more than 10,000 hours of music. Focused.
All Purple. All Sabbath. All Hendrix. All LZ, All Judas, Floyd, Blues/Metal/Rock/Pop etc.
And this is still the best album I have ever heard. Seriously.
There is Rock, Drama, Emotion, Inspiration, at the highest level.
You'll never hear anything like it.
The sound is bad perhaps, but just make the music even more raw and dramatic.
I could talk for hours about each song that I heard hundreds of time. But I prefer to make it short. It is just a must-have. Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars deep purple in rock, April 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Rock: Anniversary Edition (Audio CD)
deep purple in rock speed king c est la premiere chanson speed metal que j ai entendue et que dire de du slow rock de child in time deux classique
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true hard rock album, Feb. 15 2005
By 
Jack (Regina, SK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Rock (Audio CD)
This is Deep Purple's first hard rock album, and it doesn't slow down for quite a while. It opens with the amazing "Speed King", which people say isn't really a good song, but just play it and listen to the play between Ritchie Blackmore's guitar and Jon Lord's organ, as well as Ian Gillan's piercing vocals. Some other tracks worth mention (as if they all weren't) include the haunting "Child In Time" and some rather unknown, but really awesome, tracks like "Flight of the Rat", "Living Wreck", and "Hard Lovin' Man". Definately pick this up if you like Deep Purple and/or some truly great hard rock. I would also suggest Machine Head if you don't already have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The mother, father and grand father of Hard Rock Music, June 30 2004
By 
Raj (Mumbai, India) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Rock (Audio CD)
The greatest hard rock album ever made on the face of this earth. If there was an album which borders between music and noise it is this one.
Deep Purple have woven noise into a web of unforgettable music. How a band has been able to achieve this I will never know.
Harsh, loud, furious with break neck speed, this album is a monstor which has never been matched by any other band. The album may sound dated when you put it on but that will only be at the begining as in no time the music and songs will take you over.
Harsh seering guitar work, Loud screaming vocals, great work on the keys with an excellent rythem section. Each song on this album will pick you up shake you, strangle you and when are totally breathless 'Deep Purple' will do it again with the next song.
Sad that a masterpeice such as 'In Rock' never made it big in the US and was in the shadows of 'Machine head'. This album stayed in the Britsh charts for over a year and is the album which influenced bands like 'Iron Maiden' and 'Judas Priest' among several others.
Deep Purple is arguably the best Rock Band in the world and the reason is "In Rock". No other band could make this album not even 'Metallica' in its hay days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IN ROCK WILL STAND THE TEST OF TIME!!!, June 29 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: In Rock: Anniversary Edition (Audio CD)
The album is kicked off by one of the band's biggest hits, Speed King and it sounds as great as ever. A TRUE CLASSIC! The second track, Bloodsucker, is a classic metal-style rocker, one of my favorites. Next is Child In Time, a ten-minute epic and fan fave, featuring Ian Gillan (Christ in the Jesus Christ Superstar), what soaring vocals and what amazing screams. Next, Flight Of The Rat (track 4) is the finest song on the album, and I'm sure many other fans will agree. Then there is the groovy, Into The Fire, an excellent composition. This is classic seventies hard rock as it was meant to be heard! Track 6, Living Wreck, takes the sound the band used with previous albums, and updates it with more distortion and Gillan's vocals. The album is closed out with Hard Lovin' Man. This is excellent, fast-paced classic hard rock/heavy metal. But that's not all, you also hear (Track 8), the hit single Black Night, followed by various bonus tracks.
All in all, Deep Purple In Rock is a perfect ROCK album, a classic hard rock masterpiece.
Perhaps today, IN ROCK is just too heavy for Classic Rock stations to play here in the States. What a shame! Jon Lord is simply fantastic on Organ. Ritchie Blackmore is a timeless guitar hero. Both of these guys have magical fingers. Don't forget Roger Glover (Bass) and Ian Paice (Drums) keeping it all together. Throughout the album all the members (Gillan included) give their best and heaviest performances, creating in my humble opinion the first true heavy metal album.
What more is there to say? In Rock retains the magic after all these years. If you're a fan of classic hard rock, Deep Purple In Rock is an album that must be added to your collection. The re-mastered sound is a pleasure to the ears (I couldn't believe Warner in the US has released the LP with such poor sound quality), and with a great booklet detailing the making of the album and it really helps you experience the album on a new level. Heavy metal doesn't get much earlier or heavier than this. One of the best hard rock album ever! Once again, this album has a lot of classics and is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Third Band in the Early Metal Trinity, June 18 2004
By 
M. McKay (Downey, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Rock (Audio CD)
I first came to this record when I was in the 7th grade seeking out early heavy metal bands to brag about rather than the ole Guns N Roses and Metallica shtick that everyone was into around 1990 or so. I originally planned to buy "Machine Head" but found the song titles on this one much more interesting and "heavy." I got in home and put it on and was knocked off my feet! The opening blast of "Speed King" completely floored me and I was dragged through the whole record by the throat without mercy! On the cassette version, side one closed with "Into the Fire" and side twos line up was "Flight of the Rat," "Living Wreck," and closed with "Hard Lovin Man." I still think that track line up worked better. Yes it's true that "Fireball," their 1971 follow up was better paced and had a bit more variety but if you want STRAIGHT FOR THE JUGULAR...this ones it! I recently repurchased it on CD after quite a few years without it and fell in love with it all over again! WHY CLASSIC ROCK RADIO DOSEN'T PLAY "FLIGHT OF THE RAT" IS BEYOND ME!!! The song is practically punk rock and makes you want to start slamming! Well, I do know why....because it was not a "hit single" or a "single" at all. Someone just needs to be informed about it! It's an awesome track! Needless to say, this album surpassed Zeppelin and Sabbath for me back then and it might just do the same for you! Check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic..., May 28 2004
By 
RKL (Asheville, NC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Rock: Anniversary Edition (Audio CD)
'In Rock' has always been one of my favourite albums from the 70's golden era of rock & roll. 'Child In Time' blew my mind the first time I heard it. It's here in all it's glory as well as all the other tracks on this expanded edition. Some albums retain their magic through the years while others flame out in a hurry. 'In Rock' retains that magic these many years later. Although it does sound dated(both performance-wise and sonically)it is a classic in the DP catalog. The booklet is very informative but lacks lyrics which is strange for a special edition. Sound quality is best catagorized as 'raw', even the booklet explains this in detail(needles pinned to the red)so if you are expecting a 1000 veils lifted remaster, you'll be disappointed. Missing is the high end which is sad since a lot of detail is in that 16k region. Compared to the Warner Bros. version, this version is better but not that much better. It still sounds distorted and grungy which was probably the point to begin with. Master tapes were used but I would have liked to have heard a remixed version, re-eq'd of course. Still, it's worth having since it will be the definite edition for now. The bonus tracks are interesting but hardly essential. Picture disc. 20 tracks/78.29.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hard Driving Deep Purple!, April 30 2004
By 
shagster 22 "shagster22" (claycity, ky United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Rock (Audio CD)
Wore out the vinyl so i bought the disc. This is the Deep Purple record of all time!Nothing they have recorded since has been this good!What more could one ask for in a hard rock album from the 70's era,believe me this was way ahead of it's time,I LOVE Black Sabbath and in my opinion this can hold a light to any Sabbath record.Ian Gillan is simply on fire with the vocals and Blackmore is riffing like nobody's buisiness, also the rest of the band are dead on.If anyone thinks Ian's vocals are like a laughing clown,he's the best clown i've ever heard,the SCREAMING at the end of the song BLOODSUCKER is the high point of the album,it has ATTITUDE,that's what hard rock is all about!I recommened this to be the first Deep Purple record for anyone new to the band and to all the old time hard rockin Deep Purple fans you know what i'm talkin about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Purple in Time, April 26 2004
This review is from: In Rock (Audio CD)
The best 2 songs on here are the opening number and the epic master work Child in Time the rest of the songs are not to bad they either like the great Hard loving man. One of the first real hard rock albums ever together with Black sabbath.
If you like this try Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin and The Who they are some ather real hard rock pioners that have made great rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Rock: Anniversary Edition
In Rock: Anniversary Edition by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 2007)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews